Stained Glass Window Dedication Ceremony - Madeleine Dion Stout - Member of the Selection Committee

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Madeleine Dion Stout – Member of the Selection Committee

Greg Rickford: In order to select the artwork that was translated in this stained glass, a selection committee comprised of former residential students, survivors of Indian residential schools, and aboriginal art experts was formed. The committee was chaired by Dr. Stephen Inglis, the executive director of the Aanischaaukamikw Cree Cultural Institute and an adjunct professor of art history at Carleton University. The other members were Dr. Douglas Cardinal, a Métis, former student and world renowned architect, Dr. Heather Igloliorte, an Inuk art historian and curator of several important exhibitions including the legacy of Hope Foundation's traveling exhibit We Were so Far Away, Dr. George McDonald, the former president of the Museum of Civilization and Miss Madeleine DionStout, a First Nations woman and Indian residential school survivor.

The selection committee sought artwork that, among other things, honoured the First Nations, Inuit and Métis children that attended Indian residential schools and depicted the concept of reconciliation between aboriginal and non-aboriginal Canadians. The minister said the committee unanimously recommended that the artwork submitted by Métis artist Christi Belcourt be chosen as the design for the stained glass window. And we are pleased that some members of the selection committee will be joining us today. I would like to invite Miss Madeleine Dion Stout to say a few words on the committee's behalf.

Madeleine Dion Stout: (In native language). Honoured peoples of this territory, honourable members, distinguished guests, hello everyone. Christi Belcourt is a Métis visual artist who lives and paints life as a ceremony. The only way to introduce Christi is to embed her creative genius into Giniigaaniimenaaning a stained glass window in front of you and behind me. It means to look far ahead, and to look into Christi's creative genius, we need to look at it and her in four directions.

Christi and her artwork are manifest in the east (native language) where grandfather, the sun, rises. It is here where creatures comfort. Little ones cradled in rightful arms, old ones rock, starlit heavens and voices chant the strings of transformative failures, that is (native language). This means good turns from changing fortunes, the way residential school legacy was and is. Like Christi, her artwork reaches rarefied heights in the south (native language), where grandfather, the sun, is at its peak. Both break the day in two and the night by half, just shy of amulets for good medicine. Here peace sounds out its depths. The lodge is blood red and each side is a faithful reflection of the other. Like her artwork, Christi's spirit is traceable in the west, (native language), where grandfather, the sun sets. Here the colours fade, statements cease, hearts break and moments die. Yet this heavy cross yields to the people the aurora borealis and the olive branch. Christi and her artwork find expression in the north, (native language), the homing force of grandfather, the sun.

2008 is the monumental year of the apology. It is to look no more at the residential school legacy, but it is to look to less at it. This stunning permanent installation will impress everyone who passes through these rarefied halls and educate anyone who studies and learns at least three of its original instructions. First, (in native language), giveaways are all enriching. Second, (words in native language), takeaways offer communion again. Third, (in native language), regifting secures and sustains the future.

Her proud parents, Tony Belcourt and Judith Pierce-Martin, were the first to witness – were the first to bear witness to Christi's birth as an artist. Thank you, Christi, for your portrayal of lives lived. Canada thanks you, the world thanks you. Hiy Hiy – Merci Beaucoup.

Date modified:

Cérémonie de dévoilement du vitrail - Madeleine Dion Stout - Membre du comité de sélection

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription : Madeleine Dion Stout – Membre du comité de sélection

Greg Rickford : Merci, l'aînée Gordon. Pour choisir le concept de l'oeuvre qui a été transposé en vitrail, on a formé un comité rassemblant des anciens élèves des pensionnats, des survivants des pensionnats et des experts en art autochtone. Le comité était présidé par M. Stephen Inglis, directeur général de l'Institut culturel cri Aanischaaukamikw et professeur adjoint en histoire de l'art à l'Université Carleton. Les autres membres du comité étaient, M. Douglas Cardinal, métis, anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et architecte de renommée mondiale; Mme Heather Igloliorte, historienne en art inuit et conservatrice pour plusieurs grandes expositions, dont l'exposition itinérante Nous étions si loin de la Fondation autochtone de l'espoir; M. George McDonald, ancien président du Musée canadien des civilisations; et Mme Madeleine Dion Stout, une femme des Premières Nations et une survivante des pensionnats indiens.

Le comité de sélection était à la recherche d'une œuvre d'art qui, entre autres, rendrait hommage aux enfants des Premières Nations, inuits et métis qui ont fréquenté les pensionnats indiens et illustrerait le concept la réconciliation entre les Canadiens d'origine autochtone et non autochtone. Le ministre a indiqué que le comité avait retenu à l'unanimité le concept présenté par l'artiste métisse Christi Belcourt. Et nous sommes heureux que certains membres du comité de sélection se soient joints à nous aujourd'hui. J'invite maintenant Mme Madeleine Dion Stout à prononcer quelques mots au nom du comité.

Madeleine Dion Stout : (En langue autochtone). Distingués habitants de ce territoire, honorables députés, distingués invités, bonjour tout le monde. Christi Belcourt est une artiste métisse en arts visuels et elle peint la vie comme elle peindrait une cérémonie. Le seul moyen de présenter Christi est de montrer le génie créatif qui habite Giniigaaniimenaaning, le vitrail qui se trouve derrière moi et devant vos yeux. Le titre du vitrail signifie « regard vers l'avenir », et pour saisir le génie de Christi, il faut regarder le vitrail et l'artiste sous quatre angles.

Christi et son œuvre se manifestent à l'est (langue autochtone), là où se lève le grand-père soleil. C'est là que les créatures trouvent le réconfort. Les petites créatures se blottissent dans des bras réconfortants alors que les plus vieilles, les roches, les étoiles et les voix chantent le récit d'échecs qui ont transformé le monde, qui est (mots en langue autochtone). Cela signifie un vent de changement, des séquelles des pensionnats indiens au passé et au présent. À l'image de Christi, ses œuvres atteignent de rares sommets dans le sud (langue autochtone), où le grand-père soleil est à son midi. Les deux séparent le jour en deux et divisent la nuit de moitié, il ne manque que des amulettes médicinales. Ici, la paix résonne profondément. Le pavillon est rouge sang et chaque côté est un reflet fidèle de l'autre. Comme son oeuvre, l'esprit de Christi est facile à repérer dans l'ouest, (langue autochtone), là où se couche le grand-père soleil. Ici, les couleurs s'évanouissent, les déclarations prennent fin, les cœurs se brisent et les moments s'arrêtent. Tout de même, cette lourde croix donne aux peuples les aurores boréales et la branche d'olivier. Christi et son œuvre trouvent leur essence dans le Nord, (langue autochtone), là où se trouve la force du grand-père soleil.

L'année 2008 est l'année très importante des excuses. Il ne s'agit pas de se pencher davantage sur les séquelles des pensionnats indiens, mais de s'en éloigner. Le saisissant vitrail permanent impressionnera tous ceux qui passeront en ces lieux et enrichira tous ceux qui se pencheront sur au moins trois de ses commandements originaux. Premièrement, (langue autochtone), donner enrichit toujours. Deuxièmement, (langue autochtone), la réflexion permet de communier à nouveau. Troisièmement, (langue autochtone), redonner permet d'assurer un avenir viable.

Ses fiers parents, Tony Belcourt et Judith Pierce-Martin, ont été les premiers à voir, les premiers à assister à la naissance de Christi en tant qu'artiste. Merci, Christi, d'avoir illustré les vies des survivants. Merci, Canada, le monde te remercie. Hiy Hiy – Merci beaucoup.

Date de modification :