Grants to Participating First Nations and the First Nations Education Authority Pursuant to the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act

Terms and Conditions

1.0 Introduction

On July 24, 2003, the federal government signed a Memorandum of Understanding, which in conjunction with the 1995 Inherent Right policy, served as the basis to develop a framework for First Nations' assumption of education jurisdiction in British Columbia.

On July 5, 2006, the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, the Premier of British Columbia and the First Nation Education Steering Committee signed the tripartite Education Jurisdiction Framework Agreement.  This agreement included a template Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreement, and the related Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Funding Agreement and Implementation Plan which allows First Nations to assume control over education, once ratified by individual First Nations and Canada.

Pursuant to the Education Jurisdiction Framework Agreement, the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act received Royal Assent on  December 12, 2006.  This federal legislation recognizes First Nations control over education and brings into effect subsequently negotiated Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreements.

The Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreement is a sectoral self-government agreement for First Nations who choose to assume jurisdiction over education in British Columbia.  The agreement sets out the scope of jurisdiction, including: law-making powers that cover on-reserve schools and students from kindergarten to grade 12 and education standards that must be met.  These agreements will allow Participating First Nations, through the First Nations Education Authority, to develop culturally appropriate, provincially recognized curricula and examinations for use in First Nation schools, certify teachers and certify First Nation schools, while ensuring the transferability of First Nations students between the First Nation and provincial school systems without penalty.

First Nations who negotiate and ratify Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreements will take full responsibility for education programs, services and outcomes on-reserve.  Consequently, the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development would no longer be responsible for the administration of education and sections 114 to 122 of the Indian Act would no longer apply to First Nations under Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreements.

In order to financially support the provision of programs and services by self-governing First Nations to their members, negotiations are undertaken respecting the scope, type and timing of the transfer to First Nation jurisdiction, as well as the amount of funding to be provided annually over the life of the Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Funding Agreement.  The level of resources provided is comparable with funding levels provided to other First Nations in Canada who receive transfer payments from Canada for education programs and services. The amount of funding provided under this authority will include funds for the incremental costs of self-government and funds for the provisions of education programs and services redirected from Participating First Nations' education A-base.  It should be noted that entry into a sectoral self-government agreement does not result in enhanced programming and corresponding funding.  Nor does it prevent a self-governing First Nation from gaining access to any new or enhanced programs, services or funding being made available to other First Nations in Canada which it would, otherwise, be eligible to receive if it had not entered into the sectoral self-government agreement.

The First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act establishes the First Nations Education Authority (FNEA).  The purpose of FNEA is to support Participating First Nations in the assumption of education jurisdiction in accordance with the responsibilities set out in the Act.  In order to financially support FNEA and ensure that their responsibilities under the Act are carried out, a funding agreement will be negotiated which identifies the amount of funding to be provided annually.

All of the funds transferred as part of this initiative will flow through the class grant entitled: "Grants to Participating First Nations and the First Nations Education Authority pursuant to the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act".

These terms and conditions are specifically targeted to Aboriginal people.

2.0 Legal and Policy Authority

  • Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. I-6, s. 4
  • First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act, S.C. 2006, c. 10

3.0 Purpose, Program Objectives and Expected Results

The overall objective of this initiative and transfer payment program is to enable Participating First Nations to exercise education jurisdiction on reserve in British Columbia. Under this initiative Canada will support sustainable and effective First Nations education systems in British Columbia. It is expected that this initiative will lead to improved educational outcomes, increased participation in the labour market and improved quality of life in First Nations communities. Transferring jurisdiction over education to First Nations contributes to the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development's Strategic Outcome of "The People: Strengthened individual and family well-being for First Nations, Inuit and Northerners". This initiative is aligned to the Elementary and Secondary Education sub-activity captured under this Strategic Outcome in Program Activity Architecture for the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND).

This objective is directly linked to the Lifelong Learning theme identified in the Aboriginal Horizontal Framework. The Aboriginal Horizontal Framework identifies the Government of Canada's interest in targeting government programming and spending to maximize participation and success in early learning, education, training and skills development built on Aboriginal heritage.

Results & Outcomes

Sectoral self-government agreements over education for British Columbia First Nations will clarify jurisdiction, provide greater certainty over roles and responsibilities between Canada, British Columbia and First Nations in the area of education, establish new fiscal relationships and further the development of sustainable and effective First Nations education systems in British Columbia accountable to First Nation communities. Through these agreements, it is expected that First Nation control over First Nation education will improve the education attainment of First Nation students.

The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND) fosters a relationship conducive to sustainable development based upon good governance, effective and efficient institutions and cooperative relationships. This, in turn, will enable Participating First Nations and supporting entities to operate sound and stable systems of governance that will support First Nation schools.

4.0 Eligibility

The eligible recipients for this grant are the Participating First Nations – First Nations named in the Schedule of the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act - and the First Nations Education Authority (FNEA). The FNEA will be established according to the provisions of the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act.

Ultimate beneficiaries carrying out implementation activities include:

  • Community Education Authorities, which may be established by Participating First Nations to operate, administer and manage its education system
  • Federal, provincial or independent schools systems, which may provide services or resources to First Nations.

Where the Participating First Nation delegates' authority or transfers program funding to a third party, the recipient shall remain liable to DIAND for the performance of its obligations under the funding arrangement. Neither the objectives of the programs, nor the expectations of transparent, fair and equitable services shall be compromised by any delegation or transfer of funding.

Eligible Initiatives and Projects

Transfer payments pursuant to these agreements support the provision of programs and services by the recipients as outlined in the terms and conditions contained in the Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreement and Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Funding Agreement.

5.0 Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

Payments under this authority are provided for the implementation of individual Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreements and for the delivery or programs and services that have been assumed by the First Nations.

Eligible costs may include, but are not limited to, those associated with the provision of teacher and school certification processes, the development and delivery of curriculum and examinations in Participating First Nation school systems, payment of tuition costs for eligible students attending federal, provincial or independent schools recognized by the province and assisting Participating First Nations to develop capacity to provide education.

6.0 Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limites

Proposals for funding from each recipient shall address the requirement for the recipient to declare any and all prospective sources of funding for the program or project, inclusive of all federal, provincial or other government sources that are expected to be received. Annual financial reporting shall show all sources of funding received. Provision for repayment shall be included in the funding arrangements. Maximum funding by DIAND and total maximum government assistance is 100% of eligible costs of programs and projects.

7.0 Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

The method for determining the amount of funding is defined through negotiation according to the type and scope of education programs and services being transferred to each of the participating First Nations.

8.0 Maximum Amount Payable

The maximum amount payable to the recipient organizations will be negotiated according to the type and scope of education programs and services being transferred to each of the participating First Nations. This amount will not exceed the amount appropriated by Parliament for this purpose.

The maximum amount payable to each individual recipient is $8,000,000 per year.

9.0 Basis on Which Payments will be Made

Grants are normally paid in instalments to correspond to the cash flow requirements of the recipient. Instalments under this grant authority are made based on a cash flow forecast from the recipient and are a negotiable item in the Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Funding Agreement.

10.0 Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

Participating First Nations must be a First Nation named in the Schedule of the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act in order to enter into an arrangement under the Grants to Participating First Nations and the First Nations Education Authority Pursuant to the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act Authority.

FNEA must be established in accordance with the provisions of the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act in order for FNEA to enter into a funding arrangement under the Grants to Participating First Nations and the First Nations Education Authority Pursuant to the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act Authority.

11.0 Due Diligence and Reporting

DIAND has procedures and resources for ensuring due diligence in approving these grant payments, verifying eligibility and entitlement, and for managing and administering the program. Performance Measurement Strategies are being developed for all programs, consistent with the requirements in the Policy on Transfer Payments, as part of the phased-in approach to implement the renewed Policy on Transfer Payments.

The evaluation process or criteria to be used to assess the effectiveness of the grant program may include, but it not limited to, program/initiative rationale, success, cost-effectiveness, and design and delivery, the results achieved and the nature of impacts and effects resulting from the implementation of programs.

Recipient auditing is not applicable for transfer payments to First Nations, pursuant to sectoral self-government agreements (class grants). However, the Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Funding Agreement sets out the audit provisions and focuses the accountability relationship for financial management and program performance between the leadership of the First Nation and its members.

12.0 Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13.0 Intellectual Property

Where a grant is provided for the development of material in which copyright subsists, conditions for shared rights will be set out in the funding agreement.

14.0 Other Terms and Conditions

Funding Level Changes

For the cases in which the recipient is a Participating First Nation, the Canada – First Nation Education Jurisdiction Agreement contains a provision that states that any payment made is subject to an appropriation by Parliament for the fiscal year in which the payment is made. This clause is based on section 40 of the Financial Administration Act, which also provides sufficient authority for DIAND to cancel or reduce any payment made under its funding arrangements in the event that departmental funding levels are changed by Parliament. A similar provision will be contained in the funding arrangement negotiated with FNEA.

Programme de subvention des Premières nations participants et de l'Autorité scolaire des Premières nations aux termes de la Loi sur la compétence des Premières nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Le 24 juillet 2003, le gouvernement fédéral a signé un protocole d'entente qui, en parallèle avec la politique sur le droit inhérent de 1995, a servi de base à l'élaboration d'un cadre pour la prise de contrôle du pouvoir en matière d'éducation chez les Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le 5 juillet 2006, le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord, le premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique et le Comité directeur de l'éducation des Premières Nations ont signé l'entente-cadre tripartite sur la compétence. Cette entente comprend les modèles d'un Accord Canada-Première Nation sur la compétence en matière d'éducation, d'un Accord Canada-Première Nation sur le financement de la compétence en matière d'éducation connexe et d'un plan de mise en œuvre, qui permettront aux Premières Nations de prendre le contrôle de l'éducation, après ratification par chaque Première Nation et par le Canada.

En vertu de l'entente-cadre, la Loi sur la compétence des Premières Nations en matière d'éducation a reçu la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2006. Cette mesure législative fédérale reconnaissant la compétence des Premières Nations en matière d'éducation donnera effet aux Accords Canada-Première Nation sur la compétence en matière d'éducation qui seront négociés ultérieurement.

Cet Accord Canada-Première Nation est un accord d'autonomie gouvernementale sectorielle à l'intention des Premières Nations qui choisissent d'assumer la compétence en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique. L'accord établit la portée des compétences, dont le pouvoir législatif sur les écoles situées dans la réserve et les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année ainsi que les normes à satisfaire en matière d'enseignement. Par l'intermédiaire de l'Autorité scolaire des premières nations, ces accords permettront aux Premières Nations participantes d'élaborer des programmes d'enseignement et des examens pour leurs écoles qui seront adaptés à leur culture et reconnus par la province, et d'agréer des professeurs et des écoles des Premières nations, tout en garantissant le transfert des élèves entre les systèmes scolaires des Premières Nations et de la province sans qu'ils soient pénalisés.

Chaque Première Nation qui négocie et ratifie un Accord Canada-Première Nation sur la compétence en matière d'éducation assumera l'entière responsabilité des programmes d'éducation, des services connexes et de leurs résultats sur le territoire de la réserve. Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada ne serait plus alors responsable de l'administration de l'éducation et les articles 114 à 122 de la Loi sur les Indiens ne seraient plus applicables aux Premières Nations signataires de l'accord.

Pour assurer le financement des programmes et des services que fourniront les Premières Nations autogouvernées à leurs membres, des négociations sont entreprises quant à la portée, au type et à l'échéancier du transfert de compétences aux Premières Nations, et quant au montant du financement à fournir chaque année pendant toute la durée de l'accord. Les ressources fournies sont comparable au financement accordé aux autres Premières Nations du Canada recevant des paiements de transfert du Canada pour leurs programmes et services d'éducation. Le montant du financement se composera des fonds couvrant le coût de l'autonomie gouvernementale et des fonds nécessaires à la prestation des programmes et services d'éducation réaffectés depuis les services votés pour l'éducation des Premières Nations participantes. Il doit être souligné que la conclusion d'un accord d'autonomie gouvernementale sectorielle n'entraîne pas l'augmentation de la portée des programmes et du financement correspondant. Elle n'empêche pas non plus à la Première Nation autogouvernée de bénéficier de l'amélioration ou de l'introduction de programmes, de services ou de financements à l'intention des autres Premières Nations du Canada, auxquels elle aurait eu droit si elle n'avait pas ratifié l'accord d'autonomie gouvernementale sectorielle.

La Loi sur la compétence des Premières Nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique établit l'Autorité scolaire des Premières Nations (ASPN). L'objectif de l'ASPN est d'assister les Premières Nations participantes dans la prise en charge de l'éducation conformément aux nouvelles responsabilités prévues dans la loi. Pour fournir à l'ASPN le financement nécessaire à l'exécution de son mandat, une entente de financement sera négociée pour établir le montant à lui verser annuellement.

Tous les fonds transférés dans le cadre de cette initiative passeront par une subvention globale intitulée : « Subventions aux Premières Nations participantes et à l'Autorité scolaire des Premières Nations dans le cadre de la Loi sur la compétence des Premières Nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique ».

Les modalités de cette subvention concernent exclusivement les peuples autochtones.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

L'objectif général de cette initiative et du programme de paiements de transfert est de permettre aux Premières Nations participantes d'exercer les pleins pouvoirs en matière d'éducation dans les réserves de la Colombie-Britannique. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, le Canada apportera son appui à la mise en place de systèmes d'éducation durables et efficaces chez les Premières Nations de cette province. On s'attend à ce que cette initiative mène à l'amélioration des résultats scolaires, à une participation accrue au marché du travail et à un relèvement de la qualité de vie dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Le transfert de la compétence en matière d'éducation aux Premières Nations contribue aux résultats stratégiques du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien « Les gens : Améliorer le bien-être des personnes et des familles pour les Premières Nations, Inuit et les résidants du Nord ». Cette initiative s'inscrit dans la sous-activité Éducation primaire et secondaire, que l'architecture des activités du programme inclut dans ce résultat stratégique pour le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC).

Cet objectif est directement lié au thème de l'apprentissage permanent énoncé dans le Cadre horizontal autochtone. Ce cadre précise l'intérêt du gouvernement du Canada pour un ciblage des programmes et des dépenses de l'État qui permettrait de maximiser le taux de participation et de réussite aux étapes de la petite enfance, de l'éducation, de la formation professionnel et du perfectionnement et ce, dans le respect de la culture autochtone.

Résultats

Les accords d'autonomie gouvernementale sectorielle portant sur l'éducation conclus avec les Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique clarifieront les compétences ainsi que la répartition des rôles et des responsabilités entre le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et les Premières Nations dans ce secteur, établiront une nouvelle relation fiscale et favoriseront le développement de systèmes d'éducation durables et efficaces chez les Premières Nations de la province, avec obligation de rendre compte aux collectivités bénéficiaires. On s'attend à ce que ces accords aident les Premières Nations à mieux maîtriser les résultats pédagogiques de leurs élèves.

Le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC) privilégie une relation favorable à un développement durable fondé sur une bonne gouvernance, des institutions efficaces aux budgets maîtrisés et des relations de coopération. En retour, les Premières Nations participantes et les entités de soutien seront en mesure d'administrer des systèmes stables et efficaces de gouvernance assurant les pérennité de leurs écoles.

4. Admissibilité

Les bénéficiaires admissibles de cette subvention sont les Premières Nations participantes – c'est-à-dire celles figurant sur la liste de la Loi sur la compétence des Premières Nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique – et l'Autorité scolaire des Premières Nations (ASPN). L'ASPN sera établie conformément aux dispositions de cette loi.

Les bénéficiaires finaux qui se chargeront de la mise en œuvre des activités sont les suivants :

Si la Première Nation participante délègue ses compétences ou transfère le financement du programme à un tiers, ce dernier devra rendre compte à MAINC des résultats obtenus en fonction de ses obligations au regard de l'accord de financement. La délégation ou le transfert de financement ne doit en aucun cas compromettre les objectifs du programme ou la transparence et l'équité des services.

Initiatives et projets admissibles

Les transferts de paiements effectués en vertu de ces accords ont pour but de financer la prestation de programmes et de services par les bénéficiaires, comme il est établi dans les modalités de l'Accord Canada-Première Nation sur la compétence en matière d'éducation et de l'Accord Canada-Première Nation sur le financement en matière d'éducation.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les paiements sont effectués pour permettre la mise en œuvre des accords Canada-Première Nation sur la compétence en matière d'éducation et la prestation des programmes et des services dont les Premières Nations assument la charge.

Les coûts admissibles peuvent notamment comprendre le coût du processus d'agrément des professeurs et des écoles, le coût de l'élaboration et de l'exécution des programmes d'études et des examens dans les systèmes scolaires des Premières Nations participantes et le paiement des frais de scolarité des élèves admissibles fréquentant des écoles fédérales, provinciales ou indépendantes reconnues par la province et aidant les Premières Nations participantes à acquérir les capacités requises en matière d'éducation.

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

Toute proposition de financement est soumise à l'obligation pour le bénéficiaire de déclarer toute autre source de financement potentielle du programme ou du projet visé, y compris les éventuels financements attendus des administrations fédérale, provinciale ou autre. Tous les autres financements reçus doivent figurer dans le rapport financier annuel. Les dispositions de remboursements doivent être comprises dans l'entente de financement. Le financement maximal que peut accorder à MAINC et l'aide maximale de l'État sont de 100 pourcent des coûts admissibles des programmes et des projets.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

La méthode employée pour déterminer le montant du financement est définie par la négociation, en fonction du type et de la portée des programmes et des services d'éducation transférés à chacune des Premières Nations participantes.

8. Montants maximaux payables

Le montant maximal payable aux organisations bénéficiaires sera négocié en fonction du type et de la portée des programmes et des services d'éducation transférés à chacune des Premières Nations participantes. Le montant maximum ne peut pas dépasser le montant voté par le Parlement à cette fin.

Le montant maximum payable à chaque bénéficiaire est de 8 000 000 $ par année.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

Normalement, on accorde les subventions sous forme de versements adaptés aux besoins du bénéficiaire en matière de trésorerie. Les versements de la présente subvention sont fondés sur les prévisions de trésorerie du bénéficiaire et font partie des conditions négociables dans l'Accord Canada-Première Nation sur le financement de la compétence en matière d'éducation.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d'évaluation

Les Premières Nations participantes doivent figurer sur la liste de la Loi sur la compétence des Premières Nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique pour avoir le droit de conclure une entente sur l'octroi de subvention et l'Autorité scolaire des Premières Nations aux termes de cette loi.

Les Premières Nations participantes doivent figurer sur la liste de la Loi sur la compétence des Premières Nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique pour que leur ASPN ait le droit de conclure une entente sur l'octroi de subvention et l'Autorité scolaire des Premières Nations aux termes de cette loi.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

MAINC dispose des procédures et des ressources nécessaires pour faire preuve de diligence raisonnable dans l'approbation des paiements, la vérification de l'admissibilité et des droits ainsi que la gestion et l'administration du programme. Des stratégies de mesure du rendement sont en cours d'élaboration pour tous les programmes, conformément aux exigences de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert, dans le cadre de la démarche progressive de mise en œuvre de la nouvelle version de cette politique.

Le processus ou les critères d'évaluation utilisés pour juger de l'efficacité du programme de subvention peuvent notamment comprendre la justification du programme ou de l'initiative, sa réussite, son efficacité sur le plan des coûts, sa conception et son exécution, les résultats obtenus et la nature des répercussions de la mise en œuvre.

L'audit des bénéficiaires ne s'applique pas aux paiements de transfert versés aux Premières Nations dans le cadre d'ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale sectorielle (subventions globales). Toutefois, l'Accord Canada-Première Nation sur le financement de la compétence en matière d'éducation établit les dispositions de vérification et l'obligation, pour la direction de la Première Nation à l'égard de ses membres, de rendre compte de la gestion financière et du rendement du programme.

12. Langues officielles

Lorsqu'un programme soutient des activités pouvant être offertes à des membres de l'une ou l'autre des collectivités de langue officielle, les bénéficiaires doivent avoir accès aux services dans les deux langues officielles, si la demande est appréciable et la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles du Canada s'applique. En outre, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada énoncées dans la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Propriété intellectuelle

Lorsqu'une subvention est offerte pour la redaction de documents pour lesquels il existe un droit d'auteur, les conditions touchant les droits communs seront énoncées dans l'accord de financement.

14. Autres modalités

Modification des montants du financement

Dans le cas où le bénéficiaire est une Première Nation participante, l'Accord Canada-Première Nation sur la compétence en matière d'éducation contient une disposition selon laquelle tout versement est conditionnel au montant voté par le Parlement pendant l'exercice correspondant. Cette clause est fondée sur l'article 40 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, qui confère également à MAINC le pouvoir d'annuler ou de réduire tout versement à effectuer dans le cadre de cette entente de financement dans le cas où le parlement changerait le niveau de financement du Ministère. Une disposition analogue sera prévue dans l'entente de financement négociée avec l'ASPN.

Date de modification :