Management Practices Audit of the British Columbia Region - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2012

PDF Version (44 Kb, 7 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2012

British Columbia Region

Management Practices Audit of the British Columbia Region
Approval Date: 22/09/2011
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should collaborate with Headquarters to define external client services offered by AANDC and develop performance targets for the delivery of these services as part of ongoing management and monitoring of these standards. To ensure a consistent, national approach is adopted, standards, performance expectations and monitoring requirements should be formally communicated by Headquarters to all regions.

The Region should also develop and implement a process for Region-specific client surveys that incorporates participation from all regional directors that deliver external services and includes formal action plans and follow-up procedures to enable a comparison of results and establish the resulting impact/improvement of client service.
RO Headquarters will work with other sectors and regions to develop departmental approaches to service management that are consistent with Treasury Board Secretariat guidelines. These approaches include appropriate governance and management oversight, identifying services that the department offers, setting appropriate service standards and monitoring regimes, and clarifying roles and responsibilities. The Regional Directors General will work closely with HQ and other Regions to assist with the development of national approaches.

Initial discussions have taken place at DGIOC (April 11, 2011).

Actions
Programs with existing service standards:
Consistent with work plan for the Operations Committee approved National Service Standards Initiative. See dates below. Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2012: The Regional Operations sector has taken the lead in Service Standards within AANDC. BC Region is engaged and participating in the national approach.

RO Update:

The Regional Operations Sector, Operations and Planning Supports Directorate has taken the lead in Service Standard Management within AANDC.

Over the past year the following activities have occurred in response to the MPR/MAF Action Items:

  • The Service Management Strategy has been developed and presented to OPS in the Fall of 2011
  • The Service Inventory List for External Clients was developed and presented to OPS Ctte and Treasury Board in the Fall of 2011.
  • The Service Standard Governance Framework was drafted and presented to OPS in June 2011.
  • The Service Excellence Working Group was established with focus to provide departmental service management oversight and support to DGIOC and OPS Ctte on Service Standard activities.
  • The working group has initiated discussion and consultation with sectors to identify new services which will be reviewed / assessed by risk and importance.
  • Service Standards for Grants and Contributions were developed and presented to OPS Ctte and approval is anticipated in Q1 2012-2013.
  • RO Sector, OPS Directorate focus on internal services which directly impact the delivery of external services. RO will be working with the Working Group and Sr. management to further confirm workplan activities for internal services outside of current plan.
Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2012: The Region is in the process of scheduling a meeting in late February 2013 with the Leadership Council where the draft Action Plan will be tabled and process identified to share the Action Plan with BC First Nations.

AES: Substantially implemented. Closed.
Formalize existing service standards in a document. September 2011
Programs without services standards:

Direct services
March 2012
Grants and Contributions March 2012
Internal Services June 2012
Regional Client Survey:
To respond to the Regional Client Survey, the Region will endeavour to report back on the outcomes to all BC First Nations at the end of this fiscal year.

As part of client engagement activities, the Region will review our current approach to client service engagement to identify the types of feedback the Region requires and how this feedback will be obtained. This will link to the National Service Management Initiative to ensure national consistency.
March 2012
2. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should collaborate with Headquarters to ensure the Human Resource Plan and the Region's Integrated Business Plan are integrated and provide details on anticipated human resource requirements and their impact on financial resources. Headquarters should communicate the approach to all regions and sectors to ensure a consistent, national approach to regional planning. As articulated in the 2011-14 Corporate Business Plan, the department will work at improving integrated planning and resource alignment by establishing principles and processes (including schedule and calendar) for integrated planning and consult with internal partners (HR, CFO, AES) March 2012 Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2012: Despite the transition to the Western HR HUB, the BC Region (with Regional HR Footprint) will continue to work towards integrating HR and business planning for the upcoming cycle for 2013-2014. BC Region continues to meet all national planning and reporting requirements.

AES: Substantially implemented. The recommendation will be closed based on the progress made to date by the Region and PSD.
3. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should clarify staffing file documentation requirements and ensure that supporting control documentation is retained on staffing files to demonstrate how staffing actions are linked to identified staffing needs or in response to staff departures and for audit and file-continuity purposes. The Regional Director General of the BC Region will delegate this responsibility to the Director of Human Resources to ensure that staffing file documentation requirements are clearly understood and that all required documentation is retained on files.

Actions:
The Human Resources Directorate (HRD), BC Region will review the current HR checklists to ensure that they capture all of the required documentation for the various staffing processes conducted by the Region, including the linkage to the regional HR staffing plan. The updated checklists will be communicated to HRD staff.

The Region is also working with DGHRWSB on the development of national tools and checklists to support the standard practices across the Department.
December 2012 Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

National Staffing Checklist in use in BC Region since November 2011. All staffing files contain new checklist.

AES: Implemented. Closed.
4. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should ensure that analysis of staffing actions, trends, and the hiring process occurs on a regular basis. HRD will develop a process for conducting analysis and reporting to Executive Leadership Team (ELT) on staffing actions both at the transaction and strategic levels in order to inform the annual business planning cycle.

HRD will continue to work with Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch (HRWSB) to obtain information and reports to support the analysis.
July 2011 Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Monthly staffing reports sent to ELT.
Strategic analysis conducted through ELT to manage staffing actions under Staffing Control Measures.

AES: Implemented. Closed.
5. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should develop and implement a formal, documented approach to risk management, including an ongoing process and governance structure for identifying, assessing, and monitoring risks and their associated mitigation actions which will support the future creation of a Regional Risk Profile. Headquarters should communicate guidance to all regions and sectors to ensure a consistent, national approach to risk management. (In this case, 'Headquarters' includes Policy and Strategic Direction, the AANDC Risk Champion, and the Risk Management Centre in Audit and Evaluation Sector). Short-term:
Continue on-going risk assessments (FSR, compliance, etc) and continue to report on activities on the quarterly business plans.

In November 2010 the Region initiated a Regional Program Risk Assessment Project with a focus on compliance. Subsequent to the MPA the programs have identified high risk program activities and developed action plans. Monitoring and oversight rests with ELT.

Medium-term:
The Risk Champion for the department, with support from the Chief Risk Officer will develop department-wide risk management tools.

Regional Directors General will support these and implement risk management tools in their regions that support and are consistent with the national approaches. The Region will coordinate, liaise and work with NHQ in moving forward on Program specific risk management frameworks.

HQ Risk leads visited regions in October 2010 to review risk practices and provide training. Regions to continue ongoing liaison with risk leads re: support for regional risk management practices.
October 2011 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2012: With support from the Risk Management Group, the Region completed the risk identification and risk assessment workshops in November 2012. The BC Region Risk Profile has been completed and validated with all participants and Senior Management. Integration of this information within the planning process at the Regional level and Directorate level is imperative. As such next steps include using this information to inform the upcoming business planning cycle. The Region will respond to risk events assessed as high risk by incorporating these high risk events and our actions to mitigate them in the directorate plans and where required through the Regional Plan and report on them through the Regional Planning and Reporting process to ensure responsibility and accountability for the actions to be taken.

AES: Substantially implemented. Closed.
Regional Corporate Risk Profiles to be integrated into regional business planning process and documents for 2012/2013. 2012-2013
6. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should clarify the roles, responsibilities and purpose of the BC Management Team (BCMT) committee. Once clarified, the Regional Director General of the BC Region should ensure that a comprehensive Terms of Reference for both of the Region's monitoring and oversight bodies (ELT and BCMT) is developed and implemented. The Regional Director General of BC Region will clarify the roles, responsibilities and purpose of BCMT and ELT committee given the new structure in the Region and ensure it is reflected in the updated Terms of Reference. Both will be implemented once complete. December 2011 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:
The Regional Director General has clarified the roles, responsibilities and purpose of BCMT and ELT. Terms of Reference for both BMT and ELT have been developed. BC CIDM #2057914, 1915967 respectively.

AES: Implemented. Closed.
7. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should ensure that the IT support contractor is compliant with the terms and conditions of its contractual obligations with respect to the timely provision of performance management reports prior to invoice approval. The Regional Director General of BC Region will delegate this responsibility to the Director, Corporate Services to ensure that the requirement for timely receipt of performance monitoring reports is communicated to the IT support services contractor and ensure adherence to the terms and conditions of the contract. The performance reports will be maintained with the invoice to demonstrate adherence to the terms and conditions of the contract and to support compliance with S34 of the Financial Administration Act. September 2011 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:
The requirement for timely receipt of performance monitoring reports was communicated to the IT support services contractor (Donna Conna) in a letter dated November 29, 2011 (BC CIDM #1971374). The performance reports are maintained with the invoice to demonstrate adherence to the terms and conditions of the contract and S34 of the Financial Administration Act.

AES: Implemented. Closed.
Date modified:

Vérification des pratiques de gestion – Région de la Colombie-Britannique - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2012

Format PDF (52 Ko, 9 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2012

Région de la Colombie-Britannique

Vérification des pratiques de gestion – Région de la Colombie-Britannique
Date d'approbation 22/09/2011
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le directeur général régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique doit collaborer avec l'administration centrale pour définir les services à la clientèle externes offerts par AADNC et établir des objectifs de rendement dans la prestation de ces services dans le cadre des mesures permanentes de gestion et de suivi à l'égard de ces normes. Pour assurer l'adoption d'une approche cohérente à l'échelle nationale, les normes, les attentes quant au rendement et les exigences en matière de surveillance devront être communiquées officiellement à toutes les régions par l'administration centrale.

Le bureau régional doit également élaborer et mettre en œuvre un processus de sondage auprès des clients qui lui sera propre et qui nécessitera la participation de tous les directeurs régionaux qui offrent des services externes en plus d'intégrer des plans d'action officiels et des procédures de suivi afin qu'on puisse comparer les résultats, puis déterminer les répercussions des mesures prises sur le service à la clientèle.
L'administration centrale des Opérations régionales travaillera de concert avec d'autres secteurs et régions afin d'élaborer des approches ministérielles en matière de gestion du service en tenant compte des lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.
Il s'agit notamment de prendre les mesures qui conviennent en matière de gouvernance et de surveillance de la gestion, de cerner les services offerts par le ministère, d'établir les normes de service et les régimes de contrôle appropriés, et de clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun. Les différents directeurs généraux régionaux collaboreront entre eux ainsi qu'avec l'administration centrale pour contribuer à l'élaboration des approches nationales.

Les discussions préliminaires ont eu lieu au CDGMO le 11 avril 2011.

Mesures
Programmes ayant déjà des normes de service :
Selon le plan de travail approuvé par les Opérations régionales pour l'initiative sur les normes de service nationales. Voir les dates ci‑dessous. État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 31 déc. 2012 : Le secteur des opérations régionales (SOR) a pris en charge les normes de services au sein d'AADNC. La région de la C.-B. a été sollicitée, et elle prend part à l'approche nationale.

 

Mise à jour du SOR :

La Direction du soutien aux opérations et à la planification du SOR a assumé la direction en ce qui concerne la gestion des normes de services à AADNC.

Au cours de la dernière année, les activités suivantes ont été menées pour répondre aux mesures à prendre indiquées dans l'EPG et le CRG :

  • la Stratégie de gestion des services a été établie et présentée au Comité des opérations à l'automne 2011;
  • le répertoire des services à la clientèle externe a été élaboré et présenté au Comité des opérations et au Conseil du Trésor à l'automne 2011;
  • le cadre de gouvernance relatif aux normes de service a été rédigé et présenté au Comité des opérations en juin 2011;
  • le groupe de travail sur l'excellence du service a été établi dans le but de fournir une surveillance de la gestion des services à l'échelle du Ministère et d'appuyer le CDGMO et le Comité des opérations en ce qui a trait aux activités sur les normes de services;
  • le groupe de travail a amorcé des discussions et des consultations dans le but de repérer les nouveaux services qui feront l'objet d'un examen/d'une évaluation en fonction des risques associés et de leur importance;
  • les normes de service pour les subventions et contributions ont été élaborées et présentées au Comité des opérations. Elles devraient être approuvées au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013;
  • les travaux de la Direction du soutien aux opérations et à la planification du Secteur des opérations régionales en ce qui concerne les services internes sont surtout axés sur les services internes qui ont une incidence directe sur la prestation des services externes. Le SOR collaborera avec le groupe de travail et la haute direction pour confirmer les activités du plan de travail liées aux services externes qui ne sont pas présentées dans le plan actuel.
Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 31 déc. 2012 : La région s'affaire à organiser une rencontre vers la fin février 2013 avec le Conseil du leadership. À cette occasion, il présentera le plan d'action préliminaire, et on déterminera de quelle manière ce plan sera communiqué aux Premières Nations de la C.-B.

SVE : La mise en œuvre est achevée en grande partie. Classée.
Officialiser, dans un document, les normes de service existantes. Septembre 2011
Programmes sans normes de service :

Services directs
Mars 2012
Subventions et contributions Mars 2012
Services internes Juin 2012
Enquête régionale auprès des clients
En réaction à l'enquête régionale auprès des clients, le bureau régional devra faire part des résultats à l'ensemble des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique d'ici la fin du présent exercice.

Dans le cadre des activités de discussion avec le client, le bureau régional examinera notre approche actuelle à cet égard afin de déterminer de quel type de commentaires la région a besoin et de quelle manière on les obtiendra. Cet aspect sera lié à l'initiative nationale de gestion des services afin d'assurer une uniformité à l'échelle nationale.
Mars 2012
2. Le directeur général régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique devrait collaborer avec l'administration centrale pour faire en sorte que le plan de ressources humaines et le plan d'activités intégré de la région soient intégrés et renferment des précisions sur les besoins prévus en ressources humaines et leur incidence sur les ressources financières. L'administration centrale doit communiquer la façon de procéder à l'ensemble des régions et des secteurs afin d'assurer une approche nationale uniforme pour la planification régionale. Comme l'indique le plan d'activités ministériel pour 2011-2014, le Ministère s'efforcera d'améliorer la planification intégrée et l'harmonisation des ressources en établissant des principes et des processus (y compris un échéancier et un calendrier) pour la planification intégrée et la consultation avec des partenaires à l'interne (RH, DPF, SVE). Mars 2012 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 31 déc. 2012 : Malgré la transition vers le centre régional des RH de l'Ouest, la région de la C.-B. (empreinte régionale des RH) continuera de travailler à l'intégration des RH et de la planification opérationnelle en vue du prochain cycle pour 2013-2014. La région de la C.-B. continue de respecter toutes les exigences nationales en matière de planification et de rapports.

SVE : La mise en œuvre est achevée en grande partie. La recommandation sera classée en raison des progrès accomplis à ce jour par la région et POS.
3. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique devra préciser les exigences relatives aux documents de dotation et veiller à ce qu'on conserve les documents d'appui pour montrer en quoi les mesures prises en matière de dotation sont liées aux besoins recensés ou répondent au départ de membres du personnel ainsi qu'à des fins de vérification et de continuité des dossiers. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique délèguera cette responsabilité au directeur des ressources humaines pour s'assurer que les exigences relatives aux documents de dotation sont bien comprises et qu'on conserve toute l'information nécessaire.

Mesures
La Direction des ressources humaines (DRH) de la région de la Colombie-Britannique étudiera les listes de vérification actuelles des ressources humaines pour s'assurer qu'elles contiennent toute la documentation nécessaire dans le cadre des divers processus de dotation dirigés par le bureau régional, y compris les liens avec le plan de dotation régional des Ressources humaines. On communiquera les listes de vérification mises à jour au personnel de la Direction des ressources humaines.

Le personnel du bureau régional travaille également avec la DGSRHMT pour élaborer des outils et des listes de vérification nationaux afin d'appuyer l'adoption de pratiques uniformes au sein du Ministère.
Décembre 2012 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour/ Justification 
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Liste de vérification de la dotation nationale utilisée par le bureau régional depuis novembre 2011. Tous les dossiers de dotation comprennent une nouvelle liste de vérification.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
4. Le directeur général régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique doit voir à ce que l'analyse des mesures de dotation, des tendances à cet égard et du processus d'embauche se fasse de façon régulière. La DRH mettra au point un processus d'analyse et de reddition de comptes à l'équipe de direction en ce qui a trait aux mesures de dotation, tant aux niveaux transactionnel que stratégique, afin de documenter le cycle annuel de planification des activités.

La DRH continuera à travailler avec la DGSRHMT pour obtenir de l'information et des rapports appuyant les activités d'analyse.
Juillet 2011 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour/ Justification 
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Rapports de dotation mensuels envoyés à l'EHD.
Analyse stratégique réalisée par l'intermédiaire de l'EHD pour gérer les mesures de dotation dans le cadre des mesures de contrôle de la dotation.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
5. Le directeur régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique doit élaborer et mettre en œuvre une approche officielle et documentée de la gestion des risques comportant un processus continu et une structure de gouvernance pour déterminer, évaluer et surveiller les risques et les mesures d'atténuation connexes à l'appui de la création d'un profil de risque régional. L'administration centrale doit donner de l'orientation aux régions et aux secteurs afin de garantir une approche nationale cohérente en matière de gestion des risques. (Par administration centrale, on entend Politiques et orientation stratégique, le champion de la gestion du risque du Ministère et le centre de gestion du risque du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation.) Court terme
Poursuivre l'évaluation continue des risques (Rapport sur la situation financière, conformité, etc.) et continuer de rendre compte des activités dans le cadre des plans d'activités trimestriels.

En novembre 2010, le bureau régional a lancé le projet régional d'évaluation du risque posé par les programmes, qui met l'accent sur la conformité. À la suite de la vérification des pratiques de gestion, les responsables des programmes ont ciblé les activités qui présentent un risque élevé et conçu des plans d'action. La surveillance et la supervision relèvent de l'équipe de direction.

Moyen terme
Avec le soutien de l'agent principal de gestion des risques, le champion de la gestion du risque concevra des outils de gestion des risques pour l'ensemble du Ministère.

Les directeurs généraux régionaux appuieront ces efforts et mettront en œuvre, dans leurs régions respectives, des outils de gestion des risques qui vont dans le sens des approches nationales. Le bureau régional assurera la coordination et la liaison dans les travaux avec l'administration centrale pour ce qui est des cadres de gestion des risques propres aux programmes.

Les responsables de la gestion des risques à l'administration centrale ont visité les régions en octobre 2010 pour passer en revue les pratiques en la matière et offrir de la formation. Les régions doivent maintenir des liens permanents avec ces experts pour appuyer les pratiques régionales en matière de gestion des risques.
Octobre 2011 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier.

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 31 déc. 2012 :
Avec l'appui du groupe responsable de la gestion des risques, la région a terminé la circonscription des risques et a organisé des ateliers sur l'évaluation des risques en novembre 2012. Le profil de risque de la région de la C.-B. est terminé, et il a été validé par l'ensemble des participants et par la haute direction. Il est essentiel d'intégrer cette information au processus de planification à l'échelon régional et au sein des directions. Pour ce faire, on utilisera cette information pour étayer le prochain cycle de planification opérationnelle. La région donnera suite aux risques élevés en intégrant ces risques et nos mesures d'atténuation dans les plans de la direction, et au besoin, dans le plan régional. Elle en fera état dans le processus régional de planification et de reddition de comptes afin d'assumer la responsabilité des mesures à prendre.

SVE : La mise en œuvre est achevée en grande partie. Classée.
Les profils de risque organisationnel des régions doivent être intégrés au processus et aux documents de planification des activités régionales pour 2012-2013. 2012-2013
6. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique doit clarifier les rôles, les responsabilités et l'objectif du comité de l'équipe de gestion de la Colombie-Britannique. Une fois que ce sera fait, le directeur général régional devra veiller à ce qu'on élabore et mette en œuvre un mandat détaillé pour les organes de surveillance régionaux (équipe de direction et comité de l'équipe de gestion). Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique précisera les rôles, les responsabilités et l'objectif du comité de l'équipe de gestion en fonction de la nouvelle structure régionale et s'assurera qu'ils sont indiqués dans les mandats mis à jour. Ces deux aspects seront mis en œuvre dès que terminés. Décembre 2011 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour/ Justification 
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique a clarifié les rôles, les responsabilités et l'objectif du comité de l'EGCB et de l'EHD. Les mandats respectifs de l'EGCB et de l'EHD ont été élaborés. SGGID C.-B. 2057914 et 1915967, respectivement.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
7. Avant d'approuver une facture, le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique doit s'assurer que l'entrepreneur en soutien TI respecte ses obligations contractuelles en ce qui a trait au respect des dates de production des rapports sur la gestion du rendement. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique délèguera cette responsabilité au directeur des services ministériels, qui veillera à ce qu'on fasse part de l'exigence concernant le respect des dates de production des rapports sur la surveillance du rendement à l'entrepreneur en soutien TI et qu'on respecte les modalités du contrat. Les rapports de rendement seront conservés avec la facture pour attester le respect des modalités du contrat et de l'article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Septembre 2011 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)
L'exigence concernant le respect des dates de production des rapports sur la surveillance du rendement a été communiquée à l'entrepreneur en soutien TI (Donna Conna) dans une lettre datée du 29 novembre 2011 (SGGID C.-B. 1971374). Les rapports de rendement sont conservés avec la facture pour attester le respect des modalités du contrat et de l'article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
Date de modification :