Fact Sheet

Modernization and Splitting of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Mining Regulations

Background on Canada Mining Regulations

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's Northern Affairs Organization is responsible for the management of non-renewable resources in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. In these territories, Crown lands are managed pursuant to the Territorial Lands Act and its related regulations, including the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Mining Regulations. These regulations, formerly known as the "Canada Mining Regulations" cover mineral tenure and royalties for mining production.

Completed Amendments

Royalty and leasing provisions

On December 2, 2007, the amendments to the royalty and leasing provisions of the Canada Mining Regulations came into effect. They appear as SOR/2007-273 in Part II, Vol. 141, No. 25 of the Canada Gazette under P.C. 2007-1793 – November 29, 2007. These amendments include provisions to:

  • Allocate revenues and expenses where a mine is located on a combination of Aboriginal-owned and Crown lands;
  • Allow the Minister to hold and sell mineral claims and leases acquired through insolvency or through the realization of security;
  • Clarify a number of sections related to diamond valuation and calculation of mining royalties, and
  • Change the name of the regulations to the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Mining Regulations.

Stand-alone amendments to Section 11

On July 28, 2008, amendments to sub-section 11(1)(f) came into force. These amendments prohibit prospecting and staking of a mineral claim in areas where such activities are prohibited under an approved land use plan. They ensure regulations are consistent with comprehensive land claim settlements in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

The amendments were published on August 6, 2008 as SOR/2008-240 in Part II, Vol. 142, No. 16 of the Canada Gazette under P.C. 2008-1352.

Ongoing Amendment Initiatives

Royalties related to diamond valuation

Following the recommendations of an independent review of the diamond valuation process in the current regulations, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) will initiate work on a new round of proposed amendments to the royalty provisions. The purpose of these amendments is to improve the business climate by allowing more frequent shipment of some diamond production to market.

Mineral tenure and related schedules

AANDC is working to complete proposed amendments to the mineral tenure related provisions for consultation and public comment in 2013.

These amendments will focus on the modernization of the mineral tenure system, Schedule I (fees) and Schedule II (work reporting requirements). The majority of the proposed changes will be administrative in nature, such as clarifying definitions and wording of provisions, and limiting discretionary powers of government officials. The changes to Schedule I will reflect the conversion of all measurements in the Regulations from imperial to metric units.

As well, in preparation for devolution, and to take into account the legislative differences between the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, there will be separate mining regulations for each territory. The Northwest Territories and Nunavut Mining Regulations will be replaced by two separate sets of federal regulations: the "Northwest Territories Mining Regulations" and the "NunavutMining Regulations."

Future Legislative Modernization Initiatives

The current trend in Canadian mining jurisdictions is toward more modern and automated systems of mineral rights administration, including map selection. AANDC has officially begun the Map Selection project for Nunavut, which has an expected implementation date spring/summer 2014.

For additional information please contact Dominique Quirion at: 819-997-0912

February 2013

Date modified:

Fiche d’information

Modernisation et division du règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut

Contexte au sujet du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada

L'Organisation des Affaires du Nord, d'Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada, est responsable de la gestion des ressources non renouvelables dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut. Les terres de la Couronne situées dans ces territoires sont gérées conformément à la Loi sur les terres territoriales et ses règlements connexes dont le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut. Ce règlement, connu auparavant sous le nom de « Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada », régit le régime minier et les redevances sur l'exploitation minière.

Modifications apportées

Dispositions sur les redevances et les baux

Les modifications aux dispositions sur les redevances et les baux sont entrées en vigueur le 12 décembre 2007. Elles apparaissent sous DORS/2007-273, dans la partie II, vol. 141, no. 25 de la Gazette du Canada, sous le décret P.C. 2007-1793 du 29 novembre 2007. Ces modifications établissent des dispositions qui visent à :

  • attribuer les revenus et les dépenses lorsqu'une mine est située sur une combinaison de terres appartenant aux Autochtones et à la Couronne ;
  • permettre au ministre de détenir et de vendre des claims et des baux miniers acquis par suite d'une insolvabilité ou de l'exécution d'une garantie;
  • clarifier un certain nombre d'articles relatifs à l'évaluation de diamants et au calcul des redevances minières, et
  • remplacer le nom du règlement par « Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut ».

Modifications autonomes apportées à l'article 11

Les modifications apportées au sous-alinéa 11(1)(f) sont entrées en vigueur le 28 juillet 2008. Elles interdisent la prospection et le jalonnement de claims miniers dans les zones où de telles activités sont prohibées conformément à un plan d'aménagement du territoire approuvé. Ces modifications assurent la cohérence entre le Règlement et les accords de revendications territoriales globales des Autochtones dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut.

Les modifications ont été publiées le 6 août 2008 sous DORS/2008-240, dans la partie II, vol. 142, no. 16 de la Gazette du Canada, sous le décret P.C. 2008‑1352.

Initiatives de modification en cours

Évaluation des diamants pour fins de redevances

Suite aux recommandations reçues lors d'un examen indépendant du processus d'évaluation des diamants dans le cadre de la réglementation actuelle, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) entreprendra l'élaboration d'une nouvelle série de propositions de modifications aux dispositions relatives aux redevances. Ces modifications ont pour but d'améliorer le climat des affaires en permettant l'envoi plus fréquent d'une partie de la production de diamants sur le marché.

Régime minier et annexes correspondantes

AADNC élabore actuellement des propositions de modifications aux dispositions relatives au régime minier et aux annexes correspondantes, en vue d'une consultation et d'une période de commentaires du public en 2013.

Ces modifications touchent principalement la modernisation du régime minier, l'annexe I (frais) et l'annexe II (exigences en matière de rapports sur les travaux). La majorité des modifications proposées sera de nature administrative et visera, par exemple, à clarifier les définitions et le libellé des dispositions ainsi qu'à limiter les pouvoirs discrétionnaires des fonctionnaires fédéraux. Les modifications apportées à l'annexe I ont pour objet de convertir toutes les mesures impériales au système métrique.

De plus, pour préparer le terrain au transfert de responsabilité et tenir compte des différences législatives entre les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut, il y aura un règlement minier distinct pour chaque territoire. Le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut sera remplacé par deux règlements fédéraux distincts : le « Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest » et le « Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut ».

Futures initiatives de modernisation législative

Aujourd'hui, les administrations minières canadiennes adoptent des systèmes plus modernes et automatisés d'administration des droits miniers, y compris la sélection sur carte. AADNC a officiellement lancé le projet de sélection sur carte pour le Nunavut, dont la mise en oeuvre est prévue pour printemps/été 2014.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec Dominique Quirion au : 819-997-0912.

Février 2013

Date de modification :