Definitions of Key Financial Terms

Financial Statements: are a set of reports prepared annually by an organization's management which present their financial position and results of operations at the end of their fiscal year.

Audited Financial Statements: are financial statements that have been audited by an independent external auditor. These include the financial statements and the accompanying auditor's report, which summarizes the "auditor's opinion".

Auditor's Opinions: provide reasonable, but not absolute, assurance that the financial statements have no material mistatements and that they have been prepared in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). An "unqualified opinion" means that no material misstatements have been identified by the auditor in the financial statements. A "qualified opinion" means that apart from issues identified by the auditor where deviations from GAAP have occurred, the financial statements present fairly the financial position and results of operations. The auditor may also issue an "adverse opinion", which means that the financial statements have been materially misstated or may issue a disclaimer of opinion, which means that there was insufficient appropriate supporting information to form an auditor's opinion.

External Audits: are carried out by an independent external auditor or by an agency of the Crown (for example, the Office of the Auditor General, the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development, the Public Service Commission). These audits may focus on financial information, such as the financial position of the department or on non-financial information, such as the administration of a program or service. The results of external audits are used to identify emerging issues and make recommendations to improve the efficiency and economy of departmental programs and services.

Internal Audits: are independent, objective, evidenced-based examinations of a department's management systems, processes, and practices. Their purpose is to provide the deputy head with assurance as to the design and operation of a department's governance, risk management and control processes. The results of internal audits are used to identify emerging issues and make recommendations for the improvement of departmental performance.

Recipient Audits: are assessments conducted by independent auditors to provide assurance in the form of an audit opinion on a recipient's compliance with the terms and conditions of a funding agreement administered by the department. The audit may address financial and/or non-financial aspects of the funding agreement, including the recipient's control activities in relation to funding received under the agreement.

Forensic Audits: are examinations conducted by a qualified independent auditor using specific auditing procedures designed to identify and gather evidence to support an assessment of possible irregularities, including the misappropriation of funds or assets, reported fraud or specific allegations on the part of a recipient or an individual.

Evaluations: are the systematic collection and analysis of evidence on the outcomes of programs to make judgments about their relevance, performance, and alternative ways to deliver them or to achieve the same results.

Compliance and Quality Management: refers to the suite of monitoring activities conducted by program management, both at a regional and national level, and by the Chief Financial Officer Sector to ensure ongoing recipient compliance with program terms and conditions identified in funding agreements administered by the department.

Définition des termes financiers clés

États financiers : Ensemble de rapports sommaires préparés annuellement par la direction d'une organisation, indiquant sa situation financière et les résultats des opérations à la fin de l'exercice.

États financiers vérifiés : États financiers vérifiés par un vérificateur indépendant externe. Ils comprennent les états financiers et le rapport connexe du vérificateur, qui résume l'« opinion du vérificateur ».

Opinion du vérificateur : Assurance raisonnable non absolue que les états financiers ont été préparés conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) et qu'ils ne comportent pas d'inexactitude importante. Une « opinion sans réserve » signifie que le vérificateur n'a relevé aucune inexactitude importante dans les états financiers. Une « opinion avec réserve » signifie qu'à l'exception de certains écarts cernés par le vérificateur par rapport aux PCGR, les états financiers donnent une image fidèle de la situation financière et des résultats des opérations. Le vérificateur peut également exprimer une « opinion défavorable », c.-à-d. que les états financiers comprennent des inexactitudes importantes, ou préciser qu'il est dans l'impossibilité d'exprimer une opinion en raison de l'insuffisance de renseignements pertinents à l'appui.

Vérifications externes : Audits effectués par un vérificateur indépendant externe ou par un organisme de la Couronne (p. ex., le Bureau du vérificateur général, le commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable, la Commission de la fonction publique). Ces vérifications peuvent porter sur des renseignements financiers, comme la situation financière du Ministère, ou sur des renseignements non financiers, comme l'administration d'un programme ou d'un service. Les résultats des vérifications externes servent à cerner les nouveaux enjeux et à formuler des recommandations en vue d'améliorer l'efficacité et la rentabilité des programmes et des services ministériels.

Vérifications internes : Examens indépendants, objectifs et fondés sur des preuves des systèmes, des processus et des pratiques de gestion du Ministère, qui servent à fournir à l'administrateur fédéral une assurance en ce qui a trait à la conception et au fonctionnement des processus de gouvernance, de gestion des risques et de contrôle du Ministère. Les résultats des vérifications internes permettent de cerner les nouveaux enjeux et de formuler des recommandations en vue d'améliorer le rendement ministériel.

Vérifications des bénéficiaires : Évaluations effectuées par des vérificateurs indépendants afin de fournir, sous la forme d'une opinion du vérificateur, une assurance que les bénéficiaires respectent les modalités des ententes de financement administrées par le Ministère. La vérification peut porter sur des aspects financiers ou non financiers, notamment les activités que mène le bénéficiaire pour gérer le financement reçu en vertu de l'entente.

Vérifications judiciaires : Examens réalisés par un vérificateur indépendant qualifié, au moyen de procédures de vérification conçues pour cerner et recueillir des preuves, afin d'évaluer les irrégularités possibles, comme les détournements de fonds ou d'autres biens, le signalement de fraudes ou des allégations particulières en provenance d'un bénéficiaire ou d'un particulier.

Évaluations : Collecte et analyse systématiques de données probantes sur les résultats des programmes afin d'en évaluer la pertinence et le rendement, et de trouver d'autres modes de prestation ou d'autres façons d'obtenir les mêmes résultats.

Conformité et gestion de la qualité : Série d'activités de surveillance menées par la direction des programmes, tant au niveau régional que national, et par le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances, afin de veiller à ce que les bénéficiaires respectent en permanence les modalités de programme cernées dans les ententes de financement administrées par le Ministère.