ARCHIVED - New Geoscience Points to the Potential of Bent Horn Lands

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Download the PDF Version (125 Kb, 1 Page)

Bulletin
Volume 21, Number 4
May 2013

Wells on Cameron Island. Source: PEMT

Results from Canada’s GeoMapping for Energy and Minerals (GEM) program provide a fresh look at the Bent Horn oil field and the southern margin of the Sverdrup Basin in the Canadian High Arctic. These studies, listed below, shed new light on the source rock for the Bent Horn oil and on the structure and matrix porosity of the reservoir.

The Bent Horn oil field was discovered in 1974 and produced a total of 4.5x105 m3 or 2.8 million barrels between 1985 and 1996. The field was abandoned before being fully depleted. The reservoir is in the Devonian Blue Fiord Formation, a reefal limestone and is located in thrust fault slices in the upper part of an isolated, reef-rimmed carbonate bank. A detailed core study providing new insight into the rock matrix properties and paleo-environments of deposition is published in Wendte, 2012Footnote 1.

The Bent Horn oil was produced from partially opened fractures within the limestone, representing porosities between 1 and 3%. The oil produced from this field is a waxy light crude (43° API). Oil production was from late-formed open fractures related to thrust faults. Based on biomarker analyses, maturity and stratigraphic and geographic proximity to the Bent Horn oil field, the Silurian Cape Phillips Formation appears to be the most likely source rock for the hydrocarbons at Bent Horn (Dewing et al. 2009 Footnote 2 and Obermajer et al., 2010 Footnote 3).

The fractured nature of the reservoir and the complex structure of the field challenged the original development of this resource and estimation of recoverable oil. Duchesne et al., 2012 Footnote 4 demonstrate that seismic reprocessing of data can improve imaging of the faulted structure. Improved understanding of the geology and new drilling reservoir stimulation techniques warrant the reexamination of this field.

Seismic Lines on Cameron Island. Source: National Energy Board

Geoscience and related information on the Bent Horn lands are readily available on the web:

Visit our website for more information on the resource management regime.

Note: This Bulletin is for information purposes only.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - De nouvelles données géoscientifiques laissent entrevoir le potentiel des terres Bent Horn

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Télécharger le format PDF  
(108 Ko, 1 page)

Bulletin
Volume 21, numéro 4
Mai 2013

Les résultats du programme canadien de géocartographie de l'énergie et des minéraux (GEM) jettent un regard neuf sur le champ pétrolier Bent Horn et sur la marge sud du bassin de Sverdrup dans le Haut-Arctique canadien. Ces études, énumérées ci-dessous, apportent un nouvel éclairage sur la roche mère du gisement pétrolifère Bent Horn ainsi que sur la structure et la porosité matricielle du réservoir.

Le champ pétrolier Bent Horn, découvert en 1974, a produit entre 1985 et 1996 un total de 4,5x105 m3, soit 2,8 millions de barils. Le champ a été abandonné avant d'être totalement épuisé. Le gisement pétrolifère se trouve dans la Formation de Blue Fiord du Dévonien, un calcaire récifal, et se situe dans des écailles de chevauchement dans la partie supérieure d'un banc carbonaté isolé, protégé par des récifs. Une étude détaillée de carottes de forage, donnant un nouvel aperçu des propriétés de la matrice de la roche et des paléoenvironnements de dépôt, a été publiée dans Wendte (2012) [Note 1].

Le pétrole du champ Bent Horn provient de fractures partiellement ouvertes dans le calcaire, représentant des porosités entre 1 et 3 %. Le pétrole extrait de ce champ est un brut léger paraffinique (43° API). La production de pétrole provenait de fractures ouvertes de formation tardive, liées à des failles de chevauchement. D'après les analyses des marqueurs biologiques, la maturité et la proximité stratigraphique et géographique du champ pétrolier Bent Horn, la roche mère la plus probable pour les hydrocarbures de Bent Horn semble être la Formation de Cape Phillips du Silurien (Dewing et coll., 2009 [Note 2] et Obermajer et coll., 2010 [Note 3]).

La nature fracturée de la roche réservoir et la structure complexe du champ ont représenté un défi pour la mise en valeur initiale de cette ressource et l'estimation du pétrole récupérable. Duchesne et coll. (2012) [Note 4] ont démontré qu'un retraitement des données sismiques permet d'améliorer l'imagerie de la structure faillée. De meilleures connaissances sur la géologie ainsi que de nouvelles méthodes de forage et de stimulation de la roche réservoir justifient un nouvel examen de ce champ.

Lignes sismiques sur l'île Cameron

Des données géoscientifiques et de l'information connexe sur les terres de Bent Horn sont facilement accessibles sur le Web :

Veuillez visiter notre site web pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le régime de gestion des ressources naturelles

Note : Ce bulletin est publié à titre d'information uniquement.


Notes en bas de page :

  1. Wendte, J. C., 2012. Core, petrographic, and rock petrophysical evaluation of the Blue Fiord Formation from wells in the Canadian Arctic Islands, Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 6984 (retourner au paragraphe source)
  2. Dewing, K. and M. Obermajer., 2009. Lower Paleozoic Thermal Maturity and Hydrocarbon Potential of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Vol. 57, no. 2. (retourner au paragraphe source)
  3. Obermajer, M., Dewing, K. and M.G. Fowler, 2010. Geochemistry of crude oil from Bent Horn field (Canadian Arctic Archipelago) and its possible Paleozoic origin, Organic Geochemistry, Vol. 41, issue 9. (retourner au paragraphe source)
  4. Duchesne, M. J., Claprood, M. and E. Gloaguen, 2012. Improving seismic velocity estimation for 2D poststack time migration of regional seismic data using kriging with an external drift, The Leading Edge, Vol. 31, no. 2. (retourner au paragraphe source)

 
Date de modification :