Stained Glass Window Dedication Ceremony - Wilton Littlechild, Commissioner of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Wilton Littlechild, Commissioner of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Greg Rickford: In 2009, along with Mr. Justice Murray Sinclair and Miss Murray Wilson, chief Wilton Littlechild was appointed commissioner of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Commissioner Littlechild is a former student, a respected lawyer and a strong advocate for the rights of indigenous people. He served as a member of Parliament from 1988 to 1993 for the riding of Wetaskimin-Rimby. I invite Commissioner Littlechild to speak on behalf of the Commission.

Wilton Littlechild: (In native language). On behalf of my colleagues, fellow commissioners Justice Murray Sinclair and Dr. Murray Wilson, I thank all of you in your individual – as your individual excellencies for this great honour. Although I come with a very heavy heart this morning, later this morning, in my community, we will lay to rest two former residential school survivors, my aunt, Helen Gladu and a former school mate and hockey manager, Clark Cutknife. So with your permission, I dedicate my words to them and for them and for all those who have gone before us in their spirit journey, especially the children.

I want to begin by also thanking Christi Belcourt for her outstanding vision and ability to capture in such a respectful way the Indian residential school legacy. To do it in a way that we now have forever a new window on Canada. As a former residential school student, a former member of Parliament and now a commissioner for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, I want to say how very important, incredibly important and appreciated this dedication is today. For the past three years, we, at the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, have been gathering the truth. We were guided in part by the Right Honourable Prime Minister Stephen Harper's Apology on behalf of the Government of Canada and indeed all Canadians when he signaled, and I quote, "…a new beginning and an opportunity to move forward together in partnership."

This was in a positive way renewing and engaging the treaty relationship on which much of Canada is founded. Since then, we have heard in our hearings from former student survivors many many times about windows. From those who looked out from the school windows, waiting and hoping to see their parents come for them, those who cried when no one came for them especially because it was time for Christmas or some holidays, those who were told, sometimes being pulled away from the window by the hair, "Get away from that window" or "Your parents are not coming anyway", those who simply looked out into the dark or into the distance, silently crying, because they were so lonesome and homesick.

There's this story about a little boy they tell. He's seen at a window today at a former residential school in Manitoba and when he's seen through that window, he's also heard for the crying. I was one of those boys, but to all of them, we dedicate this window. To those also who told us how they smiled and they laughed and they couldn't contain their tears of joy when they saw their parents or grandparents coming to visit them or to take away from school.

So you see, this window is very special. Commissioner Wilson, early in our mandate, said to us "We need a national monument to honour the children". So now to all of us, the indigenous peoples and all Canadians, it is truly a unique window on Canada. It will serve to remind us that the residential school story is a Canadian story. It's a unique opportunity, as the prime minister stated during the apology and I quote, "…to educate all Canadians, it will be a positive step in forging a new relationship" he said. As we now look out into the future, this window will shed light on a new path, a path of reconciliation, one that ignites all of our spirits to work together towards a new and more inclusive and a better Canada. It is and will be a daily call to action for all of us. (In native language). Thank you very much. Merci beaucoup.

Date modified:

Cérémonie de dévoilement du vitrail - Wilton Littlechild, commissaire de la Commission Vérité et Réconciliation

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription : Wilton Littlechild, commissaire de la Commission Vérité et Réconciliation

Greg Rickford : Merci, Christi, et merci, cher l'aînée While pour cette belle chanson. En 2009, aux côtés du juge Murray Sinclair et de madame Murray Wilson, le chef Wilton Littlechild a été nommé commissaire à la Commission de vérité et réconciliation. Le commissaire Littlechild est un ancien élève, un avocat réputé et un ardent défenseur des droits des Autochtones. Il a été député de Wetaskiwin-Rimby de 1988 à 1993. J'invite le commissaire Littlechild à nous adresser la parole au nom de la Commission.

Wilton Littlechild : (En langue autochtone). Au nom de mes collègues commissaires, le juge Murray Sinclair et madame Murray Wilson, je vous remercie tous d'être présents aujourd'hui, tout particulièrement nos distingués invités qui nous font un grand honneur. Cependant, j'ai le coeur lourd aujourd'hui. Plus tard ce matin, dans ma collectivité, nous rendrons un dernier hommage à deux survivants des pensionnats indiens, ma tante Helen Gladu et un de mes anciens camarades d'école, un entraîneur de hockey, Clark Cutknife. Permettez-moi donc de leur dédier quelques mots, ainsi qu'à toutes les personnes qui nous ont quittés pour poursuivre leur voyage spirituel, particulièrement les enfants.

Je veux débuter en remerciant Christi Belcourt pour son extraordinaire vision et sa capacité de rendre de façon si respectueuse les séquelles laissées par les pensionnats indiens. Sa créativité nous permet d'avoir une nouvelle perspective sur le Canada grâce à ce nouveau vitrail. En tant qu'ancien élève d'un pensionnat indien, d'ancien député et d'actuel commissaire à la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, je veux vous dire à quel point la cérémonie d'aujourd'hui est importante, terriblement importante et appréciée. Au cours des trois dernières années à la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, nous avons déterré la vérité. Nos travaux ont été guidés en partie par les excuses présentées par le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre, au nom du gouvernement du Canada et, en fait, de tous les Canadiens, lorsqu'il a parlé de prendre un nouveau départ et d'aller de l'avant en partenariat.

Ces excuses étaient une façon positive de renouveler et de tirer profit de la relation découlant des traités, qui est un fondement si important pour le Canada. Depuis, lors de nos audiences auprès d'anciens élèves, nous avons entendu maintes fois parler de fenêtres. L'histoire d'enfants qui regardaient par la fenêtre au pensionnat en attendant et en espérant que leurs parents viennent les chercher. Les enfants qui ont pleuré quand personne n'est venu, surtout à Noël ou lors d'autres fêtes. Les enfants à qui on a dit, parfois en les tirant par les cheveux pour les éloigner, « éloigne-toi de cette fenêtre » ou « tes parents ne viendront pas de toute façon ». Les enfants qui fixaient l'obscurité ou qui regardaient au loin, en pleurant silencieusement, parce qu'ils se sentaient si seuls et s'ennuyaient trop de la maison.

On raconte parfois l'histoire de ce petit garçon. Encore de nos jours, on le voit à la fenêtre d'un ancien pensionnat indien au Manitoba et on peut aussi l'entendre pleurer. J'étais un de ces garçons, et c'est à tous ces enfants que nous dédions ce vitrail. Nous dédions aussi ce vitrail aux gens qui nous ont raconté comment ils ont souri et ri, comment ils n'ont pas pu retenir leurs larmes de joie lorsqu'ils ont vu leurs parents ou grands-parents venus les visiter ou les ramener à la maison.

Vous comprenez, ce vitrail est très spécial. La commissaire Wilson, au début de notre mandat, nous a dit que nous avions besoin d'un monument national pour honorer les enfants. Alors pour nous tous, Autochtones et autres Canadiens, le vitrail est une perspective unique sur le Canada. Il nous permettra de nous souvenir que l'épisode des pensionnats indiens est une histoire canadienne. Le vitrail offre une occasion unique, comme le disait le premier ministre dans les excuses, « …d'éduquer tous les Canadiens. Il s'agira d'une étape positive dans l'établissement d'une nouvelle relation. » Si nous nous tournons vers l'avenir, nous voyons que ce vitrail éclairera un nouveau chemin, la voie vers la réconciliation. Il permettra d'éclairer tous nos esprits afin que nous collaborions à bâtir un meilleur Canada, un Canada plus inclusif. Le vitrail est, et demeurera, pour nous tous, une invitation quotidienne à passer à l'action. (En langue autochtone). Merci beaucoup.

Date de modification :