ARCHIVED - 2013-2014 Call for Nominations Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Date of launch: August 28, 2013
Closing date: 4 p.m. (EDT) on September 24, 2013

Table of Contents


Call for Nominations

The Call for Nominations gives industry the opportunity to identify blocks of land it would like to see posted for bidding in the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta. All nominations received through this process are given full consideration for inclusion in a succeeding Call for Bids.

Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta

The Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta is a region proven to be particularly rich in petroleum resources, reflective of the economic potential of Canada's North. Although some 60 discoveries have been made, there remains high potential for new oil and gas fields in large undrilled geological structures, particularly in the offshore. Lands included in this Call for Nominations fall within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region.

Northwest Territories Devolution

The Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement was signed on June 25, 2013. This agreement will see responsibility for the Public Lands, water and resource management in the Northwest Territories transfer from Canada to the Government of the Northwest Territories as of the Transfer Date (expected April 1st, 2014). Interests issued in the Onshore, as defined in the Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement, will, following the Transfer Date, be under the administration and control of the Government of the Northwest Territories.

Return to Table of Contents




1. Submission of Nominations

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development hereby calls for the submission of nominations for Frontier Lands, as defined in the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, located in the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta of the Northwest Territories. Maps are included.

Nominations received will configure parcels that could be included in a Call for Bids for Exploration Licences.

Lands currently under licence which revert to Crown reserve status during the course of this Call for Nominations may also be posted. Please refer to our registry activities. This site will list any changes to licences such as surrenders and terminations and is updated frequently. Note that lands subject to Withdrawal Order P.C. 2010-219 may be nominated in anticipation of amendment of the withdrawal order (see Call for Nominations Maps).

Interested parties are highly encouraged to read the proposed 2013-2014 Call for Bids for Exploration Licences in the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta documentation prior to nominating lands.

The exercise of petroleum exploration rights is subject to specific terms and conditions relating to the environment and must comply with requirements under land claims as well as for northern benefits. Such information is contained in the Proposed 2013-2014 Call for Bids for Exploration Licences and within the terms of the Exploration Licence.

(a) Content of Posting Requests

All posting requests must be described in accordance with the attached Guidelines for Parcels North of Latitude 60° N. Each tract posted shall comprise laterally or diagonally contiguous blocks.

Each tract posted shall be fully located in either the Onshore or the Offshore as defined in the Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement. Areas of interest which straddle the Onshore and Offshore should be nominated as separate parcels.

Parcel Size

The size of parcels posted varies according to location. The following Table 1 sets out the minimum and maximum size of parcels within each area.

Table 1: Minimum and Maximum Size of Parcels
Location Minimum Maximum
North of latitude 75° N onshore and offshore 1 grid 8 grids
 
North of Line "A" * including Arctic Islands and area subject to work prohibition order 1 grid 6 grids
 
South of Line "A"* including Beaufort Sea and mainland Territories (excluding Mackenzie Delta and Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula)
North of latitude 70° N ½ grid 3 grids
South of latitude 70° N 1 grid 6 grids
Area subject to work prohibition order ¼ grid 3 grids
 
Mackenzie Delta west of longitude 133° W and Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula ¼ grid 4 grids
 
*Parcels straddling line "A" will have their maximum size determined by using the maximum size indicated for south of Line "A"

A Posting Request Form should accompany the request.

Nominations abutting the Line of Delimitation on the Call for Nominations Map shall be described by grids, sections and units.

Area Subject to Work Prohibition Orders

Part of the western Beaufort Sea is subject to work prohibition ordersFootnote 1. Although lands may be nominated within this general area, the Minister may decide not to include these within a subsequent Call for Bids. Should an Exploration Licence be issued, it may be subject to a work prohibition order pursuant to section 12 of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act.

Nothing in this Call for Nominations shall affect or prejudice in any manner Canada's position with respect to the nature or extent of jurisdiction or sovereign rights over maritime areas in the Beaufort Sea.

(b) Submission of Posting Requests

All requests must be submitted by fax no later than September 24, 2013 at 4 p.m. (EDT).

Each request should be addressed as follows:

2013-2014 Call for Nominations
Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta
Closing date: September 24, 2013 at 4 p.m. (EDT)

Attention: Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate
Northern Petroleum and Mineral Resources Branch
Facsimile: 819-953-5828

Requesters are advised to give prior notice of their intent to submit a fax by calling 819-997-0048 or 819-953-2087 immediately prior to transmission. Telephone confirmation will be provided, if requested, upon receipt of the fax.

Only the fax copy is necessary; original copies are not required.

All submissions received will become property of the Crown and will not be returned. All information concerning nominations will remain confidential.

(c) Priority of Posting

Priority of posting will be determined by order of receipt. Date and time of receipt will be that recorded by the fax machine of the Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate (formerly Northern Oil and Gas Branch) in Gatineau, Quebec.

In case of overlapping requests, the first to be received will have priority. The second requester will be informed of the area remaining in the request which does not overlap a prior nomination. The second requester will be required to state whether they would like to maintain their posting on the remaining lands or withdraw the request.

(d) Resulting Call for Bids

Any individual or company which requests the posting of a parcel(s) is expected to submit a bid(s) in an ensuing Call for Bids for Exploration Licences. Requesters are advised to examine the proposed 2013-2014 Call for Bids for Exploration Licences in the Beaufort Sea & Mackenzie Delta documentation as well as terms and conditions of an Exploration Licence. The Minister reserves the right to refuse future posting requests by that individual or company should a bid not be submitted.

The Minister will take into account all nominations in developing a Call for Bids but may modify nominations to configure a bid block following consultation with the nominee.

The Minister is not obliged to proceed with a Call for Bids for any lands posted.

Return to Table of Contents




Further Information and Contacts

For more information on this call, the rights issuance process or the resource management regime, please contact:

Rights Administration
Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate
Northern Petroleum and Mineral Resources Branch
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
10 Wellington
Gatineau, Quebec
Postal Address: OTTAWA ON K1A 0H4
Tel: 819-953-2087; Fax: 819-953-5828
Rights@aandc.gc.ca
www.aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-eng.asp

Any geological and well information with respect to the lands or area may be obtained from:

Regulatory Data Analyst
Operations Business unit
National Energy Board
444 Seventh Avenue SW
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8
Tel: 403-292-4800; Fax: 403-292-5876
FIO@neb-one.gc.ca
www.neb-one.gc.ca

Return to Table of Contents


Maps of the Call Area



Annexes




Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Demande de désignations 2013-2014 - Mer de Beaufort & delta du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de lancement : le 28 août 2013
Date de fermeture : le 24 septembre 2013 à 16 h (HAE)

Table des matières


Demande de désignations

La demande de désignations donne à l'industrie l'occasion de désigner des parcelles de terres précises dans la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie pour lesquelles elle souhaiterait soumissionner. Toutes les demandes reçues dans le cadre de ce processus sont étudiées en vue de leur intégration à un l'appel d'offres subséquent.

Mer de Beaufort & delta du Mackenzie

La région comprenant la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie est réputée pour être particulièrement riche en ressources pétrolières, une richesse qui témoigne du potentiel économique du Nord canadien. Bien que 60 découvertes aient été faites, il existe encore d'importantes possibilités de trouver des champs de pétrole et de gaz au sein de grandes structures géologiques qui n'ont pas encore fait l'objet de forages, tout particulièrement en mer. Les terres incluses dans cette demande de désignations sont situé dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit.

Transfert des responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest

L'Entente sur le transfert des responsabilités liées aux terres et aux ressources des Territoires du Nord-Ouest a été signée le 25 juin 2013. Cette entente prévoit le transfert, du Canada au gouvernement territorial, des responsabilités se rapportant aux intérêts pétroliers et gaziers dans cette région, et ce, à partir de la date du transfert (prévue le 1er avril 2014). À la suite du transfert, l'administration et le contrôle des terres infracôtières, telles que définies dans l'Entente sur le transfert des responsabilités liées aux terres et aux ressources des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, seront assurés par le gouvernement territorial.

Retour à la table des matières




1. Soumission des désignations

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien demande par la présente que l'on soumette des désignations à l'égard des terres domaniales, telles que définies par la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, situé dans la mer de Beaufort & le delta du Mackenzie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Des cartes sont fournies.

Les désignations reçues pourraient être incluses dans un appel d'offres pour permis de prospection subséquent.

Les terres actuellement visées par un titre qui reprennent le statut de réserve de la Couronne au cours de la période visée par la demande de désignations sont aussi admissibles. Veuillez vous référer aux activités mensuelles du bureau d'enregistrement. Ce site énumère les changements survenus dans un Permis tels que les cessations et les abandons de terres. Ce site est mis à jour de façon régulière. Il est à noter que les terres assujetties au décret d'inaliénabilité C.P. 2010-219 peuvent être désignées en vue de la modification du décret d'inaliénabilité (voir les cartes de la demande de désignations).

Les intéressés sont fortement encouragés à lire la documentation de l'appel d'offres 2013-2014 proposé pour permis de prospection dans la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie avant de soumettre une désignation.

L'exercice de droits d'exploration pétrolière est subordonné à des conditions précises relatives à l'environnement et doit se conformer aux revendications territoriales ainsi qu'aux exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord. Des renseignements supplémentaires sont disponibles dans l'appel d'offres 2013-2014 proposé pour permis de prospection ainsi que dans les conditions du permis de prospection.

(a) Contenu des demandes de désignations

Toutes les demandes de désignations doivent être formulées conformément aux Lignes directrices pour les parcelles au nord du 60e parallèle, ci-jointes. Chaque parcelle désignée doit être constituée de blocs latéralement ou diagonalement adjacents.

Chaque parcelle doit être située soit entièrement dans les terres infracôtières, soit au large des côtes, conformément à l'Entente sur le transfert des responsabilités liées aux terres et aux ressources des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.Les parcelles qui chevauchent les terres infracôtières et les terres extracôtières doivent être désignées comme des parcelles distinctes.

Taille des parcelles

Les superficies des parcelles désignées peuvent varier selon leur emplacement. Le tableau 1 indique les superficies minimales et maximales des parcelles dans chaque région.

Tableau 1 : Superficie minimale et maximale des parcelles
Emplacement Nombre d'étendues quadrillés
MINIMAL
Nombre d'étendues quadrillés
MAXIMAL
Au nord du 75e parallèle sur terre et en mer 1 8
 
North of Line "A" * including Arctic Islands and area subject to work prohibition order 1 6
 
Au sud de la ligne « A »* y compris la mer de Beaufort et la région continentale des territoires (sauf le delta du Mackenzie et la péninsule de Tuktoyaktuk)
Au nord du 70e parallèle ½ 3
Au sud du 70e parallèle 1 6
Zone visée par un décret d'interdiction ¼ 3
 
Delta du Mackenzie à l'ouest du 133 e méridien et de la péninsule du Tuktoyaktuk ¼ 4
 
*La superficie maximale des parcelles chevauchant la ligne « A » sera déterminée en utilisant la superficie maximale indiquée au sud de la ligne « A ».

Un formulaire de désignation se trouve en annexe et devrait accompagner toute demande.

Les désignations attenantes à la Ligne de démarcation, telle que représentée sur la carte de la demande de désignations, doivent être décrites par des étendues quadrillées, des sections et des unités.

Zone visée par des décrets d'interdiction

Une partie dans l'ouest de la mer de Beaufort est sujette à des ordonnances d'interdiction de poursuivre les travauxNote de bas de page 1. Même si des terres peuvent être désignées dans ce secteur, le ministre peut choisir de ne pas les inclure dans un appel d'offres ultérieur. En outre, si un permis d'exploration est délivré, il peut être assujetti à une ordonnance d'interdiction de poursuivre les travaux en vertu de l'article 12 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

Rien dans la présente demande de désignations ne doit modifier ou menacer d'aucune manière la position du Canada quant à la nature ou à l'étendue de sa compétence ou de ses droits souverains sur les régions maritimes de la mer de Beaufort.

(b) Présentation des demandes de désignations

Toutes les demandes doivent être présentées par télécopieur au plus tard le 24 septembre 2013 à 16 h (HAE).

Chaque demande devrait être adressée comme suit:

Demande de désignations 2013-2014
mer de Beaufort & delta du Mackenzie
Date de fermeture : le 24 septembre 2013 à 16 h (HAE)

À l'attention de : Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord
Direction générale des ressources pétrolières et minérales du Nord
Télécopieur : (819) 953-5828

Les intéressés sont priés de composer soit le 819-997-0048 ou le
819-953-2087 immédiatement avant de procéder à l'envoi de leur message par télécopieur afin de l'annoncer. La réception du message pourra être confirmée par téléphone.

La copie reçue par télécopieur suffit; aucun original n'est nécessaire.

Les demandes reçues deviennent propriété de la Couronne et ne seront pas retournées. Tous les renseignements sur les désignations sont confidentiels.

(c) Priorité de désignation

La priorité sera établie suivant l'ordre de réception (moment enregistré par le télécopieur de la Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord (anciennement Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord) à Gatineau, Québec).

Si deux demandes se recoupent, la priorité sera accordée à la première reçue. On indiquera au deuxième soumissionnaire les zones de sa demande qui ne recoupent aucune zone déjà désignée. Le deuxième soumissionnaire devra déclarer s'il désire maintenir sa demande de désignation pour les terres qui restent ou la retirer.

(d) Appel d'offres subséquent

Tout particulier ou toute société qui demande la désignation de parcelles devra aussi présenter une ou plusieurs offres en réponse à l'appel d'offres pour permis de prospection subséquent. Les intéressés sont invités à examiner la documentation de l'appel d'offres 2013-2014 proposé pour permis de prospection dans la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie afin d'obtenir des renseignements concernant : les modalités et conditions de l'appel d'offres ainsi que les modalités et conditions d'un permis de prospection. Le ministre se réserve le droit de refuser les demandes de désignations futures de ce particulier ou de cette société si aucune offre n'a été présentée.

Le ministre considérera toutes les demandes de désignations en vue d'une inclusion dans un appel d'offres mais, pourra modifier les désignations suivant sa consultation avec l'intéressé ayant fait la demande.

Le ministre n'est pas tenu de lancer un appel d'offres pour les terres désignées.

Retour à la table des matières




Information supplémentaire et contacts

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus d'attribution des droits ou le régime de gestion des ressources naturelles, s'adresser à :

Administration des Droits
Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord
Direction générale des ressources pétrolières et minérales du Nord
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
10 Wellington
Gatineau, Québec
Adresse Postale: OTTAWA ON K1A 0H4
Téléphone : 819-953-2087; Télécopieur : 819-953-5828
Droits@aadnc.gc.ca
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-fra.asp

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la géologie et les puits des terres visées ou des environs :

Analyste de données réglementaires
Secteur des opérations
Office national de l'énergie
444 – 7ième Avenue S.O.
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8
Téléphone : 403-292-4800; Télécopieur : 403-292-5876
FIO@neb-one.gc.ca
www.neb-one.gc.ca

Retour à la table des matières


Cartes



Annexes




Date de modification :