Underground stabilization work

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

In order to reduce risks at the Giant Mine site, underground stabilization work is required. The work will be done in two phases: from September to November 2013 and between the spring of 2014 and winter of 2014.

Concerns and hazards

Some of the Giant Mine site infrastructure, including underground areas, is more than 60 years old. Based on ongoing risk assessments, certain elements require immediate action to reduce risk to on-site staff, the public and the environment.

In the spring of 2013, the Project Team received a water licence from the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board to conduct this work. The final work plans and waste management plans were then developed and approved in September 2013.

The stabilization parts of the underground will address risks associated underground flooding from Baker Creek and rock collapse or subsidence.

Actions required

Holes will be drilled around the site for a number of reasons. First, cavity monitoring survey equipment will be lowered underground to give exact measurements of the stopes. Monitoring equipment, such as cameras, will also be lowered. Finally, the holes will provide a pathway for a backfill product to be pumped underground. This backfill product will fill the empty spaces and provide stability to the area.

The backfill product will be made mostly from the tailings already on site. A short testing program, to determine the most appropriate mix of tailings and other material (including cement, water and fly ash), will be conducted.

Health and safety

Worker and public safety and preservation of the environment are top priorities for this stabilization work. The work will fall under the purview of existing site-wide emergency and health and safety plans. Ongoing air quality monitoring will be done through the existing site-wide and community network. Additional oversight will be performed by independent third parties.

Travaux de stabilisation du sous-sol

Afin de diminuer les risques au site de la mine Giant, des travaux de stabilisation du sous-sol sont nécessaires. Les travaux seront effectués en deux temps : de septembre à novembre 2013 et du printemps à l'hiver 2014.

Préoccupations et dangers

Certaines infrastructures du site de la mine Giant, incluant les zones souterraines, ont plus de 60 ans. En raison des évaluations des risques effectuées régulièrement, certaines mesures doivent être prisent immédiatement afin d'atténuer les risques pour le personnel sur place, la population et l'environnement.

Au printemps 2013, l'équipe du projet a reçu un permis d'utilisation des eaux de l'Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie afin de procéder aux travaux. Les plans de travaux et de gestion des déchets définitifs ont ensuite été élaborés et approuvés en septembre 2013.

Les travaux de stabilisation de certaines infrastructures souterraines, comme les chambres, permettront de diminuer les risques associés aux inondations souterraines causées par le ruisseau Baker et aux chutes de pierres ou affaissement.

Mesures à prendre

Des trous seront creusés autour du site pour plusieurs raisons. Tout d'abord, de l'équipement de surveillance des cavités sera descendu dans les chambres afin d'en connaître les mesures exactes. Des caméras feront partie de cet équipement. Enfin, les trous seront utilisés pour pomper du produit de remblayage dans le sol. Ce produit remplira les espaces vides et assurera la stabilité de la zone.

Le produit de remplissage sera composé principalement de résidus qui se trouvent déjà sur le site. Quelques essais seront effectués afin de déterminer le mélange de résidus le plus approprié (comprenant du ciment, de l'eau et des cendres volantes).

Santé et sécurité

La sécurité des travailleurs et de la population, ainsi que la préservation de l'environnement, constituent des priorités absolues dans ces travaux de stabilisation. Les travaux seront effectués conformément aux plans d'urgence et de santé et sécurité au travail déjà en place et qui s'appliquent à l'ensemble du site. Le contrôle constant de la qualité de l'air sera effectué sur l'ensemble du site et dans la collectivité. Des tiers indépendants assureront une surveillance additionnelle.