Stained Glass Window Dedication Ceremony - The Honourable John Duncan

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: The Honourable John Duncan

Greg Rickford: Ladies and gentlemen, now I'm pleased to introduce the minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, the Honourable John Duncan, to offer a few remarks. Thank you, John.

Hon. John Duncan: Thank you very much, Greg. Elders, Mr. Speaker, invited guests, ladies and gentlemen, good morning and welcome. It's my great honour and privilege to join you here today on Algonquin traditional territory for this dedication ceremony. It was just over a year ago last October that I announced that the government of Canada would commemorate the legacy of Indian residential schools through the permanent installation of stained glass artwork in Centre Block.

This past June, on the 4th anniversary of the Prime Minister's historic Apology to former students of Indian residential schools, I had the pleasure of unveiling the artwork of renowned Métis artist Christi Belcourt which was unanimously selected to be translated into stained glass and installed here in the House of Commons. Since June, Ms. Belcourt has worked in close collaboration with Vision Art Glass Studio on the translation of her design into a stained glass window. Together they have created this stunning window we see before us today. Behind me, before you, a profound and moving piece of art. This window is an extraordinary artistic achievement. So thank you, Christi. I'm honoured to participate in the official dedication of this stained glass window.

The primary purpose of the window is to honour the First Nations, Inuit and Métis children who attended Indian residential schools as well as their families and communities who were impacted by this schools' legacy, and for this reason, I would like to acknowledge the former Indian residential school students who are here with us today, some of whom have traveled great distances from across the country to join with us. Through the official dedication of this window, we honour your experiences and ensure they are never forgotten.

I would also like to thank the Speaker of the House of Commons, Mr. Andrew Scheer. Your support for this project ensures that the window will be on display in this prominent location for generations to come. The window will encourage parliamentarians and the hundreds of thousands of annual visitors to Parliament Hill to learn about the history of Indian residential schools and Canada's reconciliation efforts. All Canadians will be able to visit the window and learn about the story it tells for years to come.

The window is a beautiful and powerful reminder of the lessons learned from the residential schools experience. It provides us with an enduring reminder of past mistakes to ensure they're never repeated. It also provides a glimpse into a future where mutual respect and understanding form the basis of a new relationship between aboriginal and non-aboriginal Canadians.

Date modified:

Cérémonie de dévoilement du vitrail - L'honorable John Duncan

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription : L'honorable John Duncan

Greg Rickford : Mesdames et messieurs, je suis ravi de vous présenter le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, l'honorable John Duncan, qui prononcera quelques mots. Merci, John.

L'honorable John Duncan : Merci beaucoup, Greg. Aînés, M. le Président, distingués invités, mesdames et messieurs, bon matin et bienvenue. C'est un grand honneur et un privilège d'être ici avec vous aujourd'hui à l'occasion de cette cérémonie d'inauguration en territoire traditionnel algonquin. Il y a à peine plus d'un an, en octobre dernier, j'ai annoncé que le gouvernement du Canada commémorerait les séquelles des pensionnats indiens en installant un vitrail permanent dans l'édifice du Centre.

En juin dernier, à l'occasion du 4e anniversaire des excuses historiques que le premier ministre a présentées aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, j'ai eu l'honneur de dévoiler le concept de l'artiste métisse Christi Belcourt, qui a été retenu à l'unanimité pour être reproduit en vitrail et installé ici, à la Chambre des communes. Depuis juin, Mme Belcourt a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les artisans de l'atelier Vision Art Glass Studio pour transposer son concept en un vitrail. Ensemble, ils ont créé le magnifique vitrail que nous admirons aujourd'hui. Derrière moi et devant vos yeux se trouve une oeuvre d'art profonde et touchante. Merci, Christi. C'est un honneur pour moi de participer à l'inauguration officielle du vitrail.

Le vitrail a d'abord été conçu pour rendre hommage aux enfants des Premières Nations, inuits et métis qui ont fréquenté les pensionnats indiens ainsi qu'à leurs familles et à leurs collectivités, sur qui les pensionnats ont laissé des séquelles. C'est pourquoi j'aimerais souligner la présence d'anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens parmi nous aujourd'hui, dont certains sont venus de loin pour assister à la cérémonie. En inaugurant officiellement le vitrail, nous commémorons vos expériences et veillons à ce qu'elles ne sombrent jamais dans l'oubli.

Je tiens également à remercier le président de la Chambre des communes, M. Andrew Scheer. Grâce à votre appui, Monsieur le président, le vitrail occupera un emplacement bien visible pour les générations à venir. Le vitrail incitera les membres du Parlement et les centaines de milliers de personnes qui visitent le Parlement chaque année à en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire des pensionnats indiens et sur les gestes de réconciliation posés par le Canada. Au fil des prochaines années, les Canadiens pourront venir admirer le vitrail et apprendre l'histoire qu'il raconte.

Le vitrail est un rappel magnifique et puissant des leçons que nous avons tirées de l'épisode des pensionnats indiens. Il rappelle, de manière durable, les erreurs du passé afin qu'elles ne soient jamais répétées. Le vitrail offre également un aperçu de l'avenir : le respect et la compréhension mutuels sont les fondements d'une nouvelle relation entre les Canadiens d'origine autochtone et non autochtone.

Date de modification :