ARCHIVED - 2012-2013 Call for Nominations Launched in the Arctic islands of Nunavut

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Download the PDF Version (47 Kb, 1 Page)

Bulletin
Volume 21, Number 1
February 2013

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development is hereby inviting industry to nominate lands to be included in a Call for Bids for Exploration Licences and also gives advance notice of his intent to include the Bent Horn lands in a Call for Bids for a Significant Discovery Licence.

Please refer to the complete Call for Nominations package.

The identity of the nominator is kept strictly confidential.

ALL NOMINATIONS MUST BE RECEIVED BY APRIL 24, 2013 AT 4 P.M. (EDT) TO BE CONSIDERED BY THE MINISTER. ALL NOMINATIONS SHOULD BE FAXED TO THE ATTENTION OF:

NORTHERN PETROLEUM RESOURCES DIRECTORATE
NORTHERN PETROLEUM AND MINERAL RESOURCES BRANCH
FACSIMILE: 819-953-5828.

Call for Bids

Interested parties are highly encouraged to read the Proposed 2012-2013 Call for Bids for Exploration Licences and the Proposed 2012-2013 Call for Bids for a Significant Discovery Licence. The exercise of petroleum rights is subject to specific terms and conditions relating to the environment and must comply with requirements under land claims as well as for northern benefits. Such information is contained in the Proposed 2012-2013 Calls for Bids.

Should nominations be received, a Call for Bids for Exploration Licences and/or a Call for Bids for a Significant Discovery Licence may be launched in May 2013.

Arctic Islands of Nunavut

Most northerly of Canada's exploration regions, the Arctic Islands of Nunavut overlie one of Canada's largest petroliferous basins: the Sverdrup Basin. Exploration activity occurring mainly in the 1970s was extensive but sparsely distributed across this huge region. Nevertheless, the 164 wells drilled discovered gas and oil resources of over 14 trillion cubic feet and 300 million barrels. Of 16 fields discovered, two are major gas fields with discovered resources estimated at 9 trillion cubic feet. These are two of the largest undeveloped gas fields in Canada. These calls are for Crown lands falling within part of the Nunavut Settlement Area, as defined by the Nunavut Land Claim Agreement.

Bent Horn Lands

The Bent Horn oil field was discovered in the 1970s and produced a total of 4.5x105 m3 or 2.8 million barrels between 1985 and 1996. The field was abandoned before being depleted. The reservoir is in the Devonian Blue Fiord Formation, a reefal limestone and is located in thrust fault slices in the upper part of an isolated, reef-rimmed carbonate bank. The Bent Horn oil was produced from partially opened fractures within the limestone, representing porosities between 1 and 3%. The oil produced from this field is a waxy light crude (43° API).

The fractured nature of the reservoir and the complex structure of the field challenged the original development of this resource and estimation of recoverable oil. Seismic reprocessing of data to enhance imaging, improved understanding of the geology as well as new drilling and reservoir stimulation techniques warrant the re-examination of this field.

For more information on the rights issuance process or the resource management regime, please contact:

Rights Administration
Northern Petroleum Resources Directorate
Northern Petroleum and Mineral Resources Branch
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Tel: 819-953-2087 Fax: 819-953-5828
Rights@aandc.gc.ca
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-eng.asp
Media Enquiries: 819-953-1160

Note: This Bulletin is for information purposes only. Terms and conditions for each call are described in the call documents.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Lancement de Demande de désignations 2012-2013 dans l’archipel arctique du Nunavut

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Télécharger le format PDF (47 Ko, 1 page)

Bulletin
Volume 21, numéro 1
Février 2013

Par la présente, le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien invite l'industrie à désigner des terres en vue d'une inclusion dans un appel d'offres pour permis de prospection mais aussi, donne un préavis de son intention d'inclure les terres Bent Horn dans un appel d'offres pour une attestation de découverte importante.

Veuillez vous référer à la version intégrale des Demandes de désignations.

L'identité des intéressés reste confidentielle.

LES DÉSIGNATIONS SERONT ACCEPTÉES JUSQU'AU 24 AVRIL 2013 À 16 H (HAE). LES DÉSIGNATIONS DOIVENT ÊTRE TÉLÉCOPIÉES À L'ATTENTION DE :

DIRECTION DES RESSOURCES PÉTROLIÈRES DU NORD
DIRECTION GÉNÉRALE DES RESSOURCES PÉTROLIÈRES ET MINÉRALES DU NORD
TÉLÉCOPIEUR : 819-953-5828

Appels d'offres

Les intéressés sont fortement encouragés à lire l'appel d'offres 2012-2013 proposé pour permis de prospection ainsi que l'appel d'offres 2012-2013 proposé pour une attestation de découverte importante. L'exercice de droits d'exploration pétrolière peut être subordonné à des conditions précises relatives à l'environnement, et doit se conformer aux revendications territoriales ainsi qu'aux exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord. Des renseignements supplémentaires sont disponibles dans les appels d'offres 2012-2013.

Suivant la réception des désignations, un appel d'offres pour permis de prospection et/ou un appel d'offres pour une attestation de découverte importante pourrait être lancé en mai 2013.

Archipel arctique du Nunavut

L'archipel arctique du Nunavut, la région la plus septentrionale du Canada se prêtant à l'exploration, recouvre un des plus grands bassins pétrolifères au Canada: le bassin Sverdrup. Il s'y est fait beaucoup d'activités d'exploration, particulièrement dans les années 1970, mais celles-ci étaient clairsemées dans cette immense région. Néanmoins, les 164 puits forés ont permis la découverte de ressources gazières et pétrolières de plus de 14 trillions de pieds cubes et de 300 millions de barils. Des 16 champs découverts, deux sont des champs de gaz naturel majeurs, contenant des ressources estimées à 9 trillions de pieds cubes. Ces champs représentent les deux plus grands champs de gaz naturel au Canada et sont toujours inexploités. Les appels visent les terres domaniales situées principalement dans la région visée par l'entente sur les revendications territoriales de Nunavut, tel que définies dans l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

Terres Bent Horn

Le champ pétrolier Bent Horn, découvert dans les années 1970, a produit entre 1985 et 1996 un total de 4,5x105 m3, soit 2,8 millions de barils. Le champ a été abandonné avant d'être totalement épuisé. Le gisement pétrolifère se trouve dans la Formation de Blue Fiord du Dévonien, un calcaire récifal, et se situe dans des écailles de chevauchement dans la partie supérieure d'un banc carbonaté isolé, protégé par des récifs. Le pétrole du champ Bent Horn provient de fractures partiellement ouvertes dans le calcaire, représentant des porosités entre 1 et 3 %. Le pétrole extrait de ce champ est un brut léger paraffinique (43° API).

La nature fracturée de la roche réservoir et la structure complexe du champ posèrent un défi pour le développement initial de cette ressource et l'estimation du pétrole récupérable. Un retraitement des données sismiques permettant d'améliorer l'imagerie, de meilleures connaissances sur la géologie et de nouvelles méthodes de forage et de stimulation de roche réservoir justifient un nouvel examen de ce champ.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur le processus d'attribution des droits ou le régime de gestion des ressources naturelles, veuillez vous adresser à :

Administration des droits Direction des ressources pétrolières du Nord
Direction des ressources pétrolières et minérales du Nord
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-953-2087
Télécopieur: 819-953-5828
Droits@aadnc.gc.ca
www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/nth/og/index-fra.asp
Demande de renseignements des médias : 819-953-1160

Note : Ce bulletin est publié à titre d'information uniquement. Les conditions régissant chaque demande sont décrites dans les documents pertinents.

Date de modification :