Management Practices Audit of the British Columbia Region - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version   (42 Kb, 8 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2012

British Columbia Region

Management Practices Audit of the British Columbia Region
Approval Date: 22/09/2011
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should collaborate with Headquarters to define external client services offered by AANDC and develop performance targets for the delivery of these services as part of ongoing management and monitoring of these standards. To ensure a consistent, national approach is adopted, standards, performance expectations and monitoring requirements should be formally communicated by Headquarters to all regions.

The Region should also develop and implement a process for Region-specific client surveys that incorporates participation from all regional directors that deliver external services and includes formal action plans and follow-up procedures to enable a comparison of results and establish the resulting impact/improvement of client service.
RO Headquarters will work with other sectors and regions to develop departmental approaches to service management that are consistent with Treasury Board Secretariat guidelines. These approaches include appropriate governance and management oversight, identifying services that the department offers, setting appropriate service standards and monitoring regimes, and clarifying roles and responsibilities. The Regional Directors General will work closely with HQ and other Regions to assist with the development of national approaches.

Initial discussions have taken place at DGIOC (April 11, 2011).

Actions

Programs with existing service standards:
  Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

BC Region is represented on the Regional Operations National Service Excellence Steering Committee to establish service standards across AANDC with regards to Programs, Grants and Contributions, Direct Services and Internal Services. The Region continues to work closely with HQ and other Regions to assist with the development of national approaches. Once finalized BC Region will measure against those established service standards and refine processes as necessary in compliance with national direction.
Formalize existing service standards in a document. September 2011
Programs without services standards:

Direct services
March 2012
Grants and Contributions March 2012
Internal Services June 2012
Regional Client Survey:

To respond to the Regional Client Survey, the Region will endeavour to report back on the outcomes to all BC First Nations at the end of this fiscal year.

As part of client engagement activities, the Region will review our current approach to client service engagement to identify the types of feedback the Region requires and how this feedback will be obtained. This will link to the National Service Management Initiative to ensure national consistency.
March 2012 Further to the Joint Gathering held in February 2012 where over 140 representatives from First Nations and Organizations in BC participated, the Region prepared a Summary Report which was shared with all participants. The Report included a section on building AANDC BC Region Service Standards from First Nations' Perspectives. The Region has developed a draft Action Plan that identifies actions and next steps based on what was heard during the Joint Gathering's panel and dialogue sessions. The Region will be reporting out on the draft Action Plan to First Nations.

AES: Implementation ongoing.
2. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should collaborate with Headquarters to ensure the Human Resource Plan and the Region's Integrated Business Plan are integrated and provide details on anticipated human resource requirements and their impact on financial resources. Headquarters should communicate the approach to all regions and sectors to ensure a consistent, national approach to regional planning. As articulated in the 2011-14 Corporate Business Plan, the department will work at improving integrated planning and resource alignment by establishing principles and processes (including schedule and calendar) for integrated planning and consult with internal partners (HR, CFO, AES) March 2012 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

BC Region has been working collaboratively with NHQ on the Corporate Business Planning cycle and establishing principles and processes for integrated planning. In consideration of the impacts on HR with the HUB transition, the Region is faced with diminishing capacity to enhance integrated planning for this fiscal year. However, the Region will endeavor to integrate HR plans with the business plan in the next planning cycle.


AES: Implementation ongoing.
3. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should clarify staffing file documentation requirements and ensure that supporting control documentation is retained on staffing files to demonstrate how staffing actions are linked to identified staffing needs or in response to staff departures and for audit and file-continuity purposes. The Regional Director General of the BC Region will delegate this responsibility to the Director of Human Resources to ensure that staffing file documentation requirements are clearly understood and that all required documentation is retained on files.

Actions:

The Human Resources Directorate (HRD), BC Region will review the current HR checklists to ensure that they capture all of the required documentation for the various staffing processes conducted by the Region, including the linkage to the regional HR staffing plan. The updated checklists will be communicated to HRD staff.

The Region is also working with DGHRWSB on the development of national tools and checklists to support the standard practices across the Department.
December 2012 Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

National Staffing Checklist in use in BC Region since November 2011. All staffing files contain new checklist.



AES: Implemented. Closed.
4. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should ensure that analysis of staffing actions, trends, and the hiring process occurs on a regular basis. HRD will develop a process for conducting analysis and reporting to Executive Leadership Team (ELT) on staffing actions both at the transaction and strategic levels in order to inform the annual business planning cycle.

HRD will continue to work with Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch (HRWSB) to obtain information and reports to support the analysis.
July 2011 Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

Monthly staffing reports sent to ELT.

Strategic analysis conducted through ELT to manage staffing actions under Staffing Control Measures.



AES: Implemented. Closed.
5. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should develop and implement a formal, documented approach to risk management, including an ongoing process and governance structure for identifying, assessing, and monitoring risks and their associated mitigation actions which will support the future creation of a Regional Risk Profile. Headquarters should communicate guidance to all regions and sectors to ensure a consistent, national approach to risk management. (In this case, "Headquarters" includes Policy and Strategic Direction, the AANDC Risk Champion, and the Risk Management Centre in Audit and Evaluation Sector). Short-term:
Continue on-going risk assessments (FSR, compliance, etc) and continue to report on activities on the quarterly business plans.

In November 2010 the Region initiated a Regional Program Risk Assessment Project with a focus on compliance. Subsequent to the MPA the programs have identified high risk program activities and developed action plans. Monitoring and oversight rests with ELT.

Medium-term:

The Risk Champion for the department, with support from the Chief Risk Officer will develop department-wide risk management tools.

Regional Directors General will support these and implement risk management tools in their regions that support and are consistent with the national approaches. The Region will coordinate, liaise and work with NHQ in moving forward on Program specific risk management frameworks.

HQ Risk leads visited regions in October 2010 to review risk practices and provide training. Regions to continue ongoing liaison with risk leads re: support for regional risk management practices.
October 2011 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

The last component of the Regional Program Risk Assessment Project which was to document roles and responsibilities was completed by the Programs in response to DRAP and the Region's desire through its key priorities to focus on business transformation that would strengthen Regional Operations. Roles and responsibilities were reviewed to identify gaps, overlaps and synergies. This information was used to support a proposed approach with respect to alignment of resources. The Regional Program Risk Assessment Project is complete and with Programs for their use in the delivery of their programs. The results of this project will also help to inform and support the development of the Regional Risk Profile which will capture the nine corporate risks. Going forward, the Regional Risk Profile results will be used to inform business planning.
Regional Corporate Risk Profiles to be integrated into regional business planning process and documents for 2012/2013 2012-2013 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

With the support of the Risk Management Branch of the Audit & Evaluation Sector, the Region initiated the process to create the Regional Risk Profile in October 2012. The goal of the Region is to have this work completed by early December so that this information can be used to inform the business planning for 2013-2014. In the creation of the Regional Risk Profile, we have the support of the Regional Planner who will have a key role in fostering the integration of the Regional Risk Profile results with business planning.

AES
:
Implementation ongoing
6. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should clarify the roles, responsibilities and purpose of the BC Management Team (BCMT) committee. Once clarified, the Regional Director General of the BC Region should ensure that a comprehensive Terms of Reference for both of the Region's monitoring and oversight bodies (ELT and BCMT) is developed and implemented. The Regional Director General of BC Region will clarify the roles, responsibilities and purpose of BCMT and ELT committee given the new structure in the Region and ensure it is reflected in the updated Terms of Reference. Both will be implemented once complete. December 2011 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:

The Regional Director General has clarified the roles, responsibilities and purpose of BCMT and ELT. Terms of Reference for both BMT and ELT have been developed. BC CIDM #2057914, 1915967 respectively.

AES: Implemented. Closed.
7. The Regional Director General of the BC Region should ensure that the IT support contractor is compliant with the terms and conditions of its contractual obligations with respect to the timely provision of performance management reports prior to invoice approval. The Regional Director General of BC Region will delegate this responsibility to the Director, Corporate Services to ensure that the requirement for timely receipt of performance monitoring reports is communicated to the IT support services contractor and ensure adherence to the terms and conditions of the contract. The performance reports will be maintained with the invoice to demonstrate adherence to the terms and conditions of the contract and to support compliance with S34 of the Financial Administration Act. September 2011 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:

As of 31/03/2012:

The requirement for timely receipt of performance monitoring reports was communicated to the IT support services contractor (Donna Conna) in a letter dated November 29, 2011 (BC CIDM #1971374). The performance reports are maintained with the invoice to demonstrate adherence to the terms and conditions of the contract and S34 of the Financial Administration Act.

AES: Implemented. Closed.
Date modified:

Vérification des pratiques de gestion – Région de la Colombie-Britannique - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2012

Format PDF (49 Ko, 10 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2012

Région de la Colombie-Britannique

Vérification des pratiques de gestion – Région de la Colombie-Britannique
Date d'approbation 22/09/2011
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le directeur général régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique doit collaborer avec l'administration centrale pour définir les services à la clientèle externes offerts par AADNC et établir des objectifs de rendement dans la prestation de ces services dans le cadre des mesures permanentes de gestion et de suivi à l'égard de ces normes. Pour assurer l'adoption d'une approche cohérente à l'échelle nationale, les normes, les attentes quant au rendement et les exigences en matière de surveillance devront être communiquées officiellement à toutes les régions par l'administration centrale.

Le bureau régional doit également élaborer et mettre en œuvre un processus de sondage auprès des clients qui lui sera propre et qui nécessitera la participation de tous les directeurs régionaux qui offrent des services externes en plus d'intégrer des plans d'action officiels et des procédures de suivi afin qu'on puisse comparer les résultats, puis déterminer les répercussions des mesures prises sur le service à la clientèle.
L'administration centrale des Opérations régionales travaillera de concert avec d'autres secteurs et régions afin d'élaborer des approches ministérielles en matière de gestion du service en tenant compte des lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Il s'agit notamment de prendre les mesures qui conviennent en matière de gouvernance et de surveillance de la gestion, de cerner les services offerts par le ministère, d'établir les normes de service et les régimes de contrôle appropriés, et de clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun. Les différents directeurs généraux régionaux collaboreront entre eux ainsi qu'avec l'administration centrale pour contribuer à l'élaboration des approches nationales.

Les discussions préliminaires ont eu lieu au CDGMO le 11 avril 2011.

Mesures

Programmes ayant déjà des normes de service :
Selon le plan de travail approuvé par les Opérations régionales pour l'initiative sur les normes de service nationales. Voir les dates ci‑dessous. État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 30 septembre 2012)

La région de la C.-B. est représentée au Comité directeur national sur l'excellence des services d'Opérations régionales pour établir des normes de service applicables à l'ensemble d'AADNC en ce qui concerne les programmes, les subventions et les contributions, les services directs et les services internes.  La région continue de travailler en étroite collaboration avec l'administration centrale et d'autres régions à l'élaboration d'approches nationales.  Une fois que ces approches auront été finalisées, la région de la C.-B. les comparera aux normes de service établies et peaufinera les processus au besoin, conformément à l'orientation nationale.
Officialiser, dans un document, les normes de service existantes.

Programmes sans normes de service :
Septembre 2011
Services directs Mars 2012
Subventions et contributions Mars 2012
Services internes Juin 2012
Enquête régionale auprès des clients

En réaction à l'enquête régionale auprès des clients, le bureau régional devra faire part des résultats à l'ensemble des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique d'ici la fin du présent exercice.

Dans le cadre des activités de discussion avec le client, le bureau régional examinera notre approche actuelle à cet égard afin de déterminer de quel type de commentaires la région a besoin et de quelle manière on les obtiendra. Cet aspect sera lié à l'initiative nationale de gestion des services afin d'assurer une uniformité à l'échelle nationale.
Mars 2012 À la suite de la réunion conjointe de février 2012, à laquelle ont participé plus de 140 représentants des Premières Nations et des organismes de la Colombie-Britannique, la région a préparé un rapport sommaire qui a été envoyé à tous les participants. Ce rapport comprenait une section sur l'établissement de normes de service dans la région de la C.-B., d'AADNC, du point de vue des Premières Nations. La région a élaboré un projet de plan d'action qui définit les mesures à prendre et les prochaines étapes; ce plan s'inspire des propos tenus par le groupe d'experts présent à la réunion conjointe ainsi que par les participants aux séances de dialogue. La région tiendra les Premières Nations au courant de l'évolution du projet de plan d'action.

SVE : En cours de mise en œuvre.
2. Le directeur général régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique devrait collaborer avec l'administration centrale pour faire en sorte que le plan de ressources humaines et le plan d'activités intégré de la région soient intégrés et renferment des précisions sur les besoins prévus en ressources humaines et leur incidence sur les ressources financières. L'administration centrale doit communiquer la façon de procéder à l'ensemble des régions et des secteurs afin d'assurer une approche nationale uniforme pour la planification régionale. Comme l'indique le plan d'activités ministériel pour 2011-2014, le Ministère s'efforcera d'améliorer la planification intégrée et l'harmonisation des ressources en établissant des principes et des processus (y compris un échéancier et un calendrier) pour la planification intégrée et la consultation avec des partenaires à l'interne (RH, DPF, SVE). Mars 2012 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 30 septembre 2012)

La région de la C.-B. a travaillé en collaboration avec l'administration centrale sur le dossier du cycle de planification des activités ministérielles ainsi que sur celui de l'établissement des principes et processus de la planification intégrée. Compte tenu de l'incidence de la transition vers les guichets de service sur les ressources humaines, la région est confrontée à une diminution progressive de sa capacité d'améliorer la planification intégrée pour l'exercice en cours. Lors du prochain cycle de planification, la région s'efforcera toutefois d'intégrer les plans des ressources humaines dans le plan des activités.

SVE : En cours de mise en œuvre.
3. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique devra préciser les exigences relatives aux documents de dotation et veiller à ce qu'on conserve les documents d'appui pour montrer en quoi les mesures prises en matière de dotation sont liées aux besoins recensés ou répondent au départ de membres du personnel ainsi qu'à des fins de vérification et de continuité des dossiers. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique délèguera cette responsabilité au directeur des ressources humaines pour s'assurer que les exigences relatives aux documents de dotation sont bien comprises et qu'on conserve toute l'information nécessaire.

Mesures

La Direction des ressources humaines (DRH) de la région de la Colombie-Britannique étudiera les listes de vérification actuelles des ressources humaines pour s'assurer qu'elles contiennent toute la documentation nécessaire dans le cadre des divers processus de dotation dirigés par le bureau régional, y compris les liens avec le plan de dotation régional des Ressources humaines. On communiquera les listes de vérification mises à jour au personnel de la Direction des ressources humaines.

Le personnel du bureau régional travaille également avec la DGSRHMT pour élaborer des outils et des listes de vérification nationaux afin d'appuyer l'adoption de pratiques uniformes au sein du Ministère.
Décembre 2012 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Liste de vérification de la dotation nationale utilisée par le bureau régional depuis novembre 2011. Tous les dossiers de dotation comprennent une nouvelle liste de vérification.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
4. Le directeur général régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique doit voir à ce que l'analyse des mesures de dotation, des tendances à cet égard et du processus d'embauche se fasse de façon régulière. La DRH mettra au point un processus d'analyse et de reddition de comptes à l'équipe de direction en ce qui a trait aux mesures de dotation, tant aux niveaux transactionnel que stratégique, afin de documenter le cycle annuel de planification des activités.

La DRH continuera à travailler avec la DGSRHMT pour obtenir de l'information et des rapports appuyant les activités d'analyse.
Juillet 2011 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour / Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Rapports de dotation mensuels envoyés à l'EHD.

Analyse stratégique réalisée par l'intermédiaire de l'EHD pour gérer les mesures de dotation dans le cadre des mesures de contrôle de la dotation.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
5. Le directeur régional de la région de la Colombie-Britannique doit élaborer et mettre en œuvre une approche officielle et documentée de la gestion des risques comportant un processus continu et une structure de gouvernance pour déterminer, évaluer et surveiller les risques et les mesures d'atténuation connexes à l'appui de la création d'un profil de risque régional. L'administration centrale doit donner de l'orientation aux régions et aux secteurs afin de garantir une approche nationale cohérente en matière de gestion des risques. (Par administration centrale, on entend Politiques et orientation stratégique, le champion de la gestion du risque du Ministère et le centre de gestion du risque du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation.) Court terme
Poursuivre l'évaluation continue des risques (Rapport sur la situation financière, conformité, etc.) et continuer de rendre compte des activités dans le cadre des plans d'activités trimestriels.

En novembre 2010, le bureau régional a lancé le projet régional d'évaluation du risque posé par les programmes, qui met l'accent sur la conformité. À la suite de la vérification des pratiques de gestion, les responsables des programmes ont ciblé les activités qui présentent un risque élevé et conçu des plans d'action. La surveillance et la supervision relèvent de l'équipe de direction.

Moyen terme
Avec le soutien de l'agent principal de gestion des risques, le champion de la gestion du risque concevra des outils de gestion des risques pour l'ensemble du Ministère.

Les directeurs généraux régionaux appuieront ces efforts et mettront en œuvre, dans leurs régions respectives, des outils de gestion des risques qui vont dans le sens des approches nationales. Le bureau régional assurera la coordination et la liaison dans les travaux avec l'administration centrale pour ce qui est des cadres de gestion des risques propres aux programmes.

Les responsables de la gestion des risques à l'administration centrale ont visité les régions en octobre 2010 pour passer en revue les pratiques en la matière et offrir de la formation. Les régions doivent maintenir des liens permanents avec ces experts pour appuyer les pratiques régionales en matière de gestion des risques.
Octobre 2011 État : La demande sera classée.

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 30 septembre 2012)

Afin de donner suite au plan d'action pour la réduction du déficit (PARD) et à la demande de la région, mentionné dans ses priorités essentielles, de centrer ses efforts sur une transformation opérationnelle susceptible de renforcer ses propres opérations, les responsables des programmes ont complété le dernier volet du projet régional d'évaluation du risque posé par les programmes, qui consistait à définir les rôles et les responsabilités. Ces rôles et responsabilités ont fait l'objet d'un examen visant à en repérer les lacunes, les chevauchements et les synergies. Cette information a servi à appuyer une approche proposée relativement à l'harmonisation des ressources. Le projet régional d'évaluation du risque posé par les programmes est terminé; les résultats de ce projet d'évaluation seront sans doute utiles aux responsables de l'exécution des programmes. Ces résultats aideront aussi à orienter et soutenir l'élaboration du profil de risque de la région, qui tiendra compte des neuf risques organisationnels. À l'avenir, les résultats relatifs au profil de risque régional serviront de guide à la planification opérationnelle.
Les profils de risque organisationnel des régions doivent être intégrés au processus et aux documents de planification des activités régionales pour 2012-2013. 2012-2013 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 30 septembre 2012)

Avec l'aide de la Direction générale de la gestion des risques, du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation, la région a entrepris, en octobre 2012, de créer le profil de risque régional. Son objectif est de terminer ce travail au début de décembre de façon à pouvoir utiliser cette information pour orienter la planification opérationnelle de l'exercice 2013-2014. Dans ce processus de création du profil de risque régional, nous bénéficions du soutien du planificateur régional qui jouera un rôle clé en favorisant l'intégration des résultats relatifs au profil de risque régional dans la planification opérationnelle.

SVE : En cours de mise en œuvre.
6. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique doit clarifier les rôles, les responsabilités et l'objectif du comité de l'équipe de gestion de la Colombie-Britannique. Une fois que ce sera fait, le directeur général régional devra veiller à ce qu'on élabore et mette en œuvre un mandat détaillé pour les organes de surveillance régionaux (équipe de direction et comité de l'équipe de gestion). Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique précisera les rôles, les responsabilités et l'objectif du comité de l'équipe de gestion en fonction de la nouvelle structure régionale et s'assurera qu'ils sont indiqués dans les mandats mis à jour. Ces deux aspects seront mis en œuvre dès que terminés. Décembre 2011 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique a clarifié les rôles, les responsabilités et l'objectif du comité de l'EGCB et de l'EHD. Les mandats respectifs de l'EGCB et de l'EHD ont été élaborés. SGGID C.-B. 2057914 et 1915967, respectivement.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
7. Avant d'approuver une facture, le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique doit s'assurer que l'entrepreneur en soutien TI respecte ses obligations contractuelles en ce qui a trait au respect des dates de production des rapports sur la gestion du rendement. Le directeur général régional de la Colombie-Britannique délèguera cette responsabilité au directeur des services ministériels, qui veillera à ce qu'on fasse part de l'exigence concernant le respect des dates de production des rapports sur la surveillance du rendement à l'entrepreneur en soutien TI et qu'on respecte les modalités du contrat. Les rapports de rendement seront conservés avec la facture pour attester le respect des modalités du contrat et de l'article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Septembre 2011 État : La demande sera classée (terminée).

Mise à jour/ Justification
(en date du 31 mars 2012)

L'exigence concernant le respect des dates de production des rapports sur la surveillance du rendement a été communiquée à l'entrepreneur en soutien TI (Donna Conna) dans une lettre datée du 29 novembre 2011 (SGGID C.-B. 1971374). Les rapports de rendement sont conservés avec la facture pour attester le respect des modalités du contrat et de l'article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée.
Date de modification :