Grants to Implement Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government Agreements

Terms and Conditions

1.0 Introduction

These terms and conditions apply to transfer payments made under both comprehensive land claim and self-government agreements.

Comprehensive land claim agreements and self-government agreements (hereafter "modern treaties") are based on two federal government policies: The Comprehensive Land Claims Policy (1986); and the Government of Canada's Approach to Implementation of the Inherent Right and the Negotiation of Aboriginal Self-Government (1995) - most commonly referred to as the Inherent Right Policy.

The Comprehensive Land Claims Policy stipulates that land claims may be negotiated with Aboriginal groups in areas where claims to Aboriginal title have not been addressed by treaties or through other legal means. Comprehensive land claims are based on the assertion of continuing Aboriginal rights and title. Comprehensive land claim agreements provide certainty and finality respecting rights to ownership, use of lands and resources, including marine resources, which may contribute to increased economic development and self-sufficiency for Aboriginal groups. They provide a framework which encourages social and economic development, thereby benefiting Aboriginal people, government and third parties. Comprehensive land claim agreements also foster the development of institutions at both the community and collaborative signatory levels that facilitate the achievement of various planned outcomes arising from the agreements.

Under the Inherent Right Policy, the Government of Canada's recognition of the inherent right of self-government is based on the view that the Aboriginal peoples of Canada have a right to govern themselves in relation to matters that are internal to their communities, integral to their unique cultures, identities, traditions, languages and institutions, and with respect to their special relationship to their land and resources. Self-government agreements set out arrangements for Aboriginal groups to govern their internal affairs and assume greater responsibility and control over the decision-making that affects their communities.

The other significant feature of self-government agreements is the change in relationship between the parties. A new relationship is created wherein Aboriginal signatories constitute governments in their own right. As a result, the parties to the agreements form government-to-government-to government relationships that transform how they relate to and collaborate with one another. Self-government agreements include a provision that the Charter of Rights and Freedoms will apply to Aboriginal governments and institutions in regard to all matters within their respective jurisdictions and authorities. They provide men and women, who are beneficiaries under the agreement, with the continued protection of the Charter.

To support increased authority and decision-making powers for Aboriginal governments and other recipients with implementation obligations under modern treaties, financial arrangements need to provide maximum flexibility to set budgets and re-profile funds in order to meet community priorities and program needs.  Financial arrangements also contribute to an Aboriginal government's ability to engage in long term planning and budgeting, for the purpose of meeting longer-term community objectives.

2.0 Legal and Policy Authority

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, R.S.C., 1985, c.I-6., s. 4

Constitution Act, 1982 - Section 35

Yukon First Nations Land Claims Settlement Act, S.C., July 1994, c.3

Sechelt Indian Band Self-Government Act, and Cree-Naskapi (of Quebec) Act

3.0 Purpose, Program Objectives and Expected Results

The purpose of this transfer payment program is to enable recipient organizations to carry out and manage all one-time and ongoing obligations as set out in the negotiated final agreements and implementation agreements; thereby meeting the government's objective to settle and implement comprehensive land claims, combined comprehensive land claims and self-government agreements, comprehensive self-government agreements and sectoral self-government agreements. 

DIAND supports fostering effective institutions at both the individual community and collaborative levels to provide stability, clear "rules of the game", cultural "continuity" and cultural "match" with historical ways of governing, strategic planning capability, and fostering citizen engagement. 

Program objectives are met through effective governing institutions that further support First Nations and Inuit governments in managing resources, in delivering programs and services, and in formulating, implementing and enforcing sound policies and regulations.  Some institutions support governments and other partners in areas such as research, governance, education and the environment.  Well-managed and well-led communities are stable, accountable and cohesive at the community level.  Their governments are recognized as legitimate.  As such, they are better able to partner with other levels of government, and the private sector. The department supports these institutions through funding, research and participation.

Grant funding is used to reinforce government's objective of providing increased autonomy for Aboriginal of groups to achieve results for their citizens or land claim beneficiaries. 

Expected results of the negotiation and implementation of modern treaties include stable and sustainable Aboriginal governments, control and jurisdiction of programs and services, clarity and certainty of ownership and access to lands and resources, and stable, predictable environment for economic development. The implementation of performance measurement strategies allows for data to be collected that support: 

  • Reporting on the negotiation and impacts of modern treaties;
  • Informed decision making based on results;
  • Periodic evaluations.

A key performance indicator is the number of annual reports, tripartite committee and Board meetings to implement the treaties.

In the Program Activity Architecture, this authority is listed under The Government / Aboriginal Rights and Interests.

4.0 Eligibility

Eligible Recipients

Eligible recipients are Aboriginal groups and provincial/territorial governments. A signed self-government agreement or modern treaty (modern treaties would be those negotiated since 1973 under Canada's Comprehensive Claims policy or those under the Inherent Right Policy since 1995) is to be in place for Aboriginal groups and provincial/territorial governments to be eligible for a grant for the purpose of fulfilling their general implementation responsibilities.

Post enactment of legislation, the recipient must be a First Nation government or any entity referred to in the Final Agreement.

Eligible Initiatives and Projects

One-time and ongoing initiatives and projects related to the implementation of negotiated final agreements, implementation agreements and fiscal financing agreements.

Programs and services delivered by the eligible recipients as agreed-upon within their respective agreements, treaty agreement or self-government agreement.

5.0 Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

Expenditures consistent with one-time and ongoing activities, programs and services by the recipients as agreed-upon required to implement the obligations as set out in the negotiated final agreements, implementation plans and fiscal financing agreements.

6.0 Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limits

Total government assistance for the same purpose and eligible expenditures shall not exceed 100% of the eligible expenditures.

7.0 Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

Amount of funding required to implement final agreements in accordance with implementation agreements and fiscal financing agreements as negotiated by DIAND with the parties to the agreement and approved by Cabinet and/or Treasury Board.

8.0 Maximum Amount Payable

The maximum amount payable will vary annually in accordance with levels negotiated between Canada and the respective eligible recipient. This applies to either one time or ongoing funding identified in negotiated final agreements, implementation agreements or funding agreements. Amounts provided will not exceed applicable financial mandates.

9.0 Basis on Which Payments Will Be Made

For payments to other orders of government, the basis on which payment frequency will be made is in accordance with final agreements and related implementing documents.

10.0 Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

Funding will be made to qualified recipient organizations carrying out an implementation activity as defined in the final agreement and implementation agreements.

11.0 Due Diligence and Reporting

To support a reduction in the reporting burden, performance measurement data will be collected using various methods and sources. Recipient requirements will be set out in departmental recipient reporting documents. Frequency of reporting will be based on recipient risk.

12.0 Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13.0 Other Terms and Conditions

None.

Subventions pour la mise en oeuvre des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales et l'autonomie gouvernementale : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Ces modalités s'appliquent aux paiements de transfert effectués en vertu des ententes sur les revendications territoriales et sur l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Les accords sur les revendications territoriales globales et sur l'autonomie gouvernementale (appelés ci-après « traités modernes ») trouvent leurs assises dans deux politiques du gouvernement fédéral : la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales (1986) et L'approche du gouvernement du Canada concernant la mise en œuvre du droit inhérent des peuples autochtones à l'autonomie gouvernementale et la négociation de cette autonomie (1995), mieux connue sous le nom de Politique fédérale sur le droit inhérent.

La Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales précise que les revendications territoriales peuvent être négociées avec les groupes autochtones dans les régions où le titre autochtone n'a pas fait l'objet d'un traité ni d'autre règlement juridique. Les revendications territoriales globales partent du principe que les droits ancestraux et le titre autochtone sont continus. Ils déterminent de manière définitive et irrévocable les droits de propriété, ainsi que l'utilisation des terres et des ressources, y compris les ressources marines, ce qui peut contribuer au développement économique accru et à l'autosuffisance des groupes autochtones. Ils fournissent un cadre encourageant le développement social et économique de manière à profiter aux Autochtones, au gouvernement et aux parties intéressées. Ils favorisent en outre la croissance des institutions, d'une part, à l'échelle de la communauté et, d'autre part, aux fins de collaboration entre les signataires, ce qui facilite la matérialisation de plusieurs résultats prévus dans le cadre des ententes.

En vertu de la Politique fédérale sur le droit inhérent, la reconnaissance par le gouvernement du Canada du droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale se fonde sur une vision selon laquelle les Autochtones du Canada ont le droit de se gouverner eux-mêmes en ce qui a trait aux affaires internes de leurs communautés d'une manière qui soit en accord avec leur culture, leur identité, leurs traditions, leurs langues et leurs institutions, de même que la relation spéciale qu'ils entretiennent avec leur terre et leurs ressources. Les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale fixent les modalités en vertu desquelles les groupes autochtones régissent leurs affaires internes et assument une responsabilité et un contrôle accrus quant à la prise de décisions touchant leurs collectivités.

Elles se traduisent également par un changement dans la relation entre les parties. En effet, une nouvelle relation s'instaure dans laquelle les signataires autochtones constituent de véritables gouvernements. Par conséquent, les parties aux ententes entretiennent des relations intergouvernementales qui transforment la façon dont ils interagissent et collaborent l'une avec l'autre. Les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale incluent une disposition selon laquelle les gouvernements et les institutions autochtones appliqueront la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés dans toutes les affaires se rapportant à leurs compétences et à leurs pouvoirs respectifs. Elles assurent aux hommes et aux femmes, qui bénéficient de l'entente, la protection continue de la Charte.

Afin d'appuyer les pouvoirs accrus et les pouvoirs décisionnels des gouvernements autochtones et des autres bénéficiaires avec la mise en œuvre des obligations relatives aux traités modernes, les accords financiers doivent assurer une souplesse maximale pour établir les budgets et revoir le financement afin de répondre aux priorités de la collectivité et aux besoins liés aux programmes. Les accords financiers contribuent également à la capacité d'un gouvernement autochtone de s'engager dans une planification et une budgétisation à long terme en vue de réaliser les objectifs à long terme de la collectivité.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

Loi sur le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, L.R.C., 1985, ch. I-6, art. 4

Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, article 35

Loi sur le règlement des revendications territoriales des premières nations du Yukon, L.C., juillet 1994, ch. 35

Loi relative à l'autonomie gouvernementale de la bande indienne Sechelt et la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

Le but de ce programme de paiements de transfert est de permettre aux organismes bénéficiaires de remplir et de gérer toutes les obligations ponctuelles et permanentes telles qu'elles sont exposées dans les ententes définitives négociées et les ententes de mise en œuvre; satisfaisant ainsi à l'objectif du gouvernement de régler et de mettre en œuvre les revendications territoriales globales, les ententes visant à la fois des revendications territoriales globales et l'autonomie gouvernementale et les ententes sectorielles sur l'autonomie gouvernementale.

AADNC favorise des institutions efficaces tant sur une base individuelle, communautaire que collective pour assurer la stabilité, établir des « règles du jeu » claires, assurer la « continuité » culturelle et la « concordance » culturelle avec les manières historiques de gouverner, renforcer la capacité de planification stratégique et encourager l'engagement des citoyens.

Les objectifs du programme sont atteints par la mise en place d'institutions gouvernementales efficaces qui appuient davantage les gouvernements des Premières Nations et des Inuits au chapitre de la gestion des ressources, de la prestation des programmes et des services, ainsi que de l'élaboration, de la mise en œuvre et de l'application de politiques et de règlements judicieux. Certaines institutions aident les gouvernements et d'autres partenaires dans des domaines comme la recherche, la gouvernance, l'éducation et l'environnement. Les collectivités gérées et dirigées adéquatement sont des collectivités stables, responsables et solidaires sur le plan communautaire. Leurs gouvernements sont reconnus comme des gouvernements légitimes. Ils sont donc mieux à même de collaborer avec d'autres ordres de gouvernement et le secteur privé. Le Ministère soutient ces institutions sur le plan du financement, de la recherche et de la participation.

On a recours à un financement par subvention pour renforcer l'objectif du gouvernement de favoriser une plus grande autonomie des groupes autochtones pour obtenir des résultats pour leurs citoyens ou les bénéficiaires des revendications territoriales.

Les résultats attendus de la négociation et de la mise en œuvre des traités modernes comprennent : la mise en place de gouvernements autochtones stables et durables; l'exercice des pouvoirs et de la compétence sur les programmes et les services; l'établissement de la clarté et de la certitude à l'égard des droits de propriété et d'accès aux terres et aux ressources; et la création d'un environnement stable et prévisible propice au développement économique. La mise en œuvre de stratégies de mesure du rendement permet de recueillir des données qui soutiennent les éléments suivants :

Un indicateur de rendement clé est le nombre de rapports annuels, de réunions du comité tripartite et du Conseil de gestion en vue de la mise en œuvre des traités.

Dans l'architecture des activités de programme, cette autorité est incluse sous Le gouvernement / Les Droits et les intérêts des Autochtones.

4. Admissibilité

Bénéficiaires admissibles

Les bénéficiaires sont les groupes autochtones et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Une entente sur l’autonomie gouvernementale ou un traité moderne signé (traités modernes seraient ceux négociés depuis 1973, conformément à la politique des revendications globales du Canada ou ceux en vertu de la politique des droit inhérent depuis 1995) doit être en vigueur pour les groupes autochtones et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux pour qu’ils soient admissibles à une subvention leur permettant de s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités générales de mise en œuvre.

Dans le cas de l’adoption rétroactive d’une loi, le bénéficiaire doit être le gouvernement d’une Première Nation ou toute entité visée dans l’entente définitive.

Projets et initiatives admissibles

Des initiatives et des projets ponctuels et continus liés à la mise en œuvre d’ententes définitives négociées, d’accords de financement budgétaire et à l’adoption des ententes de mise en œuvre.

Des programmes et des services dont la prestation relève des bénéficiaires admissibles, comme il a été convenu dans leurs ententes respectives ou leurs ententes relatives à l’autonomie gouvernementale ou à un traité.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses imputées aux activités, aux programmes et aux services ponctuels et continus dont la prestation relève des bénéficiaires, comme il a été convenu et requis pour mettre en œuvre les obligations précisées dans les ententes définitives négociées, les plans de mise en œuvre et les accords de financement budgétaire.

6. Aide financière totale du Gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

L'aide gouvernementale totale pour les mêmes fins et les mêmes dépenses admissibles ne peut excéder 100 % des dépenses admissibles.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

Le montant de financement est celui qui est requis pour mettre en œuvre les ententes définitives conformément aux ententes de mise en œuvre et aux accords de financement budgétaire tels que négociés par AADNC avec les parties à l'entente et approuvés par le Cabinet et/ou le Conseil du Trésor.

8. Montants maximaux payables

Les montants maximaux payables varieront annuellement conformément aux montants qui ont été négociés entre le Canada et le bénéficiaire admissible concerné. Cela s’applique au financement ponctuel ou continu selon ce qui est précisé dans les ententes définitives négociées, les ententes de mise en œuvre et les accords de financement budgétaire. Les montants versés ne dépasseront pas les mandats financiers applicables.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

Dans le cas des paiements versés à d'autres ordres de gouvernement, la base selon laquelle la fréquence des paiements sera effectuée est conforme aux ententes définitives et aux documents de mise en œuvre connexes.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d'évaluation

Des fonds seront versés aux organismes bénéficiaires admissibles exécutant une activité de mise en œuvre conformément à l'entente définitive et aux ententes de mise en œuvre.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

Afin de réduire les exigences en matière de rapports, les données sur la mesure du rendement sont obtenues par divers moyens et dans diverses sources. Les obligations du bénéficiaire sont énoncées dans les documents ministériels de déclaration. La fréquence des rapports varie selon le risque que pose le bénéficiaire.

12. Langues officielles

Si un programme appuie des activités susceptibles d'être offertes aux membres de l'une ou l'autre collectivité de langue officielle, les services du bénéficiaire doivent être offerts dans les deux langues officielles lorsque la demande est importante et que la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles est applicable. De plus, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada prescrites à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Autres modalités

Aucune.

Date de modification :