ARCHIVED - Report on Recipient Audit of Mosakahiken Cree Nation

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: Mosakahiken Cree Nation
Location: Manitoba
Population: 700 on reserve; 685 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Recipient Managed (2011-2012)
Current default status: Recipient Managed (2012-13)
Current Chief: Phillip Buck
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2012
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $10,696,005

BACKGROUND

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) selected the Mosakahiken Cree Nation for a recipient audit in 2012-2013 based on their 2011-2012 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

This recipient audit was undertaken to:

This audit was selected as a joint audit with Health Canada and was conducted by Spearhead Management Canada Limited in February 2013.

FINDINGS

The auditor found that the recipient has not complied with the Terms and Conditions of the AANDC Funding Agreement, whether financial or non-financial. The auditor was unable to obtain sufficient appropriate audit evidence to conclude that the program funding was properly handled and accounted for and that all funds were spent in accordance with the terms and conditions of the funding agreement, and has issued a denial of opinion on this matter. Furthermore, the audit found that the recipient does not have a suitable management framework in place to administer and deliver the programs.

Program Administration

The Mosakahiken Cree Nation is governed by a Chief and Council who are the elected representatives of their members. The Council is made up of seven members and includes the Chief and six Councillors who are elected for a period of two years.

The Chief and Council hold meetings on an ad-hoc basis only and the topics of discussions are not identified in a formal agenda. Furthermore, minutes of these meetings are not prepared, leaving no tangible documentation as to what was discussed and what has been decided.

The audit determined that the recipient has not developed and implemented work plans that would provide details and explanations on program-related activities to be undertaken by staff on behalf of their community. It has also not developed and implemented policies and procedures to support the delivery of Programs and provide tools to staff to assist them in their daily tasks.

The recipient has experienced vacancies in key positions and as a result, has had issues managing the programs efficiently and exercising good controls over its finances. In order to improve its financial management capabilities, the recipient hired a full-time Director of Finance in April 2012 to oversee the financial operations of the Band. However, as of the audit date, a number of key positions remained vacant.

The recipient did not prepare budgets in support of its programs and exercised minimal on-going financial monitoring and reporting on the programs. The recipient relied on annual audited consolidated financial statements prepared by an external auditor to determine the status of expenditures incurred for the year as they did not have access to qualified accounting staff.

Financial Management

The auditor examined the financial systems and processes that the recipient put in place to support program delivery and to seek assurance of adequate and effective control.

The auditor found that the chart of accounts set up in the accounting system does not match the budget lines identified in the Agreements, which makes it difficult to reconcile information and monitor expenses efficiently, and monthly bank reconciliations have not been completed.

While revenues were properly accounted for in the accounting system and deposited into the general bank account, the auditor's review of expenditure transactions did not provide assurance that the funds were used for the purpose for which they were secured. The sample examined by the auditor found transactions that were not properly approved; could not be necessarily linked to activities; and were not supported by appropriate documentation.

The recipient has made a large number of advances to staff and Band members but has failed to account for these in the accounts receivable ledger. Consequently, the recipient is finding it difficult to keep track of the advances.

The recipient's filing system showed that financial records and supporting documentation are not adequately maintained. The information necessary to support the processing of financial transactions could not be obtained.

Management Reporting System

Discussions with AANDC representatives determined that the recipient had submitted the required activity reports; however, these reports did not meet the reporting schedule detailed in the Agreements.

Furthermore, as of the date of the audit, the recipient had not submitted final 2011-2012 audited consolidated financial statements to AANDC, as they were in draft form only at the time of audit. An external auditor review of these same statements provided a Disclaimer of Opinion, as the external auditors were unable to obtain sufficient appropriate evidence to provide a basis of opinion on the audit. The external auditor found that the systems of accounting and internal controls that were in place throughout the years were inadequate and, as a result, revenues and expenditures were not subject to satisfactory audit verification.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The auditor provided recommendations in the following areas:

Program Administration

  • The Chief and Council should schedule regular meetings to oversee the operations of the Band and formalize these meetings by preparing agendas and minutes that will confirm Council's positions on topics discussed at the meetings.
  • The recipient should develop and implement work plans, policies and procedures, and annual budgets to support staff in the delivery of the Programs.
  • The recipient should continue to work to fill the vacant positions and develop job descriptions that clearly define the roles and responsibilities of all employees.

Financial Management

  • The Director of Finance should update the chart of accounts to match the budget lines identified in the Agreements to support the monitoring process and facilitate reporting.
  • The recipient should provide formal training to staff on the software that is being used to process and record its financial transactions to enhance the overall capacity of the Finance Department.
  • The recipient should ensure that bank reconciliations are prepared on a monthly basis and that these reconciliations are reviewed and approved by the Chief and Council.
  • The recipient should improve its filing system to ensure that all documentation required for the processing of financial transactions is readily accessible and that it is retained for audit purposes.

Management Reporting System

  • The recipient should comply with the reporting requirements of the Agreements.

CURRENT STATUS

A copy of the final report has been sent to the recipient.

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur la vérification du bénéficiaire - Nation des Cris de Mosakahiken

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Nation des Cris de Mosakahiken
Lieu : Manitoba
Population : 700 personnes dans la réserve; total de 685 personnes inscrites
État des manquements au moment de la vérification : Gestion par le bénéficiaire (2011-2012)
État actuel des manquements : Gestion par le bénéficiaire (2012-2013)
Chef actuel : Phillip Buck
Période visée par la vérification : du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2012
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 10 696 005 $

CONTEXTE

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a choisi la Nation des Cris de Mosakahiken pour faire l'objet d'une vérification de bénéficiaire en 2012-2013 en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2011-2012 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

Cette vérification de bénéficiaire a été menée pour :

Cette vérification a été choisie comme vérification conjointe avec Santé Canada et a été menée par Spearhead Management Canada ltée en février 2013.

CONSTATATIONS

Le vérificateur a constaté que le bénéficiaire ne s'est pas conformé aux modalités (financières ou non) de l'entente de financement avec AADNC. Il n'a pas pu obtenir suffisamment d'éléments probants pour conclure que les fonds du programme avaient été adéquatement gérés et comptabilisés et qu'ils avaient tous été utilisés conformément aux modalités de l'entente de financement, et il lui a été impossible d'exprimer une opinion à cet égard. De plus, la vérification a révélé que le bénéficiaire n'a pas établi de cadre de gestion convenable pour administrer et exécuter les programmes.

Administration des programmes

La Nation des Cris de Mosakahiken est gouvernée par un chef et des conseillers élus par les membres. Le conseil est composé de sept membres, c'est-à-dire du chef de bande et de six conseillers élus pour une période de deux ans.

Le chef et le conseil se réunissent sur une base ad hoc et les sujets de discussions ne sont pas identifiés dans un ordre du jour officiel. En outre, étant donné que les procès-verbaux de réunion ne sont pas rédigés, il n'existe aucun document concret indiquant l'objet des discussions et les décisions prises.

La vérification a révélé que le bénéficiaire n'a pas élaboré ni mis en œuvre des plans de travail qui fourniraient des détails et des explications sur les activités relatives aux programmes exécutés par les membres du personnel au nom de leur communauté. Le bénéficiaire n'a pas non plus élaboré ni mis en œuvre des politiques et des procédures pour appuyer l'exécution des programmes, ni fourni des outils aux membres du personnel pour les aider dans leurs tâches quotidiennes.

Le bénéficiaire a dû composer avec un certain nombre de postes clés vacants et a donc éprouvé de la difficulté à gérer les programmes de façon efficace ainsi qu'à exercer un contrôle adéquat de ses finances. En vue d'améliorer ses capacités de gestion financière, le bénéficiaire a embauché un directeur des finances à temps plein en avril 2012 pour superviser les opérations financières de la bande. Cependant, au moment de la vérification, un certain nombre de postes clés demeuraient vacants.

Le bénéficiaire n'a pas élaboré de budgets concernant ses programmes et a mené à l'égard de ceux-ci peu d'activités continues de surveillance financière et de reddition de comptes. Pour déterminer la nature des dépenses engagées au cours de l'exercice, il s'est appuyé sur des états financiers consolidés vérifiés annuellement et rédigés par un vérificateur externe, étant donné qu'il n'y avait pas personnel comptable qualifié à son emploi.

Gestion financière

Le vérificateur a examiné les systèmes et les processus financiers mis en place par le bénéficiaire pour appuyer l'exécution des programmes et garantir un contrôle adéquat et efficace.

Le vérificateur a constaté que le plan comptable établi dans le système de comptabilité ne correspondait pas aux lignes budgétaires indiquées dans les ententes, ce pour quoi il est difficile de faire les rapprochements et de surveiller les dépenses de façon efficace. Par ailleurs, les rapprochements bancaires mensuels n'ont pas été effectués.

Bien que les revenus aient été convenablement inscrits dans le système de comptabilité et déposées dans le compte bancaire général, l'examen des dépenses mené par le vérificateur n'a pas permis de confirmer que les fonds ont été utilisés aux fins prévues. L'échantillon examiné par le vérificateur contenait des opérations qui n'avaient pas été adéquatement approuvées, qui n'étaient pas nécessairement liées aux activités et qui n'étaient pas justifiées par les documents appropriés.

Le bénéficiaire a accordé de nombreuses avances de fonds au personnel et aux membres de la bande, mais il ne les a pas comptabilisées dans le grand livre des comptes débiteurs. Il est donc difficile pour lui de tenir compte des avances.

Un examen du système de classement du bénéficiaire a montré que les documents financiers et les autres documents connexes ne sont pas adéquatement conservés. L'information nécessaire pour appuyer le traitement des opérations financières effectuées n'a pas pu être obtenue.

Système de rapports de gestion

À la suite de discussions avec des représentants d'AADNC, il a été établi que le bénéficiaire avait présenté les rapports sur les activités requis. Toutefois, ces rapports ne respectaient pas  le calendrier de rapports figurant dans les ententes.

En outre, au moment de la vérification, le bénéficiaire n'avait pas présenté à AADNC la version finale de ses états financiers consolidés vérifiés de 2011-2012, car il n'en existait alors qu'une version provisoire. La vérification externe de ces états financiers provisoires a créé une impossibilité d'exprimer une opinion, étant donné que le vérificateur n'a pas pu obtenir suffisamment d'éléments probants pour se prononcer à cet égard. Celui-ci a conclu que les systèmes comptables et les contrôles internes mis en place au fil des ans étaient inadéquats et que, par conséquent, les revenus et les dépenses ne faisaient pas l'objet d'une vérification satisfaisante.

RECOMMANDATIONS

Le vérificateur a formulé les recommandations suivantes :

Administration des programmes

  • Le chef et les conseillers devraient tenir des réunions de façon régulière pour superviser les activités de la bande et formaliser ces réunions en rédigeant des ordres du jour et des procès-verbaux qui confirmeront le point de vue du conseil en ce qui a trait aux points abordés au cours de celles-ci.
  • Le bénéficiaire devrait élaborer et mettre en œuvre des plans de travail, des politiques et des procédures ainsi que des budgets annuels pour aider le personnel dans la prestation des programmes.
  • Le bénéficiaire devrait continuer à travailler pour combler les postes vacants et développer des descriptions de tâches qui définissent clairement le rôle et les responsabilités de tous les employés.

Gestion financière

  • Le directeur des finances devrait mettre à jour le plan comptable pour qu'il corresponde aux lignes budgétaires indiquées dans les ententes afin d'appuyer le processus de contrôle et de faciliter la préparation des rapports.
  • Le bénéficiaire devrait fournir une formation formelle au personnel sur le logiciel qui est utilisé pour traiter et enregistrer ses transaction financières afin d'améliorer la capacité globale de la Direction des finances.
  • Le bénéficiaire devrait veiller à ce que les rapprochements bancaires soient effectués chaque mois et qu'ils soient examinés et approuvés par le chef et les conseillers.
  • Le bénéficiaire devrait améliorer son système de classement pour s'assurer que tous les documents requis pour le traitement des opérations financières sont facilement accessibles et conservés à des fins de vérification.

Système de rapports de gestion

  • Le bénéficiaire devrait se conformer aux exigences en matière de rapports qui sont énoncées dans les ententes.

SITUATION ACTUELL

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire.

 
 
Date de modification :