Backgrounder – Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's Financial Picture (2013–2014)

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is one of numerous federal departments and agencies that deliver programs and services to First Nations, Inuit, Métis and people living in Canada's North. These programs play an important role in building strong, viable communities and improving the quality of life for Aboriginal people and Northerners.

AANDC is responsible for the majority of federal programs and services that support Aboriginal people and Northerners. According to the 2013–2014 Main Estimates, tabled in Parliament on February 25, 2013, AANDC will spend approximately $8.0 billion (see chart below). Of this, approximately 80 per cent goes directly to recipients through transfer payments. Much of this funding ensures that Aboriginal people have access to basic services comparable to those provided to other Canadians through provincial, municipal and territorial governments. These services include education, housing, community infrastructure (water and sewage systems), social support services, and other benefits. In addition to expenditures for basic services, the department promotes economic development, negotiates and oversees the implementation of comprehensive and specific claim settlements, and implements practical forms of self-government.

The cost of basic services is driven by a young and growing population. In fact, in 2011, almost half (46%) of Aboriginal people were less than 25 years of age compared with almost one-third (29%) of non-Aboriginal people. This creates a growing demand for basic services with overall population/price increases of 3 to 4 per cent per year for the department.

Since 1997–1998, funding for essential programs and services provided by the department have been subject to a two per cent escalator. It should be noted that this does not apply to other AANDC program areas, such as the negotiation and settlement of claims, litigation or Northern Affairs.

Historical Expenditure Profile

Over the period from 2009–2010 to 2013–2014, AANDC's expenditures increased from $7.4 billion to $8.0 billion (in accordance with the 2013–2014 Main Estimates), which represents an average annual increase of about two per cent. This growth in expenditures reflects increased ongoing demand for essential programs and services. However, other factors have contributed to this increase as well. The department has been assigned additional duties in recent years, notably Residential Schools Resolution, which has increased the department's spending. The growth in spending can also be attributed to an increased focus on the settlement of claims as well as to significant investments made in priority areas through successive federal budgets since 2006.

While the department has taken on more responsibilities, its administrative overhead has remained relatively stable at about 2 to 3 per cent of its budget.

Capitalizing on Efficiencies

The department is taking steps to operate more efficiently and better execute its mandate. For example, AANDC is actively investing in tripartite agreements, particularly in the areas of education and child and family services. These agreements allow the department to draw on provincial government expertise, while building greater understanding of the unique needs and circumstances of a diverse Aboriginal population. The department is also reducing the reporting burden of First Nations communities by implementing the federal Policy on Transfer Payments. It has also introduced a new Default Prevention and Management Policy to provide a range of support and tools to communities. These tools and more are contributing to the reduction in the administrative burden on First Nations.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, like every other department, is contributing to the effort to eliminate the deficit. As part of measures announced in Budget 2012, the department will achieve savings of $24.4 million in the first year, followed by $55.1 million in 2013–14 and will result in ongoing savings of $160.6 million by 2014–15. Much of the savings will be achieved through changes in the department's internal operations and streamlining program management and business processes, including the elimination of approximately 480 Full-Time Equivalents across the department by April 1, 2014. Savings will also be achieved over the next three years through other measures such as internal restructuring and reducing discretionary spending (e.g. travel, hospitality, temporary help). However, front line service delivery for essential services will not be affected as a result of savings measures.

Also, the department will achieve additional savings over the next three years by measures referenced in the September 4, 2012, announcements by the Minister on the new Results-Based Approach to Treaty and Self-Government Negotiations and changes to departmental funding for Aboriginal Representative Organizations and Tribal Councils.

Getting Results

As AANDC moves forward, it will continue to take a more targeted approach to improving programs and services for Aboriginal peoples and Northerners, by focusing on structural reforms and increasing the effectiveness of long-term investments. In trying to find practical solutions to real issues, work will continue with willing partners to renovate programs and develop innovative approaches in the areas of market-based housing, education partnerships and economic development. Maximizing the value of our investments in these areas will have a significant and positive impact on improving the quality of life for Aboriginal peoples, Northerners and all Canadians.

2013–14 Main Estimates – $7,975 million


Description of figure: 2013–14 Main Estimates – $7,975 million

This image is of a pie chart showing the breakdown of departmental expenditures for 2013–14. The breakdown is shown as follows: $6,401 million (80%) transfer payments; $70 million (1%) loans; $14 million (0%) capital; $807 million (10%) statutory/fiduciary obligations; $444 million (6%) program delivery; $53 million (1%) negotiation costs; $186 million (2%) administrative overhead. 

This image also contains two tables; the first demonstrates the breakdown of forecasted operating expenses – which total $1,491 million – as follows: $1,416  million for operating expenditures (Vote 1); and the following statutory expenses: $70 million for employee benefit plans; $3 million for resource royalties and $2 million for loan guarantees. The second table demonstrates the breakdown of transfer payments – which total $6,401 million – as follows: $6,317 million for grants and contributions (Vote 10); and the following statutory expenses: $74 million for land claims settlement acts, $9 million for the Labrador Inuit Claims Agreement and $1 million for Indian annuities.

The source for the information for the chart is page 177 of the 2013–14 Main Estimates.

Figures may not add due to rounding.

* The major item in the $807M is $696M for obligations stemming from the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement. Furthermore, of the $807M, about $594M is for direct payments to recipients including obligations pursuant to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, claims related obligations, Department of Justice costs, out-of-court settlements, etc.

** Program delivery costs directly benefit First Nation and northern communities and include costs associated with education, social development, capital/ infrastructure, economic development, Indian government support, environmental initiatives and northern programming. Of the $444M, about $169M is for direct payments to recipients, primarily related to the assessment, management and remediation of federal contaminated sites.

Date modified:

Document d'information – Portrait financier d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (2013–2014)

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est l'un des nombreux ministères et organismes fédéraux offrant des programmes et des services aux Premières Nations, aux Inuit, aux Métis et aux résidants du Nord canadien. Ces programmes jouent un rôle important dans l'établissement de collectivités fortes et viables et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des Autochtones et des résidants du Nord.

AADNC est chargé de la majorité des programmes et des services fédéraux offerts aux Autochtones et aux résidants du Nord. Conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour 2013–2014, déposé au Parlement le 25 février 2013, AADNC dépensera environ 8 milliards de dollars (voir tableau ci-dessous). Environ 80 % de ce montant sera versé directement aux bénéficiaires sous forme de paiements de transfert. Une large part des fonds vise à garantir que les Autochtones aient accès à des services de base comparables à ceux qui sont offerts aux autres Canadiens par l'entremise des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que des administrations municipales. Ces services comprennent l'éducation, le logement, l'infrastructure communautaire (approvisionnement en eau et traitement des eaux usées), les services de soutien social et autres. En plus des dépenses pour les services de base, le ministère favorise le développement économique, négocie et supervise la mise en œuvre des accords sur les revendications globales et particulières, y compris la mise en œuvre de formes pratiques d'autonomie gouvernementale.

Le coût des services de base est en corrélation avec une population jeune et croissante. En fait, en 2011, près de la moitié (46 %) des Autochtones étaient âgés de moins de 25 ans, comparativement à près du tiers (29 %) des non-Autochtones. Il s'ensuit une demande croissante de services de base avec une augmentation générale de la population et des prix totalisant environ de 2 à 4 % par année pour le Ministère.

Depuis 1997–1998, le financement alloué par le Ministère pour les programmes et les services essentiels est assujetti à une indexation de 2 %. Il convient de signaler que ceci ne s'applique pas aux autres secteurs de programmes d'AADNC, comme la négociation et le règlement des revendications, les litiges ou les Affaires du Nord.

Profil historique des dépenses

Entre 2009–2010 et 2013–2014, les dépenses d'AADNC sont passées de 7,4 milliards de dollars à 8 milliards (conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour 2013–2014), ce qui représente une augmentation annuelle moyenne d'environ 2 %. Cette croissance des dépenses reflète une hausse continue de la demande pour les programmes et les services essentiels. Toutefois, d'autres facteurs ont aussi contribué à cette hausse. On a attribué au Ministère des rôles additionnels au cours des dernières années, notamment le dossier de la résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens, ce qui a augmenté ses dépenses. La hausse des dépenses peut aussi être attribuée à une attention accrue portée au règlement des revendications, de même qu'aux importants investissements faits dans des domaines prioritaires au fil des différents budgets fédéraux depuis 2006.

Le Ministère a assumé des responsabilités additionnelles, mais ses frais administratifs généraux demeurent plus ou moins stables, à environ 2 ou 3 % de son budget.

Tirer profit des économies

Le Ministère prend des mesures pour accroître l'efficacité de ses opérations et mieux exécuter son mandat. Par exemple, AADNC investit activement dans la conclusion d'ententes tripartites, particulièrement dans les domaines de l'éducation et des services à l'enfance et à la famille. Ces accords permettent à AADNC de tirer profit de l'expertise des gouvernements provinciaux et de mieux comprendre les besoins et les circonstances uniques des divers groupes autochtones. Le Ministère s'emploie aussi à réduire le fardeau de la production de rapports des collectivités des Premières Nations en mettant en œuvre la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert. Il a aussi présenté la nouvelle Politique de la prévention et gestion des manquements pour offrir une vaste gamme d'appuis et d'outils aux collectivités. Ces outils et d'autres contribuent à réduire le fardeau administratif pour les Premières Nations.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, comme tous les autres ministères, contribue aux efforts visant l'élimination du déficit. Dans le cadre des mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012, le Ministère obtiendra des économies de 24,4 millions de dollars lors de la première année, puis de 55,1 millions en 2013–2014, ce qui mènera à des économies continues de 160,6 millions de dollars d'ici 2014–2015. La plupart des économies seront obtenues grâce à des changements apportés aux opérations internes du Ministère et à la simplification de la gestion des programmes et des processus opérationnels. Cela comprend l'élimination d'environ 480 équivalents de postes à temps plein au Ministère d'ici le 1er avril 2014. Les économies seront aussi obtenues au cours des trois prochaines années à l'aide d'autres mesures comme la restructuration interne et la réduction des dépenses discrétionnaires (p. ex., les déplacements, l'accueil et l'aide temporaire). Cependant, ces mesures d'économie ne toucheront pas la prestation des services de première ligne pour les services.

Aussi, le Ministère obtiendra des économies additionnelles au cours des trois prochaines années grâce à des mesures mentionnées lors de l'annonce du 4 septembre 2012 du ministre au sujet de l'approche fondée sur les résultats pour la négociation de traités et de l'autonomie gouvernementale et des changements apportés par le Ministère au financement des organisations autochtones représentatives et des conseils tribaux.

Obtenir des résultats

À l'avenir, AADNC continuera de bien cibler son approche pour améliorer les programmes et les services offerts aux Autochtones et aux résidants du Nord en misant sur des réformes structurales et sur une plus grande efficacité des investissements à long terme. Dans la recherche de solutions pratiques à des problèmes réels, le travail se poursuivra avec les partenaires intéressés en vue d'améliorer les programmes et d'élaborer des approches novatrices dans les domaines du logement soumis aux mécanismes du marché, des partenariats en éducation et du développement économique. L'optimisation de la valeur de nos investissements dans ces domaines contribuera grandement à améliorer la qualité de vie des Autochtones, des résidants du Nord et de tous les Canadiens.

Budget principal des dépenses 2013–2014 : 7 975 millions de dollars


Description de la figure : Budget principal des dépenses 2013–2014

Ce diagramme circulaire présente la ventilation des dépenses du Ministère pour 2013–2014. La ventilation est la suivante : 6 401 M$ (80 %) en paiements de transfert; 70 M$ (1 %) en prêts; 14 M$ (0 %) en capital; 807 M$ (10 %) en obligations légales et fiduciaires; 444 M$ (6 %) pour l'exécution des programmes; 53 M$ (1 %) en frais de négociation; 186 M$ (2 %) en frais généraux administratifs.

L'image contient également deux tableaux. Le premier donne une ventilation des dépenses de fonctionnement prévues, s'élevant à 1 491 M$ : 1 416 M$ en frais de fonctionnement (crédit 1), puis les dépenses législatives suivantes : 70 M$ pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux; 3 M$ pour les redevances pour l'exploitation des ressources et 2 M$ pour les garanties d'emprunt. Le deuxième tableau montre la ventilation des paiements de transfert, qui totalisent 6 401 M$ : 6 317 M$ pour les subventions et contributions (crédit 10), puis les dépenses législatives suivantes : 74 M$ pour les lois sur le règlement des revendications territoriales; 9 M$ pour l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador et 1 M$ pour les annuités aux Indiens.

Les renseignements du diagramme sont tirés de la page 177 du Budget principal des dépenses de 2013–2014.

Les totaux peuvent accuser des écarts en raison des arrondissements.

* Le poste principal de ces dépenses (696 M$ de 807 M$) concerne les obligations résultant de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens. En outre, environ 594 M$ des 807 M$ sont affectés aux paiements directs versés aux bénéficiaires, notamment aux termes des obligations résultant de la Convention de règlement, des revendications, des coûts du ministère de la Justice, des règlements extrajudiciaires et autres.

** Les coûts d'exécution de programmes, dont les Premières Nations et les collectivités du Nord retirent un avantage direct, incluent les coûts associés à l'éducation, au développement social, aux investissements dans les immobilisations et infrastructures, au développement économique, au soutien aux gouvernements indiens, aux projets environnementaux et aux programmes pour les résidents du Nord. Environ 169 M$ sur 444 M$ sont affectés aux paiements directs versés aux bénéficiaires et concernent principalement l'évaluation, la gestion et l'assainissement de sites fédéraux contaminés.

Date de modification :