Stained Glass Window Dedication Ceremony - Inuit Elder Sally Webster

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Inuit Elder Sally Webster

Greg Rickford: I would now like to ask Inuit elder Sally Webster to lead us in a prayer to close the ceremonial portion of today's event. Sally Kate Webster was born in a land near Baker Lake, Nunavut. In 1956, the federal government started a school in Baker Lake and at the age of 11, Sally started school. At age 16, Sally started her career as a classroom assistant in Baker Lake. Sally later worked as the ladies' group coordinator for Arctic College, Baker Lake campus and at Pauktuutit Inuit Women's Association in Ottawa. Sally is also an entrepreneur, having operated the Baker Lake Fine Arts and Crafts where she coordinated and promoted the fine art of the women of Baker Lake. As an elder, she is often consulted for her expertise in Inuit art and culture. I now invite elder Webster to provide the closing prayer.

Elder Sally Webster: Thank you. Before I say a prayer, I worked with the elders up north in Baker Lake. The ladies of 35 would do the wall hangings, print making or carvings. I would ask one of the elders, when they come, their artwork when they come in, I said, "What is it about?" I can see it already, but when you ask the question to the artists, they tell you more stories that you didn't – you didn't think of. This is the same thing. Artist Christi did the artwork here. What I'm going to do is the prayer in my own language. I'm going to pray about the residential school survivors and who have passed on and also the teachers who were teaching before.

Our Heavenly Father, if they say sorry, he already forgiven them, but I'm going to pray for the people who are survivors right now because they have gone through a lot. If I try to say it in English, it's not going to come out the way what I want to say, a prayer. It has to come from my heart. Thank you. Thank you, Heavenly Father.

(Prayer in native language). Amen. Thank you.

Date modified:

Cérémonie de dévoilement du vitrail - L'aîné Inuit Sally Webster

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription : L'aîné Inuit Sally Webster

Greg Rickford : Je demande maintenant à l'aînée inuite Sally Webster de diriger une prière pour terminer la portion cérémonielle de l'événement d'aujourd'hui. Sally Kate Webster est née près de Baker Lake, au Nunavut. En 1956, le gouvernement fédéral a ouvert une école à Baker Lake que Sally a commencé à fréquenter à l'âge de 11 ans. À 16 ans, Sally a commencé sa carrière en tant qu'aide-enseignante à Baker Lake. Elle a par la suite été coordonnatrice du groupe des femmes au campus de Baker Lake du Collège de l'Arctique puis à l'Association des femmes inuites Pauktuutit, à Ottawa. Sally est aussi une entrepreneure, elle qui a géré Baker Lake Fine Arts and Crafts et a fait la promotion des beaux-arts des femmes de Baker Lake. À titre d'aînée, on l'a consultée souvent en raison de son expertise en matière d'art et de culture inuits. J'invite maintenant l'aînée Webster à prononcer la prière de clôture.

Aînée Sally Webster : Merci. Avant de prononcer ma prière, je veux vous parler des aînés avec qui j'ai travaillé dans le Nord, à Baker Lake. Des dames du 35 réalisent des pièces murales, des estampes ou des gravures. J'ai demandé à une aînée qui est venue ce que signifiait son œuvre. En regardant la pièce, on peut déjà savoir de quoi il est question, mais en posant la question à l'artiste, on découvre d'autres histoires auxquelles on n'avait pas pensé. C'est le cas ici aussi. Christi est l'artiste qui a réalisé cette œuvre. Je vais faire une prière dans ma langue maternelle. Je vais prier pour les survivants des pensionnats indiens et pour les personnes qui sont décédées. Je prie aussi pour les enseignants qui partageaient leurs connaissances auparavant.

Père céleste, s'ils s'excusent, tu leur as déjà pardonné, mais je vais prier pour les survivants, car ils ont beaucoup souffert. Si je le dis en anglais, je ne pourrai pas m'exprimer comme je veux. Cette prière doit venir de mon cœur. Merci. Merci Père céleste.

(Prière en langue autochtone). Amen. Thank you.

Date de modification :