Management Practices Audit of Northern Affairs Organization - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (65 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2012

Northern Affairs Organization & HRWSB

Management Practices Audit of Northern Affairs Organization
Approval Date: 2011/11/25
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. The Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) of Northern Affairs Organization (NAO) should to finalize NAO governance structure oversight mechanisms, including updating and approving Terms of Reference, holding meetings on a regular basis and retaining written Records of Decisions for key governance mechanisms. NAO governance mechanisms are under review. Modifications to Northern Management Board (NMB), the most senior governing body, have already been implemented including establishment of regular weekly meetings. NAO will complete that review to enhance sector governance. It will then finalize and document its governance structure oversight mechanisms as well as how those mechanisms will function. In particular, NAO will review, update and/or create committee terms of reference and enhance the secretariat function to ensure that minutes and records of decision are recorded appropriately.   Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

1.1 NAO has restructured the Northern Management Board which is now the Northern Management Committee (NMC). Working Groups are still under review.

1.2 Completed. The management structure of the NMC is documented in a Terms of Reference. Weekly meetings are structured through Forward Agendas, Agendas and Records of Decision/Follow-up.

1.3 Completed. Membership to NMC has been appointed and mechanisms implemented.

AES: Closed.
Actions:
1. Identify appropriate sector management structures including working groups and/or any other committees or mechanisms.
Q3 – 2011-12
2. Document management structures including Terms of References which will include meeting frequency, agendas, forward agendas, records of decision, etc. Q3 – 2011-12
3. Appoint membership and implement mechanisms not already operational Q4 – 2011-12
2. The ADM of NAO should work in collaboration with Policy and Strategic Direction Sector to develop and communicate a clear, longer-term strategic direction or vision for NAO and its Regions. NAO is in the process of further evolving its planning process for the launch of the 3rd NAO Business Plan. The plan will include the articulation of a longer-term strategic direction for NAO, including the HQ Branches, the three regional offices, and the government's Northern Strategy. While there is no departmental requirement or direction with respect to sector strategic plans, NAO will work with PSD to ensure that this strategic direction will align with that of the Department. On-going Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

1.1 NAO continues the inter-departmental coordination to develop recommendations for the GoC strategic direction with respect to the Northern Strategy. Internally, NAO continues to align its effort with that direction.

1.2 Initial analysis and review work with respect to organizational strategic direction was carried out in September and presented to the NMC.

AES: Closed.
Actions:

1. NAO will continue to align with the Government of Canada's overarching Northern Strategy providing key strategic direction

2. NAO will elaborate organizational strategic direction through its next planning cycle
Q4 - 2011-12
3. The ADM of NAO should work to leverage corporate risk management expertise to develop a formal practice and identify a governance structure to ensure regular monitoring and reporting on risks and related mitigating actions NAO has completed the integration of the identification and assessment of its key sector risks into its annual business planning cycle. NAO has completed the design of an on-going process to monitor and manage those risks and related mitigation actions. Completed AES: CLOSED.
4. The ADM of NAO should continue to lead the Sector's efforts to ensure funding is available to support the human resource planning decisions. NAO will continue to seek necessary funds through formal GoC mechanisms and is also currently refining a business case, in collaboration with the CFO, to secure ongoing funding to alleviate a long standing structural deficit.

Actions:
1. Complete business case in collaboration with CFO for consideration in annual departmental resource allocation process
Q4 – 2011-12 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

1.1 In response to the request through the Business Case, 75% of the salary pressures were allocated by CFO in May 2012. The balance is being reviewed through organizational review and the FMC process.

AES: Closed.
5. The Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch (HRWSB) Director General should clarify expected control requirements for staffing actions and ensure that supporting control documentation is retained for audit and file continuity purposes. Those recommendations are similar to those found in a number of HRWSMB monitoring reports. Action Plans to address those recommendations have already been developed and are being implemented. HRWSMB will ensure that these action plan measures are applied across the sector and the department. On-going AES: CLOSED.
6. The HRWSB Director General should work in collaboration with Sectors to review the Quarterly Dashboard metrics used to monitor HR staffing actions to ensure exceptional staffing actions are adequately monitored by AANDC management. Quarterly Dashboards are not the instruments to capture exceptional staffing actions. However, AANDC has a governance structure (HRWSMC and FMC) in place that allows it to manage and monitor these staffing actions. In addition, HRWSB monitors staffing actions at risk, as requested by the PSC, and reports to HRWSMC on the results on a regular basis. On-going AES: CLOSED.
Date modified:

Vérification des pratiques de gestion de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2012

Format PDF (66 Ko, 5 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2012

Organisation des affaires du Nord et Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail (DGSRHMT)

Vérification des pratiques de gestion de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord
Date d'approbation 2011/11/25
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint (SMA) de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord doit mettre au point des mécanismes de surveillance des structures de gouvernance, ce qui inclut la mise à jour et l'approbation du cadre de référence, la tenue de réunions périodiques et la conservation de comptes rendus écrits des décisions pour les principaux mécanismes de gouvernance. Les mécanismes de gouvernance de l'OAN sont à l'étude. Des modifications au Conseil de gestion du Nord, l'organe de gouvernance le plus élevé dans la hiérarchie du Ministère, ont déjà été mises en œuvre, notamment l'établissement de réunions hebdomadaires. L'OAN effectuera l'étude en vue d'améliorer la gouvernance du secteur. Ensuite, il mettra au point et documentera ses mécanismes de surveillance des structures de gouvernance ainsi que le fonctionnement de ces mécanismes. En particulier, l'OAN examinera, mettra à jour et/ou élaborera le mandat des comités et améliorera la fonction de secrétariat afin de s'assurer que les procès-verbaux et les comptes rendus de décision sont consignés selon les règles.   État : La demande sera classée (terminée)

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :

1.1 L'OAN a restructuré le Conseil de gestion du Nord (CGN) qui est devenu le Comité de gestion du Nord (CGN). Les groupes de travail sont toujours en cours d'examen.

1.2 Terminé. La structure de gestion du CGN est documentée dans le mandat du CGN. Les réunions sont structurées au moyen des ordres du jour, des ordres du jour des prochaines réunions, des comptes rendus de décision, des suivis, etc.

1.3 Terminé. Les membres du CGN ont été nommés et des mécanismes ont été instaurés.

SVE : Classée.
Mesures :
1. Cerner les structures de gestion sectorielle appropriées, notamment les groupes de travail et/ou tout autre comité ou mécanisme.
T3, 2011-2012
2. Documenter les structures de gestion, notamment les cadres de référence qui comprendront la fréquence des réunions, les ordres du jour, les ordres du jour des prochaines réunions, les comptes rendus de décision, etc. T3, 2011-2012
3. Nommer les membres et mettre en œuvre les mécanismes qui ne sont pas encore en fonction. T4, 2011-2012
2. Le SMA de l'OAN doit travailler en collaboration avec le Secteur des politiques et de l'orientation stratégique en vue d'établir et de communiquer une orientation stratégique ou une vision à long terme claire pour l'OAN et ses équipes régionales. L'OAN développe actuellement son processus de planification en vue du lancement du 3e plan d'activités de l'OAN. Le plan comprendra la définition d'une orientation stratégique à long terme pour l'OAN, y compris les directions générales de l'AC, les trois bureaux régionaux et la Stratégie pour le Nord du gouvernement. Même s'il n'existe aucune exigence ou directive ministérielle concernant les plans stratégiques du secteur, l'OAN collaborera avec la DSP afin de s'assurer que cette orientation stratégique s'harmonise avec celle du Ministère. En cours État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :

1.1 L'OAN poursuit la coordination interministérielle en vue d'élaborer des recommandations concernant l'orientation stratégique du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne la Stratégie pour le Nord du Canada. Sur le plan interne, l'OAN poursuit l'harmonisation de ses efforts avec cette orientation.

1.2 Les premiers travaux d'analyse et d'examen en ce qui concerne l'orientation stratégique organisationnelle ont été effectués en septembre et présentés au CGN.

SVE : Classée.
Mesures :
1. L'OAN continuera d'harmoniser ses priorités avec celles de la Stratégie pour le Nord du gouvernement canadien offrant une orientation stratégique clé.

2. L'OAN élaborera une orientation stratégique organisationnelle au cours de son prochain cycle de planification.
T4, 2011-2012
3. Le SMA de l'OAN doit mettre à profit l'expertise en gestion du risque ministérielle afin d'élaborer une pratique officielle et d'établir une structure de gouvernance assurant le suivi périodique des risques et des mesures d'atténuation connexes et l'établissement de rapports à cet égard. L'OAN a intégré les éléments d'identification et d'évaluation des principaux risques du secteur à son cycle annuel de planification des activités. L'OAN a terminé la conception d'un processus continu visant à assurer le suivi et la gestion des risques et des mesures d'atténuation connexes. Terminé SVE : Classée.
4. Le SMA de l'OAN doit continuer à diriger les efforts du Secteur afin de s'assurer que des fonds sont accessibles pour soutenir la prise de décisions en matière de planification des ressources humaines. L'OAN continuera de solliciter des fonds par le truchement de mécanismes gouvernementaux officiels et est en train d'affiner une analyse de rentabilisation en collaboration avec le DPF afin d'obtenir l'assurance d'un financement continu qui permettrait de remédier à un déficit structurel de longue date.

Mesures
1. Achever l'analyse de rentabilisation en collaboration avec le DPF pour examen dans le cadre du processus annuel d'affectation des ressources ministérielles.
T4, 2011-2012 État : La demande sera classée (terminée)

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :

1.1 Pour donner suite à la demande présentée dans le cadre de l'analyse de rentabilisation, 75 % des indemnités liées à la rémunération ont été octroyées par le DPF en mai 2012. Le reste fait l'objet d'un examen dans le cadre de l'examen organisationnel et du processus CGF.

SVE : Classée.
5. Le directeur général des Services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail (DGSRHMT) doit clarifier les exigences de contrôle prévues pour les mesures de dotation et s'assurer que les documents pertinents sur le contrôle sont conservés à des fins de vérification et de continuité des dossiers. Ces recommandations s'apparentent à celles qui figurent dans plusieurs rapports de contrôle de la DGSRHMT . Les plans d'action qui donnent suite à ces recommandations ont déjà été élaborés et sont actuellement mis en œuvre. La DGSRHMT s'assurera que les mesures liées aux plans d'action sont appliquées à l'échelle du secteur et du Ministère. En cours. SVE : Classée.
6. Le directeur général de la DGSRHMT doit travailler en collaboration avec les secteurs dans le cadre de l'examen des paramètres du tableau de bord trimestriel servant au suivi des mesures de dotation en RH dans le but de s'assurer que les mesures de dotation exceptionnelles font l'objet d'un suivi adéquat de la part des membres de la direction d'AADNC. Les tableaux de bord trimestriels ne sont pas les instruments indiqués pour tenir compte des mesures de dotation exceptionnelles. Cela dit, AADNC s'est dotée d'une structure de gouvernance (CGSRHMT et CGF) qui permet la gestion et le contrôle de ces mesures de dotation. En outre, la DGSRHMT fait le suivi des mesures de dotation qui comportent des risques, comme le demande la CFP, et fait rapport des résultats au CGSRHMT de manière périodique. En cours SVE : Classée.
Date de modification :