Management Practices Audit Quebec Region - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (106 Kb, 8 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2012

QUEBEC REGION, HRWSB, RO, CFO

Management Practices Audit Quebec Region
Approval Date: 02/23/2012
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Continue to collaborate with Headquarters to define external client services offered by AANDC and to develop performance targets for the delivery of these services as part of on-going monitoring and management of the performance against established standards. To help ensure a consistent, national approach is adopted, standards, performance expectations and monitoring requirements should be formally communicated to all regions by HQ. 1.1 The Quebec Regional Office will work with the Chief Financial Officer to develop service standards for internal services in this sector's areas of activity. Regional service standards will be shared to promote a nationally consistent approach.

1.2 The Quebec Regional Office will also work with Regional Operations to develop service standards for transfer payments for external clients.

1.3 The Quebec Regional Office is working with Sectors at Headquarters to develop external client service standards for transfer payments, land management, Indian registration, estates, processing of applications for funding for economic development projects, handling of election appeals, and by‑laws.
Ongoing Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale
As of September 30, 2012

1.1

In January 2012, the QRO contributed to the exercise aiming to identify service standards for internal services within the Chief Financial Officer Sector, including financial and administrative services (including contract and asset management) and QRO. The objective was to identify all current service standards, including the principles governing service delivery.

NOTE: establishing service standards will now be the responsibility of the accounting and procurement service hubs.

1.2

The QRO has actively cooperated in developing transfer payment service standards. These topics were among those discussed at the ARDG Forum and during conference calls of the Funding Services and Corporate Services directors.

In addition, Headquarters has introduced new national service standards on quality, timeframes and deadlines with respect to the analysis of financial statements. These standards, which have been made public to agreement recipients, are now in effect and are adhered to at the QRO.

1.3

The Regional Directorate responsible for individual affairs maintains ongoing relations with the Individual Affairs Branch at Headquarters with regard to the implementation and update of service standards where required. Also, for many years, the Regional Directorate has had in place service standards related more specifically to Indian registration, return telephone calls for the regional 1-800 line and estates.

The QRO will continue to work with the sectors at Headquarters on developing external client service standards for land management and the processing of applications for funding for economic development projects.

AES: Implementation completed. The recommendation is closed.
2. Increase the awareness of regional managers responsible for hiring and promotion activities by providing training and information sessions. The training should identify the tools and resources available to help them better understand their roles and responsibilities within the hiring process and help ensure it is efficient and effective; and identify the documentation to be retained to demonstrate compliance with policies and procedures. 2.1 Organize information sessions with the extended management team to remind them about the documents to be kept on file. Mid‑March 2012 Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale
As of September 30, 2012:

An information session on staffing was held for managers in connection with Learning Month in May 2012. The following themes were covered:
  • Documentation required in files
  • Establishment of roles and responsibilities for the various stakeholders in the processes;
  • The Department's delegation instrument;
  • The connection between the statement of merit criteria and the job requirements;
  • Pre-selection and assessment tools available to managers;
  • Etc.
Also, to give employees a clear understanding of the staffing process and its various stages, several information sessions were held for the HR team on the following themes:

  • Career aspiration system at the QRO (making the form digitally accessible)
  • Preparing a resumé, cover letter and various tools;
  • Information on priority administration;
  • Interviews and screening examinations;
Last, the HR team presented the competency profile developed for the PM group to all employees and managers in the region. This profile is available on the intranet and represents the key competencies identified for this group.

AES: Implementation completed. The recommendation is closed.
2.2 Set up group training sessions for managers to help them learn more about the respective roles and responsibilities in the staffing process. May 2012
Learning month
2.3 Develop and/or share tools with managers, e.g., pre‑selection and assessment tools, regional competency profile, etc. May 2012
Learning month
2.4 Update staffing tools and ensure they are available through regional intranet. Beginning of March 2012
3. Collaborate with HRWSB and propose new approaches for adjustments to employee performance management (EPM) requirements to reflect the alignment of developmental goals with employees' needs, position requirements and established regional competencies. Also, any developmental goals identified should be used to inform learning plans for the year providing a clear link between the EPM and Learning Plan. Training should be carried out to help improve the consistency and quality of EPM form preparation and assessment. The Québec Region should also conduct an ongoing quality review of a sample of EPMs to assess whether they are completed as expected. 3.1 The region will ensure that its EPM process is perfectly in line with the Department's national policy. Call letter from HQ Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale
As of December 31, 2012:

In April 2012 a regional call letter was sent to all employees by QRO's senior management to launch the performance management process. The letter included useful links, namely on the QRO's career aspirations system and the various courses and training offered by the department, as well as the EPM school and the AANDC learning roadmaps.

In May 2012 the new regional competency profile developed for the PM group was presented to employees as a tool to support the development of work objectives and an individual learning plan.

Also in May 2012, the regional HR team offered two information sessions for managers and employees on setting work objectives in the context of performance evaluations.

Examples of work objectives (good and weak) had been collected beforehand through random sampling from previous performance evaluation reports. The tool used was based on the SMART concept (simple, measurable, achievable, relevant, time-bound).

A second sample should have been taken mid‑year to conduct a quality review of established objectives in order to check that they were established in accordance with expectations. However, the position of the HR advisor responsible for the file was cut in the context of the Deficit Reduction Action Plan. The employee and a co-worker left the QRO in June 2012 and were not replaced. The only remaining advisor had to take over all the staffing and labour relations files for the region in addition to supporting management with the workforce reduction. As a result, this action could not be completed.

The new Eastern HR Services Hub will now be responsible for coordinating the Employee Performance Management (EPM) process. Once the positions have been staffed and the employees have begun their duties, the regional office will work with the new HR hub advisors to continue to improve the quality and relevance of the employees' work objectives.

At the end of the current EPM cycle, we will try to go back to the exercise of collecting samples of work objectives  with the support of the HR Services Hub in a spirit of ongoing improvement and in order to continue to support the SMART objectives in 2013-14.

AES: Implementation completed. The recommendation is closed.
3.2 When sending out the regional call letter announcing the start of the process, messages will be tailored to managers and employees. Expectations will be specified, concrete examples will be provided and electronic links will be made available to all. Beginning of April 2012
3.3 Examples of work objectives from a random regional sample will be used for a quality review of the 2011‑12 evaluations. Anonymous examples of "good" and "weak" wording will be shared with managers during an information session (see item 4). End of April 2012 for fiscal year ending May 31
3.4 Information sessions will be provided to managers on the EPM process, including setting goals (measurable, attainable, realistic, clear). June 2012
3.5 Before the midyear review, a second random sample will be taken and used to measure the effectiveness of the process and to make adjustments based on the above goal-setting principles. September 2012
4. Continue to collaborate with Headquarters and increase HQ's awareness of the need to consult and work closely with regional offices and First Nation representatives to support an improved understanding of the needs and requirements of First Nations. To contribute to greater understanding of the needs of Quebec First Nations, the QRO will continue to use national forums such as sector meetings, committees and conference calls to highlight the importance of holding close consultations with the regional offices and First Nations representatives for policy development, proposed changes to programs, the implementation of special initiatives and pilot projects, etc. Ongoing Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale
As of September 30, 2012:

The QRO is involved in the various national working groups in the Department's various business areas. The QRO takes part in national meetings, conference calls and videoconferences, and in ongoing discussions with representatives from Headquarters and the Regions.

AES: Implementation completed. The recommendation is closed.
Date modified:

Vérification des pratiques de gestion Région du Québec - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2012

Format PDF (112 Ko, 9 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2012

Région du Québec

Vérification des pratiques de gestion Région du Québec
Date d'approbation 23/02/2012
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
Le Secteur de la vérification et d'évaluation recommande que le Directeur général régional du Bureau régional du Québec:

1. Poursuive la collaboration avec l'administration centrale et les autres régions à la définition des services à la clientèle externes offerts par AADNC et à l'élaboration des cibles de rendement pour la prestation de ces services, dans le cadre de la gestion et de la surveillance continues des normes à cet égard. Afin d'assurer l'adoption d'une approche cohérente à l'échelle nationale, les normes et les attentes quant au rendement et les exigences en matière de surveillance devront être communiquées officiellement à toutes les régions par l'administration centrale.
1.1 Le bureau régional du Québec va collaborer avec le Dirigeant principal des finances pour l'élaboration des normes de services pour les services internes pour les domaines d'activités de ce secteur. Les normes de services régionales seront partagées en vue de favoriser une approche cohérente à l'échelle nationale.

1.2 Le bureau régional du Québec va collaborer aussi avec les Opérations régionales pour l'élaboration des normes de services pour la clientèle externe en matière de paiements de transfert.

1.3 Le bureau régional du Québec est à collaborer avec les secteurs de l'administration centrale sur l'élaboration de normes de services pour la clientèle externe, en matière de paiements de transfert, de gestion foncière, d'inscription au Registre des Indiens, de successions, de traitement des demandes de financement de projet de développement économique, de traitement d'appels en matière électorale, et de règlements administratifs.
Permanent État : Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012

1.1

En janvier 2012 le BRQ a contribué à l'exercice visant à identifier les normes de services pour les services internes au sein du secteur de la Dirigeante principale des finances, incluant les services financiers, les services administratifs (incluant la gestion des marchés et des biens), ainsi que la GI/TI. L'objectif visé était de répertorier toutes les normes de services en vigueur, incluant les principes régissant la prestation des services.

NOTE : l'établissement des normes de service sera dorénavant la responsabilité des guichets de services en matière de comptabilité et d'approvisionnement.

1.2

Le BRQ a activement collaboré à l'élaboration de normes de services en matière de paiements de transfert. Notamment, ces sujets ont fait l'objet d'une discussion au Forum des DGRA ainsi que lors des appels conférence des Directeur, Services de financement / Directeur, Services généraux.

En outre, l'administration centrale a introduit à l'échelle nationale de nouvelles normes de services sur la qualité, les délais et les dates limites à respecter dans le cadre de l'analyse des états financiers. Ces normes, qui  ont été rendues publiques aux bénéficiaires d'ententes, sont en vigueur et respectées au BRQ.

1.3

La direction régionale responsable de  des affaires individuelles maintient une relation continue avec la direction générale des affaires individuelles de l'administration centrale concernant la mise en place et la mise à jour de normes de services, s'il y a lieu.  En outre, la direction régionale s'est dotée depuis des années de normes de services liées plus particulièrement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens, les retours d'appels de la ligne 1-800 régionale, ainsi que les successions.

Le BRQ continuera à collaborer avec les secteurs de l'administration centrale sur l'élaboration de normes de services pour la clientèle externe, en matière de gestion foncière et de traitement des demandes de financement de projet de développement économique.

SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. La recommandation est fermée.
2. Sensibilise les gestionnaires régionaux responsables de la dotation en offrant des sessions d'information. La formation devrait identifier les outils et les ressources disponibles pour les aider à mieux comprendre leurs rôles et responsabilités par rapport aux processus de dotation et qu'ils soient faits de manière efficiente et efficace, ainsi qu'identifier les documents nécessaires à conserver pour démontrer la conformité aux politiques et aux procédures. 2.1. Organiser des sessions d'information avec l'équipe de gestion élargie afin de leur rappeler les documents nécessaires à conserver au dossier. mi-mars 2012 État : Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :

Une session d'information touchant la dotation a été offerte aux gestionnaires dans le cadre du mois de l'apprentissage en mai 2012. Les thèmes suivants ont été abordés :
  • La documentation nécessaire aux dossiers;
  • L'établissement des rôles et responsabilités pour les divers intervenants dans les processus;
  • L'instrument de délégation ministériel;
  • Le lien à faire entre l'énoncé de critères de mérite et les exigences du poste;
  • Les outils de présélection et d'évaluation qui sont à la disposition des gestionnaires;
  • Etc.
De plus, et afin de permettre aux employés de bien saisir le processus de dotation et ses diverses phases, plusieurs sessions d'information ont été offertes l'équipe RH sous les thèmes suivants :

  • Système d'aspiration de carrière au BRQ (informatisation du formulaire)
  • Préparation d'un C.V., lettre de présentation et divers outils;
  • Information sur l'administration des priorités;
  • Entrevues et examens de sélection;
Finalement, l'équipe RH a présenté à tous les employés et gestionnaires de la région le profil de compétences élaboré pour le groupe PM. Ce profil est disponible sur Intranet et représente les compétences clés identifiées pour ce groupe.

SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. La recommandation est fermée.
2.2. Établir des formations de groupe pour les gestionnaires pour les aider à mieux comprendre les rôles et responsabilités respectives par rapport aux processus de dotation. Mai 2012
Mois de l'apprentissage
2.3. Développer et /ou partager des outils avec les gestionnaires, e.g. outils de pré-sélection et évaluation, profil de compétences régionales, etc. Mai 2012
Mois de l'apprentissage
2.4. Mettre à jour des outils de dotation et les rendre accessibles via l'intranet régional. Début mars 2012
3. Travaille de concert avec la DGSRHMT et propose de nouvelles approches pour s'ajuster aux exigences de la gestion de rendement des employés (GRE). Les changements devraient inclure l'alignement des objectifs de développement aux besoins des employés ainsi qu'aux exigences régionales des postes et des compétences. Tout objectif de perfectionnement identifié devrait être utilisé pour informer le personnel des plans de formation pour l'année et il devrait y avoir un lien clair entre les deux documents (par ex., GRE et plan d'apprentissage). La formation devrait être donnée pour améliorer l'uniformité et la qualité de la préparation et de l'évaluation de la GRE. Le Bureau régional du Québec devrait aussi mener un examen de la qualité des objectifs établis sur un échantillon des GRE pour vérifier qu'ils sont bien remplis comme ils doivent l'être et selon les attentes. 3.1. La région s'assurera que son processus de GRE est parfaitement aligné sur la politique ministérielle nationale. Lettre d'appel de l'AC État : Demande de fermeture (terminé)

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 31 décembre 2012 :

En avril 2012, une lettre d'appel régionale a été acheminée à tous les employés par la Direction générale du BRQ afin de lancer le processus de gestion du rendement. Des liens utiles figuraient à la lettre, notamment le système d'aspiration de carrière du BRQ, divers cours et formations offerts par le ministère ainsi que l'École en matière de GRE, et le parcours d'apprentissage à AADNC.

En mai 2012 le nouveau profil régional des compétences élaboré pour le groupe PM a été présenté aux employés comme outil venant appuyer l'élaboration des objectifs de travail et le développement du plan d'apprentissage individuel.

Toujours en mai 2012 deux sessions d'information destinées aux gestionnaires ainsi qu'aux employés ont été offertes par l'équipe régionale RH sur la formulation des objectifs de travail dans le cadre de l'évaluation du rendement.

Des exemples d'objectifs de travail (bon et mauvais) avaient été recueillis au préalable à partir d'un échantillonnage aléatoire d'anciens rapports d'évaluation du rendement. L'outil utilisé était basé sur le concept du "SMART" (Simple, Mesurable, Atteignable, Relié, Temporel).

Un 2e échantillonnage devait être effectué à la mi-année afin de mener un examen de la qualité des objectifs établis pour vérifier qu'ils avaient été établis selon les attentes. Cependant le poste de Conseillère RH responsable du dossier a été coupé dans le cadre du Plan d'action de réduction du déficit et l'employée a quitté le BRQ en juin 2012 sans être remplacée, de même que sa collègue. La seule conseillère restante devant prendre en charge tous les dossiers de dotation+ relations de travail de la région en plus supporter la gestion dans la réduction de ses effectifs, cette action n'a pu être complétée.

Le nouveau guichet de services en RH pour la région de l'Est sera dorénavant responsable de la coordination du processus de Gestion du rendement des employés. Une fois les postes dotés et les employés entrés en fonction, le bureau régional collaborera avec les nouveaux conseillers du guichet afin de continuer à améliorer la qualité et la pertinence des objectifs de travail des employés.

À la fin du présent cycle GRE, nous tenterons de reprendre l'exercice d'échantillonnage des objectifs de travail avec l'appui du guichet de service dans une perspective d'amélioration continue et afin de continuer à assurer des objectifs SMART en 2013-14.

SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. La recommandation est fermée.
3.2. Lors de l'envoi de la lettre d'appel régionale annonçant le début du processus, les messages seront adaptés aux gestionnaires et employés. Les attentes seront définies, des exemples concrets seront fournis et les liens électroniques seront rendus accessibles à tous. Début avril 2012
3.3. Des exemples d'objectifs de travail provenant d'un échantillon aléatoire régional feront l'objet d'un examen de la qualité des évaluations 2011/12. Des exemples de "bons" et "mauvais" libellés seront partagés, de façon anonyme, avec les gestionnaires lors d'une session d'information (voir item 4). Fin avril 2012 pour exercice se terminant le 31 mai
3.4. Des sessions d'information à l'intention des gestionnaires seront offertes sur le processus de GRE, incluant l'établissement des objectifs (mesurables/accessibles/réalistes et compréhensibles (MARC); Juin 2012
3.5. Avant la revue mi-année, un 2ième échantillon aléatoire sera effectué et servira à mesurer l'efficacité du processus, permettant ainsi de s'ajuster en fonction du MARC. Septembre 2012
4. Poursuivre la collaboration avec l'administration centrale et la sensibiliser à la nécessité de consulter étroitement les bureaux régionaux et les représentants des Premières nations afin de bénéficier d'une compréhension améliorée des besoins et des exigences des Premières nations. Afin de contribuer à une compréhension améliorée des besoins des Premières nations au Québec, le BRQ continuera à utiliser les tribunes nationales telles les rencontres de secteurs, les comités et les appels conférences afin de souligner l'importance de consulter étroitement les bureaux régionaux ainsi que les représentants des Premières nations dans le cadre de développement de politique, changements proposés aux programmes, mise en œuvre d'initiatives spéciales, projets pilotes, etc. En continu État : Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :

De façon continue, le BRQ est impliqué dans les différents groupes de travail nationaux et ce dans les différents domaines d'affaire du ministère. Le BRQ prend part à des rencontres nationales, appels-conférences et vidéos-conférences et participe aux échanges et discussions de manière continue avec les représentants de l'administration centrale et des régions.

SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. La recommandation est fermée.
Date de modification :