Niganiljoga'tagan

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

THE MI'GMAQ namely the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag, La Nation Micmac de Gespeg and the Listuguj Mi'gmaq Government and their members as represented by their Chiefs and Councils, and their assembly, the Mi'gmawei Mawiomi

("Mi'gmaq")

– and –

 

THE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC as represented by the Ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones and by the Ministre responsable des Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne

("Québec")

– and –

 

THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA as represented by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development

("Canada")

 

Collectively known as "the Parties"

Recitals

Objective

  1. The objective of this agreement is to renew the discussions initiated under the Niganita'suatas'gl Ilsutaqann and, in the spirit of reconciliation based on the Parties' long-standing relationship of peace and friendship, establish a framework for negotiations that is intended to result in a final agreement.

Subject Matters

  1. The Parties shall address the following subject matters. This list is not exhaustive and may be amended by the Parties:
    1.  culture and heritage;
    2.  natural resources;
    3.  environmental assessment and protection;
    4.  parks and other protected areas;
    5.  self-government;
    6.  taxation; and
    7.  economic measures.
  2. Agreements that are negotiated may include provisions for:
    1. review and amendment;
    2. approval and ratification; and
    3. implementation.
  3. The Parties will address the subject of consultation with a view to concluding an interim agreement.
  4. Agreements that are negotiated will also include provisions on consultation, where applicable.

Process

  1. The process for the negotiations under this Agreement will comprise two Circles: Mgnigng (Circle of Delegates and Officials) and Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig (Circle of Leaders).

Mgnigng

  1. The Mgnigng will be comprised of the representatives of the Parties.
  2. The Mgnigng will address the subject matters set out in section 2, which may include:
    1. developing work plans and identifying priorities;
    2. meeting at least six times a year (in person or via video/phone conference);
    3. establishing side‑tables, either bipartite or tripartite, on specific issues as appropriate; and,
    4. negotiating interim or incremental measures or agreements that advance the objective of this Agreement.
  3. For each side-table, the Mgnigng will identify its role and mandate.

Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig

  1. The Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig will be comprised of the three Mi'gmaq Chiefs or their nominee(s), a nominee of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (Canada) and a nominee of the Ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones (Québec). The respective nominees, if applicable, must be senior officials and not members of the Mgnigng.
  2. The Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig will make best efforts to meet once a year. Its main mandate will be to provide direction, assess the progress of the work of the Mgnigngand the effectiveness of the process, and attempt to resolve outstanding issues related to this Agreement.

Scheduling and Timing

  1. Following the signing of this Agreement, the Parties will determine the schedule and timing to negotiate any subsequent agreement.

General Provisions

  1. This Agreement does not constitute a commitment by any Party to reach agreement or to provide benefits in respect of any subject matter listed in section 2 to 5, or in respect of any interim or incremental measure or agreement.
  2. Except for sections 13 to 22, 24, 26 to 31 and 33, this Agreement does not legally bind the Parties and is intended as an expression of their goodwill and their commitment to enter into negotiations.
  3. This Agreement is not a treaty within the meaning of sections 25 and 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.
  4. The Parties expect that this Agreement and the negotiations pursuant to it will help to avoid resorting to legal proceedings. Nothing herein releases, compromises or otherwise limits any right, action or judicial avenue of redress of the Parties. For greater certainty and subject to sections 18 and 19, no provision of this Agreement prevents the Mi'gmaq from asserting in a court of law or in any other legal proceeding their claims related to Aboriginal rights or title.
  5. Except as may be set out in future agreements, this Agreement, all negotiations pursuant to it and all documents generated during these negotiations:
    1. are not intended and shall not be construed so as to discharge, in whole or in part, any fiduciary obligation that may be owed by Canada or Québec to the Mi'gmaq; and
    2. are without prejudice to the positions or legal rights of the Parties, and for greater certainty, are not intended and shall not be construed as recognizing, denying, defining, creating, altering or affecting the positions or legal rights of the Parties, including the Aboriginal and treaty rights of the Mi'gmaq.
  6. Except for the purpose of enforcing sections 13 to 22, 24, 26 to 31 and 33 of this Agreement, or unless otherwise agreed in writing, the Parties agree not to tender or seek admission of this Agreement as evidence in a court of law or in any other legal proceeding.
  7. Unless as otherwise agreed in writing, the Parties agree not to tender or seek admission of the content of negotiations pursuant to this Agreement or the documents generated during these negotiations as evidence in a court of law or in any other legal proceeding.
  8. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, any Party may refer to publicly and may lead evidence regarding the Parties, effective date, existence and purpose of this Agreement and the frequency of and participants in meetings held pursuant to this Agreement before a court of law or in any other legal proceeding.
  9. The Parties will cooperate to oppose the use or attempted use by anyone not a Party in any court of law or other legal proceeding, of this Agreement, the content of negotiations pursuant to it or the documents generated during these negotiations.
  10. The negotiations pursuant to this Agreement are in respect to the geographic area within the jurisdiction of Canada or Québec and not within the jurisdiction of another province or a territory, and are without prejudice to any rights the Mi'gmaq may have outside of that geographic area.

Openness and Public Communications

  1. The Parties recognize that communication with the public is essential to achieve the objective identified in section 1. Therefore, the Parties agree that the public, including individuals, groups or organizations having a particular interest in the outcome of the negotiations, should be knowledgeable and well-informed and given the opportunity to express their views regarding the general status, aims, objectives and progress of the negotiations. For that purpose, the Parties may engage in joint or separate public communication initiatives.
  2. Unless the Parties otherwise agree in writing or unless required by law, a Party shall not disclose to the public the following information:
    1. the content of negotiations pursuant to this Agreement; and
    2. documents generated during the negotiations pursuant to this Agreement.
  3. Once the Parties have signed an agreement, it shall be made public.

Effective Date, Expiry, Termination, Withdrawal and Amendment

  1. This Agreement shall come into force and effect on the date of its signing and shall continue in force and effect for a period of three years, after which it expires, subject to sections 29 and 31.
  2. Should any of the three (3) Mi'gmaq Chiefs and Councils decide to withdraw from this Agreement and all negotiations pursuant to it, they shall do so by Band Council Resolution and notify the Parties forthwith.
  3. If one or more Mi'gmaq Chiefs and Councils decide to withdraw from this Agreement and all negotiations pursuant to it, in accordance with section 27, this Agreement shall continue in force and effect. The Mi'gmaq will be deemed to be represented by the Chief(s) and Council(s) of the remaining community or communities.
  4. This Agreement can be terminated by any Party upon ninety days written notice to the other Parties hereto.
  5. Notwithstanding any termination or expiry of this Agreement or any withdrawal from this Agreement, this section and sections 13 to 22, 24 and 33 will continue to have effect.
  6. This Agreement may be amended or renewed with the written consent of the Parties.

Resources

  1. Upon consideration of the annual work plan of the Mi'gmawei Mawiomi, Canada and Québec may provide resources, through a separate agreement, to the Mi'gmaq in order to facilitate their participation in the negotiations pursuant to this Agreement.

Approval Process

  1. The Parties will signify their approval of this Agreement by signing it. The signatories are authorized to represent their respective Party.

 

Signed this ____________ day of _____________ 2012.

 

The MI’GMAQ

 

_________________________________
Claude Jeannotte, Chief
La Nation Micmac de Gespeg
Chairman of Mi'gmawei Mawiomi

 

 

_________________________________
Witness

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Guy Condo, Chief
Micmacs of Gesgapegiag

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Witness

 

 

_________________________________
Allison Metallic, Chief
Listuguj Mi'gmaq Government
The Gouvernement du Québec

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Witness

 

 

_________________________________
Geoffrey Kelley
Minister responsible for Native Affairs

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Witness

 

 

_________________________________
Yvon Vallières
Minister responsible for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and the Canadian Francophonie
The Government of Canada

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Witness

 

 

_________________________________
John Duncan
Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Witness

Date modified:

Niganiljoga'tagan

LES MI'GMAQ, à savoir les Micmacs of Gesgapegiag, La Nation Micmac de Gespeg et le Listuguj Mi'gmaq Government et leurs membres, représentés par leurs chefs et conseils de bande et leur assemblée, le Mi'gmawei Mawiomi

(« les Mi'gmaq »)

– et –

 

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC, représenté par le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones et par le ministre responsable des Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne

(« le Québec »)

– et –

 

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA, représenté par le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien

(« le Canada »)

 

Ci-après appelés « les Parties »

Préambule

Objectif

  1. La présente entente vise à renouveler les discussions amorcées dans le cadre du Niganita'suatas'gl Ilsutaqann et, dans un esprit de réconciliation fondé sur la relation de paix et d'amitié de longue date des Parties, mettre en place un cadre pour la négociation qui devrait aboutir à la conclusion d'une entente finale.

Sujets

  1. Les Parties devront aborder les sujets suivants. Cette liste est non exhaustive et peut être modifiée par les Parties :
    1. culture et patrimoine;
    2. ressources naturelles;
    3. évaluation et protection de l'environnement;
    4. parcs et autres aires protégées;
    5. autonomie gouvernementale;
    6. fiscalité;
    7. mesures économiques.
  2. Les ententes négociées pourront comprendre des dispositions relatives à :
    1. leur examen et leur modification;
    2. leur approbation et leur ratification;
    3. leur mise en œuvre.
  3. Les Parties aborderont le sujet de la consultation en vue de conclure une entente provisoire.
  4. S'il y a lieu, les ententes négociées comprendront également des dispositions relatives à la consultation

Processus

  1. Le processus de négociation établi par la présente entente comprendra deux cercles : le Mgnigng (Cercle des délégués et des représentants) et le Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig (Cercle des dirigeants).

Mgnigng

  1. Le Mgnigng sera composé de représentants des Parties.
  2. Le Mgnigng abordera les sujets énoncés à l'article 2, ce qui pourrait consister à :
    1. élaborer des plans de travail et définir les priorités;
    2. se rencontrer au moins six fois l'an (en personne ou par vidéo/téléconférence);
    3. créer des tables sectorielles – bipartites ou tripartites – sur des enjeux précis, au besoin;
    4. négocier des mesures ou des ententes provisoires ou progressives qui font avancer l'objectif de la présente entente.
  3. Pour chaque table sectorielle, le Mgnigng définira son rôle et son mandat.

Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig

  1. Le Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig sera composé des trois chefs Mi'gmaq ou de leur(s) représentant(s), d'un représentant du ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (Canada) et d'un représentant du ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones (Québec). Les représentants respectifs doivent, le cas échéant, être de hauts fonctionnaires et non pas des membres du Mgnigng.
  2. Gigto'qi Niqan'pugultijig s'efforcera de se réunir une fois par année. Son mandat principal consistera à fournir des orientations, à assurer le suivi des travaux du Mgnigng, ainsi que l'efficacité du processus et à tenter de résoudre les questions en suspens relatives à la présente entente.

Échéancier

  1. Après la signature de la présente entente, les Parties conviendront d'un échéancier pour négocier toute entente ultérieure.

Dispositions générales

  1. La présente entente ne constitue pas un engagement des Parties à conclure une entente ou à accorder des avantages relativement à un sujet énuméré aux articles 2 à 5, ou relativement à une mesure ou à une entente provisoire ou progressive.
  2. À l'exception des articles 13 à 22, 24, 26 à 31 et 33, la présente entente ne lie pas juridiquement les Parties et constitue plutôt l'expression de leur bonne volonté et de leur engagement à entreprendre des négociations.
  3. La présente entente n'est pas un traité au sens des articles 25 et 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.
  4. Les Parties s'attendent à ce que la présente entente et les négociations qui en découlent contribuent à éviter de recourir à des poursuites judiciaires. Rien dans la présente entente n'exempte, ne compromet ou ne limite autrement les droits, les interventions ou les recours judiciaires des Parties. Pour plus de certitude et sous réserve des articles 18 et 19, aucune disposition de la présente entente n'empêche les Mi'gmaq de faire valoir devant un tribunal ou toute autre instance judiciaire leurs revendications de droits ancestraux ou titre aborigène.
  5. Sauf s'il en est convenu autrement dans des ententes ultérieures, la présente entente, les négociations qui en découlent et les documents produits au cours de ces négociations :
    1. ne visent pas à dégager et ne doivent pas être interprétés comme dégageant, en tout ou en partie, le Canada ou le Québec de toute obligation fiduciaire qu'ils pourraient avoir envers les Mi'gmaq;
    2. sont sous réserve des positions ou des droits juridiques des Parties et, pour plus de certitude, n'ont pas pour but de reconnaître, de nier, de définir, de créer, de modifier les positions et les droits juridiques des Parties, y compris les droits ancestraux et issus de traités des Mi'gmaq, ou de leur porter atteinte et ne doivent pas être interprétés comme tel.
  6. Sauf aux fins de l'application des articles 13 à 22, 24, 26 à 31 et 33 de la présente entente ou sauf s'il en est convenu autrement par écrit, les Parties conviennent de ne pas présenter en preuve la présente entente ou en solliciter l'admission en preuve devant un tribunal ou toute autre instance judiciaire.
  7. Sauf s'il en est convenu autrement par écrit, les Parties conviennent de ne pas présenter en preuve le contenu des négociations découlant de la présente entente ou des documents produits au cours de ces négociations et de ne pas en solliciter l'admission en preuve devant un tribunal ou toute autre instance judiciaire.
  8. Nonobstant toute autre disposition de la présente entente, l'une ou l'autre des Parties peut divulguer au public ou présenter en preuve l'identité des Parties, l'existence, la date d'entrée en vigueur et l'objet de la présente entente, la fréquence des réunions découlant de la présente entente et les participants à ces réunions devant un tribunal ou toute autre instance judiciaire.
  9. Les Parties collaboreront pour s'opposer à l'utilisation ou à toute tentative d'utilisation par quiconque autre qu'une Partie devant un tribunal ou toute autre instance judiciaire, de la présente entente, du contenu des négociations qui en découlent ou des documents produits au cours de ces négociations.
  10. Les négociations découlant de la présente entente concernent une région géographique qui relève de la compétence du Canada ou du Québec et qui ne relève pas de la compétence d'une autre province ou d'un territoire, et sont sous réserve de tout droit que les Mi'gmaq pourraient avoir en dehors de cette région géographique.

Transparence et communications publiques

  1. Les Parties reconnaissent que la communication avec le public est essentielle à l'atteinte de l'objectif décrit à l'article 1. Par conséquent, les Parties conviennent que le public, notamment les particuliers, les groupes ou les organisations ayant un intérêt particulier dans le résultat des négociations, devrait être renseigné adéquatement et avoir l'opportunité de s'exprimer sur le déroulement général, les buts, les objectifs et l'évolution des négociations. Pour ce faire, les Parties peuvent conjointement ou séparément, s'engager dans des communications publiques.
  2. Sauf si les Parties en conviennent autrement par écrit ou sauf si requis par la loi, une Partie ne doit pas divulguer au public l'information suivante :
    1. le contenu des négociations découlant de la présente entente;
    2. les documents produits au cours des négociations découlant de la présente entente.
  3. Une fois que les Parties ont signé une entente, elle sera rendue publique.

Date d'entrée en vigueur, durée, résiliation, retrait et modification

  1. La présente entente entrera en vigueur et s'appliquera à compter de la date de sa signature et continuera d'être en vigueur et de s'appliquer pendant trois ans, après lesquels elle prend fin, sous réserve des articles 29 et 31.
  2. Dans le cas où un des trois chefs Mi'gmaq et son conseil de bande décident de se retirer de la présente entente et des négociations qui en découlent, ils le feront par une résolution du conseil de bande et aviseront les Parties immédiatement.
  3. Si un ou plusieurs chefs Mi'gmaq et leurs conseils de bande décident de se retirer de la présente entente et des négociations qui en découlent, conformément à l'article 27, cette entente continuera d'être en vigueur et de s'appliquer. Les Mi'gmaq seront réputés être représentés par le (s) chef(s) et le (s) conseil(s) de bande de la communauté ou des communautés restante(s).
  4. La présente entente peut être résiliée par l'une ou l'autre des Parties après un avis écrit de quatre‑vingt-dix jours aux autres Parties.
  5. Nonobstant toute résiliation, toute fin ou tout retrait de la présente entente, cet article et les articles 13 à 22, 24 et 33 continueront de s'appliquer.
  6. La présente entente peut être modifiée ou renouvelée avec le consentement écrit des Parties.

Ressources

  1. Après examen du plan de travail annuel du Mi'gmawei Mawiomi, le Canada et le Québec peuvent, dans une entente distincte, fournir certaines ressources aux Mi'gmaq pour faciliter leur participation aux négociations découlant de la présente entente.

Processus d'approbation

  1. Les Parties signifient leur approbation de la présente entente en la signant. Les signataires sont autorisés à représenter leur Partie respective.

 

Signée ce ____________ jour de ____________ 2012.

 

Les MI’GMAQ

 

_________________________________
Claude Jeannotte, Chef
La Nation Micmac de Gespeg
Président du Mi'gmawei Mawiomi

 

 

_________________________________
Témoin

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Guy Condo, Chef
Micmacs of Gesgapegiag

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Témoin

 

 

_________________________________
Allison Metallic, Chef
Listuguj Mi'gmaq Government
Le Gouvernement du Québec

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Témoin

 

 

_________________________________
Geoffrey Kelley
Ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Témoin

 

 

_________________________________
Yvon Vallières
Ministre responsable des Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne
Le Gouvernement du Canada

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Témoin

 

 

_________________________________
John Duncan
Ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien

 

 

 

 

_________________________________
Témoin

Date de modification :