ARCHIVED - 2013-2014 Call for Nominations Launched in the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Download the PDF Version  
(59 Kb, 1 Page)

Bulletin
Volume 22, Number 1
August 2013

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development hereby calls for nominations on Crown reserve lands north of 60° in the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta, Northwest Territories. Companies interested in obtaining petroleum exploration rights are asked to nominate blocks of lands which they would like to see in a subsequent Call for Bids. Please refer to the complete Call for Nominations package.

All posting requests must be described in accordance with the Guidelines for Posting Parcels North of Latitude 60° N. Lands currently under licence which revert to Crown reserve status during the course of this Call for Nominations may also be nominated. Lands included in this Call for Nominations fall within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. Aboriginal subsurface lands established pursuant to the Inuvialuit Final Agreement are not available for posting.

The Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement was signed on June 25, 2013. Interests issued in the onshore, which includes the Mackenzie Delta and permanent islands in the Beaufort Sea, will be under the administration and control of the Government of the Northwest Territories as of the Transfer Date (expected April 1st 2014).

All nominations must be received by September 24, 2013 at 4 p.m. (EDT) to be considered by the Minister. All nominations should be faxed to the attention of:

Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate
Northern Petroleum and Mineral Resources Branch
facsimile: 819-953-5828

Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta

The Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta is a region proven to be particularly rich in petroleum resources, reflective of the economic potential of Canada's North. Although some 60 discoveries have been made, there remains high potential for new oil and gas fields in large undrilled geological structures, particularly in the offshore.

Call for Bids

The exercise of petroleum exploration rights is subject to specific terms and conditions relating to the environment and must comply with requirements under land claims and for northern benefits. Such information is contained in the Proposed 2013-2014 Call for Bids and within the terms of the Exploration Licence. Should nominations be received, a Call for Bids for nominated blocks may be launched in October 2013.

Interests in the onshore, resulting from the 2013-2014 Call for Bids for Exploration Licences in the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta must be issued no later than one day before the Transfer Date.

Regulations of Operations

Oil and gas operations on exploration licences are regulated by the National Energy Board, who will continue as the technical regulator after the Transfer Date.

For more information on the rights issuance process or the resource management regime, please contact:

Rights Administration
Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate
Northern Petroleum and Mineral Resources Branch
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Tel: 819-953-2087 Fax: 819-953-5828
Rights@aandc.gc.ca
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-eng.asp

Media Enquiries: 819-953-1160

Note: This Bulletin is for information purposes only.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Lancement de Demande de désignations 2013-2014 dans la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Télécharger le format PDF  
(51 Ko, 1 page)

Bulletin
Volume 22, numéro 1
Août 2013

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien demande par la présente que l'on soumette des désignations à l'égard de terres de la Couronne au nord du 60e parallèle dans la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie, Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Les sociétés intéressées à acquérir des droits de prospection pétroliers sont priées de désigner les parcelles qu'elles souhaiteraient voir apparaître dans un appel d'offres subséquent. Veuillez vous référer à la version intégrale de la Demande de désignations 

Toutes les désignations doivent être formulées conformément aux Lignes directrices pour les parcelles au nord du 60e parallèle. Les terres actuellement visées par un titre qui reprennent le statut de réserve de la Couronne au cours de la période visée par ces demandes de désignations sont aussi admissibles. Les terres incluses dans cette demande de désignations sont situé dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit. Les terres autochtones visant des droits d'exploitation du sous-sol faites conformément à la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit sont exclues des terres pouvant faire l'objet de désignations.

L'Entente sur le transfert des responsabilités liées aux terres et aux ressources des Territoires du Nord-Ouest a été signée le 25 juin 2013. Les titres octroyés sur les terres infracôtières, ce qui inclut le delta du Mackenzie et les îles permanentes dans la mer de Beaufort, seront sous l'administration et le contrôle du gouvernement des territoires du Nord-Ouest à partir de la date du transfert (prévue le 1er avril 2014).

Les demandes de désignations seront acceptées jusqu'au 24 septembre 2013 à 16 h (HAE). Les demandes doivent être télécopiées à l'attention de :

Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord
Direction générale des ressources pétrolières et minérales du Nord
télécopieur : 819-953-5828.

Mer de Beaufort et delta du Mackenzie

La région comprenant la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie est réputée pour être particulièrement riche en ressources pétrolières, une richesse qui témoigne du potentiel économique du Nord canadien. Bien que 60 découvertes aient été faites, il existe encore d'importantes possibilités de trouver des champs de pétrole et de gaz au sein de grandes structures géologiques qui n'ont pas encore fait l'objet de forages, tout particulièrement en mer.

Appels d'offres

L'exercice de droits d'exploration pétrolière est subordonné à des conditions précises relatives à l'environnement et doit se conformer aux revendications territoriales ainsi qu'aux exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord. Ces renseignements sont disponibles dans l'appel d'offres 2013-2014 proposé pour permis de prospection ainsi que dans les conditions du permis de prospection. Suivant la réception des désignations, un appel d'offres pourrait être lancé en octobre 2013.

Les titres octroyés sur les terres infracôtières, résultant du présent appel d'offres, doivent être délivrée au plus tard un jour avant la date du transfert.

Réglementation des opérations

Les opérations pétrolières et gazières sur les permis de prospection sont réglementées par l'Office national de l'énergie qui demeurera l'autorité technique suivant la

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le processus d'attribution des droits ou le régime de gestion des ressources naturelles, veuillez vous adresser à :

Administration des droits
Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord
Direction des ressources pétrolières et minérales du Nord
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-953-2087 Télécopieur: 819-953-5828
Droits@aadnc.gc.ca
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-fra.asp

Demande de renseignements des médias : 819-953-1160


Note : Ce bulletin est publié à titre d'information uniquement.

Date de modification :