Stained Glass Window Dedication Ceremony - First Nation Elder Annie Smith-St. George

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: First Nation Elder Annie Smith-St. George

Greg Rickford: To begin our ceremony, I would like to welcome elder Annie Smith-St. George, a traditional Algonquin elder. Raised on the Kitigan Zibi Reserve, elder Smith-St. George has played an important role in other ceremonies for sure, related to the Indian residential schools, having offered prayers in Parliament on the occasion of the prime minister's apology to former students and their families, as well as the relaunching of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission at Rideau Hall and the June 11th unveiling of the design for this window. We're delighted to have elder Smith-St. George here today to lead us in an opening prayer. (In French).

Elder Annie Smith-St. George: Kwekwe, Annie Smith-St. George, (in native language). Welcome elders, special guests, Chiefs, Ministers, leaders, every special guest here in the room, to be here, I'm honoured to be here. Welcome on the territory of the Algonquin Nation, the land of my ancestors. It is – what a special day to be able to have – it's a historic day for us. It's a step towards – it's one more step for recognition of our people. It is my pleasure to be here today a great honour to open on this historical occasion for the survivors and to commemorate those who are gone, to speak about them on their behalf.

As we start an event, an occasion, and especially this event, we always start, it's our way of life to start with a prayer and always thank the Creator (words in native language) for giving us an opportunity to be here together. What a special gift, that who brought you safely to the land of our ancestors, the Anishnabeg Algonquin Nation. I thank the Creator for this beautiful day and the beautiful gift of people giving arts, the possibility of the art form that we have and this will give in memory of the people who are gone and I ask the Creator to help us (words in native language), so that we can move forward in the healing and to be able to move forward and be proud for the generations of our people, the children, the unborn, so that they will have a better life and a better life for years in Canada. (In native language). We're the first people of this country and we want our children to our heads high and not walk in low as we live today. I ask the Creator to guide us with strength and to help us and to give us that physical, the emotional, the mental and the spiritual strength to continue our walk and to be able to speak on behalf of the unborn. Miigwetch (In native language) Miigwetch.

Date modified:

Cérémonie de dévoilement du vitrail - L'aînée autochtone Annie Smith-St. George

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription : L'aînée autochtone Annie Smith-St. George

Greg Rickford : Pour commencer la cérémonie, je souhaite la bienvenue à l'aînée Annie Smith-St. George, une aînée de la tradition algonquine. Élevée dans la réserve de Kitigan Zibi, Mme Smith-St. George a joué un rôle important dans d'autres cérémonies liées aux pensionnats indiens. En effet, elle a fait une prière lorsque le premier ministre a présenté ses excuses aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et à leurs familles en plus de participer au nouveau lancement de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation à Rideau Hall ainsi qu'à la cérémonie de dévoilement du concept du vitrail tenue le 11 juin dernier. Nous sommes ravis que Mme Smith-St. George soit ici ce matin pour prononcer une prière d'ouverture. Nous sommes heureux que Mme Smith-St. George soit avec nous pour la prière de ce matin.

Aînée Annie Smith-St. George : Kwekwe, Annie Smith-St. George (langue autochtone). Bienvenue aînés, invités spéciaux, chefs, ministres, dirigeants, tous les invités d'honneur qui êtes ici aujourd'hui. Je suis honorée d'être ici. Bienvenue en territoire algonquin, la terre de mes ancêtres. C'est… quelle journée spéciale… C'est un jour historique pour nous. Il s'agit d'une étape, d'une autre étape, vers la reconnaissance de nos peuples. Je suis heureuse d'être ici aujourd'hui, c'est un grand honneur d'ouvrir cet événement historique pour les survivants et de commémorer ceux qui ne sont plus, de parler d'eux en leur nom.

Au début d'un événement, d'une cérémonie, particulièrement de cet événement, nous commençons toujours, c'est dans nos traditions, par une prière et nous remercions le Créateur (mots en langue autochtone) de nous avoir donné la chance de nous réunir. Quel présent spécial, que vous soyez ici, sains et saufs, sur les terres de nos ancêtres, la Nation algonquine anishnabeg. Je remercie le Créateur pour cette magnifique journée et le don des arts, pour les possibilités que ces derniers offrent, et pour le cadeau que nous offrons en mémoire des disparus. Je demande aussi au Créateur de nous aider (mots en langue autochtone) afin que nous puissions guérir, aller de l'avant et être fiers pour les descendants de notre peuple, pour les enfants, pour ceux qui naîtront, afin qu'ils jouissent d'une meilleure vie pour des années encore au Canada. (Mots en langue autochtone). Nous sommes les premiers peuples de ce pays et nous tenons à ce que nos enfants marchent la tête haute plutôt de faire profil bas, comme nous le faisons aujourd'hui. Je demande au Créateur de nous guider et de nous donner la force physique, émotionnelle, psychologique et spirituelle de continuer notre chemin et de parler au nom de ceux à naître. Miigwetch (mots en langue autochtone) Miigwetch.

Date de modification :