Policy on Dealing with Allegations and Complaints

Assessment and Investigation Services Branch

Date : Updated: April 2014

PDF Version (45 Kb, 9 pages)

Table of contents

Preamble

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) management of allegations and complaints arises from its policy to provide grants and contributions to First Nation, Inuit and Métis communities, for the provision and administration of programs and services in accordance with the terms and conditions of funding agreements.

This policy clarifies the roles and responsibilities of departmental employees when dealing with concerns brought to the attention of the Department regarding First Nation, Inuit and Métis bodies and organizations, their employees and representatives.

1.0 Purpose

1.1

To clarify the role and responsibilities of AANDC employees when dealing with allegations and complaints and to provide direction on the processing and reporting of allegations and complaints.

1.2

This policy is meant to support other appeal and/or redress mechanisms already in place by AANDC or other organizations, not replace them.

2.0 Scope

2.1

This policy applies primarily to allegations and complaints with respect to funding provided by AANDC.

2.2

This policy also applies to allegations and complaints relating to decisions and actions of third party managers where they relate directly to the funding provided by this Department for programs and services.

2.3

Disputes or allegations concerning a band election held in accordance with the electoral provisions of the Indian Act and for which an appeal can be launched pursuant to the Indian Band Election Regulations, or cases where an election is held under a Band's Custom Election Code are normally dealt with by the existing appeal mechanism available.

Allegations of vote buying that are raised outside the period of appeal may be referred to the Assessment and Investigation Services Branch (AISB).

3.0 Authorities and References

See Appendix A

4.0 Issuing Authority

This policy is issued under the authority of the Deputy Minister, AANDC.

5.0 Definitions

See Appendix B

6.0 Management Policy

AANDC’s management of allegations and complaints is based on the following principles:

6.1 Dealing with allegations

When a Regional Allegations and Complaints Coordinator receives an allegation directly, he/she will transfer the information to AISB for review. AISB will determine if the allegation should be dealt with by AISB.

In the case of an allegation of physical abuse or a criminal matter, the Regional Coordinator should encourage the complainant to bring the matter to the attention of the appropriate policing authority and provide the appropriate contact information. The Regional Coordinator may bring the matter to the attention of the appropriate policing authority under the following circumstances:

  • Where the Regional Coordinator is asked to do so by the complainant on his/her behalf.
  • Where harm is imminent or occurring and the Regional Coordinator feels it is his/her responsibility to report the situation with or without consent from the complainant.

6.2 Dealing with complaints

When a complaint is referred by the Regional Coordinator to another departmental employee, he or she will review relevant information under the Department’s control, directly related to the complaint and, where required, may contact the First Nation/Inuit/Métis body or organization and attempt to facilitate resolution of the complaint.

6.3 Dealing with requests for audits, up to and including forensic audits

Requests for audits, up to and including forensic audits, will be referred to AISB for review and determination of a course of action.

In situations where there is a request for a forensic audit and the Regional Coordinator believe it would be better deal with as a complaint, he or she should obtain consent of AISB before proceeding.

6.4 Procedures for handling allegations and complaints

The Procedures for Handling Allegations and Complaints will be distributed to the Regional Coordinators and should guide the management of allegations and complaints.

6.4.1 Receipt of information

Allegations and complaints may be received from any source.

Allegations and complaints received by AANDC employees will be referred as soon as possible to the appropriate Allegations and Complaints Coordinator.

6.4.2 Electronic recording of allegations and complaints

Every allegation or complaint received by AANDC shall be recorded in the appropriate database designated to capture this information. The Comprehensive Integrated Document Management (CIDM) system is the system of record. TeamMate is the tracking system for the handling of all allegations and complaints under this policy.

6.4.3 Follow-up

  1. AISB is responsible for dealing with allegations.
  2. Cases of potential conflict of interest involving departmental officials shall be referred to AISB.
  3. AISB is responsible for tracking ministerial correspondence regarding allegations and complaints and ensuring timely response.
  4. Generally, the responsibility for following up and determining the nature and form of the response to complaints will rest with AANDC regions.

7.0 Responsibilities

7.1 The Regional Director General (RDG):

  • implements this policy and the required process relevant to its application in the region;
  • ensures that staff are aware of their reporting obligations pursuant to the Financial Administration Act and their obligations under the Treasury Board’s Directive on Losses of Money or Property.

7.2 The Regional Allegations and Complaints Coordinator:

  • is responsible to receive incoming allegations in the region and transfer them to AISB for review, with any pertinent information available;
  • is responsible for ensuring that complaints are captured in the appropriate database as soon as possible; that all relevant documentation related to a file is saved in CIDM; that the parties involved are noted in TeamMate; and that the steps taken to review and resolve the complaint are recorded in TeamMate;
  • is responsible to ensure that the sharing of documentation is controlled and limited, and that information related to any allegation or complaint is shared only on a need-to-know basis;
  • is responsible for sending written responses to complainants and ensuring adherence to the provisions of the Privacy Act (for example, no personal information should be sent to the complainants by e-mail); and
  • is responsible for providing functional guidance, training, advice and assistance to regional management and staff, with assistance from AISB when required.

7.3 The Audit and Evaluation Sector (AES), through the AISB:

  • conducts additional reviews, up to and including forensic audits, on allegations received by the Department;
  • reviews allegations and complaints referred by the regions and received at headquarters and coordinates the processing of those files, including corresponding with the originators;
  • provides functional direction and training with respect to the general application of this policy;
  • prepares management reports, including those required by Treasury Board and other central agencies;
  • ensures that the handling of personal information related to allegations and complaints is in accordance with the Privacy Act.

APPENDIX A - Authorities and References

APPENDIX B - Definitions

For the purposes of this policy, AANDC is using the meanings listed below to define the following terms:

Allegation: a suggestion of wrongdoing on the part of a public servant; a First Nation, Métis, or Inuit government body or organization; a manager interacting with Aboriginal communities or a manager of an Aboriginal community. This may include, for example, the misuse or misappropriation of AANDC funds, fraud, collusion and gross mismanagement.

Complaint: a concern, normally of a non-criminal nature, raised about a perceived action or inaction on the part of public servants, officials of First Nation/Inuit/Métis bodies or organizations, or managers interacting with Aboriginal communities. This may include, for example, the inability of a First Nation member on reserve to obtain funding allocation for house repairs or for post-secondary education.

Compliance: conforming and adhering to organizational policies, plans, procedures, laws, regulations, and contracts.

Conflict of Interest: a situation in which a public official’s existing private interests could improperly influence his/her performance of public duties or responsibilities. (Given that public servants hold a public trust, the appearance of a conflict of interest should be handled as a real conflict of interest.)

First Nation/Inuit Body or Organization: includes, but is not limited to: a "band" as defined by the Indian Act; any elected, non-elected, or otherwise selected leadership of a First Nation/Inuit tribal council or political organization; any First Nation/Inuit bodies or organizations receiving federal funds or having the authority to administer programs and services on behalf of recipients; and any First Nation/Inuit owned or controlled trust or economic development interest.

Forensic Audit: the gathering of evidence while following acceptable professional standards and procedures so that the evidence may be used in a court of law, tribunal, or other instances.

Funding Agreement: a written agreement or documentation constituting an agreement that sets out the obligations or understandings of all involved parties with respect to one or more transfer payments between the Government of Canada and an applicant or recipient.

Métis Body or Organization: includes, but is not limited to: any elected, non-elected, or otherwise selected leadership of a Métis representative or political organization; any Métis organizations receiving federal funds or having the authority to administer programs and services on behalf of recipients; any Métis owned or controlled trust or economic development interest.

Recipient: an individual or entity who has been either authorized to receive a transfer payment or has already received that transfer payment.

Self-Government Agreement: an agreement ratified by an Aboriginal community and the provincial / territorial government and the Government of Canada that specifies the jurisdiction and capacity of the Aboriginal community to design and deliver programs and services to its citizens.

Terms and Conditions: sets the obligations between the parties in a funding agreement that may be contained within the funding agreement itself or in other documents referred to within the funding agreement, such as reporting handbooks, guides or related agreements (e.g., tripartite education agreement).

Third Party Funding Agreement Manager: a prequalified third party that is appointed by the Department to administer funding for services otherwise payable to the recipient and the recipient’s obligations under a funding agreement, in whole or in part. This third party may also assist the recipient in remedying defaults under a funding agreement.

Transfer Payment: a monetary payment, or a transfer of money, goods, services or assets made, on the basis of an appropriation from Parliament to a third party (First Nation/Inuit/Métis body or organization or other levels of government) without the federal government directly receiving goods or services in return. Transfer payments are categorized as grants, contributions and other transfer payments. Transfer payments do not include investments, loans or loan guarantees.

Date modified:

Politique sur le traitement des allégations et des plaintes

Direction générale des services d'examen et d'enquête

Date : Mise à jour : avril 2014

Format PDF (86 Ko, 9 pages)

Table des matières

Préambule

La gestion des allégations et des plaintes à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) s'inscrit dans sa politique concernant l'attribution de subventions et de contributions aux collectivités inuites, métisses et des Premières Nations, en vue de l'exécution et de l'administration de programmes et de services conformément aux modalités des accords de financement.

La présente politique précise les rôles et les responsabilités des employés du Ministère qui traitent des questions portées à l'attention de celui-ci, au sujet des organisations et des organismes métis, inuits et des Premières Nations, de leurs employés et de leurs représentants.

1.0 Objet

1.1

Préciser le rôle et les responsabilités des employés d'AADNC en matière des allégations et des plaintes, et fournir des directives sur le traitement des allégations et des plaintes et sur les rapports à ce sujet.

1.2

La présente politique vient appuyer − et non remplacer − d'autres mécanismes d'appel et de réparation utilisés par AADNC ou d'autres organismes.

2.0 Portée

2.1

La politique s'applique avant tout aux allégations et aux plaintes portant sur le financement alloué par AADNC.

2.2

La politique s'applique également aux allégations et aux plaintes en ce qui a trait aux décisions et aux mesures prises par des tiers gestionnaires, et qui se rapportent directement au financement des programmes et des services alloué par le Ministère.

2.3

Les conflits ou allégations concernant les élections des bandes, conformément aux dispositions de nature électorale de la Loi sur les Indiens, et pour lesquels un appel peut être déposé en vertu du Règlement sur les élections au sein des bandes d'Indiens, sont traités conformément à la Loi sur les Indiens. En vertu du Règlement sur les élections au sein des bandes d'Indiens, la période d'appel est de 45 jours suivant l'élection.

Les allégations concernant l'achat de votes qui sont soulevées en dehors de la période d'appel peuvent être soumises à la Direction générale des services d'examen et d'enquête (DGSEE).

3.0 Autorisations et références

Voir l' annexe A.

4.0 Autorisation de publication

La présente politique est publiée sous l'autorité du sous-ministre d'AADNC.

5.0 Définitions

Voir l' annexe B.

6.0 Politique de gestion

La gestion des allégations et des plaintes à AADNC repose sur les principes suivants :

6.1 Traitement des allégations

Lorsqu'un coordonnateur régional des allégations et des plaintes reçoit directement une allégation, il communique l'information à la DGSEE pour examen. La DGSEE détermine si elle devrait donner suite à l'allégation.

Dans le cas d'une allégation de violence physique ou de délit, le coordonnateur régional devrait encourager le plaignant à soumettre l'affaire à l'attention de l'autorité policière compétente, et lui fournir les coordonnées des personnes-ressources. Le coordonnateur régional peut signaler l'affaire à l'autorité policière compétente si :

  • Le plaignant lui demande de le faire en son nom.
  • Un préjudice est imminent ou réel, et le coordonnateur régional juge de sa responsabilité de signaler la situation avec ou sans le consentement du plaignant.

6.2 Traitement des plaintes

Lorsque le coordonnateur régional confie une plainte à un autre employé du Ministère, il passe en revue les données pertinentes relevant du contrôle du Ministère et directement associées à la plainte et, au besoin, peut communiquer avec l'organisation ou l'organisme inuit, métis ou des Premières Nations pour tenter de faciliter le règlement de la plainte.

6.3 Traitement des demandes de vérification, y compris de vérification judiciaire

Les demandes de vérification, y compris de vérification judiciaire, sont relayées à la DGSEE afin qu'elle les examine et détermine la marche à suivre.

Lorsqu'une vérification judiciaire est sollicitée et que le coordonnateur régional croit qu'il vaudrait mieux la traiter comme une plainte, il doit obtenir le consentement de la DGSEE avant de procéder.

6.4 Procédure pour le traitement des allégations et des plaintes

La Procédure pour le traitement des allégations et des plaintes sera remise aux coordonnateurs régionaux pour guider la gestion des allégations et des plaintes.

6.4.1 Réception de l’information

Les allégations et les plaintes peuvent provenir de n'importe quelle source.

Les allégations et les plaintes reçues par les employés d'AADNC seront renvoyées le plus rapidement possible au coordonnateur régional des allégations et des plaintes compétent.

6.4.2 Enregistrement électronique des allégations et des plaintes

Toute allégation ou plainte reçue par AADNC doit être versée dans la base de données désignée pour ce genre d'information. Le Système global de gestion intégrée des documents (SGGID) sert à l’archivage, tandis que TeamMate permet un suivi de toutes les allégations et plaintes visées par la présente politique.

6.4.3 Suivi

  1. La DGSEE est chargée de traiter les allégations.
  2. Les allégations ou les plaintes soulevées par des tiers et qui mettent en cause des fonctionnaires doivent être transmises aux Ressources humaines et à la DGSEE qui détermineront en consultation qui en fera le suivi.
  3. Il incombe à la DGSEE d'effectuer un suivi de la correspondance ministérielle portant sur les allégations et les plaintes, et de fournir des réponses en temps opportun.
  4. Habituellement, la responsabilité du suivi et de la détermination de la nature et de la forme de réponse à donner aux plaintes revient aux bureaux régionaux d'AADNC.

7.0 Responsabilités

7.1 Le directeur général régional (DGR) :

  • met en œuvre la présente politique et le processus nécessaire à son application dans la région;
  • voit à ce que les employés soient informés des obligations en matière de rapport que leur confère la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, ainsi que de leurs obligations découlant de la Directive sur les pertes de fonds et de biens du Conseil du Trésor.

7.2 Le coordonnateur régional des allégations et des plaintes :

  • est chargé de recevoir les nouvelles allégations déposées dans la région, et de les transmettre à la DGSEE pour examen, en y joignant les renseignements pertinents dont il dispose;
  • est chargé de veiller à l'enregistrement des plaintes, le plus tôt possible, dans la base de données appropriée; à la sauvegarde dans le SGGID de tous les documents pertinents liés à un dossier; à l'inscription des parties en cause dans TeamMate; à l'enregistrement dans TeamMate des mesures prises pour examiner et régler la plainte;
  • est chargé de contrôler et de limiter la divulgation des documents et de veiller à ce que l'information relative à toute allégation ou plainte ne soit divulguée qu'en cas de nécessité;
  • est chargé de faire parvenir des réponses par écrit aux plaignants, et de veiller au respect des dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (p. ex. aucune donnée personnelle ne doit être communiquée aux plaignants par courriel);
  • est chargé de fournir des directives fonctionnelles, de la formation, des conseils et de l'aide à la direction et au personnel de la région, de concert avec la DGSEE, au besoin.

7.3 Le Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation (SVE), par l'entremise de la DGSEE :

  • effectue d'autres examens, y compris des vérifications judiciaires, portant sur des allégations reçues par le Ministère;
  • étudie les allégations et les plaintes transmises par les régions et reçues à l'administration centrale, et coordonne le traitement de ces dossiers, en plus de correspondre avec les demandeurs;
  • fournit des directives fonctionnelles et de la formation sur l'application de la présente politique;
  • rédige des rapports de gestion, notamment ceux exigés par le Conseil du Trésor et d’autres organismes centraux.

ANNEXE A - Autorisations et références

ANNEXE B - Définitions

Aux fins de la présente politique, AADNC définit les termes suivants comme suit :

Accord de financement : Entente écrite ou documentation constituant une entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et un demandeur ou un bénéficiaire, et établissant les obligations ou les conditions que doivent respecter les parties à l'égard d'un ou de plusieurs paiements de transfert.

Accord sur l'autonomie gouvernementale : Accord ratifié par une collectivité autochtone, un gouvernement provincial ou territorial et le gouvernement du Canada, qui précise la compétence et la capacité de la collectivité autochtone quant à la conception et à la prestation de programmes et de services destinés à ses citoyens.

Allégation : Suggestion de méfait commis par une organisation ou un organisme gouvernemental inuit, métis ou des Premières Nations; un gestionnaire d'une collectivité autochtone; ou un fonctionnaire interagissant avec des collectivités autochtones. Les allégations peuvent porter, entre autres, sur l'utilisation inappropriée ou le détournement de fonds d'AADNC, la fraude, la collusion et les cas graves de mauvaise gestion.

Bénéficiaire : Personne ou entité ayant soit été autorisée à recevoir un paiement de transfert ou ayant déjà reçu ce paiement.

Conformité : Conformité et respect des politiques organisationnelles, des plans, des procédures, des lois, des règlements et des contrats.

Modalités : Définition des obligations des parties à un accord de financement qui peut figurer dans l'accord de financement même ou dans d'autres documents qui y sont soulevés, comme des manuels des rapports financiers, des guides ou des ententes connexes (p. ex. entente tripartite sur l'éducation).

Organisation ou organisme inuit ou des Premières Nations : Désigne, mais sans s'y limiter, une « bande » au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens; tout dirigeant élu, non élu ou autrement choisi d'un conseil tribal ou d'une organisation politique inuite ou des Premières Nations; toute organisation ou tout organisme inuit ou des Premières Nations recevant des fonds fédéraux, ou ayant le pouvoir d'administrer des programmes et des services au nom de bénéficiaires; toute société de fiducie ou tout intérêt en matière de développement économique détenu ou contrôlé par une Première Nation ou des Inuits.

Organisme métis ou organisation métisse : Englobe, entre autres, tout dirigeant élu, non élu ou autrement choisi d'un organisme politique ou représentant les Métis; toute organisation métisse recevant des fonds fédéraux ou étant autorisée à administrer des programmes et des services au nom de bénéficiaires; toute société de fiducie ou tout intérêt en matière de développement économique détenu ou contrôlé par des Métis.

Paiement de transfert : Paiement monétaire ou transfert de fonds, de biens, de services ou d'actifs effectué en fonction de crédits parlementaires à une tierce partie (organisation ou organisme métis, inuit ou des Premières Nations, ou autres ordres de gouvernement), sans que le gouvernement fédéral reçoive directement des biens ou des services en retour. Les paiements de transfert regroupent les subventions, les contributions et les autres paiements de transfert, mais non les investissements, les prêts et les garanties d'emprunt.

Plainte : Préoccupation, habituellement de nature non criminelle, formulée au sujet d'une action ou d'une omission perçue de la part de représentants d'organisations ou d'organismes inuits, métis ou des Premières Nations; de gestionnaires de collectivités autochtones; ou de fonctionnaires interagissant avec des collectivités autochtones. Il peut s'agir, par exemple, de l'incapacité d'un membre d'une réserve des Premières Nations d'obtenir des fonds pour rénover une maison ou faire des études postsecondaires.

Séquestre-administrateur d'un accord de financement : Tierce personne nommée par le Ministère et chargée d’administrer en tout ou en partie le financement de services autrement versé au bénéficiaire et les obligations de celui-ci en vertu d'un accord de financement. Cette personne peut aussi aider le bénéficiaire à remédier aux manquements à l’accord de financement.

Vérification judiciaire : Collecte d'éléments probants, conformément aux normes professionnelles et procédures reconnues, de sorte que les éléments probants puissent être utilisés en cour ou auprès d'autres instances.

Date de modification :