First Nation Fire Protection Services

Roles and Responsibilities


Who is responsible for providing fire protection services in First Nation communities?

First Nation Band Councils manage fire protection services on reserve. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) provides core capital funding to First Nations on an annual basis. First Nations prioritize their spending to meet the needs of their communities including fire protection services. Fire protection services may include fire fighting, operation and maintenance of fire halls, training, education, and purchase of equipment such as fire trucks.


Who is responsible for restoring houses and other buildings in First Nation communities that are damaged or destroyed by fire?

Most First Nation communities receive an annual capital allocation for housing from the department, which they may use at their discretion for a range of eligible housing needs. This could include the repair or replacement of houses that are damaged by fire.

Should community infrastructure be damaged or destroyed by fire, a First Nation may apply for additional major capital funding from INAC to replace or repair the asset.

INAC Fire Protection Funding


How much funding does INAC provide to First Nations for fire protection services?

First Nation Band Councils manage fire protection services on reserve. INAC provides core capital funding to First Nations on an annual basis. First Nations prioritize their spending to meet the needs of their communities including fire protection services. First Nations may establish their own fire departments, or contract fire protection services from nearby communities.

From 2008-2009 to 2014-2015, INAC provided an average of $27 million for fire protection services, including:

As part of its support for fire protection, INAC allocates an average of approximately $255,600 annually to the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada (AFAC) to coordinate a number of fire prevention awareness and training initiatives, including the annual National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition and the National Fire Safety Poster Contest for school-aged children and youth.


How are funding levels determined?

The level of funding is determined by a regionally-based formula, which takes into consideration a number of factors such as the number of buildings on reserve, remoteness, population and local environment.

Use of Funding


Since funding for fire protection services is part of a First Nation’s core capital funding, does this funding always get used for fire protection services or can the First Nation reallocate the funds to address other community priorities?

The department’s fire protection services allocations are intended to be used for fire protection services purposes. However, it is at the Chief and Council’s discretion to manage these funds and they may decide to reallocate their fire protection services funding to other priorities within their communities.

Each fiscal year, First Nations are required to submit their First Nation Infrastructure Investment Plan (FNIIP) which outlines their planned expenditures for community infrastructure requirements, including fire protection services.

Fire Protection on Reserve


Do First Nations have their own fire departments?

Some First Nations have set up their own fire departments on reserve. This is at the discretion of Chief and Council who prioritize their core capital funding accordingly.

Other First Nations have signed formal agreements with neighbouring municipalities for fire protection services. It is the responsibility of the First Nation to make these arrangements, and to pay for the services through their operational budget.


Do First Nations have access to 9-1-1 services?

First Nations may decide to use 9-1-1 services. These are usually put into place as part of an agreement with a local municipality. It is the responsibility of the First Nation to make these arrangements, and to pay for the services through their operational budget.


Does INAC contribute to First Nation firefighter training on reserve?

INAC contributes on average approximately $4.8 million annually for fire protection services training. This funding can also be re-allocated at the discretion of the band council.

INAC also sponsors the annual National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition, which serves to strengthen skills and knowledge through technical seminars and a variety of training exercises.


What is INAC doing to improve fire protection services on reserves?

INAC is involved in the training, prevention, and education components of fire protection services. For example, INAC promotes awareness through the annual National Fire Safety Poster Contest for school-aged children and youth, sponsors training both directly and indirectly through the annual National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition, funds the acquisition and construction of fire prevention infrastructure, and provides funding for operation and maintenance of infrastructure.

INAC has invested on average (from 2008-2009 to 2014-2015) approximately $27 million annually for the operation and maintenance of fire halls and other fire protection services, firefighter training, and purchasing fire protection equipment such as fire trucks.


What is the First Nations Fire Protection Strategy?

The First Nations Fire Protection Strategy is an evergreen document that was developed in 2010 in consultation with experts such as the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada, regional firefighter associations, and other government departments.

The strategy identifies priority areas for joint collaboration aimed at preventing fires before they start through improved fire safety education, training, and inspections. It also strives to strengthen fire protection services through the modernization of service standards and by investing in infrastructure and activities that reduce fire risk.

In April 2016, INAC and AFAC published an updated 2016-2021 Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy with an emphasis on increased collaboration between INAC and AFAC.

Although the 2010-2015 First Nations Fire Protection Strategy made progress in reducing fire related risks, both INAC and the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada recognized a need to have a more focused approach for:

INAC and AFAC meet twice each year, in February and August, to oversee the renewed strategy, review progress, and plan collaborative activities.

For more details, visit the Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy (2016-2021).

lnsurance on Reserve


Are houses and community buildings on First Nation reserves covered by insurance?

First Nation communities that receive annual capital funding from INAC for on-reserve housing are responsible for the planning and management of their housing portfolio. Capital funds may be used for a range of housing needs including planning, construction, renovation, maintenance, and insurance.

It is the First Nation’s responsibility to make these spending decisions, and to allocate housing to its members, according to the priorities and needs of the community.

There are a range of insurance providers and insurance possibilities available to First Nation residents, from insurance being provided through band councils that own homes to insurance being provided by companies to individual First Nation residents. For more information, it would be best to contact individual First Nation band councils, residents or insurance providers.

Date modified:

Services de protection contre les incendies dans les Premières Nations

Rôles et responsabilités


Qui est responsable de la prestation des services de protection contre les incendies dans les collectivités des Premières Nations?

Les conseils de bande des Premières Nations gèrent les services de protection contre les incendies dans les réserves. Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) fournit annuellement un financement de base aux Premières Nations. Les Premières Nations établissent les priorités pour leurs dépenses afin de répondre aux besoins des collectivités, y compris en ce qui a trait aux services de protection contre les incendies. Les services de protection contre les incendies peuvent inclure la lutte contre les incendies, le fonctionnement et l’entretien des casernes de pompiers, la formation, l’éducation et l’achat d’équipement, comme des camions à incendie.


Dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, qui est chargé de rénover les maisons et d'autres immeubles endommagés ou détruits à la suite d'un incendie?

La plupart des collectivités des Premières Nations reçoivent un financement annuel de la part du Ministère qu’elles peuvent utiliser à leur discrétion pour répondre à une grande variété de besoins admissibles en matière de logement, notamment pour réparer ou remplacer des maisons endommagées par des incendies.

Si une infrastructure communautaire est endommagée ou détruite par un incendie, la Première Nation touchée peut faire une demande de financement additionnel de grands projets d’immobilisation à AANC afin de la remplacer ou de la réparer.

Financement d’AANC pour la protection contre les incendies


Quel montant AANC accorde-t-il aux Premières Nations pour les services de protection contre les incendies?

Les conseils de bande des Premières Nations gèrent les services de protection contre les incendies dans les réserves. AANC fournit annuellement un financement de base aux Premières Nations. Les Premières Nations établissent les priorités pour leurs dépenses afin de répondre aux besoins des collectivités, y compris en ce qui a trait aux services de protection contre les incendies. Les Premières Nations peuvent mettre en place leur propre service d’incendie ou recourir aux services de collectivités avoisinantes.

Entre 2008-2009 et 2014-2015, AANC a consacré en moyenne 27 millions de dollars par année aux services de protection contre les incendies, entre autres pour :

Dans le cadre de l’appui offert pour la protection contre les incendies, AANC verse en moyenne environ 255 600 $ annuellement à l’Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada (site Web non disponible en français) afin de coordonner un certain nombre d’initiatives de sensibilisation à la sécurité incendie et de formation, notamment le concours national annuel des pompiers autochtones et le concours national d’affiches de sécurité incendie destiné aux élèves d’âge scolaire.


Comment les niveaux de financement sont-ils établis?

Le niveau de financement est basé sur une formule régionale, qui tient compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, comme le nombre d’immeubles dans la réserve, l’isolement, la population et l’environnement local.

Utilisation du financement


Comme le financement des services de protection contre les incendies fait partie du financement de base des Premières Nations, ces fonds sont-ils toujours utilisés à cette fin ou peuvent-ils être employés pour répondre à d'autres priorités dans la collectivité?

Les fonds alloués par le Ministère pour les services de protection contre les incendies devraient être utilisés à cette fin. Cependant, la gestion des fonds relève du chef et de ses conseillers, qui peuvent décider d’affecter ce montant à d’autres priorités dans leur collectivité.

Chaque exercice, les Premières Nations doivent soumettre leur Plan d’investissement dans l’infrastructure des Premières Nations qui présente les dépenses prévues pour l’infrastructure communautaire et divers services, notamment la protection contre les incendies.

Protection contre les incendies dans les réserves


Est-ce que les Premières Nations possèdent leurs propres services d'incendie?

Certaines Premières Nations ont créé leurs propres services d’incendie dans la réserve. Cette initiative relève du chef et du conseil, qui établissent les priorités en fonction du financement de base reçu.

D’autres Premières Nations ont signé des ententes officielles avec des municipalités voisines en matière de services de protection contre les incendies. C’est la responsabilité des Premières Nations de prendre les arrangements nécessaires et de payer ces services à l’aide de leur budget de fonctionnement.


Est-ce que les Premières Nations ont accès aux services du 9-1-1?

Les Premières Nations peuvent également choisir d’utiliser les services du 9-1-1. Pour ce faire, elles doivent habituellement conclure une entente avec une municipalité voisine. C’est la responsabilité des Premières Nations de prendre les arrangements nécessaires et de payer ces services à l’aide de leur budget de fonctionnement.


Est-ce qu'AANC contribue à la formation des pompiers des Premières Nations qui travaillent dans les réserves?

En moyenne, AANC verse environ 4,8 millions de dollars par année pour la formation en matière de services de protection contre les incendies. Ce financement peut aussi être réaffecté à la discrétion du conseil de bande.

AANC appuie aussi le concours national des pompiers autochtones, qui a lieu tous les ans, qui sert à approfondir les compétences et les connaissances des participants au moyen de séances techniques et d’une panoplie d’exercices de formation.


Que fait AANC pour l'amélioration des services de protection contre les incendies dans les réserves?

AANC participe aux aspects de formation, de prévention et d’éducation des services de protection contre les incendies. Par exemple, AANC sensibilise la population au moyen du concours national d’affiches de sécurité-incendie pour les enfants d’âge scolaire, appuie la formation par des moyens directs et indirects grâce au concours national des pompiers autochtones en plus de financer l’acquisition et la construction de matériel et d’infrastructure de prévention des incendies et d’offrir du financement pour le fonctionnement et l’entretien de l’infrastructure.

AANC investit en moyenne (entre 2008-2009 et 2014-2015) environ 27 millions de dollars annuellement pour le fonctionnement et l’entretien des casernes de pompiers et d’autres services de protection contre les incendies, la formation des pompiers et l’achat d’équipement de protection contre les incendies, comme les camions à incendie.


En quoi consiste la Stratégie de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies?

La Stratégie de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies est un document évolutif qui a été élaboré en 2010 en consultation avec des experts, comme l’Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada, les associations régionales de pompiers et d’autres ministères.

La Stratégie cerne les secteurs prioritaires de collaboration en vue de prévenir les incendies en misant sur une sensibilisation accrue en matière de sécurité-incendie ainsi que sur des formations et des inspections améliorées. La Stratégie vise également à améliorer les services de protection contre les incendies grâce à la modernisation des normes de service et à des investissements dans l’infrastructure et les activités fondées sur la réduction du risque en matière d’incendie.

En avril 2016, AANC et l’Association des pompiers autochtones ont publié une nouvelle Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre l’incendie pour 2016 2021. La stratégie met l’accent sur une collaboration accrue entre les deux organisations.

Bien que la Stratégie de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies 2010-2015 ait permis de réduire les risques relatifs aux incendies, tant AANC que l’Association des pompiers autochtones ont admis qu’il était nécessaire d’établir une approche axée sur :

AANC et l’Association des pompiers autochtones se rencontrent deux fois par année, en février et en août, afin de superviser la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle stratégie, d’évaluer les progrès et de planifier les initiatives collaboratives.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez la page Web de la Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre l’incendie (2016-2021).

Les assurances dans les réserves


Est-ce que les maisons et les immeubles communautaires dans les réserves des Premières Nations sont assurés?

Les collectivités des Premières Nations qui reçoivent un financement annuel d’AANC pour le logement dans les réserves sont responsables de la planification et de la gestion de leur parc de logements. Les fonds en capitaux peuvent être utilisés pour une grande variété de besoins en matière de logement, y compris la planification, la construction, la rénovation, l’entretien et l’assurance.

La Première Nation est chargée de prendre ces décisions sur les dépenses, de même que les décisions relatives à la répartition des logements, conformément aux priorités et aux besoins de la collectivité.

Une vaste gamme de fournisseurs d’assurances et de possibilités d’assurance s’offre aux résidants des Premières Nations, que ce soit des assurances fournies par le truchement des conseils de bande à qui appartiennent les maisons ou encore des assurances offertes par des entreprises aux résidents des Premières Nations. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, il est préférable de communiquer avec les conseils de bande des Premières Nations, les résidants ou les fournisseurs d’assurance.

Date de modification :