What is AANDC doing to support Aboriginal economic development?

date: Feb 2013
ISBN: 978-1-100-21843-4
QS-B057-000-EE-A1

PDF Version   (478 Kb, 4 Pages)  
Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre

AANDC is the lead department responsible for carrying out the Government of Canada's Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development. Released in June 2009, the Framework represents a fundamental change to how the federal government supports Aboriginal economic development. The Framework uses a modern and comprehensive approach to seize opportunities and build strategic partnerships with Aboriginal groups, the private sector, and the provinces and territories. There are five strategic priorities under the Framework:

  1. Strengthening Aboriginal Entrepreneurship
  2. Developing Aboriginal Human Capital
  3. Enhancing the Value of Aboriginal Assets
  4. Forging New and Effective Partnerships
  5. Focusing the Role of the Federal Government

1. Strengthening Aboriginal Entrepreneurship

AANDC aims to create a more business friendly climate on reserve and in the North through improved access to capital and other business opportunities that will help to strengthen entrepreneurship for First Nations.

One way AANDC helps support this priority is by addressing the shortage of available credit for Aboriginal small business development through funding Aboriginal Financial Institutions (AFIs). AFIs concentrate on providing loans to enterprises which are not yet ready to successfully secure business loans from banks. Some AFIs also provide additional business services, including training and support to Aboriginal entrepreneurs.

AFIs at Work in British Columbia

Richard Harry
Penlatch Seafood Ltd. General Manager Richard Harry seeds Manila clams

Nestled along the shoreline of central Vancouver Island, the K'ómoks First Nation's Pentlach Seafood Ltd. has consistently been recognized as an industry leader in the sustainable production of oysters and clams in Canada. With support from the Nuu-chah-nulth Economic Development Corporation, an Aboriginal Financial Institution (AFI) that works with AANDC, Pentlach Seafood’s intensive environmental stewardship program helps to ensure high-quality shellfish are harvested from the community's pristine coastal waters. Penlatch Seafood is proof that sustainable seafood makes good business sense – the company produces over 3 million shellfish yearly and recently purchased a processing facility that will help other coastal First Nations market their seafood to customers across Asia and North America.

2. Developing Aboriginal Human Capital

AANDC works to increase First Nation, Inuit and Métis participation in the workforce across Canada by supporting demand-driven labour market development. This benefits Aboriginal individuals, families, communities, employers and the Canadian economy as a whole.

One AANDC program that helps support this priority is the Community Support Services Program (CSSP), which funds the development and implementation of national and regional support services to First Nation and Inuit Community Economic Development Organizations. These support services aim to increase community capacity to carry out projects and activities related to community economic development.

CSSP at Work in British Columbia

First Nation Economic Development Officers and Aboriginal entrepreneurs
First Nation Economic Development Officers and Aboriginal entrepreneurs attend an ICAB capacity building session

Aboriginal entrepreneurs are developing a solid foundation of business-related skills with help from the Industry Council for Aboriginal Business (ICAB), a non-profit organization that fosters mutually beneficial economic development for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people by encouraging open dialogue between Aboriginal communities and industry. With support from the Community Support Services Program (CSSP), ICAB launched a number of capacity building sessions throughout the province. The sessions provided First Nation Economic Development Officers and Aboriginal entrepreneurs with hands-on skills development seminars on topics such as basic accounting, finance, human resources, information technology and marketing. The BC Aboriginal Business Association, a corporate partner of ICAB, delivered the seminars with the goal of providing the attendees with the necessary tools and knowledge to initiate and develop their own economic development projects.

3. Enhancing the Value of Aboriginal Assets

Through aligning federal investments with viable economic opportunities, better management of business and community assets, and a modern lands/resource management regime, AANDC is helping to enhance the value of Aboriginal assets.

AANDC supports this priority with programs such as the Community Economic Opportunities Program (CEOP), which provides project-based support to those First Nation and Inuit communities that have the best opportunities for public services in economic development. CEOP helps these communities create economic benefits, including more community employment, greater use of land and resources under community control, enhanced community economic infrastructure, increased number of community businesses, more business opportunities, and a better climate and environment for community economic development.

CEOP at Work in British Columbia

The Coyote Rock Development's master plan
The Coyote Rock Development's master plan

The Williams Lake Indian Band is seizing the opportunity to capitalize on central British Columbia's growing economy with plans for a large residential and commercial project near the town of Williams Lake, BC. With funding support from AANDC's Community Economic Opportunities Program (CEOP), the Coyote Rock Development project will help revitalize the transportation corridor of Highway 97 with potential for up to 20 acres of market-based housing and 60,000 square feet of leasable commercial space for businesses such as restaurants, automotive shops and retail. The spin-off benefits for the region are huge – strengthened partnerships with local governments and businesses, the creation of over 200 new jobs and the potential to inject millions of dollars into the regional economy.

4. Forging New and Effective Partnerships

AANDC promotes partnerships with the provinces and territories as well as the private sector to ensure long-term, sustainable economic development opportunities. The Department helps Aboriginal people respond to market-driven partnership opportunities through programs such as the Strategic Partnerships Initiatives (SPI).

SPI is intended to support Aboriginal participation in the economy, with a particular focus on opportunities in natural resource sectors. It works by enabling more than a dozen federal departments and agencies to coordinate support for existing and emerging Aboriginal economic development opportunities. The initiative's funding is intended to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing federal government programs.

SPI on the Ground in British Columbia

British Columbia has a wealth of natural resources and great potential for economic partnerships with First Nations. The mining, energy and forestry sectors have benefitted from building mutual partnerships with First Nations. For example, in order to support First Nations to take advantage of opportunities in the mining sector, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI) provided funding to the BC First Nations Energy and Mining Council to establish exploration agreements, Impact and Benefit Agreement training workshops, and policy development. The results speak for themselves. In the last few months, several First Nations have developed meaningful partnerships with mining companies and energy providers, such as the recent joint exploration agreement between the Tl'azt'en Nation and Pishon Jade Resources Inc. that formalizes protocols and establishes processes for the future negotiation of a comprehensive Impact and Benefits Agreement.

5. Focusing the Role of the Federal Government

The Government of Canada's overarching priority is to be more effective and efficient with clearer direction, greater coordination, more linkages and better collaboration in support of the strategic priorities under the Framework.

Why should you invest in First Nation communities?

  • Access to Aboriginal markets
  • Gateway to a growing, better educated Aboriginal labour market
  • Ability to build goodwill and strong partnerships with First Nation communities
  • Opportunity to mutually develop untapped land and resources

For more information on the full scope of funding and initiatives available to support Aboriginal economic development in Canada, read the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development at:
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/eng/1100100033498

For information regarding reproduction rights, please contact Public Works and Government Services Canada at: 613-996-6886 or at: droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca

www.aandc-aadnc.gc.ca
1-800-567-9604
TTY only 1-866-553-0554
QS-B057-000-EE-A1
Catalogue: R3-186/2013E
ISBN : 978-1-100-21843-4

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, 2013

This Publication is also available in French under the title: Que fait AADNC pour promouvoir le développement économique des Autochtones?

Que fait AADNC pour promouvoir le développement économique des Autochtones?

date : février 2013
ISBN : 978-1-100-95810-1
QS-B057-000-FF-A1

Format PDF   (484 Ko, 4 Pages)  
le centre culturel sur le désert de Nk'Mip

AADNC est le ministère responsable de la mise en œuvre du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones du gouvernement du Canada. Lancé en juin 2009, le Cadre représente un changement fondamental en ce qui concerne la façon dont le gouvernement fédéral soutient le développement économique des Autochtones. Le Cadre prévoit une approche moderne et globale permettant de saisir les occasions qui se présentent et de créer des partenariats stratégiques avec les groupes autochtones, le secteur privé ainsi que les provinces et les territoires. Le Cadre comprend cinq priorités stratégiques :

  1. Renforcer l’entrepreneuriat autochtone
  2. Développer le capital humain autochtone
  3. Augmenter la valeur des actifs autochtones
  4. Créer de nouveaux partenariats efficaces
  5. Orienter le rôle du gouvernement fédéral

1. Renforcer l’entrepreneuriat autochtone

AADNC vise à créer un climat plus favorable aux affaires dans les réserves et dans le Nord en améliorant l’accès au capital et aux autres possibilités d’affaires, ce qui renforcera l’entrepreneuriat autochtone.

AADNC appuie cette priorité notamment en s’attaquant à la pénurie de crédits consacrés au développement des petites entreprises autochtones par l’entremise du financement d’institutions financières autochtones (IFA). Les IFA se concentrent sur l’offre de prêts aux entreprises qui ne sont pas encore en mesure d’obtenir des prêts offerts par les banques. Certaines IFA fournissent également d’autres services aux entreprises, y compris de la formation et du soutien aux entrepreneurs autochtones.

Les IFA à l’œuvre en Colombie-Britannique

Richard Harry
Richard Harry, directeur général de Pentlatch Seafoods Ltd., ensemence des palourdes japonaises.

Nichée le long de la rive du centre de l’île de Vancouver, l’entreprise Pentlatch Seafoods Ltd., de la Première Nation des K’ómoks, est constamment perçue comme un chef de file dans l’industrie de la production durable d’huîtres et de myes au Canada. Avec l’appui de la Nuu-chah-nulth Economic Development Corporation, une institution financière autochtone (IFA) qui collabore avec AADNC, le programme intensif de gérance environnementale de Pentlatch Seafoods Ltd. contribue à garantir que des mollusques de qualité supérieure sont récoltés dans les eaux côtières pures de la collectivité. Pentlatch Seafoods Ltd. prouve que la récolte durable de fruits de mer est une avenue sensée sur le plan des affaires : l’entreprise produit plus de 3 millions de mollusques par année et a récemment acheté une installation de traitement qui aidera les autres Premières Nations côtières à vendre leurs fruits de mer en Asie et en Amérique du Nord.

2. Développer le capital humain autochtone

AADNC s’emploie à accroître la participation des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis à la main-d’œuvre canadienne. Les Autochtones, les familles, les collectivités, les employeurs et l’économie canadienne y gagnent tous.

L’un des programmes d’AADNC qui contribuent à appuyer cette priorité est le Programme de services de soutien aux communautés (PSSC), qui finance la mise en œuvre de plans nationaux et régionaux pour offrir des services de soutien aux organisations de développement économique communautaire des Premières Nations et des Inuits. Les services de soutien visent à augmenter la capacité économique des organisations des communautés.

Le PSSC à l’œuvre en Colombie-Britannique

Des agents de développement économique des Premières Nations et des entrepreneurs autochtones
Des agents de développement économique des Premières Nations et des entrepreneurs autochtones assistent à une séance de renforcement des capacités de l’Industry Council for Aboriginal Business.

Les entrepreneurs autochtones adoptent une base solide de compétences liées aux affaires grâce à l’aide de l’Industry Council for Aboriginal Business (ICAB), un organisme sans but lucratif qui favorise un développement économique mutuellement avantageux pour les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones en encourageant la tenue d’un dialogue ouvert entre les communautés autochtones et l’industrie. Avec l’appui du Programme de services de soutien aux communautés (PSSC), l’Industry Council for Aboriginal Business a organisé quelques séances de renforcement des capacités dans l’ensemble de la province. Les séances offertes à des agents de développement économique des Premières Nations et à des entrepreneurs autochtones comprenaient des ateliers sur le développement des compétences pratiques portant entre autres sur les domaines de la comptabilité de base, des finances, des ressources humaines, des technologies de l’information et du marketing. L’Association des entreprises autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique, un partenaire de l’Industry Council for Aboriginal Business, a offert des ateliers ayant pour but de fournir aux participants les outils et les connaissances nécessaires pour concevoir et développer leurs propres projets de développement économique.

3. Augmenter la valeur des actifs autochtones

L’harmonisation des investissements fédéraux avec les possibilités économiques viables, une meilleure gestion des actifs commerciaux et communautaires et un régime moderne de gestion des terres et des ressources contribueront à améliorer la valeur des actifs.

AADNC appuie cette priorité avec des programmes comme le Programme d’opportunités économiques pour les communautés (POEC) qui pourvoit un support de base aux projets des communautés des Premières Nations et des Inuits qui offrent les meilleures opportunités de services publics en développement économique. Le POEC aide ces communautés à générer des retombées économiques dans la communauté, dont une augmentation de l’emploi dans la communauté, une plus grande utilisation des ressources gérées par la communauté, une meilleure infrastructure économique communautaire, des entreprises communautaires plus grandes et plus nombreuses, des opportunités d’affaires accrues ainsi qu’un milieu et un environnement plus propices au développement économique communautaire.

Le POEC à l’œuvre en Colombie-Britannique

Plan directeur du projet de Coyote Rock Development
Plan directeur du projet de Coyote Rock Development

La bande indienne de Williams Lake explore la possibilité de profiter de l’économie croissante du centre de la Colombie-Britannique grâce à la réalisation d’un important projet résidentiel et commercial près de Williams Lake, en Colombie-Britannique. Grâce à l’appui financier du Programme d’opportunités économiques pour les communautés (POEC) d’AADNC, le projet de Coyote Rock Development contribuera à revitaliser le corridor de transport de la route 97 avec une possibilité d’utiliser jusqu’à 8 hectares pour la construction de logements fondés sur le marché et 5 574 m2 pour des commerces tels que des restaurants, des garages et des boutiques. Les avantages de ce projet pour la région sont énormes : des partenariats renforcés avec les administrations et les entreprises locales, la création de plus de 200 nouveaux emplois et le potentiel d’injecter des millions de dollars dans l’économie régionale.

4. Créer de nouveaux partenariats efficaces

AADNC fait la promotion de partenariats avec les provinces et les territoires, ainsi que le secteur privé, pour assurer le développement économique durable à long terme. Le Ministère aide les Autochtones à explorer les possibilités de partenariats offertes par le marché par l’entremise de programmes tels que l’Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS).

L’IPS est un programme visant à promouvoir la participation des Autochtones à l’économie qui accorde une place importante aux possibilités dans les secteurs des ressources naturelles. Plus d’une douzaine de ministères et d’organismes fédéraux collaborent à cette initiative dans le cadre de partenariats. L’IPS permet à ces ministères et organismes de coordonner le soutien aux possibilités de développement économique nouvelles et existantes qui sont destinées aux Autochtones. Le financement de l’initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes qui ne pourraient être comblées par les programmes fédéraux en place.

L’IPS sur le terrain en Colombie-Britannique

La Colombie-Britannique possède d’abondantes ressources naturelles et un excellent potentiel de création de partenariats économiques avec des Premières Nations. Les secteurs de l’exploitation minière, de l’énergie et de la foresterie ont profité de la création de partenariats mutuels avec des Premières Nations. Par exemple, afin d’aider les Premières Nations à tirer profit des possibilités offertes par le secteur de l’exploitation minière, l’Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) a financé le BC First Nations Energy and Mining Council en vue d’élaborer des ententes d’exploration, des ateliers de formation sur les ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages et des politiques. Les résultats parlent d’eux-mêmes. Au cours des derniers mois, plusieurs Premières Nations ont établi des partenariats efficaces avec des entreprises minières et des fournisseurs d’énergie, comme la récente entente d’exploration commune établie entre la Nation Tl’azt’en et Pishon Jade Resources Inc. qui officialise les protocoles et établit les processus en vue de la négociation future d’une entente globale sur les répercussions et les avantages.

5. Orienter le rôle du gouvernement fédéral

La priorité générale du gouvernement du Canada est d’être plus efficace grâce à une orientation plus claire, à davantage de coordination et de liens ainsi qu’à une collaboration améliorée à l’appui des priorités stratégiques figurant dans le Cadre.

Pourquoi investir dans une communauté des Premières Nations?

  • avoir accès aux créneaux de marché autochtones;
  • avoir accès à un nombre croissant de compétences autochtones;
  • acquérir un capital de sympathie avec les collectivités autochtones;
  • avoir la possibilité d’exploiter conjointement des terres et des ressources encore inexploitées.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’ensemble des fonds et des initiatives disponibles pour soutenir le développement économique des Autochtones au Canada, consultez le Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones à
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/fra/1100100033498


Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les droits de reproduction, veuillez communiquer avec Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) par téléphone au 613-996-6886, ou par courriel à l’adresse suivante : droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
1-800-567-9604
ATS seulement 1 866 553-0554
QS-B057-000-FF-A1
Catalogue: R3-186/2013F
ISBN : 978-1-100-95810-1

© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, 2013

Cette publication est aussi disponible en anglais sous le titre : What is AANDC doing to support Aboriginal economic development?