ARCHIVED - Response to Parliamentary Committees and External Audits

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Response to Parliamentary Committees

Third Report of the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples, entitled "Reforming First Nations Education: From Crisis to Hope" (tabled 10 May 2012)

Second Report of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts entitled "Chapter 4, Programs for First Nations on Reserves, of the 2011 Status Report of the Auditor General of Canada." (tabled 5 June 2012)

Response to the Auditor General (including to the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development)

Chapter 3 – Federal Contaminated Sites and Their Impacts (Spring 2012)

The Office of the Auditor General examined how the federal government manages and reports actions taken to address the contaminated sites in its inventory, including the financial impact arising from environmental damage.

Chapter 2 – Financial Assurances for Environmental Risks (Fall 2012)

The Office of the Auditor General examined whether selected federal entities had appropriate systems in place for obtaining and managing financial assurances for environmental risks. The audit focused on the federal regulation of four sectors: mining (north of the 60th parallel), nuclear, offshore oil and gas, and marine transportation. Also examined were the liability limits established for nuclear facilities and oil spills from ships, as well as the liability regime for offshore oil and gas production, which includes both an absolute liability limit and an unlimited liability for parties at fault.

Petition no. 330 – Federal Environmental Assessment of a Highway Expansion Project in Ontario (January 2012)

The petitioner seeks clarification on how the federal government carried out an environmental assessment of the Highway 69 expansion project in Ontario. The petitioner is concerned that because the federal government was unable to make a decision regarding the environmental assessment of the project as a whole, it now plans to assess the impacts of the highway expansion as part of five separate projects. The petitioner asks the federal government to explain its policy for determining the scope of highway projects under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.

External audits conducted by the Public Service Commission of Canada or the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages

Public Service Commission of Canada – N/A

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages – N/A

 

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Réponse aux comités parlementaires et aux vérifications externes

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réponse aux comités parlementaires

Troisième rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones intitulé La réforme de l’éducation chez les Premières Nations : de la crise à l’espoir » (déposé le 10 mai). 2012).

Deuxième rapport du Comité permanent des comptes publics intitulé « Chapitre 4, Programmes pour les Premières Nations dans les réserves, du rapport Le Point 2011 de la vérificatrice générale du Canada ».

Réponse au vérificateur général (y compris au commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable)

Chapitre 3 — Les sites contaminés fédéraux et leurs impacts (Printemps 2012)

Le Bureau du vérificateur général a examiné comment le gouvernement fédéral gère les interventions touchant les sites contaminés dans son inventaire et comment il rend compte de celles-ci, ainsi que les répercussions financières des dommages environnementaux causés par ces sites.

Chapitre 2 — Les garanties financières pour les risques environnementaux (Automne 2012)

Le Bureau du vérificateur général a vérifié si les entités fédérales sélectionnées ont des systèmes appropriés pour obtenir et gérer les garanties financières requises pour les risques environnementaux. La vérification a porté sur la réglementation fédérale de quatre secteurs, soit l’exploitation minière (au nord du 60e parallèle), les installations nucléaires, les activités pétrolières et gazières en mer, et le transport maritime. Ce dernier a examiné aussi les limites de responsabilité fixées pour les installations nucléaires et les déversements de pétrole provenant de navires. Enfin, le Bureau du vérificateur général s’est penché sur le régime de responsabilité en matière de production de pétrole et de gaz en mer, lequel prévoit un plafond de responsabilité absolue et une responsabilité illimitée pour les parties fautives.

Pétition no 330 – Évaluation environnementale fédérale d’un projet d’élargissement de route en Ontario (janvier 2012)

Le pétitionnaire demande des éclaircissements sur la manière dont le gouvernement fédéral a effectué l’évaluation environnementale du projet d’élargissement de la route 69 en Ontario. Le pétitionnaire craint qu’en raison de l’incapacité du gouvernement fédéral de prendre une décision en ce qui a trait à l’évaluation environnementale de l’ensemble du projet, il prévoit maintenant évaluer les impacts de l’élargissement de la route dans le cadre de cinq projets distincts. Le pétitionnaire demande que le gouvernement fédéral explique sa politique visant la détermination de la portée des projets routiers régis par la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale.

Vérifications externes effectuées par la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada ou le Commissariat aux langues officielles

Commission de la fonction publique du Canada – sans objet

Commissariat aux langues officielles – sans objet

 

 

Date de modification :