ARCHIVED - Report on Recipient Audit of Sheshatshiu Innu First Nation (SIFN)

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: Sheshatshiu Innu First Nation
Location: Newfoundland and Labrador
Population: 1,291 on reserve; 1,447 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Not in default (2011-2012)
Current default status: Not in default (2012-13)
Current Chief: Andrew Penashue
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2012
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $6,844,502

BACKGROUND

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) entered into several contribution agreements with the recipient to provide funding in fiscal years 2010-2011 and 2011-2012.

This recipient audit was undertaken to provide assurance that funding provided to the Sheshatshiu Innu First Nation, Newfoundland, was spent for its intended purposes and in compliance with the Terms and Conditions of the funding agreements signed with AANDC. The audit was conducted by Samson & Associates at the end of January 2013.

FINDINGS

The auditor has examined sufficient evidence to support his conclusions. Overall, other than the reporting requirements and the audit adjustments identified during the audit, the audit revealed that the recipient did comply with the terms and conditions identified within the Agreements.

Program Administration

The recipient has a number of governance documents in place. A general governance policy detailing the roles and responsibilities of Chief and Council exists, as well as policies for a number of programs including housing, outpost, tendering, and personnel. The recipient has put in place Terms of Reference for its committees and documented several of its finance and administrative procedures. Council minutes are recorded and retained. The recipient received governance training from AANDC in 2012.

However, awareness of governance and policy documents could be improved among the current administration. Contributing factors include the turnover of the Chief, some Council members and some of the management team, as well as a fire that occurred several years ago.

Financial Management

The auditor performed a review of the internal control framework implemented by the recipient. Comments and recommendations are based on discussions with the financial staff and management of the organization, and a review of documentation.

The auditor's observations to improve financial management include: creating a formal finance policy and procedures manual, documenting their policy concerning expenditure approvals, and creating an inventory of all financial documents.

Management Reporting Systems

The recipient maintains multiple general ledgers for the various programs and activities it manages. The auditor encountered difficulty in reconciling the general ledgers as they did not clearly identity their link to expenditures, funding agreements, programs, project activities, AANDC activities and type of funding approaches.

RECOMMENDATIONS

  1. The recipient should improve its governance by adding documentation and by creating a comprehensive set of policies and procedures. In addition, annual work plans should be used as a management tool.
  2. Although the recipient has some written documentation concerning policies and procedures, the recipient could strengthen financial and administrative controls by ensuring that:
    • a complete formal finance policy and procedures manual is created and approved;
    • the recipient documents their policy concerning expenditure approvals;
    • the recipient creates a governance framework to identify all documents that it should have and then create an inventory of these.
  3. The recipient should improve internal controls and accounting procedures by:
    • ensuring that all invoices are approved and contain sufficient details for review;
    • ensuring that the responsibility for the receipt of cheques includes preparing a cheque list and is a separate function from the update of the accounting records;
    • ensuring that bank reconciliations are signed and evidenced as being approved;
    • ensuring that a control is established to ensure that refundable GST/HST is not coded as an expense;
    • maintaining the recipient's records in such a way as to facilitate the reconciliation between the general ledgers, the funding agreements and the schedule of revenues and expenditures. Expenses related to different types of AANDC funding should be clearly separated in the general ledger; and
    • ensuring that AANDC reports are completed in a timely manner.
  4. Human resource processes should be improved in the following areas:
    • perform employee appraisals;
    • apply a consistent approach to pay increases; and
    • create a formalized pay grid by position type.

Several other recommendations are noted in the management letter.

CURRENT STATUS

A copy of the final report has been sent to the recipient.

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur la vérification du bénéficiaire de la Première Nation innue de Sheshatshiu

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Première Nation innue de Sheshatshiu (site Web non disponible en français)
Lieu  : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Population : 1 291 dans la réserve; 1 447 inscrits au total
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : pas de manquement (2011-2012)
Situation de manquement à l'heure actuelle : pas de manquement (2012-2013)
Chef actuel : Andrew Penashue
Période couverte par la vérification : du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2012
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 6 844 502 $

CONTEXTE

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a conclu avec le bénéficiaire plusieurs accords de contribution visant l'octroi d'un financement au cours des années financières 2010-2011 et 2011-2012.

Cette vérification du bénéficiaire visait à fournir l'assurance que les fonds versés à la Première Nation innue de Sheshatshiu, à Terre-Neuve, ont été dépensés aux fins prévues et conformément aux modalités des ententes de financement conclues avec AADNC. La vérification a été menée par Samson & associés à la fin de janvier 2013.

CONSTATATIONS

Le vérificateur a examiné suffisamment d'éléments probants pour étayer ses conclusions. Dans l'ensemble, à part les exigences de déclaration et les redressements après vérification, la vérification a révélé que le bénéficiaire s'est conformé aux modalités énoncées dans les ententes.

Administration du programme

Le bénéficiaire dispose d'un certain nombre de documents de gouvernance. Il existe une politique de gouvernance générale qui précise les rôles et les responsabilités du chef et du conseil, ainsi que des politiques applicables à différents programmes dont le logement, les camps éloignés, les appels d'offres et le personnel. Le bénéficiaire a défini le mandat de ses comités et consigné par écrit plusieurs de ses procédures financières et administratives. Les procès-verbaux des réunions du conseil sont consignés et conservés. Le bénéficiaire a reçu une formation en gouvernance d'AADNC en 2012.

La connaissance des documents de gouvernance et d'orientation pourrait toutefois être meilleure au sein de l'administration en place. Les facteurs ayant contribué au manque de connaissance comprennent l'entrée en fonction d'un nouveau chef, de nouveaux conseillers et de certains membres de l'équipe de direction, ainsi qu'un incendie survenu il y a plusieurs années.

Gestion financière

Le vérificateur a examiné le cadre de contrôle interne que le bénéficiaire a mis en place. Les observations et recommandations sont fondées sur des discussions avec le personnel financier et la direction de l'organisation et un examen de la documentation.

Les observations du vérificateur concernant les améliorations à apporter à la gestion financière sont les suivantes : établir un guide des politiques et procédures en matière de finances; documenter la politique relative à l'approbation des dépenses; dresser une liste exhaustive des documents financiers.

Systèmes de rapports de gestion

Le bénéficiaire tient différents grands livres généraux pour les divers programmes et activités qu'il administre. Le vérificateur a eu du mal à rapprocher les grands livres généraux parce qu'ils n'indiquaient pas clairement leur lien avec les dépenses, les ententes de financement, les programmes, les activités de projet, les activités d'AADNC et les méthodes de financement.

RECOMMANDATIONS

  1. Le bénéficiaire devrait améliorer sa gouvernance en étoffant la documentation et en établissant une série complète de politiques et de procédures. De plus, des plans de travail annuels devraient être utilisés comme outil de gestion utile.
  2. Bien que le bénéficiaire dispose d'un certain nombre de documents concernant les politiques et les procédures, il devrait renforcer les contrôles financiers et administratifs en veillant à :
    • établir et faire approuver un guide complet des politiques et procédures en matière de finances;
    • documenter sa politique concernant l'approbation des dépenses;
    • mettre en place un cadre de gouvernance précisant tous les documents qu'il devrait posséder, puis dresser une liste de tous les documents qu'il possède effectivement.
  3. Le bénéficiaire devrait améliorer les contrôles internes et les procédures comptables en prenant les mesures suivantes :
    • veiller à ce que toutes les factures soient approuvées et fournissent suffisamment de détails aux fins de vérification;
    • s'assurer que la responsabilité à l'égard de la réception de chèques comprend celle de tenir un registre des chèques et qu'elle est distincte de la fonction d'actualisation des livres comptables;
    • s'assurer que les rapprochements bancaires sont signés et que leur approbation est attestée;
    • veiller à établir un contrôle afin d'éviter que la TPS/TVH remboursable ne soit codée en tant que dépense;
    • maintenir ses livres de manière à faciliter le rapprochement entre les grands livres généraux, les ententes de financement et le tableau des revenus et des dépenses. Les dépenses en lien avec différents types de financement d'AADNC devraient être clairement séparées dans le grand livre général;
    • veiller à ce que les rapports à AADNC soient produits en temps opportun.
  4. Il conviendrait d'améliorer les aspects suivants des processus des ressources humaines :
    • évaluer le rendement des employés;
    • appliquer une approche uniforme à l'égard des augmentations de salaire; et
    • établir une grille salariale officielle pour chaque type de poste.

La lettre à la direction énonce plusieurs autres recommandations.

ÉTAT ACTUEL

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyé au bénéficiaire.

 
 
Date de modification :