Map Description - Income Assistance (IA) Program for First Nation Communities

Map - Income Assistance (IA) Program for First Nation Communities (PDF Version, 548 Kb, 1 page)

Note:

Northwest Territories and Nunavut First Nations are not included in this map as social assistance programming is managed by their respective territorial governments.

Overall Map Description

his map shows the on-reserve Income Assistance dependency rate ranges for First Nations participating in the Income Assistance Program, based on data for fiscal year 2011-2012. The rate is calculated on the basis of the total number of First Nation residents divided by the total number of Income Assistance beneficiaries. Rates are grouped in three clusters. The threshold for each cluster is determined based on the average provincial/Yukon Social Assistance rate (5%) and the national average of on-reserve Income Assistance dependency rate (36%). Rates are represented by three colors: red dots represent First Nation communities (189 communities) in the category of having 37% and above of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance; yellow dots represent First Nation communities (264 communities) in the category of having between 6% and 36% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, and green dots represent First Nation communities (35 communities) in the category of having between 0 and 5 % of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance.

Provincial Description

British Columbia

In British Columbia there are 186 First Nations communities participating in the Income Assistance program. 35 communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, 98 others are in the category between 6% and 36%, and 20 communities are in the category between 0% and 5%. The remaining 33 First Nation communities have their program managed either by their related Tribal Council or Administrative Organization, or are self-governing.

Alberta

In Alberta there are 45 First Nation Communities participating in the Income Assistance program. 15 communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, 21 are in the category between 6% to 36% and one (1) community is in the category between 0% and 5%. The remaining height (8) First Nation communities have their program managed either by their related Tribal Council or by another First Nation.

Saskatchewan

In Saskatchewan there are 69 First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. 50 communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, and the remaining 19 communities are in the category between 6% and 36%.

Manitoba

In Manitoba there are 62 First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. 53 communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, and the remaining nine (9) communities are in the category between 6% and 36%.

Ontario

In Ontario there are 110 First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. 14 communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, 78 communities are in the category between 6% and 36%, and six (6) communities are in the category between 0% and 5%. The remaining 12 communities have their program managed either by their related Tribal Council or administering organization, or by another First Nation.

Québec

In Québec there are 30 First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. Four (4) communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, 23 communities are in the category between 6% and 36%, and the remaining three (3) communities are in the category between 0% and 5%.

Nova Scotia

In Nova Scotia there are 13 First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. Nine communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, three (3) communities are in the category between 6% and 36%, and one (1) community is in the category between 0% and 5%.

Prince Edward Island

In Prince Edward Island there are two (2) First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. Both are in the category of having between 6 and 36% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance.

New-Brunswick

In New-Brunswick there are 15 First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. Seven (7) communities are in the category of having more than 37% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, seven (7) communities are in the category between 6% and 36%, and one (1) community is in the category between 0% and 5%.

Newfoundland and Labrador

In Newfoundland and Labrador there are two (2) First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. One community is in the category of having between 6% and 36% of its on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, and the other community is in the category between 0% and 5%. One other community is shown as self-governing.

Yukon

In Yukon Territory there are six (6) First Nation communities participating in the Income Assistance program. Two (2) communities are in the category of having more than 37% of their on-reserve population receiving Income Assistance, two (2) communities are between 6% and 36%, and the remaining two (2) communities are in the category between 0% and 5%.

Date modified:

Description de la carte - Programme d'aide au revenu pour les Premières Nations

Carte - Programme d'aide au revenu pour les Premières Nations (Format PDF, 548 Ko, 1 page)

Note

Les Premières Nations des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ainsi que du Nunavut ne sont pas incluses dans la carte puisque le programme d'assistance sociale est géré par leurs gouvernements territoriaux respectifs.

Description générale

Cette carte illustre le taux de dépendance à l'aide au revenu, par catégorie, pour les premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu, basé sur les données de 2011/2012. Le taux est calculé d'après le nombre total de résidents des premières Nations, divisé par le nombre total de bénéficiaires du programme d'aide au revenu. Les taux sont regroupés en trois groupes. Le seuil de chaque groupe est déterminé sur la base du taux moyen provenant du programme d'assistance sociale provincial ainsi que du Yukon (5 %) et la moyenne du taux de dépendance du programme d'aide au revenu (36 %). Les taux sont représentés par trois couleurs : les points rouges représentent les communautés des premières Nations (189 communautés) dans la catégorie ayant 37 % et plus de la population vivant dans les réserves qui reçoit de l'aide au revenu; les points jaunes représentent les communautés des premières Nations (264 communautés) dans la catégorie ayant de 6 % à 36 % de la population vivant dans les réserves qui reçoit de l'aide au revenu; et les points verts représentent les communautés des premières Nations (35 communautés) dans la catégorie ayant de 0 % à 5 % de la population vivant dans les réserves qui reçoit de l'aide au revenu.

Description des Provinces

Colombie-Britannique

En Colombie-Britannique, il y a un total de 186 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. 35 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu, 98 autres se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 % et 20 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %. Les 33 autres communautés sont gérées par leur conseil tribal respectif, par une organisation administrative, ou sont autonomes.

Alberta

En Alberta il y a 45 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. 15 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu, 21 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 %, et une (1) collectivité se retrouve dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %. Les huit (8) autres communautés sont gérées soit par leur conseil tribal respectif, par une organisation administrative, ou sont autonomes.

Saskatchewan

En Saskatchewan, il y a un total de 69 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. 50 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu et les 21 autres communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 %.

Manitoba

Au Manitoba, il y a 62 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. 53 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu et les neuf (9) autres communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 %.

Ontario

En Ontario, il y a 110 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. 14 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu, 78 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 % et six (6) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %. Les 12 autres communautés sont gérées soit par leur conseil tribal respectif, par une organisation administrative, ou sont autonomes.

Québec

Au Québec, il y a 30 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. Quatre (4) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu, 23 communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 % et les trois (3) autres communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %.

Nouvelle-Écosse

En Nouvelle-Écosse, il y a 13 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. Neuf (9) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu, trois (3) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 % et une collectivité se retrouve dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

À l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, il y a deux (2) communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. Ces deux (2) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant qu'il y a entre 6 % et 36 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves qui reçoit de l'aide au revenu.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, il y a 15 communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. Sept (7) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu, sept (7) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 %, et une (1) communauté se retrouve dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, il y a deux (2) communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. Une (1) communauté se retrouve dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de sa population vivant dans la réserve qui reçoit de l'aide au revenu et l'autre collectivité se retrouve dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %. Une autre communauté est démontrée comme étant autonome.

Yukon

Dans le territoire du Yukon, il y a six (6) communautés des premières Nations qui participent au programme d'aide au revenu. Deux (2) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie indiquant que plus de 37 % de leur population vivant dans les réserves reçoit de l'aide au revenu, deux (2) communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 6 % et 36 % et les deux (2) autres communautés se retrouvent dans la catégorie entre 0 % et 5 %.