Frequently Asked Questions - Amendments to the Land Designation Sections of the Indian Act and related regulations

Q.1) What are First Nation designated lands?

First Nation designated lands are reserve lands that a First Nation has agreed to lease for commercial, agricultural, recreational or other purposes which is voted on by the members of a First Nation according to the rules of the Indian Referendum Regulations. Similar to how a municipality would zone land for a specific purpose off a reserve, First Nations who operate under the Indian Act identify lands on their reserve for specific purposes following a land designation process. Designated lands remain reserve lands. When a First Nation designates land, it allows a business partner to temporarily run a business on a specified portion of the reserve while the First Nation retains its interest in the land. This arrangement allows First Nations to economically benefit from their lands and to manage them according to their by-laws.

Q.2) Why did the Government of Canada make amendments to the designation provisions of the Indian Act?

The amendments to the designation provisions of the Indian Act respond to First Nations who have expressed frustration with the long standing, overly complex and lengthy process of designating land. For First Nations operating under the Indian Act, land designation is a prerequisite for economic development on reserve and is the legal instrument that permits leasing on First Nation land.

The changes will speed up the process to designate lands and, as a result, provide greater flexibility for First Nations to take advantage of time-sensitive economic development opportunities.

Q.3) What are the amendments?

The amendments will expedite the process for designating lands administered under the Indian Act to further improve the ability of First Nations to take full advantage of potential economic development and investment opportunities on reserve. Specifically, they:

  • Lower the voting threshold to a simple majority from a majority-of-a-majority, rendering a second vote unnecessary.
  • Change responsibility for approving designations to the Minister from the Governor in Council.

Q.4) What is the difference between a majority-of-a-majority and simple majority voting threshold?

Majority-of-a-majority means that a majority of eligible voters must vote and that a majority of those who vote must vote in favour. Simple majority requires that a majority of those who participate in the vote, vote in favour of the designation, regardless of the number of persons eligible to vote.

Q.5) What is the rationale for eliminating the need for a second vote?

Imposing a majority-of-a-majority voting threshold to approve a land designation on a first vote is often an impossibly high threshold for the First Nation to meet. Statistics show that voter turnout in approximately 80 per cent of communities is regularly significantly below 50 per cent for the first vote. If the first vote is unsuccessful, the Indian Act requires that a second vote be held requiring a simple majority approval. This requirement to hold a second vote not only impedes them from pursuing time-sensitive economic opportunities, but also causes the First Nation to incur additional administrative costs.

The legislative amendments reduce the voting threshold of the first vote to a simple majority, thereby making the process for a First Nation to approve a designation more efficient. Removing the second vote will increase the speed of the land designation process thereby enabling First Nations to better capitalize on economic development opportunities.

Reducing the voting threshold is consistent with other approaches where, for example, a simple majority vote is currently sufficient to elect the Chief and Council of a First Nation, to accept multi-million dollar out-of-court settlements, and to accept a settlement of a specific claim valued between $3-7 million. In comparison, the requirement to have a majority-of-a-majority vote for designations is unjustifiably high in light of the impediments it poses to economic development.

Q.6) What is the rationale for removing the Governor in Council requirement?

Following the First Nation community's vote, it typically takes several months to obtain the authorization of the Governor in Council for a land designation, making this internal-to-government step the lengthiest step of the land designation process. The amendment replaces Governor in Council authority with Ministerial authority. This will help First Nations respond more quickly to business opportunities.

Q.7) What was the designation process and how has it changed as a result of the amendments?

The main focus of the amendments is to reduce delays within the land designation process, which currently takes an average of one to two years to complete.

Currently, the process begins when a First Nation expresses its interest to the department to discuss its land development plans. The Department works with the First Nation to identify conditions of the land use, lease terms and licensing requirements. The land designation is voted on by the members of the First Nation according to the rules of the Indian Referendum Regulations. The department provides all eligible electors, including those living off-reserve with supporting documentation necessary to make an informed decision. Previously, if voter turnout was less than a majority, the band council could request that a subsequent simple majority vote be held. The designation was then submitted for Governor in Council approval. Upon approval, the land designation is then recorded in the Indian Lands Registry.

The amendments do not change the current level of service provided to First Nations, including the initial discussions and planning and the community information meeting. The amendments only change the designation process in two areas by:

  1. Reducing the voting threshold to one vote; and
  2. Authorizing the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, rather than the Governor in Council, to approve the land designation upon receipt of a band council resolution.

Combined, the changes will reduce the time it takes to administer the land designations process by several months and create new economic opportunities on reserve.

Q.8) Will information sessions on land designation continue to be provided to First Nations to ensure informed voting?

There will continue to be a requirement to provide information sessions on land designation to First Nations to ensure informed consent. In accordance with the Indian Referendum Regulations, an information document is made available to the members of the First Nation, and at least one information meeting is held prior to the designation vote. The information document sets out the proposal and includes details such as the legal description of the lands, the environmental impact assessment, the appraised value of the lands, and the benefits and risks associated with the proposal. The information meeting provides an opportunity for the proposal to be discussed by the proponent and the First Nation members.

Q.9) Is designated land the same as surrendered land?

No. Land designation is frequently confused with land surrender. Under rarely used land surrender, the First Nation surrenders all of its interests in the land in question and it ceases to be reserve land. Under land designations, First Nations retain their rights and interests in the land.

Q.10) Has the voting threshold for land surrenders also been reduced to a simple majority?

No, the amendments to lower the voting threshold to a simple majority apply only to the land designation provisions, not to the land surrender provisions of the Indian Act. A successful majority-of-a-majority vote will continue to be a requirement for land surrender. This higher voting threshold is considered to be appropriate for land surrender given the implications of surrendering ownership and jurisdiction over reserve land.

Q.11) Do the amendments affect land management under the First Nations Land Management Act (FNLMA)?

No. Since FNLMA First Nations do not operate under the land-related provisions of the Indian Act, the amendments to land designation are not be applicable to them.

Q.12) Do the amendments affect individual ownership of reserve land?

No, a certificate of possession verifies the lawful possession of reserve land by a member of the band. A land designation is not required to lease or otherwise manage individually owned lands. Land designation applies only to collectively owned land, which requires a community vote before it may be developed.

Q.13) Do the amendments to land designation apply to First Nation communities north of 60?

Yes, the amendments do apply to those reserves north of 60 that are governed by the Indian Act, including the Hay River Dene 1 Reserve (K'atlodeeche First Nation) and the Salt Plains No. 195 and Salt River No. 195 reserves (Salt River First Nation #195) in the Northwest Territories. The amendments do not apply to communities north of 60 that have self-government agreements or modern treaties in place.

Q14. Do the amendments impact off-reserve members' rights to vote on a land designation, as provided by the Corbiere decision?

No, eligible off-reserve members will continue to be able to exercise their right to vote on a proposed land designation.

Q.15) Do these amendments affect lands held in possession by First Nation band members?

No. Lands in the lawful possession of a band member do not require a designation before being leased.

Q.16) Who will be affected by the amendments to the designation provisions of the Indian Act?

These amendments will affect First Nations who designate lands under the Indian Act. They will not, therefore, affect self-governing First Nations or First Nations under the First Nations Land Management Act. As of September 2012, Canada has completed 18 comprehensive self-government agreements involving 32 communities and another establishing a public government in Nunavut, and as of February 27, 2013, 35 First Nations have been operating under the First Nations Land Management Act.

Q.17) How many First Nations have to go to a second vote?

Over the past five years, approximately 80 per cent of First Nation communities held a second vote.

Q.18) What is the average number of months between the first and second vote?

On average, the second vote is held four to six months after the first vote.

Q.19) Do the amendments to land designation sections of the Indian Act encroach on Aboriginal or Treaty Rights?

No, these amendments to the land designation provisions of the Indian Act do not impact Aboriginal or Treaty Rights and Canada's obligations to First Nations. These changes preserve existing requirements under the Indian Act to ensure that an informed ratification vote is held before land is designated, and that there is federal approval to finalize the designation. While ensuring that these requirements are met, the Government has sought to make the land designation process itself more efficient by reducing red tape and streamlining internal processes.

Q.20) Did the Government receive requests from First Nations to improve the land designation provisions in the Indian Act?

In bringing forth the amendments to the land designation provisions in the Indian Act, the government is acting on requests from First Nations across the country to expedite the land designation process set out in the Indian Act. They expressed the need for a level playing field for First Nations to attract investment. These concerns were also heard on November 19, 2012, when several Aboriginal witnesses testified before the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development regarding the changes to land designation.

First Nations are welcome to comment on legislation and regulation through the Parliamentary process. Bills and regulations under consideration are listed at Parliament of Canada   and the Canada Gazette   respectively.

Q.21) Will the changes to the land designation provisions in the Indian Act strengthen First Nation decision making power and authority over their lands?

Yes, the amendments aim to restore greater decision making power to First Nations. By lowering the voting requirements that the government accepts in order to officially designate land on behalf of First Nations, greater flexibility will be restored to First Nations to conduct their voting processes and to lead business partnerships with industry.

Q.22) Why has the Government of Canada amended the Indian Referendum Regulations?

In light of the recent amendments to the land designation process in the Indian Act, consequential amendments to the Indian Referendum Regulations were necessary.

The changes to the Indian Referendum Regulations work together with the recent legislative amendments to speed up the process to designate reserve lands and, as a result, provide greater flexibility for First Nations to act on time-sensitive economic development opportunities.

Specifically, the regulatory changes provide for the new simple majority voting threshold and the new requirement for a Band Council Resolution either accepting or declining the results of the community vote.

Q.23) What are the amendments to the Indian Referendum Regulations?

The changes to the Indian Referendum Regulations modify references to Indian Act section numbers to be in line with the recent amendments to the Indian Act, provide for the referendum requirements to apply the new simple majority voting threshold, and provide for the new requirement for a Band Council Resolution either accepting or declining the results of the community vote.

Under the new regulations, if community leaders had doubts as to whether the vote represented the informed consent of their community, the Band Council would now have the option to recommend that the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development reject and therefore stop the process.

More specifically, amendments to the Indian Referendum Regulations:

  • Replace section 1.1 to modify the references to the Indian Act to apply the new section 39.1 of the Indian Act that establishes the conditions for land designation that must be satisfied in order for a designation to be valid.
  • Replace section 3(1) to include new section 39.1 of the Indian Act which sets out the conditions for land designations to apply to the procedure for holding a referendum.
  • Replace section 23 by separating the review procedure for land surrender from the new rules for land designation into (1) and (2).

Both the legislative and regulatory amendments apply only to land designations and not to land surrenders. Provisions for an absolute surrender will be maintained. The changes do not affect the Crown-First Nation relationship as designated land remains reserve land.

Q.24) Were these changes published in the Canada Gazette?

Yes, the changes have been published in the Canada Gazette, fixing March 1, 2013 as the day on which the amendments come into force: 1) Division 8 of Part 4 of the Jobs and Growth Act, 2012   and 2) amendments to the Indian Referendum Regulations  .

Foire aux questions - Modifications apportées aux dispositions sur la désignation des terres dans la Loi sur les Indiens et les règlements associés

Q.1) En quoi consiste la désignation de terres des Premières Nations?

Les terres désignées sont des terres que les membres d'une Première Nation ont accepté de louer à des fins de commerce, d'agriculture, de loisirs ou pour une autre utilisation à la suite d'un vote des membres de la Première Nation, conformément au Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens. Un peu comme les municipalités à l'extérieur des réserves établiraient un zonage pour un usage précis, les Premières Nations assujetties à la Loi sur les Indiens cernent les terres sur leur réserve qui seront utilisées pour des fins précises à la suite du processus de désignation. Les terres désignées restent des terres de réserve. Lorsqu'une Première Nation désigne des terres, elle permet à son partenaire d'affaires d'exploiter temporairement une entreprise sur une section précise de la réserve et elle conserve ses droits sur ces terres. Grâce à cette mesure, les Premières Nations peuvent tirer profit financièrement de leurs terres et les gérer conformément à leurs règlements administratifs.

Q.2) Pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada apporte des modifications aux dispositions sur la désignation de la Loi sur les Indiens?

Les modifications aux dispositions sur la désignation de la Loi sur les Indiens visent à répondre aux Premières Nations qui ont fait part de frustrations en raison de la complexité et de la longueur persistants du processus de désignation des terres. Pour les Premières Nations assujetties à la Loi sur les Indiens, la désignation des terres est une condition préalable au lancement de toute activité de développement économique dans les réserves et constitue l'instrument juridique qui permet la location sur les terres d'une Première Nation.

Les modifications accélèrent le processus de désignation des terres et, par conséquent, donneraient aux Premières Nations une plus grande marge de manœuvre pour saisir les occasions de développement économique en temps opportun.

Q.3) Quelles sont les modifications?

Les modifications accéléreront le processus de désignation des terres administrées en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens afin d'améliorer le potentiel économique sur les terres des Premières Nations. Plus précisément, elles auront pour effet :

  • de réduire le seuil de vote à la majorité simple plutôt qu'à la majorité de la majorité, rendant caduque la tenue d'un deuxième vote;
  • de retirer la responsabilité d'approuver les désignations au gouverneur en conseil pour la confier au ministre.

Q.4) Quelle est la différence entre un seuil de vote à la majorité de la majorité et un seuil de vote à la majorité simple?

La majorité de la majorité signifie que la majorité des électeurs admissibles doivent voter, et que la majorité de ceux qui votent doivent fournir un vote favorable. La majorité simple exige que la majorité de ceux qui participent au scrutin votent en faveur de la désignation, peu importe le nombre de personnes qui sont admissibles à voter.

Q.5) Quels motifs justifient l'élimination de la nécessité d'un deuxième vote?

Le seuil de vote à la majorité de la majorité imposée pour l'approbation d'une désignation des terres lors du premier vote est souvent presque impossible à atteindre pour les Premières Nations. Les statistiques révèlent que dans environ 80 % des collectivités, le taux de participation au premier vote est nettement inférieur à 50 %. De plus, si le seuil de participation n'est pas atteint lors du premier vote, la Loi sur les Indiens exige qu'un deuxième vote soit tenu, nécessitant uniquement l'approbation de la simple majorité. Cette exigence empêche non seulement les Premières Nations de saisir des occasions économiques opportunes, mais leur occasionne aussi des coûts administratifs supplémentaires.

Les modifications législatives remplaceraient l'exigence contraignante du vote de la majorité de la majorité par celle du vote à la majorité simple, rendant ainsi le processus d'approbation de la désignation par la Première Nation plus efficace. Éliminer le second vote accélérera le processus de désignation des terres, ce qui permettra aux Premières Nations de mieux tirer profit des occasions de développement économique qui s'offrent à elles.

Le fait d'abaisser le seuil de vote est conforme à d'autres approches qui n'exigent qu'un vote à la majorité, comme l'élection d'un chef ou des conseillers d'une Première Nation, l'acceptation des règlements extrajudiciaires de plusieurs millions de dollars ou des règlements de revendications particulières d'une valeur de 3 à 7 millions de dollars. L'exigence du vote de la majorité de la majorité pour la désignation des terres n'est pas justifiée, si l'on tient compte des obstacles qu'elle crée pour le développement économique.

Q.6) Quels motifs justifient le retrait de la responsabilité au gouverneur en conseil?

Après le vote de la Première Nation, il faut généralement plusieurs mois pour obtenir l'autorisation du gouverneur en conseil pour la désignation des terres. Cette étape qui se déroule au sein du gouvernement est donc l'étape la plus longue du processus de désignation des terres. Les modifications remplacent le rôle du gouverneur en conseil pour plutôt donner l'autorité au ministre. Ainsi, les Premières Nations seront en meilleure mesure de réagir rapidement aux possibilités d'affaires.

Q.7) En quoi consistait l'ancien processus de désignation et en quoi consiste-t-il à la suite des modifications?

Les modifications visent principalement à réduire les délais associés au processus de désignation des terres qui, pour l'instant, prend en moyenne d'un à deux ans.

À l'heure actuelle, le processus s'amorce lorsqu'une Première Nation exprime son intérêt présente au Ministère à discuter de ses plans pour le développement des terres. Le Ministère collabore avec la Première Nation pour établir les conditions d'utilisation des terres, les modalités du bail et les exigences en matière de permis. La désignation est assujettie au vote des membres de la Première Nation conformément aux dispositions du Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens. Le Ministère fournit aux électeurs admissibles, y compris à ceux vivant hors réserve, tous les documents d'information nécessaires à la prise d'une décision éclairée. Auparavant, si moins de la majorité des électeurs admissibles participaient au vote, le conseil de bande pouvait demander la tenue subséquente d'un vote à la majorité simple. On soumettait ensuite la désignation au gouverneur en conseil pour obtenir l'approbation. Après l'approbation, la désignation doit être inscrite au Registre des terres indiennes.

Les modifications ne changent pas le niveau de service offert aux Premières Nations, notamment les discussions initiales, la planification et la séance d'information de la collectivité. Les modifications ne font que modifier deux aspects du processus de désignation en :

  1. réduisant le seuil de vote à la majorité simple;
  2. permettant au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, plutôt qu'au gouverneur en conseil, d'approuver la désignation des terres à la réception d'une résolution du conseil de bande.

Pris dans leur ensemble, les changements apportés vont réduire le temps nécessaire pour administrer le processus de désignation des terres de plusieurs mois et créer de nouvelles possibilités économiques dans les réserves.

Q.8) Des séances d'information sur la désignation des terres continueront-elles d'être offertes aux Premières Nations pour assurer un vote éclairé?

Il sera toujours exigé d'offrir des séances d'information sur la désignation des terres dans une Première Nation pour s'assurer que les membres donnent leur consentement éclairé. Conformément au Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens, un document d'information sera mis à la disposition des membres de la Première Nation, et au moins une séance d'information aura lieu avant la tenue du vote sur la désignation. Le document d'information énonce la proposition et fournit des détails sur la désignation cadastrale, l'évaluation des répercussions environnementales, la valeur estimée des terres et les avantages et risques associés à la proposition. La séance d'information donne au promoteur et aux membres de la Première Nation l'occasion de discuter de la proposition.

Q.9) Les terres désignées équivalent-elles à des terres cédées?

Non. On confond souvent la désignation et la cession des terres. Sous les cessions, qui sont rarement utilisées, lorsqu'une Première Nation cède ses terres, elle renonce à tous ses intérêts à l'égard des terres en question, qui perdent leur statut de terres de réserve. Dans le cas de terres désignées, les Premières Nations conservent leurs droits et intérêts à l'égard des terres.

Q.10) Le seuil de vote pour la cession de terres a-t-il lui aussi été réduit à la majorité simple?

Non, les modifications visant à réduire le seuil de vote à la majorité simple ne s'appliquent qu'aux dispositions sur la désignation des terres de la Loi sur les Indiens, et non à celles concernant la cession des terres. L'exigence du vote de la majorité de la majorité sera maintenue pour la cession des terres. Ce seuil de vote plus élevé est considéré comme convenable dans le cas de cession des terres, compte tenu de l'incidence de la renonciation à la propriété et à l'administration des terres de réserve.

Q.11) Les modifications auront-elles une incidence sur la gestion des terres en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations (LGTPN)?

Non. Étant donné que les Premières Nations assujetties à la LGTPN ne sont pas régies par les dispositions touchant les terres de la Loi sur les Indiens, les modifications à la désignation des terres ne s'appliquent pas à celles-ci.

Q.12) Les modifications ont-elles une incidence sur la propriété individuelle des terres de réserve?

Non. Un certificat de possession confirme la possession légale d'une terre de réserve par un membre de la bande. Il n'est pas nécessaire de procéder à la désignation des terres pour louer ou gérer d'une quelconque façon des terres appartenant à des particuliers. La désignation des terres ne s'applique qu'aux terres communes et exige au préalable un scrutin communautaire.

Q.13) Les modifications à la désignation des terres s'appliquent elles aux collectivités des Premières Nations au nord du 60e parallèle?

Oui, les modifications s'appliquent aux réserves situées au nord du 60e parallèle qui sont assujetties à la Loi sur les Indiens, y compris la réserve no 1 des Dénés de Hay River (Première Nation K'atlodeeche) et les réserves Salt Plains no 195 et de Salt River no 195 (Première Nation Salt River no 195), dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Toutefois, elles ne s'appliquent pas aux collectivités au nord du 60e parallèle ayant conclu des accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale ou des traités modernes.

Q.14) Est-ce que les modifications ont des répercussions sur le droit des membres hors réserve de voter sur une désignation de la terre, tel que prévu par la décision Corbiere?

Non, les membres admissibles hors réserve continueront d'être en mesure d'exercer leur droit de vote sur une proposition de la désignation des terres.

Q.15) Les modifications auront-elles une incidence sur les terres que possèdent les membres d'une Première Nation?

Non. Un membre d'une bande n'aura pas besoin d'une désignation pour louer les terres dont il est légalement le propriétaire.

Q.16) Qui sera touché par la modification des dispositions sur la désignation de la Loi sur les Indiens?

Les changements toucheront les Premières Nations qui désignent des terres sous le régime de la Loi sur les Indiens. Par conséquent, ils n'auront aucune incidence sur les Premières Nations autonomes et les Premières Nations qui ont adhéré au régime de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations. Depuis septembre dernier, le Canada a conclu 18 ententes globales en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale touchant 32 collectivités, ainsi qu'une entente visant à établir un gouvernement populaire au Nunavut. Au 27 février 2013, la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations s'appliquait à 35 Premières Nations.

Q.17) Combien de Premières Nations doivent procéder à un second vote?

Au cours des cinq dernières années, dans environ 80 % des collectivités des Premières Nations ont tenu un second vote.

Q.18) Combien de mois s'écoulent en moyenne entre le premier vote et le deuxième?

En moyenne, le second vote est tenu de quatre à six mois après le premier.

Q.19) Est-ce que les modifications aux dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens relatives à la désignation des terres empiètent sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités?

Non, les modifications aux articles de la Loi sur les Indiens relatifs à la désignation des terres n'ont pas d'effet sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités, ni sur les obligations du Canada à l'égard des Premières Nations. Elles maintiennent les exigences actuelles en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens voulant qu'un vote de ratification éclairé soit tenu avant de désigner des terres et que le gouvernement fédéral approuve la décision avant d'officialiser la désignation. En veillant au respect de ces exigences, le gouvernement du Canada s'est efforcé de rendre le processus de désignation plus efficace en réduisant les lourdeurs administratives et en simplifiant les processus internes.

Q.20) Est-ce que le gouvernement a reçu des demandes de la part des Premières Nations en vue d'améliorer les dispositions sur la désignation des terres dans la Loi sur les Indiens?

En adoptant les modifications aux dispositions sur la désignation des terres dans la Loi sur les Indiens, le gouvernement répond aux demandes faites par des Premières Nations partout au pays en vue d'accélérer le processus de désignation des terres qui figure dans la Loi. Les Premières Nations ont parlé de leur besoin d'avoir des chances égales d'attirer des investissements. Ces préoccupations ont aussi été mentionnées le 19 novembre 2012, lorsque plusieurs Autochtones ont témoigné devant le Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord au sujet des changements pour la désignation des terres.

Les Premières Nations peuvent émettre des commentaires sur les mesures législatives et le règlement par le truchement du processus parlementaire. Les projets de loi et les règlements examinés sont affichés sur le site du Parlement du Canada   et de la Gazette du Canada   respectivement.

Q.21) Est-ce que les changements aux dispositions sur la désignation des terres énoncées dans la Loi sur les Indiens permettront de renforcer le pouvoir de prise de décision des Premières Nations et leur compétence sur leurs propres terres?

Oui, les changements visent à donner un plus grand pouvoir de prise de décision aux Premières Nations. En abaissant les conditions de vote que le gouvernement accepte afin de désigner officiellement des terres au nom des Premières Nations, les Premières Nations auront une plus grande flexibilité pour mener les processus de vote et conclure des partenariats d'affaires avec l'industrie.

Q.22) Pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a t il modifié le Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens?

Le Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens a été modifié à la suite des changements apportés récemment au processus de désignation des terres de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Les modifications apportées au Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens vont dans le sens des récentes modifications législatives visant à accélérer le processus de désignation des terres de réserve et ainsi donner aux Premières Nations une plus grande latitude des occasions de développement économique en temps opportun.

Plus précisément, les modifications réglementaires établissement le nouveau seuil de vote à la majorité simple et introduisent un nouveau règlement exigeant une résolution du conseil de bande acceptant ou rejetant le résultat de tout vote communautaire.

Q.23) Quelles sont les modifications qui ont été apportées au Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens?

Les modifications apportées au Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens changent les renvois aux dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens de façon à les aligner avec les modifications récemment apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens, font en sorte que le nouveau seuil de vote à la majorité simple soit appliqué aux exigences sur les référendums et introduisent le nouveau règlement exigeant une résolution du conseil de bande acceptant ou rejetant le résultat de tout vote communautaire.

En vertu des nouveaux règlements, si les dirigeants communautaires doutent qu'un vote représente le consentement éclairé de la collectivité, le conseil de bande peut dorénavant recommander au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien de rejeter le résultat, ce qui mettra fin au processus.

Plus précisément, les modifications apportées au Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens sont les suivantes :

  • Remplacement de l'article 1.1 de manière à changer les renvois à la Loi sur les Indiens et à appliquer le nouvel article 39.1 de la Loi sur les Indiens, qui établit les conditions de désignation des terres devant être satisfaites pour qu'une désignation soit valide;
  • Remplacement du paragraphe 3(1) par le nouvel article 39.1 de la Loi sur les Indiens, qui établit les conditions de désignation des terres devant être appliquées à la procédure pour la tenue d'un référendum;
  • Remplacement de l'article 23 de manière à séparer la procédure d'examen pour la cession de terres et les nouvelles règles de désignation des terres avec les paragraphes (1) et (2).

Les modifications législatives et réglementaires ne s'appliquent qu'à la désignation de terres et non à la cession de terres. Les dispositions relatives à la cession absolue de terres restent les mêmes. Les modifications n'ont aucune incidence sur les relations entre la Couronne et les Premières Nations, puisque les terres désignées demeurent des terres de réserve.

Q.24) Ces modifications ont-elles été publiées dans la Gazette du Canada?

Oui, les modifications ont été publiées dans la Gazette du Canada, fixant au 1er mars 2013 leur date d'entrée en vigueur : 1) section 8 de la partie 4 de la Loi de 2012 sur l'emploi et la croissance   et 2) modifications apportées au Règlement sur les référendums des Indiens  .