Income Assistance: Active Measures Pilot Case Studies

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The following series of randomly selected case examples illustrate more concretely what has been accomplished during the Active Measures Pilots in terms of the employability of clients.

Case #1:
This single, middle-aged client received financial assistance from 2003 to 2006 (when she obtained full-time work); and again from 2008 to 2010.

This client only had a grade 10 education and limited literacy and communication skills. Although the client had worked at low-paying, unskilled jobs for periods, the client had family obligations that limited the client's time for personal development.

Since beginning participation, this client took part in a number of personal development programs, completed a high school diploma preparation course and managed to obtain the General Education Development (GED). With enhanced employability, the client engaged in the structured job search program and eventually found work.

Case #2:
This recipient received financial assistance through fiscal 05/06 and again from April 2008 to April 2011. The recipient has a dependent spouse and several children.

The client had a job, but suffers from back problems and can no longer do the same type of work. She was unable to find other, less physically demanding work because she lacked the education, lacked other job skills relevant in the local job market, and lacked transportation.

On the positive side, the client had definite and realistic goals, had good references and both the spouse and children were/are supportive of the recipient's desire to upgrade skills and credentials.

Since becoming a participant, the client has completed the program offered in the community under Active Measures, courses in the use of computers, life skills workshops, a program focusing on administrative assistant skills. The client is now much more employable and is looking for work while continuing to expand the scope of work-relevant, administrative skills.

Case #3:
This single client has been in receipt of financial assistance since 2009. Unlike most clients, he has a university degree, has taken practical training in a couple of fields relevant to the current job market and has considerable practical experience. The client also has solid family support.

Since beginning participation, the client has completed a number of personal development programs. He has also attended employment readiness workshops and is preparing to pursue College studies.

Case #4:
This single client has been on financial assistance since 2009. Upon entering the Program, he did not have his high school diploma and had only worked as a general labourer.

Since entering the Program, the client has completed a personal development program, obtained his high school diploma completed a specific trade course, attended a job-specific skills program and is currently completing a co-op placement which is likely to turn into a regular job.

Case #5:
This single female has been on income assistance several times since 2005. The client came to the Program with gambling, alcohol and drug addiction, grief and amongst other issues. She had low self-esteem, motivational issues, limited supportive relationships, lack of transportation and a stable place to live. In addition she required her high school diploma and required more work experience and work-relevant skills. She had legal problems during the period.

Since beginning participation in the Active Measure program, the client has completed several personal development programs and workshops. She has also earned her high school diploma, completed specific skill development programs, completed a number of community placements to gain work experience and has had some part-time paid employment. She completed the University Access Program and has been accepted into a college level program.

Case #6:
This single male has been on income assistance on and off since 2007.

This client has a record as a young offender and has been on assistance most recently since his release from jail. The client had a grade 10 education and scored low on literacy and numeracy. He has worked in construction.

Since joining the Program, the client has completed a number of personal development and skills development programs, has obtained his GED and decided to work towards and apprenticeship and eventual certification in a construction trade.

Aide au revenu : Études de cas de projets pilotes sur les mesures actives

Cette série d'exemples de cas sélectionnés de façon aléatoire illustre de façon plus concrète ce qui a été accompli pendant les projets pilotes sur les mesures actives pour l'employabilité des clients.

Cas no1 :
Cette cliente célibataire d'un certain âge a perçu l'aide au revenu de 2003 à 2006 (date à laquelle elle a obtenu un emploi à plein temps), puis, à nouveau, de 2008 à 2010.

Le niveau d'études de cette cliente ne correspondait qu'à la 10e année et ses compétences en littératie et en communication étaient limitées. Bien qu'elle ait occupé des emplois peu rémunérés et non qualifiés pendant plusieurs périodes, ses obligations familiales limitaient le temps qu'elle pouvait consacrer à son perfectionnement personnel.

Dès le début de sa participation, cette cliente a suivi plusieurs programmes de perfectionnement personnel, a terminé un cours de préparation au diplôme de formation générale et a réussi à l'obtenir. Ayant amélioré son employabilité, elle a participé à un programme de recherche d'emploi structurée et a ensuite trouvé du travail.

Cas no2 :
Cette bénéficiaire a perçu l'aide au revenu pendant l'exercice 2005‑2006 et, à nouveau d'avril 2008 à avril 2011. Elle a un conjoint et plusieurs enfants à charge.

Cette cliente avait un travail, mais, à cause de problèmes de dos, elle ne peut plus exercer le même type d'emploi. Elle n'a pas réussi à trouver un autre travail, moins exigeant physiquement, parce qu'elle manquait du niveau d'études, des compétences professionnelles pertinentes pour le marché du travail local et qu'elle n'avait pas de moyen de transport.

Du côté positif, les buts de cette cliente sont bien définis et réalistes, elle a de bonnes recommandations et son conjoint et ses enfants la soutiennent dans son désir de mettre à niveau ses compétences et ses diplômes.

Depuis le début de sa participation, la cliente a terminé le programme offert dans la collectivité dans le cadre des mesures actives, elle a suivi des formations en informatique, des ateliers en compétences sociales et un programme axé sur les compétences des adjoints administratifs. Elle est maintenant beaucoup plus employable et cherche du travail, tout en continuant à élargir ses compétences administratives.

Cas no3 :
Ce client célibataire perçoit l'aide au revenu depuis 2009. Contrairement à la majorité des clients, il est titulaire d'un diplôme universitaire, a suivi des formations pratiques dans deux domaines pertinents pour le marché du travail actuel, et son expérience pratique est considérable. Le soutien de sa famille est également fort.

Depuis le début de sa participation, ce client a terminé plusieurs programmes de perfectionnement professionnel. Il a également suivi des ateliers de préparation à l'emploi et se prépare à entreprendre des études collégiales.

Cas no4 :
Ce client célibataire perçoit l'aide au revenu depuis 2009. À son entrée dans le programme, il n'avait pas de diplôme d'études secondaires et n'avait occupé que des emplois d'ouvrier non qualifié.

Depuis le début de sa participation au programme, ce client a terminé un programme de perfectionnement personnel, a obtenu son diplôme d'études secondaires, a terminé une formation professionnelle, a suivi un programme d'acquisition de compétences propres à un emploi et effectue à l'heure actuelle un stage d'enseignement coopératif qui débouchera vraisemblablement sur un emploi stable.

Cas no5 :
Cette célibataire a perçu l'aide au revenu à plusieurs reprises depuis 2005. Lorsqu'elle a entrepris le programme, cette cliente avant une dépendance aux jeux de hasard, à l'alcool et aux drogues et était en deuil, entre autres problèmes. Son estime personnelle était basse, elle avait des problèmes de motivation, peu de soutien de la part de ses proches et elle n'avait pas de moyen de transport ni de lieu de résidence stable. De plus, elle avait besoin d'obtenir un diplôme d'études secondaires et d'acquérir plus d'expérience professionnelle et de compétences professionnelles pertinentes. Elle a aussi eu des problèmes judiciaires pendant cette période.

Depuis le début de sa participation au programme des mesures actives, cette cliente a terminé plusieurs programmes et ateliers de perfectionnement personnel. Elle a également obtenu son diplôme d'études secondaires, a suivi des programmes de perfectionnement des compétences, a effectué plusieurs stages en milieu communautaire pour acquérir une expérience professionnelle et a été employée à temps partiel. Elle a terminé le programme d'accès à l'université et a été acceptée dans un programme de niveau collégial.

Cas no6 :
Ce célibataire a perçu l'aide au revenu à plusieurs reprises depuis 2007.

Ce client a un casier judiciaire de délinquant juvénile et a perçu dernièrement l'aide au revenu depuis sa sortie de prison. Son niveau d'études ne correspondait qu'à la 10e année et il a obtenu de faibles scores en littératie et en numératie. Il a travaillé dans le domaine de la construction.

Depuis son entrée dans le programme, ce client a suivi plusieurs programmes de perfectionnement personnel et d'acquisition de compétences, a obtenu son diplôme de formation générale et a décidé de se préparer à l'apprentissage en vue d'obtenir son agrément dans un métier de la construction.