Royal Proclamation of 1763: Relationships, Rights and Treaties – Poster

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (4.37 Mb, 4 Pages)

"The Indians giving a talk to Colonel Bouquet in a conference at a council fire, near his camp on the banks of Muskingum in North America in Oct. 1764" in Smith, William. Historical Account of Bouquet's Expedition Against the Ohio Indians, in 1764: with preface by Francis Parkman and a translation of Dumas' biographical sketch of General Bouquet. Cincinnati, OH: R. Clarke, 1868.

On October 7, 1763, King George III issued a Royal Proclamation for the administration of British territories in North America. The Proclamation is a foundational document marking the beginning of Canada's historic link with Great Britain and British parliamentary institutions. It was also important in establishing the core elements of the relationship between First Nation people and the Crown, recognizing First Nation rights in Canada and defining the treaty-making process that is still used.

In 2013, we commemorate the 250th anniversary of the Royal Proclamation of 1763. This is a unique opportunity to recognize an important event in Canadian history that laid the foundation for Canada's territorial evolution and the continuing treaty-making process, the struggle for the recognition of First Nation rights, and the continuing and evolving role of First Nation people in the development of Canada.

Fishing at Sault Ste. Marie. Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1981-55-6, MIKAN no. 2833409.

Crown–First Nation Relationship

Sir William Johnson. Library and Archives Canada, MIKAN No. 2837321

"Brothers of the Western Nations, Sachims Chiefs, & Warriors, You have now been here for several days, during which time we have frequently met to Renew, and strengthen our Engagements, & you have made so many Promises of your Friendship, and Attachment to the English that there now only remains for us to exchange the great Belt of the Covenant Chain that we may not forget our mutual Engagements.…"

News of the Royal Proclamation reached Sir William Johnson, Superintendent for Indian Affairs, in December 1763. He immediately sent word of its provisions to all of the First Nation people of the interior of North America and invited former allies to a special assembly of First Nation representatives at Fort Niagara in July 1764. At Fort Niagara, Johnson met with these First Nations, estimated to be 20,000 people, and extended the Covenant Chain to all. This offering was made to renew the relationship with First Nation allies and to form new alliances with the former allies of France.

The Establishment of Treaty-Making Process

Treaty of peace and friendship between Sir William Johnson and the Hurons of the Detroit Library and Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 106678

"We do hereby strictly forbid, on Pain of Our Displeasure, all Our loving Subjects from making any Purchases or Settlements whatever, or taking Possession of any of the Lands above reserved, without Our especial Leave and Licence for that Purpose first obtained."

Since its issuance in 1763, the Royal Proclamation has served as the basis of the treaty-making process throughout Canada. The protocols and procedures it established led to the orderly opening of the lands for settlement and the establishment of an ongoing Treaty Relationship between First Nations and the Crown. It also led to the establishment of the Indian Department's primary role as intermediary between First Nation people and the Crown. After Confederation in 1867, the principles established by the Proclamation continued to guide the treaties of Western Canada and the establishment of treaty rights and obligations for all parties.

The Recognition of First Nation Rights in Canada

Signing of the Constitution. April 17, 1982. Robert Cooper, Library and Archives Canada, e008300499, MIKAN no. 3206003

"And whereas it is just and reasonable, and essential to Our Interest and the Security of Our Colonies, that the several Nations or Tribes of Indians, with whom We are connected, and who live under Our Protection, should not be molested or disturbed in the Possession of such Parts of Our Dominions and Territories as, not having been ceded to, or purchased by Us, are reserved to them, or any of them, as their Hunting Grounds. …"

The issuance of the Royal Proclamation and the accompanying promises made at Fort Niagara in 1764 laid the foundation for a constitutional recognition and protection of First Nation rights in Canada. The Royal Proclamation itself is referred to in the Constitution Act 1982, in section 25, which states:

25. The guarantee in this Charter of certain rights and freedoms shall not be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from any aboriginal, treaty or other rights or freedoms that pertain to the aboriginal peoples of Canada including:

  1. any rights or freedoms that have been recognized by the Royal Proclamation of October 7, 1763; and
  2. any rights or freedoms that now exist by way of land claims agreements or may be so acquired.

Constitution Act, 1982

 
"A view of Niagara Fort, taken by Sir William Johnson on the 25th July 1759, drawn on the spot in 1758."
Library and Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 3723947

Royal Proclamation of 1763 – Postcard

PDF Version (535 Kb, 2 pages)

On October 7, 1763, King George III issued a Royal Proclamation for the administration of British territories in North America. The Royal Proclamation of 1763 set out the core elements of the relationship between First Nations and the Crown, established the recognition of First Nation rights in Canada, and laid the foundation of the treaty-making process.

By the King, a Proclamation. George R. (Royal Proclamation of 1763) FF 1763 G, Clements Library, University of Michigan
Date modified:

La Proclamation royale de 1763 Relations, droits et traits – affiche

Format PDF (4,37 Mo, 4 Pages)

« Les Indiens s'entretiennent avec le colonel Bouquet lors d'une conférence du conseil autour du feu, près de son camp situé sur les bancs de Muskingum en Amérique du Nord, oct. 1764 » [TRADUCTION], dans Smith, William. Historical Account of Bouquet's Expedition Against the Ohio Indians, in 1764: Préface de Francis Parkman, traduction de la notice biographique du général Bouquet de Dumas. Cincinnati, Ohio: R. Clarke, 1868.

Le 7 octobre 1763, le roi George III a publié une proclamation royale de l'administration des territoires britanniques en Amérique du Nord. Bien qu'il ne marque pas seulement le début d'un lien historique entre le Canada et la Grande-Bretagne et les institutions parlementaires britanniques, la Proclamation royale de 1763 était aussi un document fondamental établissant les éléments essentiels de la relation entre les Premières Nations et la Couronne de la reconnaissance des droits ancestraux au Canada et de la définition du processus de conclusion de traités encore utilisé de nos jours.

En 2013, nous célébrons le 250e anniversaire de la Proclamation royale de 1763; une occasion unique de reconnaître un événement important dans l'histoire du Canada qui a jeté les bases de l'évolution territoriale du Canada et du processus de conclusion de traités, toujours en cours, de la lutte pour la reconnaissance des droits ancestraux et du rôle continu et évolutif des Premières Nations dans le développement du Canada.

Pêche à Sault Ste. Marie. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1981-55-6, MIKAN no. 2833409

Relations entre la Couronne et les Premières Nation

Sir William Johnson. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 2837321

« Frères des Nations de l'Ouest, chefs sachems et guerriers,Vous êtes ici depuis déjà plusieurs jours pendant lesquels nous nous sommes rencontrés à maintes reprises pour renouer et renforcer nos engagements, et vous avez fait plusieurs promesses d'amitié et d'attachement aux Anglais – il nous reste qu'à s'échanger la grande ceinture de la chaîne d'alliance pour que nous n'oubliions jamais nos engagements mutuels… » [TRADUCTION]

Lorsque Sir William Johnson, surintendant des affaires indiennes, a appris l'existence de la Proclamation royale, en décembre 1763, il a immédiatement envoyé le libellé de ses dispositions à tous les membres des Premières Nations qui résidaient à l'intérieur du continent et il a invité les anciens alliés à une assemblée extraordinaire avec les représentants des Premières Nations, tenue au fort Niagara en juillet 1764. Au fort Niagara, Johnson a rencontré les Premières Nations, dont le nombre a été estimé à 20 000 personnes, et a élargi la portée de la chaîne du Convenant de manière à ce qu'elle s'applique à toutes les Premières Nations. Cette extension a été effectuée afin de renouveler les liens avec les alliées Premières Nations et de former de nouvelles alliances avec les anciens alliés de la France.

Établissement du processus de conclusion de traités

Légende Traité de paix et d'amitié entre Sir William Johnson et les Hurons du Détroit. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 3675772

« Nous défendons aussi strictement par la présente à tous Nos Sujets, sous peine de s'attirer Notre Déplaisir, d'acheter ou posséder aucune terre ci-dessus réservée, ou d'y former aucun établissement, sans avoir au préalable obtenu Notre Permission spéciale et une licence à ce sujet. »

Depuis sa publication en 1763, la Proclamation royale a servi de base au processus de conclusion de traités partout au Canada. Les procédures et les protocoles établis par la Proclamation ont entraîné l'ouverture harmonieuse des terres en vue de règlement de même que la mise en place d'une relation fondé sur les traités entre les Premières Nations et la Couronne. La Proclamation a également permis de définir le rôle principal du département des Indiens qui devenait l'intermédiaire entre les Premières Nations et la Couronne. Après la Confédération en 1867, les principes établis dans la Proclamation ont continué d'être le fondement de la conclusion des traités dans l'Ouest canadien ainsi que de l'établissement des droits issus de traités et des obligations de toutes les parties.

Reconnaissance des droits ancestraux au Canada

Signature de la Constitution. Le 17 avril, 1982. Robert Cooper, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, e008300499, MIKAN no. 3206003

« Attendu qu'il est juste, raisonnable et essentiel pour Notre Intérêt et la sécurité de Nos Colonies de prendre des mesures pour assurer aux nations ou tribus indiennes qui sont en relations [sic] avec Nous et qui vivent sous Notre Protection, la possession entière et paisible des parties de Nos Possessions et Territoires qui ont été ni concédées ni achetées et ont été réservées pour ces tribus ou quelques-unes d'entre elles comme territoires de chasse… »

La Proclamation royale de 1763 ainsi que les promesses faites au fort Niagara en 1764 ont jeté les bases de la reconnaissance et de la protection constitutionnelles des droits ancestraux au Canada. Dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, article 25, on se réfère à la Proclamation royale :

25. Le fait que la présente charte garantit certains droits et libertés ne porte pas atteinte aux droits ou libertés — ancestraux, issus de traités ou autres — des peoples autochtones du Canada, notamment :

  1. aux droits ou libertés reconnus par la Proclamation royale du 7 octobre 1763;
  2. aux droits ou libertés existants issus d'accords sur des revendications territoriales ou ceux susceptibles d'être ainsi acquis.

Loi constitutionnelle de 1982

 
« La vue du fort Niagara, prise par Sir William Johnson le 25 juillet 1759, réalisée sur place en 1758. » [TRADUCTION]
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, MIKAN no. 3723947

La Proclamation royale de 1763 – carte postale

Version PDF (535 Ko, 2 Pages)

Le 7 octobre 1763, le roi George III a publié une proclamation royale de l'administration des territoires britanniques en Amérique du Nord. La Proclamation royale de 1763 établissait les éléments essentiels de la relation entre les Premières Nations et la Courronne, la reconnaissance des droits ancestraux au Canada et le fondement du processus de conclusion de traités.

« Par le roi, une Proclamation » [TRADUCTION], George R. (Royal Proclamation of 1763) FF 1763 G, Clements Library, University of Michigan
Date de modification :