Income Assistance: Active Measures Pilot Projects (2009-2012)

The below information are examples of Active Measures projects supported by AANDC in recent years:

Atlantic Region – Income Assistance Innu Demonstration Project

In 2011-2012, a project was undertaken to help build a comprehensive income assistance service delivery infrastructure for the Innu First Nations in Labrador. The project focused on developing a team of qualified Aboriginal income assistance specialists that included Innu-Aimun speakers, who were trained to assist income assistance applicants with the application process. Income support case management software to support data collection and active measures implementation was also acquired as part of this initiative. A component of the project that entailed a partnership and collaborative work with the province of Newfoundland and Labrador is continuing.

Project Duration: 1 year or less

AANDC Contribution: $108,000

Quebec Region – Listiguj Mi'gmaq General Education Development Project

In 2009-2010 and 2010-2011, the Listiguj Mi'gmaq Government administered the General Education Development (GED) Preparation program to prepare and encourage participants, namely income assistance clients, to further their education and upgrade their skills in order to obtain and maintain meaningful employment. Personal development workshops were also delivered to encourage continuing education and to help participants acquire social and life skills such as career choice selection, budgeting, personality dimension and getting along in the work force. A total of 53 individuals participated in the program, with a significant number of participants passing all five exams. Some of the participants applied to college or university and all participants continued to develop a training plan outlining their path toward obtaining and maintaining meaningful employment in areas of their interest.

Project Duration: 2 years

AANDC Contribution: $110,000

Ontario Region – Chippewas of Nawash Intensive Training for Youth at Risk

In 2009-10, the Chippewas of Nawash ran intensive training and case management program for a significant number of youth in the community who were aged 30 and under. The objective of the program was to divert the youth from dependency on income assistance. All clients were assessed, regular meetings were held with a case worker, referrals were made and clients participated actively in the Ontario Works program. A significant number of clients were able to move from the program to full-time employment, part-time employment or education upgrading programs. The project also brought general increases in participant self-esteem and also increased a sense of belonging to the community.

Project Duration: 1 year or less

AANDC Contribution: $35,000+

Manitoba Region – Keewatin Tribal Council Partnerships for Coordinated Services Project

In 2011-12, the Keewatin Tribal Council administered the “Partnerships for Coordinated Services: Aligning Programs” project to support the implementation of active measures in First Nation communities, with an emphasis on youth. The project also supported front line workers in the use of case management, assessment and referral, through participation in community sessions. Overall, a total of 125 young income assistance clients from five First Nation communities participated in Stages of Change and Motivational Interview workshops, which constitute an active measure. Front line workers from communities were also able to learn more about the use of case management and active measures in their communities.

Project Duration: 1 year or less

AANDC Contribution: $150,000

Saskatchewan Region – Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies Career Coach Project

Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies (SIIT) unveiled two Mobile Career Assessment Units, known as “SIIT Career Coaches,” to provide career exploration, and identification of training and employment opportunities.

Each “SIIT Career Coach” is equipped with computers and office equipment. Coach career counselors are provided with living quarters as they travel across Saskatchewan meeting with First Nations people and attending community events to complete career assessments and discuss associated training opportunities. Some 3,200 career assessments have been completed in 60 communities.

Project Duration:3 years

AANDC Contribution:$2.08 million

Alberta Region – Montana First Nation Success Coach and Employment Liaison Coordinator Project

As part of the Change it Up Fast Track program, the Montana First Nation engaged a success coach and employment liaison coordinator to support income assistance clients in addressing barriers to employment, as well as to connect participants with needed services and support. The coach liaised with local employment centres to support access to services, and also worked with employers to help match income assistance clients to potential work opportunities. Subsequently, a number of program participants were able to obtain and maintain employment, and thus no longer required income support.

Project Duration: 1 year or less

AANDC Contribution: $70,000

British Columbia Region – Sto:Lo Nation Development of Integrated Case Management

In the 2009-10 fiscal year, the Sto:Lo Nation in British Columbia developed a comprehensive intake, assessment and referral process at the Yellow Cedar Learning Centre, so as to provide accurate and action planning for multi-barriered income assistance clients. This initiative was accompanied by the development of a software module to support further integrated case management of income assistance clients receiving services through the Yellow Cedar Learning Centre and Sto:Lo Nation Health Support Services. Overall, the project yielded success in supporting integrated service delivery and it also allowed for better assessment or tracking of income assistance clients.

Project Duration: 1 year or less

AANDC Contribution: $139,000+

Aide au revenu : Projets pilotes sur les mesures actives (2009-2012)

L'information qui suit porte sur des projets sur les mesures actives appuyés par AADNC au cours de ces dernières années.

Région de l'Atlantique – Projet de démonstration de l'aide au revenu des Innus

En 2011-2012, un projet a été lancé pour mettre sur pied une infrastructure exhaustive pour la prestation des services de l'aide au revenu pour les premières Nations des Innus au Labrador. Ce projet était axé sur la formation d'une équipe de spécialistes autochtones qualifiés en aide au revenu, dont certains parlent l'innu-aimun, formés pour assister les demandeurs de l'aide au revenu dans le processus de présentation des demandes. On a également acquis un logiciel de gestion de cas de l'aide au revenu pour faciliter la collecte de données et les mesures actives dans le cadre de cette initiative. Un volet du projet, pour lequel un partenariat et un travail collaboratif avec la province de Terre–Neuve–et–Labrador ont été mis en œuvre, se poursuit.

Durée du projet: 1 an ou moins

Financement d'AADNC : 108 000 dollars

Région du Québec – Projet de formation générale des Micmacs de Listiguj

En 2009-2010 et en 2010-2011, le gouvernement des Micmacs de Listiguj (site Web non disponible en français) a administré le programme de préparation à la formation générale (FG) pour préparer et motiver les participants, clients de l'aide au revenu, à poursuivre leurs études et à perfectionner leurs compétences pour obtenir et conserver des emplois valorisants. On a également animé des ateliers de perfectionnement personnel afin de promouvoir la formation continue et d'aider les participants à acquérir des compétences sociales et des connaissances de base telles que le choix d'une carrière, l'établissement d'un budget, les facteurs de la personnalité et l'entretien de bonnes relations au sein du milieu de travail. Au total, 53 personnes ont participé à ce programme, dont un nombre important ont réussi les cinq examens. Certaines d'entre elles ont présenté une demande d'admission au collège ou à l'université et tous les participants ont poursuivi l'élaboration de leur plan de formation, fondé sur leur parcours vers l'obtention et la conservation d'un emploi valorisant dans les domaines de leur choix.

Durée du projet: 2 ans

Financement d'AADNC : 110 000 dollars

Région de l'Ontario – Formation intensive pour les jeunes à risque des Chippewas de Nawash

En 2009–2010, les Chippewas de Nawash (site Web non disponible en français) ont administré un programme de formation intensive et de gestion de cas pour un grand nombre de jeunes de la collectivité âgés de 30 ans ou moins. L'objectif de ce programme consistait à libérer les jeunes de la dépendance à l'aide au revenu. On a évalué tous les clients, un agent chargé du traitement des cas les a rencontrés régulièrement, les clients ont été aiguillés et ont participé activement au programme Ontario au travail. Un nombre élevé de clients ont réussi à sortir du programme pour obtenir un emploi à temps plein, un emploi à temps partiel ou pour participer à un programme de poursuite d'études. Ce projet a également permis de hausser, de façon générale, l'estime personnelle des participants et leur sentiment d'appartenance à la collectivité.

Durée du projet: 1 an ou moins

Financement d'AADNC : 35 000 dollars+

Région du Manitoba – Partenariats du projet de coordination des services du Conseil tribal de Keewatin

En 2011-2012, le Conseil tribal de Keewatin (site Web non disponible en français) a administré le projet intitulé «Partenariats pour la coordination des services : harmonisation des programmes» pour soutenir la mise en œuvre des mesures actives dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, en mettant plus particulièrement l'accent sur les jeunes. Ce projet a également soutenu les travailleurs de première ligne dans l'utilisation de la gestion de cas, de l'évaluation et des aiguillages, grâce à des séances de travail communautaires. Au total, 125 jeunes clients de l'aide au revenu de 5 collectivités des Premières Nations ont participé aux ateliers sur les étapes du changement et sur les entrevues de motivation, ce qui constitue une mesure active. Les travailleurs de première ligne de ces collectivités se sont aussi informés sur l'utilisation de la gestion de cas et des mesures actives dans leurs collectivités.

Durée du projet: 1 an ou moins

Financement d'AADNC : 150 000 dollars

Région de la Saskatchewan – Projet d'orientation professionnelle du Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies

Le 23 juin 2009, le Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies (site Web non disponible en français) (SIIT) a dévoilé deux unités mobiles d'évaluation de carrière appelées « Unité de formation en matière de carrières du SIIT » (site Web non disponible en français) afin de fournir des services de découverte des carrières et d'information sur les possibilités de formation et d'emploi.

Chaque « Unité de formation en matière de carrières du SIIT » est équipée d'ordinateurs et de matériel de bureau. Les conseillers d'orientation professionnelle sont logés pendant leurs déplacements dans toute la Saskatchewan pour rencontrer les Premières Nations et participer à des activités communautaires afin d'évaluer des carrières et de présenter les possibilités de formation qui leur sont associées. Quelque 3 200 évaluations de carrière ont été réalisées dans 60 collectivités.

Durée du projet: 3 ans

Financement d'AADNC : 2.08 millions

Région de l'Alberta – Projet de formation à la réussite et de liaison en matière d'emploi de la Première Nation Montana

Dans le cadre du programme «Change it Up Fast Track» (Voie rapide vers le changement), la Première Nation Montana (site Web non disponible en français) a embauché une personne chargée de la formation à la réussite et une autre chargée de coordonner la liaison en matière d'emploi pour aider les clients de l'aide au revenu à vaincre les obstacles à l'emploi, ainsi que pour les mettre en relation avec les services et le soutien requis. La personne responsable de la formation à la réussite a assuré la liaison avec les centres d'emploi locaux pour favoriser l'accès aux services et a également travaillé avec les employeurs pour mettre en relation les clients de l'aide au revenu et les possibilités d'emploi éventuelles. Par la suite, plusieurs participants au programme ont pu obtenir et conserver un emploi et n'ont donc plus besoin de l'aide au revenu.

Durée du projet: 1 an ou moins

Financement d'AADNC : 70 000 dollars

Région de la Colombie–Britannique – Mise en œuvre de la gestion de cas intégrée par la Nation Sto:Lo

Pendant l'exercice 2009-2010, la Nation Sto:Lo (site Web non disponible en français) de la Colombie–Britannique a mis sur pied un processus exhaustif d'accueil, d'évaluation et d'aiguillage au Yellow Cedar Learning Centre afin d'évaluer avec rigueur les clients de l'aide au revenu faisant face à de multiples obstacles et de planifier la marche à suivre. Parallèlement à cette initiative, on a mis au point un module de logiciel afin de mieux intégrer la gestion de cas des clients de l'aide au revenu recevant des services du Yellow Cedar Learning Centre et des services de soutien en santé de la Nation Sto:Lo. Au total, ce projet a réussi à intégrer la prestation de services et a permis de mieux évaluer et de mieux suivre les clients de l'aide au revenu.

Durée du projet: 1 an ou moins

Financement d'AADNC :  139 000 dollars+