ARCHIVED - Report on Recipient Audit of Native Counselling Services of Alberta (NCSA)

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: Native Counselling Services of Alberta
Location: Alberta
Default status at time of audit: Not in default (2011-2012)
Current default status: Not in default (2012-13)
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2012
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $491,000

BACKGROUND

On August 9, 2010 and September 29, 2011, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) signed two one-year contribution agreements with Native Counselling Services of Alberta (NCSA) to deliver activities under the Advocacy and Public Information Program. The total funding for the Agreements by year, including amendments, amounted to $240,000 in 2010-2011 and $251,000 in 2011-2012. This audit was selected as a joint audit with Health Canada and was conducted by Spearhead Management Canada Limited in the winter of 2013.

The audit examined compliance with the financial and non-financial Terms and Conditions of the agreements, the efficiency and effectiveness of the financial management framework supporting the program and the organization's capacity to deliver the programs and services set out in the agreements.

FINDINGS

The auditor examined sufficient evidence to support his conclusions. The recipient complied with the Terms and Conditions of the agreements, with a few exceptions noted in the report. The recipient has a strong financial framework in place to administer the program, and the personnel assigned to the delivery are knowledgeable.

From a financial perspective, the auditor was able to determine that the recipient has substantially complied with the Terms and Conditions of the agreements and that most funds were used for their intended purposes. A recoverable amount of $11,611 in AANDC funding was identified for fiscal year 2010-11 due to ineligible expenditures.

Program Administration

The Native Counselling Services of Alberta is a not-for-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors comprised of seven members. The Board members are appointed for an indefinite term upon recommendation from other Board members and the Chief Executive Officer (CEO). Until 2012, the Board offered guidance on policies only, and left the operational management of the organization to the CEO. The Board now plays a more active operational role by assessing the results of audits of financial statements. This change was implemented to promote accountability at the Board level. The Board meets quarterly and minutes are kept of decisions taken by the Board.

NCSA's AANDC-funded program promotes the National Day of Healing and Resolution. The program is managed by the Campaign Manager who reports to the Director of Operations.

The Campaign Manager prepares the annual work plan describing the activities to be conducted and the expected results for the program. Budgets are attached to their work plans.

NCSA has implemented a manual covering administrative guidelines such as code of ethics, client services, data management, occupational therapy and safety, general terms and conditions of employment, finance, quality assurance and social services programs.

The budget is prepared by the Director of Finance and the Manager of Contracts and Budgets and includes budget lines that are matched to the budget incorporated into the Agreements. Budget monitoring is performed by the Director of Finance and the CEO on a quarterly basis and in February of each year to ensure that funds are not lapsed.

Financial Management

NCSA's chart of accounts reflects the various programs offered by NCSA and supports the preparation of financial reports. Through the examination of a sample of transactions, the auditor found that expenses were properly coded to the program and that reallocation of expenses at year-end was minimal.

NCSA does not keep track of funds available by program and may, at times, be using funds from other programs to cover the payment of expenses, not eligible under this kind of funding.

Bank reconciliations are completed monthly by the Accounts Receivable Clerk and approved by the Director of Finance.

Revenues were properly accounted for in the accounting system.

Financial records and supporting documentation are maintained by the Finance Department. The information necessary to support the sample of transactions audited was pulled out by NCSA staff and any request for additional information was quickly addressed.

Management Reporting System

The reports that are due under the Terms and Conditions of the agreements are submitted on time and contain the required information.

NCSA has secured the services of an external auditor to review the annual financial statements. No issues were noted.

RECOMMENDATIONS

CURRENT STATUS

A copy of the final report has been sent to the recipient.

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur la vérification du bénéficiaire – Service autochtone de counselling de l'Alberta (SACA)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Service autochtone de counselling de l'Alberta (site Web non disponible en français)
Lieu : Alberta
État des manquements au moment de la vérification : aucun manquement (2011-2012)
État actuel des manquements : aucun manquement (2012-2013)
Période visée par la vérification : du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2012
Montant du financement accordé par AADNC visé par la vérification : 491 000 $

CONTEXTE

Le 9 août 2010 et le 29 septembre 2011, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a signé deux ententes de contribution d'un an avec le Service autochtone de counselling de l'Alberta (SACA) pour offrir des activités dans le cadre du Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts. Le financement total pour les ententes par année, y compris les modifications, s'élève à 240 000 $ en 2010-2011 et à 251 000 $ en 2011-2012. Cette vérification a été choisie comme vérification conjointe avec Santé Canada et a été menée par Spearhead Management Canada ltée à l'hiver 2013.

La vérification a porté sur le respect des modalités financières et non financières des ententes, l'efficience et l'efficacité du cadre de gestion financière soutenant le programme et la capacité de l'organisation à offrir les programmes et les services énoncés dans les ententes.

CONSTATATIONS

Le vérificateur a examiné suffisamment de preuves pour soutenir ses conclusions. Le bénéficiaire a respecté les modalités des ententes, à quelques exceptions près mentionnées dans le rapport. Le bénéficiaire dispose d'un solide cadre financier pour administrer le programme, et le personnel affecté à la prestation est compétent.

D'un point de vue financier, le vérificateur a pu déterminer que le bénéficiaire a largement respecté les modalités des ententes et que la plupart des fonds ont été utilisés aux fins prévues. Un montant à recouvrer de 11 611 $ du financement d'AADNC a été déterminé pour l'exercice 2010-2011 en raison de dépenses non admissibles.

Administration des programmes

Le Service autochtone de counselling de l'Alberta est un organisme sans but lucratif dirigé par un conseil d'administration qui est composé de sept membres. Les membres du conseil sont nommés pour une durée indéterminée, sur recommandation des autres membres du conseil d'administration et du président-directeur général (PDG). Jusqu'en 2012, le conseil ne faisait des recommandations que sur les politiques, et laissait la gestion opérationnelle de l'organisation au soin du PDG. Le conseil joue maintenant un rôle opérationnel plus actif en évaluant les résultats des vérifications des états financiers. Ce changement a été mis en œuvre pour promouvoir la responsabilisation au niveau du conseil. Le conseil se réunit trimestriellement et des procès-verbaux de décisions prises par le conseil d'administration sont dressés à l'issue des réunions.

Le programme du SACA financé par AADNC fait la promotion de la Journée nationale de la guérison et de la réconciliation. Le programme est géré par le directeur de campagne, qui relève du directeur des opérations.

Le directeur de campagne prépare le plan de travail annuel qui décrit les activités qui seront menées et les résultats attendus dans le cadre du programme. Les budgets sont joints à leurs plans de travail.

Le SACA a créé un manuel portant sur les lignes directrices administratives comme le code d'éthique, les services à la clientèle, la gestion des données, l'ergothérapie et la sécurité au travail, les modalités d'emploi et les programmes de financement, d'assurance de la qualité et de services sociaux.

Le budget est préparé par le directeur des finances et le gestionnaire des contrats et des budgets et comprend des lignes budgétaires qui correspondent au budget incorporé dans les ententes. Le suivi budgétaire est effectué par le directeur des finances et le PDG sur une base trimestrielle et en février de chaque année pour s'assurer que les fonds sont utilisés.

Gestion financière

Le plan comptable du SACA reflète les divers programmes offerts par le SACA et soutient la préparation des rapports financiers. Grâce à l'examen d'un échantillon de transactions, le vérificateur a constaté que les dépenses sont correctement codées en fonction du programme et que la réaffectation des dépenses en fin d'année est minime.

Le SACA ne garde aucune trace des fonds disponibles par programme et peut, parfois, utiliser des fonds provenant d'autres programmes pour couvrir le remboursement de dépenses non admissibles au titre de ce type de financement.

Des rapprochements bancaires sont effectués chaque mois par le commis aux comptes clients et sont approuvés par le directeur des finances.

Les revenus étaient correctement comptabilisés dans le système de comptabilité.

Les dossiers financiers et les documents justificatifs sont conservés par la section des finances. L'information nécessaire pour appuyer l'échantillon des transactions vérifiées a été rassemblée par le personnel du SACA et toute demande d'information supplémentaire a été rapidement traitée.

Système de rapports de gestion

Les rapports exigés en vertu des modalités des ententes sont soumis à temps et contiennent l'information requise.

Le SACA a retenu les services d'un vérificateur externe pour examiner les états financiers annuels. Aucun problème n'a été constaté.

RECOMMANDATIONS

SITUATION ACTUELLE

Un exemplaire du rapport final a été envoyé au bénéficiaire.

 
 
Date de modification :