Budget 2013 Highlights – Aboriginal and Northern Investments

Economic Action Plan 2013: Jobs, Growth and Long-Term Prosperity   announced $872 million in total investments for Aboriginal and Northern communities, which will allow them to participate more fully in Canada's economy and benefit from its growth. Of the total investment, about $618 million is directed toward Aboriginal Peoples and their communities. The remaining $254 million provides investments for Northerners. The majority of the investments ($545 million) will be spent within the first two years.

Economic Action Plan (EAP) 2013 advances the Government's continuing commitment to promoting jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity by building on the foundations laid in EAP.

Building Strong Aboriginal Communities

Community Infrastructure

Budget 2013 renews Canada's commitment to the First Nations Component of the Building Canada Fund and will provide $155 million over ten years from the new Fund, and allocations from the Gas Tax Fund component of the Community Improvement Fund, to the First Nation Infrastructure Fund for investments in roads, bridges, energy systems, connectivity and waste disposal.

Job Opportunities for Aboriginal Peoples

To help Aboriginal people on reserve access the labour force, Budget 2013 invests $241 million over five years to improve the on-reserve Income Assistance Program to help ensure Aboriginal youth can access the skills and training they need to secure employment. This includes:

  • First Nation Job Fund – $109 million over five years, will fund the provision of personalized job training to recipients, and their Income Assistance benefits will depend on participation in training as per current practice in their province of residence.
  • $132 million over five years will be provided to First Nations communities to create the service delivery infrastructure necessary, including counselling support, to effectively support and ensure compliance among on-reserve Income Assistance recipients.

Funding will be accessible only to those reserve communities that choose to implement mandatory participation in training for young Income Assistance recipients.

Improving First Nation Education

The Government will continue to consult with First Nations across Canada on the development of a First Nation Education Act and is committed to sharing draft legislation with First Nations communities for their input.

Support Post-Secondary Education for Aboriginal Students and Future Business Leaders

Budget 2013 invests $10 million over two years for post-secondary scholarships and bursaries for over 2,200 First Nations and Inuit students annually. This will be delivered by Indspire, an organization led by Roberta Jamieson with a proven record of success.

And to further promote Aboriginal Business Leaders, Budget 2013 invests $5 million over five years for Cape Breton University's Purdy Crawford Chair in Aboriginal Business Studies to encourage business studies by Aboriginal students.

Enhancing First Nation Economic Development

Budget 2013 will expand the First Nations Land Management Regime by investing $9 million over two years to create further opportunities for economic development on reserve. This will add 33 First Nations to the regime, including the 8 announced earlier this year.

In addition, Budget 2013 will extend the Atlantic Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative and the Pacific Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative by investing $33 million in 2013–14 to extend the Initiative to assist First Nations fishers to engage productively in commercial fisheries on both Coasts.

Specific Claims

The certainty provided through fair and final settlements of specific claims provides economic benefits for First Nations, Industry and their communities. $54 million has been proposed over two years to ensure that specific claims are addressed promptly, providing resolution to First Nations claimants.

Family Violence

Budget 2013 is helping to address family violence on reserve by investing $24 million over two years for the Family Violence Prevention Program to help improve safety on reserve.

Other investments for Safer First Nations

Policing in First Nation and Inuit communities – $33 million over two years to provide stable multi-year funding for policing in First Nations and Inuit communities.

Aboriginal Justice Strategy – $11 million in 2013–14 for the Aboriginal Justice Strategy, a partnership with provinces, territories, and Aboriginal communities that supports culturally-sensitive, effective alternatives to the mainstream justice system for non-violent property or lesser offences.

First Nations contraband tobacco policing – $3 million over two years for ten additional police officers in First Nations self-administered police services, to focus on contraband tobacco.

Improving First Nations and Inuit Health

Health Care Services to First Nations communities – $48 million over two years to improve the quality of health care on reserve by expanding electronic health services within remote and isolated First Nations communities and the number of health facilities on-reserve that are accredited.

Enhanced Mental Health services in First Nations communities – Budget 2013 commits $4 million over two years to increase the number of mental health wellness teams and specialized services available in First Nations communities.

Non-Insured Health Benefits Program – Continued funding for the Non-Insured Health Benefits Program that provides supplementary health benefits to eligible First Nations and Inuit people.

Investing in the North

Extension of Mineral Tax credit – Supporting junior mineral exploration by extending the 15-per-cent Mineral Exploration Tax Credit for flow-through share investors for an additional year, at a net cost of $100 million.

Federal contribution to Inuvik – An additional $50 million toward the construction of an all-season gravel road from Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk in the Northwest Territories—for a total federal contribution of up to $200 million.

Nunavut Housing – Budget 2013 invests $100 million over two years to support the construction of about 250 new housing units in Nunavut.

Protecting against invasive species – Budget 2013 invests $4 million over three years to protect against invasive species through continued enforcement and monitoring of ballast water regulations and increased ballast water inspection capacity in the Arctic.

Other Investments for Canada's North and Northerners

Capital Funding for Yukon College – Capital support for Yukon College's Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining. Proposal to provide capital funding, subject to matching funding from the Yukon government and the private sector, to support Yukon College's Center for Northern Innovation in Mining.

Faits saillants du budget de 2013 – Investissements dans les Autochtones et le Nord

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 : Emplois, croissance et prospérité à long terme  , a annoncé 872 millions de dollars dans des investissements totaux pour les collectivités autochtones et du Nord afin de leur permettre de participer plus activement à l'économie canadienne et de tirer profit de sa croissance. De cet investissement, environ 618 millions de dollars ciblent les Autochtones et leurs collectivités. Les autres 254 millions de dollars représentent des investissements pour les résidants du Nord. La majorité des investissements (545 millions de dollars) sera dépensée dans les deux premières années.

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fait progresser l'engagement permanent du gouvernement en vue de favoriser les emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme en s'appuyant sur les bases jetées dans le Plan d'action économique.

Bâtir des collectivités autochtones vigoureuses

Infrastructures communautaires

Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada réitère son engagement envers le volet Premières Nations du Fonds Chantiers Canada. En effet, on prévoit dans le budget 155 millions de dollars sur dix ans provenant du nouveau Fonds, ainsi que des allocations tirées de la composante du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence du Fonds d'amélioration des collectivités, pour le Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières Nations afin de réaliser des investissements dans les routes, les ponts, les systèmes énergétiques, la connectivité et l'élimination des déchets.

Possibilités d'emploi pour les Autochtones

Afin d'aider les Autochtones vivant dans les réserves à accéder au marché du travail, on a prévu dans le budget de 2013 un investissement de 241 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour améliorer le Programme d'aide au revenu dans les réserves, aidant ainsi les jeunes Autochtones à obtenir les compétences et la formation nécessaires pour se trouver un emploi. Cet investissement comprend :

  • Fonds pour l'emploi des Premières Nations − 109 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour financer la prestation de formation professionnelle personnalisée aux bénéficiaires. Les prestations d'aide au revenu des bénéficiaires seront établies en fonction de la participation à la formation, comme c'est déjà le cas dans leur province de résidence.
  • 132 millions de dollars sur cinq ans seront fournis aux collectivités des Premières Nations afin qu'elles puissent mettre sur pied l'infrastructure de prestation de services nécessaire, y compris le soutien en matière de counselling, pour soutenir efficacement les bénéficiaires de l'aide au revenu dans les réserves et veiller à ce qu'ils en respectent les modalités.

Le financement ne sera versé qu'aux collectivités qui choisissent de rendre la participation à une formation obligatoire pour les jeunes bénéficiaires de l'aide au revenu.

Améliorer l'éducation des Premières Nations

Le gouvernement continuera de consulter les Premières Nations à l'échelle du Canada sur l'élaboration d'une loi sur l'éducation des Premières Nations et il s'engage à communiquer les ébauches du projet de loi à leurs collectivités afin d'obtenir leurs commentaires.

Appui pour l'éducation postsecondaire des Autochtones et pour les futurs dirigeants d'entreprises

Dans le budget de 2013, on investit 10 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour des bourses d'études postsecondaires destinées annuellement à plus de 2 200 étudiants inuits et des Premières Nations. Ces bourses seront distribuées par Indspire, une organisation présentant un bilan de réussite incontestable dirigée par Roberta Jamieson.

Afin de favoriser davantage la réussite des dirigeants autochtones d'entreprises, on investit dans le budget de 2013 plus de 5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour la Purdy Crawford Chair in Aboriginal Business Studies de l'Université du Cap-Breton, et ce, afin d'inciter les étudiants autochtones à poursuivre des études commerciales.

Améliorer le développement économique des Premières Nations

Dans le budget de 2013, on prévoit des mesures pour élargir le régime de gestion des terres des Premières Nations en investissant 9 millions de dollars sur deux ans afin de créer de nouvelles possibilités de développement économique dans les réserves. Ainsi, 33 Premières Nations seront intégrées au régime, ce qui inclut les 8 ayant fait l'objet d'une annonce plus tôt cette année.

De plus, le budget de 2013 prévoit de prolonger l'Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées de l'Atlantique et l'Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées du Pacifique en y investissant 33 millions de dollars en 2013–2014. On aidera ainsi les pêcheurs des Premières Nations à participer à la pêche commerciale autant sur la côte Est que sur la côte Ouest.

Revendications particulières

La certitude qui découlera des règlements équitables et définitifs se traduira par des avantages économiques pour les Premières Nations, l'industrie et les collectivités. On propose de verser 54 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour veiller à ce que les revendications particulières soient traitées rapidement et procurent un règlement aux demandeurs des Premières Nations.

Violence familiale

Dans le budget de 2013, on aide à régler le problème de la violence familiale dans les réserves en investissant 24 millions de dollars sur deux ans dans le Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale afin d'améliorer la sécurité dans les réserves.

Autres investissements pour assurer la sécurité dans les Premières Nations

Services de police dans les collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations – 33 millions de dollars sur deux ans afin de fournir un financement pluriannuel stable pour les services de police dans les collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations.

Stratégie de la justice applicable aux Autochtones – 11 millions de dollars en 2013–2014 à l'appui de la Stratégie de la justice applicable aux Autochtones, un partenariat formé avec les provinces, les territoires et les collectivités autochtones et qui vise à offrir des solutions de rechange efficaces et adaptées à la réalité culturelle des Autochtones au système de justice conventionnel dans des cas d'infractions sans violence contre les biens ou d'infractions mineures.

Lutte à la contrebande du tabac par les services de police des Premières Nations – 3 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour l'affectation de dix policiers additionnels au sein des services de police administrés par les Premières Nations à la lutte contre la contrebande du tabac.

Améliorer la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuit

Soins de santé dans les collectivités des Premières Nations – 48 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour améliorer les soins de santé dans les réserves en étendant les services de soins de santé électroniques dans les collectivités des Premières Nations éloignées et isolées et en augmentant le nombre d'installations de santé accréditées dans les réserves.

Améliorer les services en santé mentale dans les collectivités des Premières Nations – 4 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour augmenter le nombre d'équipes de santé mentale et de bien-être desservant les collectivités des Premières Nations et élargir l'offre de services spécialisés qui y sont accessibles.

Programme des services de santé non assurés – Poursuite du financement du Programme des services de santé non assurés, qui donne aux membres des Premières Nations et aux Inuit admissibles des prestations d'assurance-maladie complémentaires.

Investir dans le Nord

Prolongation du crédit d'impôt pour l'exploration minière – Appui aux petites entreprises d'exploration minière par la prolongation du crédit d'impôt à l'exploration minérale de 15 % à l'intention des détenteurs d'actions accréditives pour une année de plus, ce qui représente un coût net de 100 millions de dollars.

Soutien fédéral pour Inuvik – 50 millions de dollars supplémentaires pour la construction d'une route de gravier utilisable en toutes saisons entre Inuvik et Tuktoyaktuk dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ce qui représente un financement fédéral pouvant atteindre 200 millions de dollars.

Logement au Nunavut – 100 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour appuyer la construction de logements au Nunavut.

Lutter contre les espèces envahissantes – 4 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour lutter contre les espèces envahissantes grâce aux activités continues de surveillance et d'application des règlements sur les eaux de ballast et au renforcement de la capacité d'inspection des eaux de ballast dans l'Arctique.

Autres investissements pour le Nord du Canada et ses résidants

Soutien en capital au Collège du Yukon – Soutien en capital au Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining du Collège du Yukon. On propose de fournir un soutien en capital, sous réserve d'un financement équivalent du gouvernement du Yukon et du secteur privé, au Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining du Collège du Yukon.