Stained Glass Window Dedication Ceremony - Honourable Andrew Scheer, Speaker of the House of Commons

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Honourable Andrew Scheer, Speaker of the House of Commons

John Duncan: It's my honour to hereby present the stained glass window to my colleague, the Honourable Andrew Scheer, Speaker of the House of Commons. Please help me welcome Andrew Scheer to say a few words.

Hon. Andrew Scheer: Good morning everyone, Minister, parliamentary colleagues, elders, distinguished guests a particular welcome to the Honourable Peter Milliken who was speaker at the time of the Apology and had the distinct honour of presiding over the committee of the whole proceedings. We've got a very auspicious day with this beautiful sunlight coming through the stained glass. We couldn't have ordered it any better if we tried. It's an honour to welcome you here, to this artwork to commemorate the legacy of Indian Residential Schools through the permanent installation of the stained glass window.

Giving and accepting an apology is a powerful event, ever the more so when it is given and accepted on the floor of the House of Commons. While an apology is not an eraser or removes scars or allow us to forget the past, it does serve to begin a process of healing, a process of reconciliation and allows us to move beyond our past together. It is this spirit and feelings which are shown in Christi Belcourt's artwork. This is with this spirit that this artwork by Christi Belcourt looks at the future was presented today at the Parliament here.

Our parliament buildings are rich with reference to our shared history and to symbols of our growth as a country and as a people. These references and symbols tells a story, a Canadian story. I'm sure that as parliamentarians, visitors, government officials, journalists, all the visitors and staff as they pass by this window will have an opportunity to pause and reflect on the significance of the events that are commemorated therein. It is indeed my honour on behalf of all members of the House of Commons, parliamentarians, indeed all Canadians, to accept this worthy addition to our parliament buildings and our heritage. Thank you, merci.

Date modified:

Cérémonie de dévoilement du vitrail - L'honorable Andrew Scheer, président de la Chambre des communes

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription : L'honorable Andrew Scheer, président de la Chambre des communes

John Duncan : Il s'agit pour moi d'un honneur de présenter le vitrail à mon collègue, l'honorable Andrew Scheer, président de la Chambre des communes. Je vous prie d'accueillir chaleureusement M. Scheer, qui prononcera maintenant quelques mots.

L'honorable Andrew Scheer : Bonjour à tous, Monsieur le ministre, aînés, et un bonjour spécial à l'honorable Peter Milliken, président de la Chambre des communes lors de la présentation des excuses, qui a également eu l'honneur de présider le Comité pendant tout le processus. Aujourd'hui est une journée qui augure bien, alors que les rayons du soleil traversent le vitrail. Nous n'aurions pu demander mieux. C'est un honneur pour moi de vous accueillir pour inaugurer ce vitrail, une véritable oeuvre d'art commémorant les séquelles des pensionnats indiens.

Présenter des excuses, et les voir acceptées, est un événement émouvant, encore plus lorsqu'il y a lieu à la Chambre des communes. Bien que les excuses n'effacent ni les cicatrices ni le passé, elles marquent le début d'un processus de guérison, d'un processus de réconciliation, et nous permettent de voir au-delà du passé, ensemble. Ce sont cet esprit et ces sentiments qui traduisent si admirablement l'oeuvre de Christi Belcourt. Et c'est dans cet esprit que l'œuvre de Christi Belcourt, qui jette un regard sur l'avenir, est inaugurée aujourd'hui au Parlement.

Les édifices du Parlement font amplement référence à notre histoire commune ainsi qu'aux symboles de notre émergence en tant que pays et en tant que peuple. Ces références et ces symboles racontent une histoire : l'histoire canadienne. Je suis persuadé que les membres du Parlement, les visiteurs, les représentants du gouvernement, les journalistes, les visiteurs et tout le personnel du Parlement qui passeront devant le vitrail prendront le temps de faire une pause et de réfléchir à l'importance des événements qu'il commémore. C'est vraiment un honneur pour moi, au nom de tous les membres de la Chambre des communes, des parlementaires ainsi que de tous les Canadiens, d'accepter cet ajout aux édifices du Parlement et à notre patrimoine. Thank you. Merci.

Date de modification :