Amendments to Teslin Tlingit Council Self-Government Agreement

Table of contents

Replaced – P.C. 2000-155 – February 10, 2000

13.6.6 The provisions in 13.6.4 are interim provisions and shall expire six years from the Effective Date or on the effective date of the agreement concluded pursuant to 13.6.1 and 13.6.5, whichever is earlier. The six year period may be extended for such further time as may be agreed in writing by the Minister on behalf of Canada, the Minister on behalf of the Yukon and the Executive Council on behalf of the Teslin Tlingit Council.

Amended – P.C. 2000-1661 – October 23, 2000

Sections 14 and 15 of the Teslin Tlingit Council Self-Government Agreement are amended as follows:

  1. In 14.1.3, add "or with Canada" after "14.8".
  2. Delete 14.3.
  3. Delete 14.4.
  4. In 14.5, delete "After the expiration of one year following the Effective Date, or at such earlier time as may be agreed by Canada and the Teslin Tlingit Council," In addition, in the French language version only of 14.5, replace "ces deux parties" with "Le Canada et le conseil des Tlingits de Teslin".
  5. Delete 15.1.1.
  6. Add, after 15.5:

15.6 For greater certainty, nothing in 15.1 to 15.5 shall be construed so as to prevent the application of section 149 of the Income Tax Act (Canada) to the Teslin Tlingit Council or to a corporation referred to in 15.3.

15.7 The Teslin Tlingit council, or a trust, board, commission or similar body established by the Teslin Tlingit Council, or a corporation wholly-owned by any such entity or by a combination thereof (each of which is referred to in this clause as the "claimant"), may claim a refurn of any tax paid by the claimant under subsection 165 (1) or sections 212 or 218 of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada) that is not otherwise recoverable by the claimant under any law, to the extent that the property or service in respect of which the tax was paid was acquired by the claimant:

15.7.1 for consumption or use in the course of exercising the powers of government within Settlement Land authorized under this Agreement, Self-Government Legislation, its Settlement Agreement or Settlement Legislation; and

15.7.2 not for consumption, use or supply in the course of any business or other activity engaged in by the claimant for profit or gain.

15.8 A refund of tax under 15.7 will not be paid to a claimant referred to in that clause unless, at the time at which the tax is paid:

15.8.1 all of the claimant's real property and all or substantially all of the claimant's tangible personal property is, or is situated on, Settlement Land; and

15.8.2 the claimant does not engage in any business or other activity for profit or gain, other than a business or activity, engaged in by the claimant on Settlement Land, the primary purpose of which is to provide goods or services to the Teslin Tlingit Council, Citizens, individuals resident on Settlement Land, or corporations wholly owned by the Teslin Tlingit Council or by Citizens, or such other businesses or activities as the parties may from time to time agree.

15.9 A refund of tax under 15.7 will not be paid unless an application for the refund is filed with the Minister of National Revenue within four years after the tax is paid.

15.10 The provisions of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada) will apply, with such modifications as the circumstances require, in respect of claims under 15.7 and in respect of amount paid as a refund under 15.7 as though the refund provided for under 15.7 were a rebate provided for under Division VI of that Part.

15.11 Unless otherwise defined in this Agreement, words used in 15.7 to 15.10 have the same meaning as in Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada).

15.12 Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, 15.7 to 15.11 shall not apply to tax that is paid or becomes payable before amendments to the Yukon First Nations Self-Government Act (Canada) which provide for the matters set out in 15.7 to 15.11 come into effect.

Replaced – P.C. 2011-751 – June 23, 2011

Sections 13.6.3, 13.6.4, 13.6.5, 13.6.6 and 13.6.7 of the Teslin Tlingit Council Self-Government Agreement are deleted and replaced by the following:

13.6.3 In 13.6.4 and 13.6.5, "Administration of Justice Agreement" means the Teslin Tlingit Council Administration of Justice Agreement dated for reference February 21, 2011 as amended from time to time in accordance with its terms and made pursuant to 13.6.1 and 13.6.2, a copy of which is annexed to and forms part of this Agreement.

13.6.4 During the term of the Administration of Justice Agreement, Teslin Tlingit Council shall exercise its jurisdiction pursuant to 13.3.17 only to the extent set out in the Administration of Justice Agreement.

13.6.5 Pursuant to 4.10 of the Administration of Justice Agreement, the Peacemaker Court may be established by the Teslin Tlingit Council to perform the Stage One consent-based dispute resolution process referred to in section 5.9.1 of the Administration of Justice Agreement prior to the Operational Date referred to in the Administration of Justice Agreement."

Date modified:

Modifications à l’Entente sur l’autonomie gouvernementale du conseil des Tlingits de Teslin

Table des matières

Remplacé – C.P. 2000-155 – 10 février 2000

L'article 13.6.6 de l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale du conseil des Tlingits de Teslin est modifié par substitution du texte suivant :

13.3.6 Les dispositions de l'article 13.6.4 sont provisoires. Elles cessent de s'appliquer à la première des éventualités suivantes : à l'expiration d'un délai de six ans a partir de la date d'entrée en vigueur de la présente entente, ou à la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'entente conclue conformément aux articles 13.6.1 et 13.6.2. La période de six ans peut être prolongée d'une durée convenue par écrit entre le ministre au nom du Canada, le ministre au nom du Yukon et le Conseil exécutif au no du conseil des Tlingits de Teslin.

Modifié – C.P. 2000-1661 – 23 otobre 2010

Les Articles 14 et 15 de l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale du conseil des Tlingits de Teslin sont modifiés comme il suit :

  1. dans 14.1.3, ajouter « avec le Canada ou » à la suite de « conclue :
  2. abroger 14.3;
  3. abroger 14.4;
  4. dans 14.5, supprimer « À l'expiration d'un délai d'un an après la date d'entrée en vigueur ou à la date plus rapprochée dont conviennent, le cas échéant, le Canada et le conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, »; de plus, dans le même article et dans la version française seulement, remplacer « ces deux parties » par « Le Canada et le conseil des Tlingits de Teslin »;
  5. abroger 15.1.1;
  6. ajouter après 15.5 :

15.6 Il est entendu que les articles 15.1 à 15.5 n'ont pas pour effet d'empêcher l'application de l'article 149 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) au conseil des Tlingits de Teslin ou à une corporation visée à l'article 15.3.

15.7 Le conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, une fiducie, un conseil, une commission ou une entité semblable établi par le conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, ou une corporation détenue à cent pour cent par une ou plusieurs de ces entités (individuellement appelés « demandeur » dans le présent-article) peuvent demander le remboursement de la taxe payée par le demandeur en application du paragraphe 165(1) ou des articles 212 ou 218 de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (canada), si le demandeur ne peut, par ailleurs, récupérer cette taxe en vertu d'une autre règle de droit, dans la mesure où le bien ou le service ayant donné lieu au paiement de la taxe a, tout à la fois, été acquis par le demandeur :

15.7.1 pour consommation ou utilisation dans l'exercice, dans les limites des terres visées par règlement, des pouvoirs gouvernementaux prévus par la présente entente, la législation sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, son entente portant règlement ou sa loi de mise en œuvre;

15.7.2 autrement que pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre d'une entreprise que le demandeur exploite, ou d'une autre activité qu'il exerce, à des fins lucratives.

15.8 Le remboursement de taxe prévu à l'article 15.7 n'est versé au demandeur visé à cet article que si, au moment où la taxe est payée, les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

15.8.1 tous les immeubles du demandeur et la totalité, ou presque de ses biens meubles corporels sont des terres visées par le règlement ou sont situés sur ces terres;

15.8.2 aucune entreprise n'est exploitée, ni autre activité exercée, par le demandeur à des fins lucratives, à l'exception d'une entreprise exploitée ou d'une activité exercée sur les terres visées par le règlement et dont le but principal consiste à fournir des biens ou des services au conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, aux citoyens, aux particuliers résidant sur les terres visées par le règlement ou aux corporations détenues à cent pour cent par le conseil des Tlingits de Teslin ou par des citoyens, et de toute autre entreprise ou activité relativement à laquelle les parties se sont entendues.

15.9 Le remboursement de taxe prévu à l'article 15.7 n'est versé que si la demande de remboursement est présentée au ministre du Revenu national dans les quatre ans suivant le paiement de la taxe.

15.10 Les dispositions de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada) s'appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessaires, à l'égard des demandes présentées en vertu de l'article 15.7 et des sommes versées à titre de remboursement en vertu de cet article comme si le remboursement qui y est prévu était un remboursement prévu à la section VI de cette Partie.

15.11 Sauf définition contraire de la présente entente, les mots employés aux articles 15.7 à 15.10 s'entendent au sens de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada).

15.12 Malgré toute disposition contraire de la présente entente, les articles 15.7 à 15.11 ne s'appliquent pas aux taxes payées ou devenues payables avant l'entrée en vigueur des modifications à la Loi sur l'autonomie gouvernementale des premières nations du Yukon (Canada) relatives aux questions abordées aux articles 15.7 à 15.11.

Remplacé – C.P. 2011-751 – 23 juin 2011

Les articles 13.6.3, 13.6.4, 13.6.5, 13.6.6 et 13.6.7 de l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale du conseil des Tlingits de Teslin sont abrogés et remplacés par ce qui suit :

« 13.6.3 Aux articles 13.6.4 et 13.6.5, « Accord sur l'administration de la justice » désigne l'Accord sur l'administration de la justice du conseil des Tlingits de Teslin daté à des fins de référence le 21 février 2011, avec les modifications qui y sont apportées de temps à autre conformément à ses conditions, qui a été conclu en vertu des articles 13.6.1 et 13.6.2 et qui est joint à la présente entente et en fait partie.

13.6.4 Pendant la durée de l'Accord sur l'administration de la justice, le conseil des Tlingits de Teslin exercera sa compétence en vertu de l'article 13.3.17 seulement dans la mesure établie dans l'Accord sur l'administration de la justice.

13.6.5 Conformément à l'article 4.10 de l'Accord sur l'administration de la justice, un tribunal de conciliation peut être établi pour mener le processus de règlement des différents fondé sur le consentement, appelé l'étape 1, mentionné à l'article 5.9.1 de l'Accord sur l'administration de la justice avant la date d'entrée en vigueur établie dans cet Accord. »

Date de modification :