Quick Guide to Understanding Financial Statements

Image showing an example of the front cover of a Financial Statements book

Background

The First Nations Financial Transparency Act (Bill C-27) addresses the issue of financial transparency for First Nation leaders by expanding the scope of the information to be publicly disclosed beyond the salaries and expenses of chiefs and councillors to include the public disclosure of a First Nation's audited consolidated Financial Statements.

Community members, the general public and even AANDC personnel would benefit from an increased level of literacy in being able to read, interpret and act (based on their own interests and perspectives) on the Financial Statements issued by First Nations. At the same time, there is a wide range of financial literacy – from beginners who may never have seen a financial statement, to highly sophisticated investors.



Q: What are Financial Statements and why are they audited each year?

Answer:

Financial Statements give you a picture of a First Nation's finances over a one year period referred to as a "fiscal year". Basically, they show you where the First Nation's money came from, where it went, and where it is at the end of the fiscal year.

Having the statements audited each year by an independent, external auditor, provides the reader with an assurance that the statements paint a reasonable and reliable picture of the First Nation's finances.

You should also know that the fiscal year for a First Nation starts on April 1 and ends on March 31 of the following year.


Q: Why should I care about my First Nation's Financial Statements?

Answer:

If you are a member of a First Nation community, services that you receive depend on money being available to pay for those services. Financial statements tell you not just how money was spent, but also how likely it is that money will be available to pay for services in the future. The healthier its finances, the more likely it is that your First Nation will have the money to pay for future services.

By taking an interest in the finances of your community you will contribute to its efforts to maintain and improve its financial health and, therefore, its ability to continue to provide services to its members.


Q: What are the pieces that make up the Financial Statements?

Answer:

There are eight separate pieces that make up the Financial Statements package:

  1. Statement of Responsibility
  2. Auditor's Report
  3. Consolidated Statement of Financial Position
  4. Consolidated Statement of Operations
  5. Consolidated Statement of Change in Net Debt
  6. Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows
  7. Notes
  8. Schedules

There are four Financial Statements (Numbers 3, 4, 5, and 6 above). Each one speaks to essential aspects of the financial position of the First Nation.

Notes (Number 7 above) are an important part of the Financial Statements and provides clarifications or more detailed information about what you see in the four statements.

Additional information, like salaries for Chief and Council members, is included in the Schedules (Number 8 above).

Q: Why do they call the Financial Statements "consolidated" and "audited"?

Answer:

"Consolidated" means that the statements show money received and spent not just by the First Nation to provide services to members, but also by all of the First Nation-owned businesses. Consolidated Statements would also include not-for-profits owned or controlled by the reporting entity (or First Nation).

Businesses owned or controlled by the First Nation would be included in the financial statements and the details of the operation of the owned corporate entities would be highly summarized.

"Audited" means that a qualified, external and independent auditor has looked closely at the statements and given a professional opinion about how reasonable and reliable they are.

Q: How do I know if the Financial Statements are accurate?

Answer:

The opinion of the Auditor is included in the "Auditor's Report," which is one of the components of the Financial Statements.

An "unqualified opinion" means that no material misstatements have been identified by the auditor in the financial statements. The opinion shown here is what is an "unqualified" opinion – meaning that the auditors believe the statements to be both reasonable and reliable.

An opinion that is not "unqualified" indicates that there may be some problems, from relatively minor (where the opinion is qualified) to potentially major (where the auditor provides an adverse opinion.) You may wish to pose questions to your First Nation financial administrator where you see an opinion that is not "unqualified."

Q: What do the Financial Statements tell me about the financial situation of my First Nation?

Answer:

The Consolidated Statement of Operations tells the reader if the First Nation was able to cover its costs during the fiscal year.

The Consolidated Statement of Change in Net Debt tells the reader if the First Nation was able to reduce its net debt during the fiscal year. "Net debt" is the negative amount left over after all that the First Nation owes (its financial "liabilities") is subtracted from its total financial assets (e.g. cash).

The Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows tells the reader if the First Nation was able to increase its cash flow during the fiscal year.

The Consolidated Statement of Financial Position tells the reader if the First Nation will be able to provide future services to members.

Q: Where in the Financial Statements do I find out whether my First Nation has a deficit or a surplus?

Answer:

Not unlike a regular household, a First Nation needs to cover their expenses with monies coming in ("revenues"). Otherwise, they will have to cut services or costs, or borrow and incur more debt. More debt creates more future obligations, which eventually leaves less money to pay for delivery of services to members. An annual surplus (or annual deficit) in the Statement of Operations shows whether or not the revenues for the year were enough to cover the expenses for the year. An annual surplus indicates that the First Nation was able to cover its expenses during the fiscal year. For obvious reasons, an annual deficit may be a reason for some concern, which you may wish to take up with your First Nation management.

Image showing an example of the Consolidated Statement of Operations

View text version of this image

Illustrated here is the Consolidated Statement of Operations of the fictional ABC First Nation which itemises in details various Revenues, Expenses, as well as the community's Annual Surplus (deficit), Accumulated surplus (deficit) at the beginning of year and the Accumulated surplus at the end of the year. Highlighted by a red frame is the line detailing the Annual surplus (deficit).

 

Q: What does the accumulated surplus/deficit number mean?

Answer:

Image showing an example of the Consolidated Statement of Financial Position

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Consolidated Statement of Financial Position of the fictional ABC First Nation. Highlighted on the statement by a red frame is the line identifying Accumulated Surplus (deficit).

Assets are things that the First Nation owns that have value, like cash ("financial assets") or buildings ("non-financial assets") and can readily be used to cover future needs. The Statement of Financial Position tells you what assets the First Nation owns after what it owes has been subtracted. These are known as the "net assets" or "accumulated surplus". If this amount is negative – meaning that what the First Nation owes is more than the assets it has – this is known as the "accumulated deficit". The bigger this negative number, the more worrisome it is for the future ability of the First Nation to provide services to members because moneys from provision of services will need to be diverted to cover these accumulated deficits, or additional revenue will need to be generated.

 

Q: What is "net debt" and why is it important? Do we have to pay debt back?

Answer:

In the Statement of Financial Position, "net debt" is the negative amount left over after all that the First Nation owes (its financial "liabilities") are subtracted from its total financial assets (like cash). A large net debt for the year is a considerable cause for concern because it shows that the First Nation is unable cover its expenses.

Image showing an example of the Consolidated Statement of Financial Position

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Consolidated Statement of Financial Position of the fictional ABC First Nation. Highlighted on the statement by a red frame is the line identifying Employee benefit obligations.

Image showing an example of the Consolidated Statement of Change in Net Financial Assets (Net Debt)

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Consolidated Statement of Change in Net Financial Assets (Net Debt) of the fictional ABC First Nation. Highlighted on the statement by a red frame is the line identifying the Change in net financial assets (net debt).

At the same time, the change in net debt in the Statement of Change in Net Debt measures whether or not there has been an increase or decrease in the First Nation's net debt during the fiscal year. An increase in net debt may be a reason for concern.

Eventually, all debts will have to be paid back, and doing so will use money which would otherwise help provide more services to members. More debt today will force us to tighten our belt in the future…

 

Q: Does an annual surplus mean that my First Nation has money to spend?

Answer:

A positive accumulated surplus at the end of year in the Statement of Operations indicates that the First Nation has money left over. An "annual surplus" only shows that the revenues for the year were higher than the costs for the year, meaning that your First Nation was able to cover its costs during the fiscal year. But does that automatically mean that the First Nation now has money to spend? Not necessarily. If, for instance, the accumulated deficit at the beginning of the year exceeded this annual surplus, there will be no accumulated surplus left at the end of the year.

Image showing an example of the Consolidated Statement of Operations

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Consolidated Statement of Operations for the fictional ABC First Nation. Highlighted on the statement by a red frame are the three lines identifying the Annual surplus (deficit), the Accumulated surplus (deficit) at beginning of year and the Accumulated surplus at end of year.

 

Q: What information does the cash flow statement provide?

Answer:

The cash flow statement indicates whether the First Nation was able to increase its cash flow during the fiscal year. Cash – "liquid" money – is the lifeblood of any First Nation or First Nation-owned business. Availability of cash (or "positive cash flow") allows the organization to pay for goods, services and salaries without going into debt or dipping into its savings. Cash flow information, shown in the Statement of Cash Flows, shows the change in the amount of cash held from the beginning of the year to the end of the year. An increase in cash flow is a sign of good financial health; a decrease is a reason for asking questions.

Image showing an example of the Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows for the fictional ABC First Nation. Highlighted on the statement by a red frame are the three lines identifying the Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents, Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year, and Cash and cash equivalents at end of year.

 

Q: Where do I find how much the Chief and Council members are paid?

Answer:

Starting with the fiscal year ended March 31, 2014, an annual Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses should be included among the schedules attached to the Financial Statements. It indicates what the First Nation has paid the Chief and each of its Councillors for their services during the year, broken down by type of payment.

Image showing an example of the Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Schedule of Remunerations and Expenses for the fictional ABC First Nation. Highlighted on the statement by a red frame are the lines identifying the elected officials and the financial information regarding Salary, Travel, Vehicle, Honouraria, Severance, Other Remuneration, and their sum totals.

 

Q: Why are notes added to the Financial Statements?

Answer:

Notes are very important in understanding the Financial Statements because they clarify or provide useful context for the numbers in the Statements.

As a minimum, the notes explain the accounting policies used in the preparation of the Statements.

In most cases, however, notes have a lot more to say and should be looked at carefully.

Image showing an example of the Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements document for the fictional ABC First Nation. The image is of the top of the Statement which begins with section 1. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies and 2. Cash and cash equivalents. The document is a combination of text and two columns of financial data for the years 2013 and 2012.

Image showing an example of the Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements continued

View text version of this image

Pictured is the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements document for the fictional ABC First Nation. The image is of section 20. Segment Disclosure and features some text and a large table of financial data.

Some notes will be included because of certain developments (for example, debt obligations that come due.)

Finally, some notes will be disclosed to give useful insights to readers of the statements (for example, they want to bring attention to positive signs for the Community's economic prospects.)

 

Q: What "story" are the Financial Statements telling me about my First Nation?

Answer:

Consolidated Statement of Change in Net Debt

Was your First Nation able to reduce its net debt during the fiscal year?

"Net debt" is the negative amount left over after all that the First Nation owes (its financial "liabilities") are subtracted from its total financial assets (like cash). Change in net debt in the Statement of Change in Net Debt measures whether or not there has been in increase or decrease in the First Nation's "net debt" during the fiscal year. An increase in net debt may be reason for concern.

Consolidated Statement of Operations

Was your First Nation able to cover its costs during the fiscal year?

A First Nation needs to cover its costs with monies coming in (revenues). Otherwise, it will have to cut services, costs, borrow and incur more debt or find additional new revenues. More debt creates more future obligations , which leaves less money to pay for delivery of services to members. Annual surplus (or annual deficit) in the Statement of Operations shows whether or not the revenues for the year were enough to cover the costs for the year. An annual deficit may be reason for concern.

Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows

Was your First Nation able to increase its cash flow during the fiscal year?

Availability of cash - "liquid" money (or "positive cash flow") enables the organization to pay for goods, services and salaries without going into debt. Cash flow information, shown in the Statement of Cash Flows, indicates the change in the amount of cash held from the beginning of the year to the end of the year. An increase in cash flow is a sign of good financial health; a decrease is a reason for asking questions.

Consolidated Statement of Financial Position

How able will your First Nation be to provide future services to its members?

Assets are things that the First Nation owns that have value, like cash ("financial assets") or buildings ("non-financial assets") and can be used to cover future needs. The Statement of Financial Position tells you what assets the First Nation owns clear of all that it owes. These are known as the "net assets" or "accumulated surplus". If this amount is negative – meaning that what the First Nation owes is more than the assets it has – this is known as the "accumulated deficit". The bigger this negative number, the more worrisome it is for the future.

 

Q: Who should I ask about any specific questions I have?

Answer:

Your community's financial administrators would be your first point of contact for questions, details and specifics about any information in your First Nation's Financial Statements.

For questions of a more general nature – or if you are uncertain about notions, concepts or terminology used – you have at least three approaches available.

One approach is to ask your community's financial administrators. They were the ones who prepared the statements in the first place.

Another approach is the internet. A lot of useful information is available by using an internet search engine.

Finally, another approach is to call us at 1-800-567-9604. We will try to answer all questions as soon as possible. Using your questions we may also update – or add to – this guide to make it ever more current and responsive to your needs.

Guide de consultation rapide sur les états financiers

Image montrant un exemple de la couverture d'un livre des états financiers

Contexte

La Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations (projet de loi C­27), qui porte sur la question de la transparence financière pour les dirigeants des Premières Nations, élargit la portée des renseignements qui doivent être publiés au­delà des salaires et des dépenses des chefs et des conseillers afin d'inclure les états financiers consolidés vérifiés des Premières Nations.

Les membres des collectivités, le grand public et même le personnel d'AADNC bénéficieraient d'un rehaussement du niveau de compétence puisqu'ils seraient en mesure de lire et d'interpréter les états financiers publiés par les Premières Nations, puis d'agir en fonction de leurs propres intérêts et points de vue. Par ailleurs, l'éducation financière varie beaucoup, des débutants qui n'ont peut­être jamais vu un état financier aux investisseurs chevronnés.



Q : Que sont les états financiers et pourquoi sont­ils vérifiés chaque année?

Réponse :

Les états financiers illustrent la situation financière d'une Première Nation sur une période d'un an appelée « exercice ». Fondamentalement, ils montrent d'où l'argent de la Première Nation provenait, où il a été distribué et où il se trouve à la fin de l'exercice.

La vérification annuelle des états financiers par un vérificateur externe indépendant fournit au lecteur l'assurance que les états donnent, de façon raisonnable, une image fiable de la situation financière de la Première Nation.

Vous devez également savoir que l'exercice d'une Première Nation commence le 1er avril et se termine le 31 mars de l'année suivante.


Q : Pourquoi devrais­je m'intéresser aux états financiers de ma Première Nation?

Réponse :

Si vous êtes membre d'une collectivité des Premières Nations, les services que vous recevez dépendent de l'argent disponible pour les payer. Les états financiers vous révèlent non seulement les sommes dépensées, mais aussi la probabilité quant aux fonds qui seront disponibles pour payer les services à l'avenir. Les états financiers vous révèlent non seulement combien d'argent a été dépensé, mais aussi s'il est probable que les fonds seront disponibles pour payer les services à l'avenir. Plus ces finances sont saines, plus il est probable que votre Première Nation aura l'argent pour payer de futurs services.

En vous intéressant aux finances de votre collectivité, vous contribuerez aux efforts qu'elle déploie pour maintenir et améliorer sa santé financière, et donc, sa capacité à continuer de fournir des services à ses membres.


Q : Quels sont les éléments qui constituent les états financiers?

Réponse :

Les états financiers sont constitués de huit éléments distincts.

  1. Énoncé de responsabilités
  2. Rapport du vérificateur
  3. État consolidé de la situation financière
  4. État consolidé des operations
  5. État consolidé de l'évolution de la dette nette
  6. État consolidé des flux de trésoerie
  7. Notes
  8. Annexes

Il y a quatre états financiers (sections 3, 4,5 et 6). Chacun porte sur des aspects essentiels de la situation financière de la Première Nation ou des changements qui lui ont été apportés.

Les notes (numéro 7 ci-dessus) sont une partie importante des états financiers et fournissent des précisions ou des renseignements détaillés sur ce qui se trouve dans les quatre états.

Des renseignements supplémentaires, comme le salaire du chef et des membres du Conseil, sont fournis dans les annexes (numéro 8 ci-dessus).

Q : Pourquoi les états financiers sont­ils dits « consolidés » et « vérifiés »?

Réponse :

« Consolidés » signifie que les états portent sur l'argent qui est reçu et dépensé non seulement par la Première Nation pour fournir des services à ses membres, mais aussi par toutes les entreprises appartenant à la Première Nation.

Cette notion englobe également les organismes sans but lucratif dont l'entité comptable (ou Première Nation) est propriétaire ou qu'elle contrôle. Les états financiers tiendront compte des entreprises dont la Première Nation est propriétaire ou qu'elle contrôle et présenteront un bref aperçu des opérations des sociétés qui leur appartiennent.

« Vérifiés » signifie qu'un vérificateur qualifié, externe et indépendant a examiné soigneusement les états et a donné un avis professionnel sur leur caractère raisonnable et leur fiabilité.

Q : Comme puis­je savoir si les états financiers sont exacts?

Réponse :

Cette opinion se trouve dans le « rapport du vérificateur », qui est l'un des éléments des états financiers. Une « opinion sans réserve » signifie que le vérificateur n'a relevé aucune inexactitude importante dans les états financiers.

L'opinion présentée ici est ce qu'on appelle une opinion « sans réserve », ce qui signifie que les vérificateurs croient que les états sont raisonnables et fiables.

Une opinion sans réserve indique qu'il pourrait y avoir certains problèmes, qui peuvent être relativement mineurs (lorsque l'opinion comporte des réserves) ou potentiellement majeurs (lorsque le vérificateur émet une opinion défavorable). Il pourrait être judicieux de poser des questions à l'administrateur financier de votre Première Nation si vous remarquez une opinion sans réserve.

Q : Qu'est-ce que les états financiers révèlent sur la situation financière de ma Première Nation?

Réponse :

L'État consolidé des opérations dit au lecteur si la Première Nation a pu couvrir ses coûts au cours de l'exercice.

L'État consolidé de l'évolution de la dette nette dit au lecteur si la Première Nation a pu de réduire sa dette nette au cours de l'exercice. La « dette nette » est la somme négative qui reste après la soustraction de tout ce que la Première Nation doit (ses « engagements financiers ») du total de ses actifs financiers (comme la trésorerie).

L'État consolidé des flux de trésorerie dit au lecteur si la Première Nation a pu d'augmenter ses flux de trésorerie au cours de l'exercice.

L'État de la situation financière consolidé dit au lecteur si la Première Nation sera en mesure de fournir des services à ses membres à l'avenir.

Q : Quelle partie des états financiers dois-je consulter pour savoir si ma Première Nation est excédentaire ou déficitaire?

Réponse :

Au même titre qu'un ménage ordinaire, une Première Nation doit couvrir ses dépenses avec l'argent qui entre (les « revenus »). Sinon, elle devra réduire ses services ou ses coûts, ou emprunter et ainsi s'endetter davantage. Une plus grande dette crée davantage d'obligations futures, ce qui signifie qu'elle aura, à un moment donné, moins d'argent pour payer la prestation de services à ses membres. Un excédent de l'exercice (ou déficit de l'exercice) dans l'État des opérations montre si les revenus de l'exercice ont suffi à couvrir les dépenses de l'exercice. Un excédent de l'exercice indique que la Première Nation a été en mesure d'assumer ses dépenses au cours de l'exercice. Pour des raisons évidentes, un déficit de l'exercice pourrait soulever des préoccupations dont vous pourriez discuter avec les dirigeants de votre Première Nation.

L'image montrant un exemple d'un État des opérations

Voir la version texte de l'image

Voici l'État consolidé des activités de la Première Nation ABC fictive dans lequel on énumère en détail les diverses recettes et dépenses ainsi que le surplus annuel (déficit) de la collectivité, son excédent accumulé (déficit) au début de l'exercice et son excédent accumulé à la fin de l'exercice. Le cadre rouge met en évidence la ventilation du surplus annuel (déficit).

 

Q : Que signifie le montant de l'excédent ou du déficit accumulé?

Réponse :

Les actifs sont les biens que possède la Première Nation, et qui ont une valeur, comme de l'argent (« actifs financiers ») ou des bâtiments (« actifs non financiers »), et qui peuvent facilement être utilisés pour couvrir les besoins futurs. L'État de la situation financière indique les actifs que possède la Première Nation une fois toutes ses dettes soustraites. On les appelle « actifs nets » ou « excédent accumulé ». Si ce montant est négatif (ce qui signifie que ce que la Première Nation doit excède les actifs qu'elle possède), on l'appelle « déficit accumulé ». Plus ce nombre négatif est élevé, plus il y a lieu de se préoccuper de la capacité future de la Première Nation de fournir des services à ses membres. En effet, des fonds provenant de la prestation des services devront être détournés pour couvrir ces déficits accumulés, ou des revenus supplémentaires devront être engendrés.

L'image montrant un exemple d'un État de la situation financière

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre l'État consolidé de la situation financière de la Première Nation fictive ABC. La ligne mise en surbrillance et encadrée en rouge indique l'excédent (ou déficit) accumulé.

 

Q : Qu'est-ce que la « dette nette » et pourquoi est-elle importante? Devons-nous rembourser la dette?

Réponse :

Dans l'État de la situation financière, la « dette nette » représente la somme négative qui reste après la soustraction de tout ce que la Première Nation doit (ses « engagements » financiers) du total de ses actifs financiers (comme de l'argent). Une dette nette importante pour l'exercice constitue une source de préoccupations non négligeable, car elle montre que la Première Nation n'est pas en mesure d'assumer ses dépenses.

L'image montrant un exemple d'un État de la situation financière

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre l'État consolidé de la situation financière de la Première Nation fictive ABC. La ligne mise en surbrillance et encadrée en rouge indique les obligations relatives aux avantages du personnel.

L'image montrant un exemple d'un État de l'évolution de la dette nette

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre l'État consolidé de la variation des actifs financiers nets (dette nette) de la Première Nation fictive ABC. La ligne mise en surbrillance et encadrée en rouge indique la variation des actifs financiers nets (dette nette).

Parallèlement, l'évolution de la dette nette (État de l'évolution de la dette nette) permet de déterminer s'il y a eu augmentation ou diminution de la dette nette de la Première Nation au cours de l'exercice. Une augmentation de la dette nette peut être source de préoccupations.

Toutes les dettes devront être remboursées, et pour ce faire, de l'argent qui autrement servirait à fournir plus de services aux membres sera utilisé. Les dettes que nous accumulons aujourd'hui nous obligeront à nous serrer la ceinture plus tard…

 

Q : La présence d'un excédent de l'exercice signifie-t-elle que ma Première Nation a de l'argent à dépenser?

Réponse :

Un excédent accumulé positif à la fin de l'année dans l'État des opérations indique qu'il reste de l'argent à la Première Nation. Un excédent de l'exercice signifie simplement que les revenus de l'exercice étaient supérieurs aux coûts de l'exercice, ce qui signifie que votre Première Nation a été en mesure de couvrir ses coûts au cours de l'exercice. Mais est-ce que cela signifie automatiquement que la Première Nation a maintenant de l'argent à dépenser? Non, pas nécessairement. Si, par exemple, le déficit accumulé au début de l'exercice dépassait cet excédent annuel, il n'y aurait plus d'excédent accumulé à la fin de l'année.

L'image montrant un exemple d'un État des opérations

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre l'État consolidé des résultats de la Première Nation fictive ABC. Les trois lignes mises en surbrillance et encadrées en rouge indiquent l'excédent (déficit) de l'exercice, l'excédent (déficit) accumulé au début de l'exercice et l'excédent accumulé à la fin de l'exercice.

 

Q : Quelle information l'État des flux de trésorerie fournit-elle?

Réponse :

L'État des flux de trésorerie indique si la Première Nation a pu accroître ses flux de trésorerie au cours de l'exercice. La trésorerie – l'argent « liquide » – est l'élément vital de toute Première Nation ou de toute entreprise appartenant à une Première Nation. Les fonds disponibles (ou les « flux de trésorerie positifs ») permettent à l'organisation de payer des biens, des services et des salaires sans s'endetter ou puiser dans ses économies. L'information sur les flux de trésorerie fournie dans l'État des flux de trésorerie montre le changement entre le début et la fin de l'exercice dans le montant de trésorerie détenu. Une augmentation des flux de trésorerie est un signe de bonne santé financière et une baisse incite à poser des questions.

L'image montrant un exemple d'un État des flux de trésorerie

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre l'État consolidé des flux de trésorerie pour la Première Nation fictive ABC. Les trois lignes mises en surbrillance et encadrées en rouge indiquent l'augmentation (diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie, la trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie au début de l'exercice et la trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie à la fin de l'exercice.

 

Q : Où est indiqué le salaire du chef et des membres du conseil?

Réponse :

À compter de l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014, un État de la rémunération et des dépenses annuel devrait être inclus parmi les annexes jointes aux états financiers. Il indique ce que la Première Nation a payé au chef et à chacun de ses conseillers pour leurs services au cours de l'exercice, ventilé par type de paiement.

L'image montrant un exemple d'un État de la rémunération et des dépenses

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre l'Annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses de la Première Nation fictive ABC. Les lignes mises en surbrillance et encadrées en rouge indiquent les représentants élus et l'information financière relative à ce qui suit : salaires, voyages, véhicules, honoraires, indemnités de départ et autres formes de rémunération et leurs totaux.

 

Q : Pourquoi la vérification a t'elle des notes?

Réponse :

Les notes sont très importantes pour la compréhension des états financiers, car elles précisent les chiffres ou fournissent un contexte utile.

Les notes expliquent à tout le moins les méthodes comptables utilisées pour la préparation des états.

Cependant, dans la plupart des cas, elles en disent beaucoup plus et doivent être examinées avec soin.

L'image montrant un exemple d'es notes dans un état

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre les Notes jointes aux états financiers consolidés pour la Première Nation fictive ABC. L'image provient du haut de l'état financier qui commence à la section 1. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables et 2. Trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie. Le document est une combinaison de texte et de données financières (sur deux colonnes) pour les exercices 2013 et 2012.

L'image montrant un exemple d'es notes dans un état continue

Voir la version texte de l'image

Ce graphique illustre les Notes jointes aux états financiers consolidés pour la Première Nation fictive ABC. L'image provient de la section 20. Information sectorielle et présente du texte et un grand tableau de données financières.

Certaines notes sont incluses en raison de certains faits (p. ex. des titres de créance qui arrivent à échéance).

Enfin, certaines sont jugées nécessaires par la direction parce qu'elles fournissent des indications utiles aux lecteurs des états (p. ex. attirer l'attention sur des signes positifs concernant les perspectives économiques de la collectivité).

 

Q : Pouvez-vous me faire un résumé de ce que les états financiers m'apprennent sur ma Première Nation?

Réponse :

État consolidé de l'évolution de la dette nette

Votre Première Nation a-t-elle réussi à réduire sa dette nette au cours de l'exercice?

La « dette nette » est la somme négative qui reste après la soustraction de tout ce que la Première Nation doit (ses « engagements » financiers) du total de ses actifs financiers (comme la trésorerie). L'État de l'évolution de la dette nette permet de déterminer s'il y a eu augmentation ou diminution de la « dette nette » de la Première Nation au cours de l'exercice. Une augmentation de la dette nette peut être source de préoccupations.

État consolidé des opérations

Votre Première Nation a-t-elle réussi à couvrir ses coûts au cours de l'exercice?

Une Première Nation doit couvrir ses coûts avec l'argent qui entre (les « revenus »). Sinon, elle devra réduire ses services ou ses coûts, emprunter et ainsi s'endetter davantage, ou trouver des façons de générer des revenus additionnels. Une plus grande dette crée davantage d'obligations futures, ce qui signifie moins d'argent pour payer la prestation de services aux membres. L'excédent d'exercice (ou le déficit d'exercice) dans l'État des opérations montre si les revenus de l'exercice ont suffi à couvrir les coûts de l'exercice. Un déficit annuel peut être source de préoccupations.

État consolidé des flux de trésorerie

Votre Première Nation a-t-elle réussi à augmenter ses flux de trésorerie au cours de l'exercice?

Les fonds disponibles – l'argent « liquide » (ou les « flux de trésorerie positifs ») – permettent à l'organisme de payer des biens, des services et des salaires sans s'endetter. L'information sur les flux de trésorerie fournie dans l'État des flux de trésorerie montre le changement entre le début et la fin de l'exercice dans le montant de trésorerie détenu. Une augmentation des flux de trésorerie est un signe de bonne santé financière et une baisse incite à poser des questions.

État consolidé de la situation financière

Comment votre Première Nation sera-t-elle en mesure de fournir des services à ses membres à l'avenir?

Les actifs sont les biens que possède la Première Nation et qui ont une valeur, comme de l'argent (« actifs financiers ») ou des bâtiments (« actifs non financiers »), et qui peuvent être utilisés pour couvrir les besoins futurs. L'État de la situation financière indique les actifs que possède la Première Nation, libérés de tout ce qu'elle doit. On les appelle « actifs nets » ou « excédent accumulé ». Si ce montant est négatif (ce qui signifie que ce que la Première Nation doit excède les actifs qu'elle possède), on l'appelle « déficit accumulé ». Plus ce nombre négatif est élevé, plus il y a lieu de s'inquiéter pour l'avenir.

 

Q : À qui dois-je poser des questions?

Réponse :

Les administrateurs financiers de votre collectivité sont votre premier point de contact pour obtenir des renseignements sur les particularités des états financiers de votre Première Nation.

Si vous avez des questions d'ordre plus général ou si vous vous posez des questions sur les notions, concepts ou termes utilisés, au moins trois options s'offrent à vous.

La première consiste à vous adresser aux administrateurs financiers de votre collectivité. Ce sont eux, après tout, qui ont préparé les états.

Internet constitue une autre option. Beaucoup de renseignements utiles sont accessibles grâce aux nombreux moteurs de recherche.

Enfin, une autre option consiste à nous appeler au 1-800-567-9604. Nous essayons de répondre à toutes les questions le plus rapidement possible. Grâce à vos questions, nous pouvons également mettre à jour le présent guide, ou y ajouter des éléments, pour le rendre encore plus pertinent et l'adapter davantage à vos besoins.