ARCHIVED - 2012-2013 Central Mackenzie Valley Call for Nominations

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Date of launch: March 11, 2013
Closing date: 4 p.m. (EDT) on April 24, 2013

Table of Contents


Call for Nominations

Calls for Nominations, although not required by law, are generally issued for periods ranging from one to three months. This gives industry the opportunity to identify blocks of land it would like to see posted for bidding. All nominations received through this process are given full consideration for inclusion in a succeeding Call for Bids.

Central Mackenzie Valley

Despite containing one of Canada's largest oil fields at Norman Wells, the Mackenzie Valley of the Northwest Territories remains lightly explored and offers opportunities to make new and potentially large discoveries of both gas and oil. The region includes lands described the Gwich'in Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement and Sahtu Dene and Metis Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement.

Return to Table of Contents




1. Submission of Nominations

For inclusion in a Call for Bids for Exploration Licences

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development hereby calls for the submission of nominations on Frontier Lands, as defined in the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, located in Central Mackenzie Valley. A map is included.

Nominations received will configure parcels that could be included in a Call for Bids for Exploration Licences.

Lands currently under licence which revert to Crown reserve status during the course of this Call for Nominations may also be posted. Please refer to our registry activities. This site will list any changes to licences such as surrenders and terminations and is updated frequently.

Interested parties are highly encouraged to read the Proposed 2012-2013 Call for Bids for Exploration Licences in the Central Mackenzie Valley prior to nominating lands.

The exercise of petroleum rights is subject to specific terms and conditions relating to the environment and must comply with requirements under land claims as well as for northern benefits. Such information is contained in the Proposed 2012-2013 Call for Bids for Exploration Licences and within the terms of the Exploration Licence.

(a) Content of Posting Requests

All posting requests must be described in accordance with the attached Guidelines for Parcels North of Latitude 60° N. Each tract posted shall comprise laterally or diagonally contiguous blocks.

Parcel Size

The minimum size of any posting is one (1) section; the maximum size is four (4) grids (320 sections).

A Posting Request Form and should accompany the request.

In the Mackenzie Valley, subsurface selections made by Aboriginal groups pursuant to the land claim settlement agreements are excluded from the lands available for posting. The boundaries of parcels posted for lands that either abut or surround these subsurface selections may be described by simple exclusion. For example, a posting in the Sahtu settlement region could be described as: 66° 00' N x 126° 00' W, all sections excluding Sahtu-owned subsurface selection areas or 66° 00' N x 126° 00' W, all sections including those abutting Sahtu-owned  subsurface selection areas. The final land descriptions for these parcels will be prepared in consultation with the requester.

(b) Submission of Posting Requests

Posting requests must be received by April 24, 2013 at 4 p.m. (EDT), to be considered by the Minister for inclusion in a Call for Bids for Exploration Licences (tentatively scheduled for May 2013) pursuant to section 14 of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act.

All requests must be submitted by fax and addressed as follows:

2012-2013 Central Mackenzie Valley Call for Nominations
Closing date: April 24, 2013 at 4 p.m. (EDT)

Attention: Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate
Northern Petroleum and Mineral Resources Branch
Facsimile: 819-953-5828

Requesters are advised to give prior notice of their intent to submit a fax by calling 819-997-0048 or 819-953-2087 immediately prior to transmission. Telephone confirmation will be provided, if requested, upon receipt of the fax.

Only the fax copy is necessary; original copies are not required.

All submissions received will become property of the Crown and will not be returned. All information concerning nominations will remain confidential.

(c) Priority of Posting

Priority of posting will be determined by order of receipt. Time of receipt will be that recorded by the fax machine of the Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate (formerly Northern Oil and Gas Branch) in Gatineau, Quebec.

In case of overlapping requests, the first to be received will have priority. The second requester will be informed of the area remaining in the request which does not overlap a prior nomination. The second requester will be required to state whether they would like to maintain their posting on the remaining lands or withdraw the request.

(d) Resulting Call for Bids

Any individual or company which requests the posting of a parcel(s) is expected to submit a bid(s) in an ensuing Call for Bids for Exploration Licences. Requesters are advised to examine the proposed Call for Bids for Exploration Licences and terms and conditions of an Exploration Licence. The Minister reserves the right to refuse future posting requests by that individual or company should a bid not be submitted.

The Minister will take into account all nominations in developing a Call for Bids but may modify nominations to configure a bid block following consultation with the nominee.

The Minister is not obliged to proceed with a Call for Bids for any lands posted.

Return to Table of Contents




Further Information and Contacts

For more information on this call, the rights issuance process or the resource management regime, please contact:

Rights Administration
Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate
Northern Petroleum and Mineral Resources Branch
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
10 Wellington
Gatineau, Quebec
Postal Address: OTTAWA ON K1A 0H4
Tel: 819-953-2087; Fax: 819-953-5828
Rights@aandc.gc.ca
www.aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-eng.asp

Any geological and well information with respect to the lands or area may be obtained from:

Regulatory Data Analyst
Operations Business unit
National Energy Board
444 Seventh Avenue SW
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8
Tel: 403-292-4800; Fax: 403-292-5876
FIO@neb-one.gc.ca
www.neb-one.gc.ca

Return to Table of Contents




Map of the Call Area

Annexes

Return to Table of Contents
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Demande de désignations 2012-2013 pour la partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de lancement: le 11 mars 2013
Date de fermeture: le 24 avril 2013 à 16h (HAE)

Table des matières


Demande de désignations

Bien que la demande de désignations ne soit pas obligatoire selon la loi, elle s'applique généralement pour une période de un à trois mois. Cette procédure donne à l'industrie l'occasion de désigner les parcelles de terres précises pour lesquelles elle souhaiterait soumissionner. Toutes les demandes reçues dans le cadre de ce processus sont étudiées en vue de leur intégration à un l'appel d'offres subséquent.

Partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie

Bien qu'à Norman Wells, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, on retrouve l'un des plus grands champs pétroliers du Canada; la vallée du Mackenzie est encore très peu explorée et elle représente des occasions de faire des découvertes possiblement importantes de pétrole et de gaz. La région visée par l'appel comprend des terres décrites dans l'Entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Gwich'in ainsi que dans l'Entente sur la revendication territoriale des Dénés et Métis du Sahtu.

Retour à la table des matières




1. Soumission des désignations

Pour inclusion dans l’appel d’offres pour permis prospection

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien demande par la présente que l'on soumette des désignations à l'égard des terres domaniales, telles que définies par la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, situées dans la partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie, Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Une carte est fournie.

Les désignations reçues pourront configurer des parcelles qui pourraient être incluses dans un appel d’offres pour permis de prospection.

Les terres actuellement visées par un titre qui reprennent le statut de réserve de la Couronne au cours de la période visée par la demande de désignations sont aussi admissibles. Veuillez vous référer aux activités mensuelles du bureau d'enregistrement. Ce site énumère les changements survenus dans un Permis tels que les cessations et les abandons de terres. Ce site est mis à jour de façon régulière.

Les intéressés sont fortement encouragés à lire l’appel d’offres 2012-2013 proposé pour permis de prospection dans la partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie avant de soumettre une désignation.

L’exercice de droits d’exploration pétrolière peut être subordonné à des conditions précises relatives à l’environnement, et doit se conformer aux revendications territoriales ainsi qu’aux exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord. Des renseignements supplémentaires sont disponibles dans l’appel d’offres 2012-2013 proposé pour permis de prospection dans la partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie ainsi que dans les conditions du permis de prospection.

(a) Contenu des demandes de désignations

Toutes les demandes de désignations doivent être formulées conformément aux Lignes directrices pour les parcelles au nord du 60e parallèle, ci-jointes. Chaque parcelle désignée doit être constituée de blocs latéralement ou diagonalement adjacents.

Taille des parcelles

La taille minimale de toute désignation est d'une (1) section et sa taille maximale de 4 étendues quadrillées (320 sections).

Le formulaire de désignation, ci-joint, devrait accompagner toute demande.

Dans la vallée du Mackenzie, toutes les sélections autochtones visant des droits d'exploitation du sous-sol faites conformément aux ententes sur le règlement des revendications territoriales sont exclues des terres pouvant faire l'objet de désignations. Les limites des parcelles désignées adjacentes à ces sélections visant des droits d'exploitation du sous-sol ou qui les entourent peuvent être décrites par simple exclusion. Par exemple, une demande de désignation à l'intérieur de la région de l'entente avec les Dénés et Métis du Sahtu pourrait être décrite comme suit : 66° 00' N. x 126° 00' O., toutes les sections à l'exclusion des régions visées par des sélections de droits d'exploitation du sous-sol par les Dénés et Métis du Sahtu ou 66° 00' N. x 126° 00' O., toutes les sections incluant celles qui sont adjacentes aux régions visées par des sélections de droits d'exploitation du sous-sol par les Dénés et Métis du Sahtu. Les descriptions des terres finales de ces parcelles seront préparées en consultation avec l'intéressé.

(b) Présentation de demandes de désignations

Les demandes de désignations reçues au plus tard le 24 avril 2013 à 16 h (HAE) seront étudiées par le ministre en vue d'une inclusion dans un appel d'offres pour permis de prospection (prévu pour mai 2013) conformément à l'article 14 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

Toutes les demandes doivent être présentées par télécopieur et adressées comme suit :

Demande de désignations 2012-2013 - Partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie
Date de fermeture: le 24 avril 2013 à 16h (HAE)

à l'attention de: Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord
Direction générale des ressources pétrolières et minérales du Nord
Télécopieur: 819-953-5828

Les intéressés sont priés de composer soit le 819-997-0048 ou le 819- 953- 2087 immédiatement avant de procéder à l'envoi de leur message par télécopieur afin de l'annoncer. La réception du message peut être confirmée par téléphone.

La copie reçue par télécopieur suffit; aucun original n'est nécessaire.

Les demandes reçues deviennent propriété de la Couronne et ne sont pas retournées à l'expéditeur. Tous les renseignements sur les désignations sont confidentiels.

(c) Priorité de désignation

La priorité sera établie suivant l'ordre de réception (moment enregistré par le télécopieur de la Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord (anciennement Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord) à Gatineau, Québec).

Si deux demandes se recoupent, la priorité sera accordée à la première reçue. On indiquera au deuxième soumissionnaire les zones inscrites sur sa demande qui ne recoupent aucune zone déjà désignée. La deuxième personne devra dire si elle désire maintenir sa demande de désignations pour les terres qui restent ou la retirer.

(d) Appel d'offres subséquent

Tout particulier ou toute société qui demande la désignation de parcelles devra aussi présenter une ou plusieurs offres en réponse à l'appel d'offres pour permis de prospection subséquent. Les intéressés sont invités à examiner le document de l’appel d’offres proposé pour permis de prospection afin d’obtenir des renseignements concernant: les modalités et conditions de l’appel d’offres ainsi que les modalités et conditions d’un permis de prospection. Le ministre se réserve le droit d'écarter les demandes de désignations futures de ce particulier ou de cette société si aucune offre n'a été présentée.

Le ministre considérera toutes les demandes de désignations en vue d’une inclusion dans un appel d’offres mais, afin d’établir une plus grande étendue, il pourra modifier les désignations, suivant sa consultation avec le particulier ou la société ayant fait la demande.

Le ministre n’est pas tenu de lancer un appel d’offres pour les terres désignées.

Retour à la table des matières




Information supplémentaires et contacts

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus d'attribution des droits ou le régime de gestion des ressources naturelles, s’adresser à :

Administration des Droits
Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord
Direction générale des ressources pétrolières et minérales du Nord
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
10 Wellington
Gatineau, Québec
Adresse Postale: OTTAWA ON K1A 0H4
Téléphone : 819-953-2087; Télécopieur : 819-953-5828
Droits@aadnc.gc.ca
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-fra.asp

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la géologie et les puits des terres visées ou des environs :

Analyste de données réglementaires
Secteur des opérations
Office national de l'énergie
444 – 7ième Avenue S.O.
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8
Téléphone : 403-292-4800; Télécopieur : 403-292-5876
FIO@neb-one.gc.ca
www.neb-one.gc.ca





Carte de la région de l'appel

Annexes

Date de modification :