Air Quality Monitoring Program

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Two specific air quality monitoring programs are underway at the Giant Mine site. These include a site-wide network and activity-specific monitoring around the roaster decontamination and deconstruction project.

The program provides data to ultimately ensure the prevention of potential adverse effects to people and the environment from atmospheric emissions from the project during ongoing remediation activities. More details on the air monitoring program, including real-time data and weekly reports are available on the NWT Air Quality Monitoring Network.

Site-wide Network


Fenceline network: This map
shows the location of the air
monitoring stations around
the Giant Mine site.

(Click on the image for a larger version)

View text version of this image

This satellite image shows the whole Giant Mine site, on the shores of Great Slave Lake. Specifically, It pinpoints the location of the six air quality monitoring stations that make up the site-wide network. Four of the stations (Stations B, D, E and F) are located along the south, southeast end of the mine site. Another station (Station A) is located at the northeast end of the site while Station C is near the northernmost point of the site.




Community network: This
map shows the location of
the air monitoring stations
located around the community.

(Click on the image for a larger version)

View text version of this image

This satellite image of the Yellowknife area shows the location of the three air quality monitoring stations that make up the community network. The stations are located at the marina (which is north of the city), in N'dilo (which is northeast of the city), and in downtown Yellowknife.


The site-wide air quality monitoring program includes community monitoring and fenceline monitoring stations. This network provides air quality data related to onsite activities and the potential effects on the local air.

It allows the Project Team to verify that residents are not being exposed to unacceptable levels of contaminants from the activities occurring at the Giant Mine site.

The community network is made up of stations at the Giant Mine Marina, in N’Dilo and near downtown Yellowknife. This network is used to measure against the GNWT and project air quality markers for the protection of health. The stations monitor continuously for two sizes of particulate matter 10 microns and 2.5 microns in size (PM10 and PM2.5), which is dust that can get into one’s lungs. (For comparison, one strand of hair is about 75 microns in diameter.)

As well, integrated sampling is conducted every third day at each station for lab analysis of metals (including arsenic, antimony, iron, lead and nickel), asbestos and particulate (TSP, PM10). Integrated sampling refers to the two types of data taken from the same one filter in the monitor: the filter is weighed to find the TSP and PM10 and the filter is then sent to be analyzed for metals.

The fenceline program measures dust to ensure dust and contaminants are not being released from the project site. The program is used to ensure the health guidelines are not exceeded in the community. Six fenceline instruments run continuously during onsite work hours (approximately 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.). These instruments monitor for PM10 and total suspended particulate (TSP).

Should the thresholds, based on Health Canada guidelines, be exceeded, actions to be taken may include spraying dust suppressant or altering work practices in order to keep the dust down. Measures are implemented when levels surpass 159 micrograms per cubic metre for PM10 and 333 micrograms per cubic metre for TSP over a 15 minute period.

Roaster Network


Roaster network: This map
shows the location of the air
monitoring stations around
roaster complex.

(Click on the image for a larger version)

View text version of this image

This satellite image focuses the buildings of the roaster complex and the six air quality monitoring stations that make up the roaster network. Stations 3, 4, 5 and 7 are rotating stations that move between three locations, on the east, south and west side of the roaster complex. Stations 2 and 6 are fixed at the north end of the roaster complex.


This network monitors air quality around the work perimeter of the roaster decontamination and deconstruction activities. It ensures dust and contaminants from the roaster are not being released into the air at unacceptable levels.

Four stations are placed around the roaster work, one fixed and three that are moved based on wind conditions. The instruments continuously monitor for particulate matter smaller than 10 microns (PM10). Real-time data is used to trigger dust management actions at the roaster site if thresholds are exceeded. Should the thresholds, based on Health Canada guidelines, be exceeded, actions may include wetting buildings or altering work practices in order to keep the dust down.

Integrated sampling is being conducted at two locations: one fixed and one downwind of the work. The sample is sent away to a lab for analysis of arsenic and particulate on rush turnaround. Quality assurance and quality control is ensured by using duplicate samples and field blanks, or non-contaminated filters.

Programme de surveillance de la qualité de l'air

Deux programmes distincts de surveillance de la qualité de l'air sont en cours à la mine Giant. Ces programmes comprennent un réseau pour l'ensemble du site et la surveillance d'une activité précise en lien avec le projet de décontamination et de démantèlement du complexe de grillage.

Le programme fournit des données permettant, en définitive, de prévenir les effets indésirables pour les gens et l'environnement causés par les émissions atmosphériques durant le projet en raison des activités d'assainissement en cours. On trouve de plus amples renseignements sur le programme de surveillance de la qualité de l'air, y compris des données en temps réel et des rapports hebdomadaires, dans le site du réseau de surveillance de la qualité de l'air des T.N.-O (site Web non disponible en français).

Réseau pour l'ensemble du site


Surveillance aux limites du
site : Cette carte indique où
se situent les stations de
surveillance de la mine Giant.

(Cliquez sur l'image pour une version pleine grandeur)

Visionner la version textuelle de cette image

L'image satellite illustre le site complet de la mine Giant, situé sur les rives du Grand lac des Esclaves. L'image identifie précisément le lieu des six stations de surveillance de la qualité de l'air qui constituent l'ensemble du réseau du site. Parmi ces stations, quatre d'entre elles, B, D, E et F, sont situées à l'extrémité sud, sud-est de la mine. Pour sa part, la station A est située à l'extrémité nord est et enfin, la station C est près du point le plus septentrional du site.




Surveillance dans la
collectivité : Cette carte
indique où se situent les
stations de surveillance de
la communauté.

(Cliquez sur l'image pour une version pleine grandeur)

Visionner la version textuelle de cette image

L'image satellite de la région de Yellowknife illustre le lieu des trois stations de surveillance de la qualité de l'air qui constituent le réseau de la collectivité. Les stations sont situées dans le secteur de la marina (nord de la ville), à Ndilo (nord est de la ville) et dans le centre-ville de Yellowknife.


Le programme de surveillance de la qualité de l'air pour l'ensemble du site comprend la surveillance dans la collectivité et des stations de surveillance aux limites du site. Ce réseau fournit des données sur la qualité de l'air liées aux activités sur le site et les effets possibles sur l'air ambiant.

Il permet à l'équipe de projet de s'assurer que les résidents ne sont pas exposés à des niveaux inacceptables de contaminants provenant des activités réalisées sur le site de la mine Giant.

Le réseau communautaire comprend les stations situées à la marina de la mine Giant, à N'Dilo et près du centre-ville de Yellowknife. Ce réseau permet une comparaison aux marqueurs de qualité de l'air du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO) et du projet pour assurer la protection de la santé. Les stations surveillent constamment la présence de matière particulaire de 10 micromètres et de 2,5 micromètres (PM10 et PM2.5), soit de la poussière pouvant être absorbée dans les poumons. (Aux fins de comparaison, un cheveu a un diamètre d'environ 75 micromètres.)

On procède par ailleurs à un échantillonnage intégré à chaque station tous les trois jours aux fins d'analyse en laboratoire des métaux (notamment l'arsenic, l'antimoine, le fer, le plomb et le nickel), de l'amiante et des particules (matières particulaires totales en suspension (MPT), PM10). L'échantillonnage intégré renvoie à deux types de données tirées du même filtre dans l'appareil de contrôle : on pèse le filtre pour détecter les MPT et les PM10 puis on procéde à l'analyse des métaux.

Aux limites du site, le programme mesure la poussière afin de s'assurer que cette poussière et les contaminants ne sont pas libérés du site du projet. Il vise à ce que normes indiquées dans les lignes directrices sur la santé ne soient pas dépassées dans la collectivité. Six instruments situés le long des limites du site fonctionnent constamment durant les heures normales de travail (environ de 7 h à 19 h). Ces instruments surveillent la présence de PM10 et de MPT.

Si les seuils, fondés sur les lignes directrices de Santé Canada, sont dépassés, les mesures à prendre sont notamment la pulvérisation d'un dépoussiérant et la modification des pratiques de travail afin de maintenir la poussière au sol. Des mesures sont prises si les niveaux dépassent 159 microgrammes par mètre cube pour les PM10 et 333 microgrammes par mètre cube pour les MPT pendant 15 minutes.

Réseau du complexe de grillage


Surveillance autour du
complexe de grillage : Cette
carte indique où se situent
les stations de surveillance
complexe de grillage.

(Cliquez sur l'image pour une version pleine grandeur)

Visionner la version textuelle de cette image

L'image satellite se concentre sur les édifices du complexe de grillage et des six stations de surveillance de la qualité de l'air qui constituent le réseau du complexe de grillage. Les stations 3, 4, 5 et 7 sont des stations tournantes qui se déplacent en trois points du complexe de grillage : à l'est, au sud et à l'ouest. Les stations 2 et 6 sont fixes et sont situées à l'extrémité nord du complexe.


Ce réseau surveille la qualité de l'air autour du périmètre de travail des activités de décontamination et de démantèlement du complexe de grillage. Il veille à ce que la poussière et les contaminants provenant du complexe ne sont libérés dans l'air à des niveaux inacceptables.

Quatre stations sont situées autour du site du complexe de grillage; une station est fixe et les autres peuvent être déplacées en fonction des vents. Les instruments surveillent constamment la présence de matières particulaires plus petites que 10 micromètres (PM10). Les données en temps réel sont utilisées pour déclencher les mesures de gestion de la poussière au site du complexe si les seuils sont dépassés. Si les seuils, fondés sur les lignes directrices de Santé Canada, sont dépassés, les mesures à prendre sont notammen le mouillage des bâtiments ou la modification des pratiques de travail afin de maintenir la poussière au sol.

L'échantillonnage intégré est effectué à deux endroits : une station fixe et une station en aval. L'échantillon est envoyé au laboratoire aux fins d'analyse pour détecter rapidement l'arsenic et les matières particulaires. L'assurance et le contrôle de la qualité sont réalisés en utilisant des échantillons doubles et des échantillons-témoins, ou des filtres non contaminés.