Income Assistance: Active Measures: What are People Saying?

British Columbia:

“For the individuals, some of our band members took this experience and got lasting jobs with our forestry department. I would encourage other communities to take up this [the Active Measures] program. And really plan and think creatively for something to enrich your community.”
Chief Jonathan Kruger, Penticton Indian Band

“With Active Measures, we entered into a whole new philosophy around our IA recipients, helping them to achieve their goals in increments designed to bolster their self-esteem, which helps them become attuned to forward motion and craving lives and new possibilities.”
Samantha Kaji, Manager of Community Development Stó:lō Nation

Saskatchewan:

“Funding support for the FHETC programming and operations is flexible enough to provide “pre-employment” programming for clients as required supporting their individual needs in preparing for the workforce. First Nations Income Support Workers, Employment Officers, Employment Agencies and Tribal Councils come together to learn from each other, share best practices, measure success and discuss innovative means to lessen the gap between welfare and employment. This increased participation and demand for training and employment is a very positive trend that makes the File Hills Employment and Training Center a valuable community service for years to come.”
Joan Bellegarde, Manager File Hills Employment and Training Center, Balcarres

Alberta:

"The best thing about what I do is when a person gets a job you can see hope and pride in their eyes. It makes it all worthwhile.”
Theresa Houle, Social Director, Paul First Nation

“In 2006, our Expected to Work category alone had 171 clients. We now have between 78 and 98 clients in total for both income assistance categories. This is a direct result of Driftpile embracing active measures, partnerships and integration.”
Connie Snelling-Giroux, Social Director, Driftpile Cree Nation

“Our Nation has always enjoyed a strong work-oriented culture; hard work and contribution is at the heart of our identity and is the key to overall health and well being of Samson. Active Measures has been integral to our development in this area. Samson has placed a priority on the mobilization and development of our workforce to take advantage of the immense opportunity that is here in Alberta. Through resources and supports such as Active Measures and Income Assistance Reform our people can move from dependency and live meaningful and productive lives.”
Councilor Derek Bruno, Samson Cree Nation

"Active Measures helps to promote independence by holding people accountable and responsible for their actions. That coupled with training initiatives and supports truly allows leadership in the community to prepare opportunities for members to find sustainable training, education and work both on and off reserve.”
Chief Gadwa, Kehewin First Nation

"As a Recruitment Manager, it is always a challenge to find available, competent, reliable and qualified workers, especially for our camp-based work in places like Fort McMurray. As a result, I am always looking for new pools of talent to pull from. This is where our relationship with local Aboriginal groups has come into play. By working with these groups, we have found a relatively untapped source of qualified workers to offer employment to. It really has become a win-win situation for both the workers and NACG. It is a partnership that we plan to continue, and hopefully, build upon.”
Mateo Tamano, North American Construction Group

"Louis Bull Tribe supports and is involve with Active Measures Initiative. Louis Bull Tribe supports an initiative that will move our membership to be a prosperous community, to decrease dependency and move forward to Employment opportunities and enter the Alberta labour pool.”
Chief Rusty Threefingers, Louis Bull Tribe

"Over the past 3.5 years PTI Group has embraced Aboriginal inclusion. We have formed partnerships with First Nations and Métis in many parts of Canada. We have entered into training initiatives with them where PTI hires the graduates of the programs. The feedback I have received both from our remote Lodges and at our factories is that the hand skills and work ethic of our new young Aboriginal employees is excellent. As of December 31, 2012 our total Aboriginal employment was 268 individuals with participation rate of 9.2% of our total workforce. These programs would not have been possible in part from the financial support of AANDC and ASETS holders. I commend the Minister to increasing this type of funding to First Nations. From our experience it has and will continue to make a significant impact in actively engaging Aboriginal people in Canada's workforce.”
Stephen Crocker, PTI Group Inc.

"The active measures program will bring real change in your life to get a job and keep a job. It will change your outlook on life, and will take care of you. The investments are important.”
Chief Rose Laboucan, Driftpile First Nation

"AANDC's "Active Measures" initiative recognizes the importance of working collaboratively through partnerships which will ultimately assist individuals in transitioning from dependency to employment. Through flexible programming, Active Measures can support industry demands and meet emerging opportunities which will allow for ongoing Aboriginal inclusion in the workforce. This programming which targets essential skills, transitional supports and career planning will improve employment outcomes for First Nations people and this is fundamentally important to us all and our economy more broadly.”
Catherine Pennington, Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipelines

“Active Measures has opened doors for low income families to actively participate in employment and training opportunities while allowing the Nation to establish meaningful partnerships with various levels of government and industry.”
Councilor Carl Bird, Paul First Nation

“It is important that active measures is focused on the youth in our community and focuses on their readiness to enter the workforce. It is important to focus on developing the skills of the members on assistance; however, it is equally important to find a way to help them be able to apply these skills in a work environment. Social Workers need to have a good understanding of the skills required for employment opportunities that are in the community and surrounding area; these types of training for the Social Workers will help them better assist their clients.”
Chief James Ahnassay, Dene Tha' First Nation

“Whitefish Lake First Nation No.128 takes this opportunity to acknowledge AANDC's Active Measures Initiative geared to assist in mobilizing our community members to access and participate in job skilled training and employment programs. It is our collective mandate to reduce our community dependency on in-come support to provide job entry and skilled labour opportunities to our membership. Through an internal stakeholder driven approach, we have been able to maximize and collapse our allocation of funding by AANDC to enable us to engage in the lateral planning as a best practice initiative as we continue to engage in developmental dialogue and negotiations with Industry, Province and AANDC. With Active Measures, we have been able to raise the bar and establish best practice and planning innovation as we move forward in developing strategic targets in our employment training programs.”
Chief James Jackson Jr. and Ed Cardinal, Nation Administrator, Whitefish Lake First Nation No. 128

“On behalf of O'Chiese First Nation we would like to send our support towards the new AANDC Active Measures Initiative and Income Assistance Reform. The O'Chiese First Nation has prepared for the Active Measures by applying and becoming a healthy, economically, sustainable Cultural Community. It is through a vision of planning that has been practiced by the Nation that has brought forth a Strategic Plan to move forward for a better tomorrow.”
Chief Darren Whitford and Council Members, O'Chiese First Nation

Manitoba:

"Our youth truly have been given a hand-up by the Active Measures program. In particular, Swampy Cree Tribal Council's innovative Motivational Interviewing and Stages of Change program is indeed motivating and guiding youth to not only make changes, but be the change in their communities. Our youth are leading the way today, by taking ownership of their future now, through active measures.”
Grand Chief Michael G Constant, Swampy Cree Tribal Council

Aide au revenu : Mesures actives. Qu'en disent les gens?

Colombie–Britannique :

«Sur le plan individuel, certains des membres de notre bande en ont fait l'expérience et ont obtenu des emplois durables au sein de notre service de foresterie. Je conseille aux autres collectivités d'adopter ce programme [des mesures actives] et de vraiment planifier et trouver des moyens novateurs pour enrichir votre collectivité.»
Chef Jonathan Kruger, bande indienne de Penticton

«Grâce aux mesures actives, nous avons une toute nouvelle philosophie relativement à nos bénéficiaires de l'aide au revenu. Nous les aidons à atteindre leurs buts par étapes et à stimuler leur estime personnelle, ce qui leur permet de s'habituer à aller de l'avant et à désirer profondément changer leur vie et profiter de nouvelles possibilités.»
Samantha Kaji, gestionnaire du développement communautaire, Nation Stó:lō

Saskatchewan :

«Le financement du programme FHETC et de ses activités est suffisamment souple pour qu'on puisse organiser des programmes “préalables à l'emploi” adaptés aux clients et à leurs besoins individuels pour les préparer à participer au marché du travail. Les travailleurs du soutien au revenu des Premières Nations, les agents d'emploi et les agences de placement des Premières Nations ainsi que les conseils tribaux se coordonnent pour apprendre les uns des autres, partager des pratiques exemplaires et parler de solutions novatrices afin de resserrer l'écart entre l'aide sociale et l'emploi. Cette hausse de la participation et de la demande de formation et d'emplois est une tendance très positive qui fera du File Hills Employment and Training Center un service très utile pour la collectivité pendant les années à venir.»
Joan Bellegarde, gestionnaire, File Hills Employment and Training Center, Balcarres

Alberta :

«Ce qu'il y a de mieux dans mon travail, c'est de voir de l'espoir et de la fierté dans les yeux d'une personne qui obtient un emploi. Cela en vaut donc vraiment la peine.»
Theresa Houle, directrice sociale, Première Nation de Paul

«En 2006, notre catégorie Aptes au travail comptait à elle seule 171 clients. Nous avons maintenant entre 78 et 98 clients au total pour les deux catégories de l'aide au revenu. C'est le résultat direct de la participation de Driftpile aux mesures actives, aux partenariats et à l'intégration.»
Connie Snelling-Giroux, directrice sociale, Nation crie de Driftpile

«La culture de notre Nation a toujours été résolument axée sur le travail; le travail inlassable et la contribution sont au cœur de notre identité et sont la clé de la santé et du bien–être de Samson. Les mesures actives ont joué un rôle central dans notre développement dans ce domaine. Samson a donné la priorité à la mobilisation et au perfectionnement de sa main–d'œuvre afin de profiter des débouchés considérables qui existent, ici, en Alberta. Grâce aux ressources et aux dispositifs de soutien comme les mesures actives et la réforme de l'aide au revenu, nos membres peuvent se libérer de la dépendance et mener une vie valorisante et productive.»
Conseiller Derek Bruno, Nation crie de Samson

«Les mesures actives permettent de promouvoir l'indépendance en rendant les gens responsables de leurs actes. Ces mesures, complétées par les initiatives de formation et les mesures de soutien, permettent véritablement aux dirigeants de la collectivité de donner à ses membres les moyens de trouver des formations, des programmes d'études et des emplois durables, à la fois à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la réserve.»
Gadwa, Première Nation de Kehewin

«En tant que gestionnaire du recrutement, trouver des travailleurs disponibles, compétents, fiables et qualifiés a toujours constitué un défi, surtout pour travailler dans des camps, à des endroits comme à Fort McMurray. Je suis donc toujours à la recherche de nouveaux bassins de recrutement de personnes de talent. C'est donc là que nos relations avec les groupes autochtones locaux entrent en jeu. En travaillant avec ces groupes, nous avons trouvé une source de travailleurs qualifiés relativement inutilisée, travailleurs auxquels nous pouvons offrir des emplois. C'est réellement devenu une situation où nous sommes tous gagnants, les travailleurs et NACG. C'est un partenariat que nous prévoyons continuer et que nous espérons développer.»
Mateo Tamano, NorthAmerican Construction Group

«La Tribu de Louis Bull soutient l'initiative des mesures actives et y participe. Nous soutenons cette initiative parce qu'elle fera évoluer nos membres pour que nous devenions une collectivité prospère, qu'elle les rendra moins dépendants et qu'elle leur fera saisir les possibilités d'emploi et rejoindre le bassin des travailleurs de l'Alberta.»
Chef Rusty Threefingers, Tribu de Louis Bull

«Cela fait trois ans et demi que PTI Group pratique une politique d'intégration des Autochtones. Nous avons noué des partenariats avec les Premières Nations et les Métis dans de nombreuses régions du Canada. Nous avons participé à des initiatives de formation avec eux et embauché les diplômés de ces programmes. J'ai reçu une excellente rétroaction de nos résidences éloignées, comme de nos usines, qui m'ont dit que l'habileté manuelle et l'éthique du travail de nos jeunes employés autochtones sont excellentes. En date du 31 décembre 2012, nous employions au total 268 Autochtones, soit un taux de participation de 9,2 % à notre main–d'œuvre totale. Ces programmes n'auraient pas été possibles sans le soutien financier d'AADNC et des signataires d'entente de la SFCEA, entre autres. Je félicite le ministre d'avoir haussé ce type de financement pour les Premières Nations. Dans notre expérience, son effet a été et continuera d'être important pour faire participer activement les Autochtones à la population active du Canada.»
Stephen Crocker, PTI Group Inc.

«Le programme des mesures actives changera vraiment votre vie en vous permettant d'obtenir un emploi et de le garder. Il changera votre attitude face à la vie et agira dans votre intérêt. Ces investissements sont importants.»
Chef Rose Laboucan, Première Nation de Driftpile

«L'initiative des mesures actives d'AADNC est fondée sur l'importance de la collaboration dans le cadre de partenariats qui, au bout du compte, aident les personnes à gérer la transition de la dépendance vers l'emploi. Grâce à leur souplesse, les mesures actives peuvent répondre aux besoins de l'industrie et à des possibilités émergentes, ce qui permettra d'intégrer de façon continue les Autochtones à la main–d'œuvre. Ces programmes qui ciblent les compétences essentielles, les mesures de soutien de la transition et la gestion de carrière amélioreront l'emploi des membres des Premières Nations et sont d'une importance fondamentale pour nous tous et, plus généralement, pour notre économie.»
Catherine Pennington, Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipelines

«Les mesures actives ont ouvert des portes aux familles à faible revenu en leur permettant de saisir des possibilités d'emploi et de participer activement à des formations, tout en permettant à la Nation de nouer des partenariats productifs avec plusieurs ordres de gouvernement et avec l'industrie.»
Conseiller Carl Bird, Première Nation de Paul

«Il est important que les mesures actives soient axées sur les jeunes de notre collectivité et sur leur état de préparation à se joindre au marché du travail. Il est important de perfectionner en priorité les compétences de nos membres qui perçoivent l'aide au revenu, mais il est tout aussi important de trouver le moyen de les aider à appliquer ces compétences dans un milieu de travail. Les travailleurs sociaux doivent bien connaître les compétences à posséder pour saisir les possibilités d'emploi qui existent dans notre collectivité et dans ses environs. Ces types de formations destinées aux travailleurs sociaux leur permettront de mieux aider leurs clients.»
Chef James Ahnassay, Première Nation des Dénés Tha'

«La Première Nation de Whitefish Lake no 128 saisit cette occasion pour témoigner de l'efficacité de l'initiative des mesures actives d'AADNC qui vise à mobiliser les membres de notre collectivité pour qu'ils participent à des programmes de formation professionnelle et d'emploi. Notre mandat collectif consiste à réduire la dépendance de notre collectivité à l'aide au revenu et à offrir à nos membres des emplois d'intégration professionnelle et des emplois qualifiés. En adoptant une approche dirigée par les intervenants internes, nous avons réussi à optimiser et à ventiler le financement qu'AADNC nous octroie, ce qui nous a permis de mettre en œuvre la pratique exemplaire de la planification latérale, en continuant de participer à un dialogue et à des négociations sur le développement avec l'industrie, la province et AADNC. Grâce aux mesures actives, nous avons pu relever la barre, mettre en œuvre une pratique exemplaire et innover dans la planification en avançant sur la voie de la définition d'objectifs stratégiques pour nos programmes de formation à l'emploi.»
Chef James Jackson Jr. et Ed Cardinal, administrateur de nation, Première Nation de Whitefish Lake no 128

«Au nom de la Première Nation d'O'Chiese, nous souhaitons exprimer notre soutien de la nouvelle initiative des mesures actives et de la réforme de l'aide au revenu d'AADNC. La Première Nation d'O'Chiese s'est préparée aux mesures actives en se portant volontaire pour les mettre en œuvre et en devenant une collectivité culturelle saine, viable au plan économique et durable. C'est grâce à une vision de la planification adoptée par la Nation que nous avons conçu un plan stratégique pour aller de l'avant vers un avenir meilleur.»
Chef Darren Whitford et membres du conseil, Première Nation d'O'Chiese

Manitoba :

«Le programme des mesures actives a vraiment donné un coup de main à nos jeunes. Plus particulièrement, le programme novateur, comprenant des entrevues de motivation et des étapes du changement, du Conseil tribal de Swampy Cree motive et guide véritablement nos jeunes, non seulement pour qu'ils changent, mais aussi pour qu'ils fassent évoluer leurs collectivités. Nos jeunes montrent la voie à suivre aujourd'hui, en prenant leur avenir en main dès maintenant, grâce aux mesures actives.»
Grand chef Michael G. Constant, Conseil tribal de Swampy Cree