Roaster Complex Deconstruction

As part of the Giant Mine Remediation Project, Parsons Canada Ltd. is decontaminating and deconstructing the roaster complex. Work started in June 2013 and is scheduled to be complete by December 2014. Parsons Canada Limited is working with Yellowknife-based companies Det'on Cho Corporation and Det'on Cho Nahanni as well as four other companies: Tervita, Enviro-Vac, Williams Engineering, and International Chimney.

The project started with a structural check to finalize the plan on the safest way to proceed. Scaffolding was then installed before each structure was sealed to prevent air from escaping.

Decontamination

Negative air pressure inside each building is used to draw air and any potential contaminants and dust inward to prevent any leakage to the environment. In addition, all of the air inside the shrink-wrapped enclosure is filtered before release. The initial process of arsenic and asbestos removal is done with a specially designed hazardous debris vacuum which picks up the contaminants and places them into sealed bags. This ensures that the material does not come into contact with the atmosphere. Surfaces within the buildings are washed, inspected and tested to confirm complete decontamination. All material collected is packaged, cleaned and removed from the structure.

Arsenic waste is safely and securely stored on site for disposal, while non-arsenic hazardous waste is properly disposed of at a licensed facility. The water used to control dust is captured, treated, and discharged into an onsite waste water treatment system. There will be no discharge of waste water into the environment.

Deconstruction

Only when the roaster complex is clean of hazardous materials does deconstruction begin. The structures are dismantled in a step-by-step and controlled fashion by using specialized equipment and techniques while ensuring safety. While the structure is under shrink wrap, all of the interior contents are removed, followed by the removal of the roof and building siding. Once the interior is cleared and portions of the structure have been taken down, the shrink wrap is removed so that the remaining portions of the building can be dismantled.

Health & Safety

Safety and preservation of the environment are top priorities for this deconstruction work. There is ongoing monitoring of air through all phases of the project and it is managed through many programs. Williams Engineering oversees a comprehensive monitoring program around the roaster complex. Additional oversight is performed by independent third parties. In addition to the roaster worksite, there is dedicated air monitoring at the Giant Mine boundary and at fixed locations in the community.

Déconstruction du complexe de grillage

Dans le cadre du Projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant, Parsons Canada Ltd. voit à la décontamination et à la déconstruction du complexe de grillage. Les travaux ont commencé en juin 2013. Leur achèvement est prévu d'ici décembre 2014. Parsons Canada Ltd. collabore avec des entreprises établies à Yellowknife, Det'on Cho Corporation et Det'on Cho Nahanni, et avec quatre autres compagnies : Tervita, Enviro-Vac, Williams Engineering et International Chimney.

Le projet a commencé par une vérification de la structure pour déterminer la marche à suivre la plus sécuritaire. On a ensuite installé les échafaudages avant de recouvrir chaque structure d'une enveloppe moulante pour empêcher l'air de s'échapper.

Décontamination

Des pressions d'air négatives utilisées dans chaque bâtiment aspirent l'air ainsi que tout contaminant et toute poussière se trouvant à l'intérieur pour prévenir toute fuite dans l'environnement. De plus, tout l'air contenu à l'intérieur de l'enveloppe moulante est filtré avant d'être évacué. L'enlèvement initial de l'arsenic et de l'amiante est effectué au moyen d'un aspirateur, spécialement conçu pour les débris dangereux, qui ramasse les contaminants et les dépose dans des sacs hermétiquement fermés. Ce processus empêche les matières d'entrer en contact avec l'atmosphère. À l'intérieur des bâtiments, les surfaces sont lavées, inspectées et testées pour assurer une décontamination complète. Toutes les matières recueillies sont emballées, nettoyées et enlevées de la structure.

Les déchets contenant de l'arsenic sont soigneusement entreposés sur place de façon sécuritaire. Les autres déchets sont éliminés convenablement dans des installations munies des permis requis. L'eau utilisée pour capter la poussière est récupérée, traitée et déversée dans un système de traitement des eaux usées sur place. Il n'y aura aucun déversement d'eaux usées dans l'environnement.

Déconstruction

Ce n'est que quand toutes les matières dangereuses ont été enlevées que la déconstruction du complexe de grillage peut commencer. Les structures sont démantelées par étapes, de façon contrôlée et sécuritaire, à l'aide de techniques et d'équipement spécialisés. Pendant que la structure est sous enveloppe, tout ce qui se trouve à l'intérieur est retiré. On procède ensuite à l'enlèvement du toit et des parements du bâtiment. Quand l'intérieur est vide et que la structure est en partie démontée, l'enveloppe moulante est enlevée pour permettre le démantèlement du reste du bâtiment.

Santé et sécurité

La sécurité et la préservation de l'environnement constituent des priorités absolues dans ce travail de déconstruction. L'air est surveillé en permanence pendant toutes les phases du projet et est géré par l'intermédiaire de nombreux programmes. Williams Engineering supervise un programme complet de surveillance autour du complexe de grillage. Des tiers indépendants assurent une surveillance supplémentaire. En plus du chantier du complexe de grillage, un système dédié de surveillance de la qualité de l'air est installé aux abords de la mine Giant et à des endroits déterminés dans la collectivité.