ARCHIVED - Report on Recipient Audit of National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association (NACCA)

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (Head Office)
Default status at time of audit: Not in default (2006-2012)
Current default status: Not in default (2012-13)
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2006 to March 31, 2012
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $15,839,569

BACKGROUND

The policy governing AANDC's Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Development Program recommends that an audit of their recipients be conducted every five years. The last audit, conducted in 2005-06, identified a number of compliance issues.

The objective of this current recipient audit was to provide assurance that funding provided to NACCA was spent for its intended purposes and was in compliance with the financial terms and conditions of the contribution agreements between NACCA and AANDC. This audit was conducted by Deloitte in the winter of 2013.

The recipient audit also assessed the quality and adequacy of the management practices the recipient has in place to support the delivery of the program or project and the management of the funding agreements throughout the period under audit.

FINDINGS

Based on the work performed, the auditor concluded that NACCA has complied, in all material respects, with the financial terms and conditions of the funding arrangements with AANDC for the period from April 1, 2006 to March 31, 2012.

Quality of NACCA's management control framework

The audit did not identify any information gaps with regards to the Access to Capital Program or NACCA's management control framework. The auditors concluded that NACCA's management control framework is appropriate based on the size and complexity of its operations, and has the appropriate structures, systems and controls in place to support delivery of the Access to Capital Program.

Adequacy of internal management/board reporting

The audit found that NACCA'S Policy Governance Manual provides detailed guidance on administrative matters, such as frequency of meetings (at least quarterly), documentation of minutes, member composition, financial oversight, etc. It provides users with all relevant information to ensure the proper conduct of Board business.

The auditor concluded that NACCA has implemented appropriate procedures to ensure prudent governance and decision making.

Due diligence of expenditures of public funds

The auditor tested a total of 102 transactions. His audit work did not identify any concerns with regards to the management of funding received from AANDC; he concluded NACCA has implemented appropriate due diligence procedures regarding AANDC funding.

Adequacy of internal controls

No deficiencies were noted with respect to the design and implementation of key control activities related to the management of funds provided by AANDC for the period under audit.

Compliance of expenditures claimed

The auditor selected and tested a total of 25 payroll transactions, and 77 transactions of other expenditures and did not identify any discrepancies in the program and operating expenditures.

Integrity of financial information

The auditor examined each annual financial statement to determine the quality of the financial information produced by NACCA. The independent auditors concluded the financial statements were prepared in accordance with Canadian Generally Accepted Accounting Principles in all material respects, and no instances of non-compliance with these principles were identified.

Based on the work performed, the auditor concluded that the information included in the financial statements appears adequate, and the information reported to the Government of Canada appears to be complete.

Reasonableness of actual costs compared to budgeted costs

The auditor tested the design and implementation of the controls identified in NACCA's Access to Capital Program – Policy and Procedures Manual. He did not identify any deficiencies in the implementation of key control, or any monetary errors. Based on the work performed, he concluded that costs incurred in program delivery are reasonable, and incurred in accordance with pre-approved budgets.

Identification of unusual or extraordinary expenses

The auditor examined the general ledgers and did not identify any unusual or extraordinary expenses, based on the nature of and his understanding of NACCA's operations for the period under audit.

Project monitoring mechanisms

Based on the work performed, the auditor concluded that NACCA had appropriate project monitoring mechanisms and processes in place to enable appropriate follow-up.

Timeliness of program and financial monitoring

The auditor concluded that the program and financial reporting is undertaken in a timely manner, and systems are adequate to support monitoring and reporting of information under the financial terms and conditions of the funding arrangements with AANDC.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The auditing firm did not identify any recommendations as part of their audit.

CURRENT STATUS

A copy of the final report has been sent to the recipient.

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur la vérification du bénéficiaire de l'Association nationale des sociétés autochtones de financement (ANSAF)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Association nationale des sociétés autochtones de financement (site Web non disponible en français)
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario) (siège social)
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : pas de manquement (2006‑2012)
Situation de manquement à l'heure actuelle : pas de manquement (2012-2013)
Période couverte par la vérification : du 1er avril 2006 au 31 mars 2012
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 15 839 569 $

CONTEXTE

La politique régissant le programme de développement de l'entrepreneuriat autochtone d'AADNC recommande qu'une vérification des bénéficiaires soit effectuée tous les cinq ans. La dernière vérification remonte à 2005-2006. Elle avait permis de cerner plusieurs problèmes de conformité.

La présente vérification avait pour objectif de veiller à ce que les fonds versés à l'ANSAF soient dépensés aux fins escomptées et conformément aux conditions financières des accords de contribution conclus par l'ANSAF et AADNC. La firme Deloitte a effectué la vérification à l'hiver 2013.

La vérification a aussi permis d'évaluer la qualité et la pertinence des pratiques de gestion mises en place par le bénéficiaire pour appuyer la prestation du programme ou du projet ainsi que la gestion des ententes de financement pendant la période visée par la vérification.

CONSTATATIONS

Selon le travail effectué, le vérificateur a déterminé que l'ANSAF a respecté à tous les égards les conditions financières prévues dans les accords de financement qu'elle a conclus avec AADNC pendant la période allant du 1er avril 2006 au 31 mars 2012.

Qualité du cadre de contrôle de gestion de l'ANSAF

Aucune lacune sur le plan de l'information concernant le programme d'accès au capital ou le cadre de contrôle de gestion de l'ANSAF n'a été décelée au cours de la vérification. Le vérificateur a conclu que le cadre de contrôle de gestion de l'ANSAF est approprié selon la taille et la complexité des activités de l'Association, et que celle-ci dispose des structures, des systèmes et des mesures de contrôle appropriés pour soutenir la prestation du programme d'accès au capital.

Pertinence de la gestion interne/des rapports du conseil

Selon la vérification menée, le manuel de gouvernance de la politique de l'ANSAF fournit des directives détaillées sur les questions administratives, comme la fréquence des réunions (au moins tous les trimestres), la consignation des procès-verbaux, la composition des membres, la surveillance financière, etc. Il fournit aux utilisateurs toute l'information utile pour la conduite des activités du conseil.

Le vérificateur a conclu que l'ANSAF a mis en place des procédures appropriées pour assurer une gouvernance et la prise de décisions prudentes.

Diligence raisonnable à l'égard des dépenses de fonds publics

Le vérificateur s'est penché sur 102 opérations. Il n'a soulevé aucune préoccupation quant à la gestion des fonds reçus d'AADNC et a conclu que l'ANSAF a mis en place des procédures appropriées pour assurer la diligence raisonnable des fonds provenant d'AADNC.

Pertinence des mesures de contrôle à l'interne

Aucune lacune n'a été observée en ce qui concerne la conception et la mise en œuvre des principales activités de contrôle liées à la gestion des fonds d'AADNC pendant la période visée par la vérification.

Conformité des dépenses déclarées

Le vérificateur a choisi et examiné 25 opérations de paye et 77 opérations d'autres dépenses et n'a pas observé d'écart entre les dépenses du programme et de fonctionnement.

Intégrité de l'information financière

Le vérificateur a examiné chaque état financier annuel en vue de déterminer la qualité de l'information financière produite par l'ANSAF. Les vérificateurs indépendants ont conclus que les états financiers se conforment à tous les égards aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada et n'ont cerné aucun cas de non‑conformité.

Selon le travail effectué, le vérificateur a conclu que l'information figurant dans les états financiers semble adéquate et que l'information déclarée au gouvernement du Canada semble complète.

Caractère raisonnable des coûts réels par rapport aux coûts budgétés

Le vérificateur a évalué la conception et la mise en œuvre des mesures de contrôle cernées dans le programme d'accès au capital – manuel des politiques et des procédures de l'ANSAF. Il n'a observé aucune lacune dans la mise en œuvre de la  principale mesure de contrôle ni aucune erreur monétaire. Selon le travail effectué, il a conclu que les coûts engagés pour la prestation du programme sont raisonnables et conformes aux budgets préalablement approuvés.

Dépenses inhabituelles ou extraordinaires

Le vérificateur a examiné les grands livres généraux et n'y a trouvé aucune dépense inhabituelle ou extraordinaire, selon la nature des activités pratiquées par l'ANSAF pendant la période visée par la vérification et la compréhension qu'il en a.

Mécanismes de surveillance de projet

Selon le travail effectué, le vérificateur a conclu que l'ANSAF disposait de mécanismes et de processus de surveillance de projet appropriés qui lui permettaient d'assurer un suivi adéquat.

Rapidité de la surveillance financière et du suivi du programme

Le vérificateur a conclu que les rapports sur le programme et les finances sont produits en temps opportun et que les systèmes suffisent à la surveillance et à la présentation de rapports conformément aux conditions financières prévues dans les accords de financement conclus avec AADNC.

RECOMMANDATIONS

La firme de vérification n'a formulé aucune recommandation dans le cadre de sa vérification.

ÉTAT ACTUEL

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire.

 
 
Date de modification :