History of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation enrolment process

Learn how the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation was created.

Choose a time period:

1949 to 2012

When Newfoundland joined Confederation in 1949, Mi'kmaq communities were not recognized as First Nations under the Indian Act and their legal status, as well as the status of their members, was uncertain.

Discussions between the Government of Canada and the Federation of Newfoundland Indians (FNI) led, in 2008, to the Agreement for the Recognition of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq Band, and, in September 2011, an Order in Council established the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation as a "band" under the Indian Act.

The 2008 Agreement provided for an enrolment process to assess applications for founding membership in the band. Applications for founding membership in the First Nation were assessed by an Enrolment Committee, composed of an equal number of representatives from Canada and FNI, and a jointly appointed independent chair. The Enrolment Committee's role was to assess each application for membership in a fair and consistent manner.

Approximately 27,000 applications were received in the first stage of the enrolment process, which concluded on November 30, 2009. Of these, 23,877 applicants were found eligible and registered as Founding Members of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation. From November 30, 2009 to September 22, 2011 (when the band was created), the number of applications rose sharply. By the application deadline of November 30, 2012, the total number of applications rose to approximately 104,000.

2013

On July 4, 2013, the Government of Canada and the FNI announced a Supplemental Agreement that addressed the surge in applications, clarified the process for enrolment, and resolved issues that emerged from the implementation of the 2008 Agreement for the Recognition of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation.

Under the 2013 Agreement, it was determined that all applications, except for the approximately 3,000 already assessed and rejected, would be reviewed by August 31, 2015, followed by an appeal process which would end on March 31, 2016. The review would include the applications of all the individuals registered as Founding Members of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation, to ensure that all applicants met the criteria for eligibility set out in the 2008 Agreement and the 2013 Supplemental Agreement.

2014 to 2016

On April 2, 2015, Canada and the FNI announced that the enrolment process deadline was extended to June 30, 2016, and the appeal process deadline was extended to January 31, 2017. As well, the Enrolment Committee was expanded from four members to twelve.

Canada and the FNI agreed that the enrolment decisions of approximately 101,000 applications would be communicated at the same time. The Enrolment Committee conducted an initial review of the applications based on the validity criteria outlined in the 2008 Agreement and, in November 2013, sent letters to advise applicants of the status of their applications. Approximately 94,000 applicants were notified that their applications were deemed valid and roughly 6,500 applicants were notified that their applications were deemed invalid.

In December 2013, two applicants for enrolment in Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation, Mr. Sterling Clyde Foster and Mr. Alex Howse, initiated proceedings against Canada and the FNI in the Federal Court of Canada over the Enrolment Committee's determination that their applications were invalid. One application was deemed invalid because of a missing signature; the other because it did not include a long-form birth certificate. The Federal Court agreed with the applicants, and found that they were not given notice of the missing information or an opportunity to correct their applications. For that reason, in September 2015, the court set aside the Enrolment Committee's decisions and ordered that both applications be evaluated for founding membership.

Canada and the FNI decided to apply the same reasoning to all applications that were deemed invalid consistent with the court decisions. As a result, in April 2016, approximately 6,500 individuals were given an opportunity to correct their applications, and submit additional material in support of their applications, for review by the Enrolment Committee. Of these, 16% of applicants sent additional information for consideration by the Enrolment Committee. The Enrolment Committee's deadline to review the applications was extended to no later than January 31, 2017, and the appeal process deadline was extended to September 30, 2017.

2017

The Enrolment Committee has completed a diligent review of all 101,000 applications for founding membership in the band, as assessed against the 2008 Agreement and the 2013 Supplemental Agreement.

As a result, the Enrolment Committee sent letters of decision, on January 31, 2107, to each applicant with the results of its review. In some cases, the letters confirmed eligibility as Founding Members of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation and Indian Status, while in other cases applicants were informed that they do not qualify as a Founding Member (to be completed in accordance with the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nations Act).

Some individuals who are deemed to no longer meet founding membership requirements may be eligible for registration under the Indian Act as being a child of a confirmed Founding Member. INAC is currently determining the number of these eligible individuals and options for a seamless transition.

Applicants who are eligible to appeal the Enrolment Committee's rejection of their applications will have until April 13, 2017 to initiate an appeal. All appeals will be concluded by September 30, 2017. The tabling of the Founding Members List to the First Nation will be issued no later than February 28, 2018 and changes to the Indian Registry will be made shortly afterwards in spring 2018. Access to programs and services related to Indian status will not change until after the Founding Members List is confirmed through an Order in Council.

Throughout the process, the Government of Canada and the FNI have been and continue to be committed to the integrity of the process for enrolment of Founding Members in the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation, in accordance with the 2008 Agreement and the 2013 Supplemental Agreement.

The creation of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation is an important step forward for the Mi'kmaq people of Newfoundland. As we continue to move ahead, the Government of Canada and the FNI look forward to maintaining a meaningful nation-to-nation relationship and ongoing dialogue.

Related links

Date modified:

Histoire du processus d'inscription de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq

Renseignements sur la création de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq.

Choisir une année 

De 1949 à 2012

Lorsque Terre-Neuve a intégré la Confédération, en 1949, les collectivités mi'kmaq n'ont pas été reconnues en tant que Premières Nations en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, et leur statut juridique, de même que celui de leurs membres, était incertain.

Des discussions entre le gouvernement du Canada et la Fédération des Indiens de Terre-Neuve (FITN) ont mené à l'Accord de 2008 pour la reconnaissance de la bande de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq (site Web non disponible en français) et, en septembre 2011, un décret a établi que la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq (site Web non disponible en français) était une « bande » au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens.

L'Accord de 2008 prévoit un processus d'inscription pour évaluer les demandes d'adhésion à la bande à titre de membre fondateur. Ces demandes sont examinées par un comité d'inscription, composé d'un nombre égal de représentants du Canada et de la FITN et d'un président indépendant conjointement nommé. Le rôle du comité d'inscription est d'examiner chaque demande d'adhésion de manière juste et uniforme.

Environ 27 000 demandes ont été reçues pendant la première étape du processus d'inscription, qui a pris fin le 30 novembre 2009. De ce nombre, on a déterminé que 23 877 demandeurs étaient admissibles; ils ont été inscrits à titre de membres fondateurs de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq. Du 30 novembre 2009 au 22 septembre 2011 (date de création de la bande), le nombre de demandes a augmenté brusquement. Au 30 novembre 2012, le nombre total de demandes était près de 104 000.

2013

Le 4 juillet 2013, le gouvernement du Canada et la FITN annoncent la conclusion d'un accord supplémentaire, qui tient compte de cette hausse importante des demandes, clarifie le processus d'inscription et propose des solutions aux problèmes liés à la mise en oeuvre de l'Accord de 2008 pour la reconnaissance de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq.

Dans le cadre de l'Accord, on avait déterminé que toutes les demandes, à l'exception des quelque 3 000 déjà évaluées et rejetées, seraient examinées avant le 31 août 2015 et que ce processus d'évaluation serait suivi d'un processus d'appel devant prendre fin le 31 mars 2016. L'examen devait inclure les demandes de toutes les personnes inscrites à titre de membres fondateurs de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq pour s'assurer que l'ensemble des demandeurs satisfaisait aux critères d'admissibilité établis dans l'Accord de 2008 et dans l'Accord supplémentaire de 2013.

De 2014 à 2016

Le 2 avril 2015, le Canada et la FITN annoncent que la date limite d'inscription est reportée au 30 juin 2016 et celle de la présentation d'un appel au 31 janvier 2017. De plus, le nombre de membres du Comité d'inscription est passé de quatre à douze.

Le Canada et la FITN ont convenu de diffuser en même temps les décisions relatives à l'inscription pour les quelque 101 000 demandes. Le Comité d'inscription a procédé à un examen initial des demandes en fonction des critères de validité établis dans l'Accord de 2008 et, en novembre 2013, a envoyé des lettres aux demandeurs les informant de l'état de leur demande. On a indiqué à environ 94 000 personnes que leur demande était recevable et à environ 6 500 personnes que leur demande était irrecevable.

En décembre 2013, deux personnes ayant demandé leur adhésion à la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq, M. Sterling Clyde Foster et M. Alex Howse, ont entamé des poursuites à la Cour fédérale du Canada, et ce, contre le Canada et la FITN relativement à la décision du Comité d'inscription de rejeter leur demande. Une demande a été jugée irrecevable parce qu'il manquait une signature et l'autre parce qu'elle n'était pas accompagnée du certificat de naissance détaillé. La Cour fédérale a donné raison aux demandeurs et a déterminé qu'on ne les avait pas avisés qu'il manquait des renseignements ou qu'on ne leur avait pas donné l'occasion de corriger leur demande. Pour cette raison, en septembre 2015, la Cour a annulé les décisions du Comité d'inscription et a ordonné la révision des deux demandes d'adhésion à titre de membre fondateur.

Le Canada et la FITN ont décidé d'appliquer le même raisonnement à toutes les demandes qui ont été jugées irrecevables conformément aux décisions de la Cour. Par conséquent, en avril 2016, environ 6 500 personnes ont eu la possibilité de corriger leur demande et de soumettre des documents supplémentaires à l'appui de leur demande aux fins d'examen par le Comité d'inscription. De ces demandeurs, 16 % ont envoyé des renseignements supplémentaires en vue de leur examen par le Comité d'inscription. La date limite fixée par le Comité d'inscription pour examiner les demandes a été reportée au 31 janvier 2017 et celle des appels a été reportée au 30 septembre 2017.

2017

Le Comité d'inscription a effectué un examen diligent et uniforme de chacune des 101 000 demandes d'inscription en tant que membre fondateur de la bande, conformément à l'Accord de 2008 et à l'Accord supplémentaire de 2013.

Par conséquent, le Comité d'inscription a envoyé des lettres de décision à chaque demandeur indiquant les résultats de l'examen, le 31 janvier 2017. Dans certains cas, ces lettres confirmaient l'admissibilité à titre de membre fondateur de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq et au statut d'Indien, alors que dans d'autres cas, les demandeurs ont été informés qu'ils ne sont pas admissibles comme membres fondateurs (cela sera fait conformément à la Loi concernant la Première nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq).

Certaines des personnes qui ne répondent plus aux critères de membres fondateurs pourraient encore avoir le droit de s'inscrire en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens à titre d'enfant d'un membre fondateur restant. Le Ministère étudie actuellement le nombre de personnes admissibles et les options pour assurer une transition sans heurt pour ces personnes.

Les demandeurs qui pourront interjeter appel de la décision du Comité d'inscription de rejeter leur demande auront jusqu’au 13 avril 2017 pour le faire. Toutes les décisions relatives aux appels seront rendues d'ici le 30 septembre 2017. La liste des membres fondateurs présentée à la Première Nation sera diffusée au plus tard le 28 février 2018, et les modifications au Registre des Indiens seront apportées peu après. Les changements à l'admissibilité des avantages et des services de programmes ne seront faits que lorsque la liste des membres fondateurs aura été confirmée par décret.

Tout au long du processus, en vertu de l'Accord de 2008 et de l'Accord supplémentaire de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada et la FITN étaient déterminés à garantir l'intégrité du processus d'inscription des membres fondateurs de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi'kmaq et sont résolus à poursuivre dans la même veine par la suite.

La création de la Première Nation Qalipu Mi’kmaq est une étape importante pour les Mi’kmaq de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. À mesure que le processus continue, le gouvernement du Canada et la FITN se réjouissent d’entretenir une relation de nation à nation significative et de poursuivre le dialogue.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :