Management Practices Audit of the Yukon Region - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (38 Kb, 7 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2012

Yukon Region

Management Practices Audit of the Yukon Region
Approval Date: 02/22/2011
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. The Regional Director General, Yukon Region should define standards for services provided to external clients, develop performance expectations (targets) for each standard, and establish monitoring and reporting requirements. In doing so, the Regional Director General, Yukon Region should collaborate with the Northern Affairs Organization (HQ) and the other North of 60 regional offices to ensure a consistent approach is developed.

Given the Yukon Region's unique operational environment – the Region provides services to Northern (Northern Development programs) as well as First Nation (Indian and Inuit Affairs programs) recipients - the Regional Director General, Yukon Region should seek to leverage, where applicable, the work completed to date as part of the National Standards Initiative to establish standards, targets and monitoring/reporting requirements for Indian and Inuit Affairs Program-based program activities.
Management Response

The Yukon Region will establish service standards, performance targets, and monitoring and reporting requirements for the Region's program delivery activities for Northern Development-focused programs and Indian and Inuit Affairs-focused programs. For Northern Development-focused program areas, the Yukon Region will work closely with the Northern Affairs Organization (HQ) and the other North of 60 regional offices to ensure a consistent approach is developed.

For Indian and Inuit Affairs-focused program areas, the Yukon Region will seek to leverage the work completed to date through the National Standards Initiative.

As part of these efforts, the Yukon Region will also seek ways to leverage the existing functionalities of the First Nations and Inuit Transfer Payment (FNITP) system to support ongoing monitoring and reporting on these new standards.

Actions

Review the Northern Development-based program activities and Indian and Inuit Affairs-based program activities to identify those programs with existing service standards as well as those programs without established service standards.

Formalize service standards, targets, and monitoring and reporting requirements for programs with existing standards.

Establish service standards, targets, and monitoring and reporting requirements for programs without existing standards.

Communicate service standards, targets, and monitoring and reporting requirements to all regional staff and hold awareness sessions to ensure those impacted by the new standards are fully briefed.

Implement monitoring and reporting activities in time for the 2013-14 fiscal year.
March 2013  
2. The Regional Director General, Yukon Region should ensure human resources plans and regional business plan are integrated and provide details on anticipated human resource requirements and its impact on financial resources. In doing so, the Regional Director General, Yukon Region should collaborate with the Northern Affairs Organization (HQ) and the other North of 60 regional offices to ensure a consistent approach is developed. The Regional Director General, Yukon Region should seek to leverage, where applicable, the approach and methodology developed by South of 60 regional offices to improve the integration of human resources and business planning documents. Management Response

The Yukon Region will work in collaboration with the other North of 60 regional offices under the direction of Northern Affairs Organization (HQ) to improve the linkages between human resources and regional business plans. Specifically, the Region will ensure that human resources requirements and the associated financial impacts are captured for program activity identified in the regional business plan. In developing the new approach and methodology for integrating HR and business plans, the Region may seek advice and guidance from South of 60 regional offices as well as the Policy and Strategic Direction Sector and others to ensure that the new plan is compatible with the Department's quarterly reporting requirements.

Actions

Participate in discussions with the other North of 60 regional offices and Northern Affairs Organization (HQ) to identify a common way forward.

Present the revised approach to regional planning to the ADM, NAO for approval.

Develop a revised regional planning template and supporting tools to report against the plan.
September 2012 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:











  • Region has developed a Twelve-Quarter strategic plan and is in the process of finalizing a regional risk profile.
  • RDG presented Twelve Quarter Plan to NNC in October 2012.
  • Will develop, starting in April 2013, a new HR strategic plan (development has been delayed due to capacity issues and urgent pressures related to DRAP)
AES: Implementation ongoing. The recommendation will be closed upon development of a new HR Strategic Plan.
3. The Regional Director General, Yukon Region should ensure that staffing files are complete and that key forms (i.e. Personnel Action Request Form) are adequately completed including the section that links the staffing action to the Human Resources Plan. Management Response

As articulated in the Human Resource Plan, staffing actions must align to Regional, Sector and Corporate priorities and context. The RDG will work with Human Resources in the Yukon Region to ensure alignment of resource allocation with established plans and priorities

Actions

The Human Resources Directorate (HRD), Yukon Region will review the current HR checklists to ensure that they capture all of the required documentation for the various staffing processes conducted by the Region, including the linkage to the regional HR staffing plan. The updated checklists will be communicated to HRD staff.

HRD, Yukon Region will hold information sessions with managers on how to complete Personnel Action Request forms (PARFs).
April 2012 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

  • Item overtaken by DRAP requirements.
  • RDG and HR working regularly to ensure ongoing alignment to resource allocation and practices.
  • HR and Finance are now standing items on regional management committee meetings.
  • Region now uses national HR checklists, one training session has been provided on SCARF's, another one is planned for December for the admin support group
AES: Significantly implemented. Closed.
4. The Regional Director General, Yukon Region should formally establish mechanisms to ensure the Region is actively engaged in the development of departmental policies that impact the Region's operations. Given the Yukon Region's unique operational environment - the Region provides services to Northern (Northern Development programs) as well as First Nation (Indian and Inuit Affairs programs) recipients - the established mechanisms should facilitate the Region's engagement in the development of policies impacting Northern and First Nations recipients. Management Response

The Yukon Region will continue efforts to ensure it is actively involved in the departmental policy development process for Northern Development and Indian and Inuit Affairs program areas, particularly those policy decisions that have a direct impact on the Yukon Region. Through attendance at the Northern Management Board of NAO, the Associate Regional Director General (ARDG) forum for Regional Operations, and other Headquarters-led forums such as the Director Generals Implementation and Operations Committee (DGIOC), the Yukon Region will work to ensure it actively provides comments and feedback in a timely manner on policy items relevant to the Yukon Region.

Actions

Identify all key headquarters-led policy forums and appoint responsible regional authority for each forum. Where the Yukon Region is not a participant in the forum, the Region will work in concert with the Northern Affairs Organization (HQ) to ensure policy discussions impacting the Yukon Region are communicated to the appropriate regional representative.

Establish a regional working group comprised of the responsible regional authorities noted above for the purpose of monitoring and discussing policy development activities across the department and providing timely feedback on items relevant to the Yukon Region.

Incorporate policy development in the Yukon Region's senior management committee agenda as a standing item.
September 2012 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

  • Region is active and has ongoing participation at each forum.
  • RDG attends the Policy committee, Operations committee and Northern Management Board meetings
  • Director, Strategic Investments and Director, Governance share responsibility for ARDG and DGIOC meeting participation












  • Yukon Management Committee serves as a weekly regional table for regional coordination.
  • Specific agenda items are brought forward and raised at HR subcommittee and Regional Finance Committee
AES: Implemented. Closed.
Date modified:

Vérification des pratiques de gestion de la région du Yukon - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2012

Format PDF (45 Ko, 9 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2012

Région du Yukon

Vérification des pratiques de gestion de la région du Yukon
Date d'approbation 22/02/2011
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon devrait d éfinir des normes pour les services offerts aux clients externes, créer des attentes quant au rendement (cibles) pour chaque norme et établir des exigences en matière de surveillance et de rapports. Pour ce faire, le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon devrait collaborer avec l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (AC) et les autres bureaux régionaux au nord du 60e parallèle afin de garantir l'établissement d'une approche uniforme.

Étant donné le contexte opérationnel propre au Yukon – la région fournit des services à des bénéficiaires du Nord (programmes relevant du Développement du Nord) et des Premières Nations (programmes relevant des Affaires indiennes et inuites) – le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon devra chercher à tirer parti, s'il y a lieu, des travaux réalisés à ce jour dans le cadre de l'initiative sur les normes nationales afin d'établir des normes, des cibles et des exigences en matière de surveillance et de rapports pour les activités de programme du Programme des affaires indiennes et inuites.
Réponse de la direction

La région du Yukon établira des normes de service, des cibles de rendement et des exigences en matière de surveillance et de rapports pour les activités de la région touchant la prestation des programmes relevant du Développement du Nord et des Affaires indiennes et inuites. En ce qui concerne les secteurs de programme relevant du Développement du Nord, la région du Yukon collaborera étroitement avec l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (AC) et les autres bureaux régionaux au nord du 60e parallèle afin de garantir l'établissement d'une approche uniforme.

En ce qui concerne les secteurs de programme relevant des Affaires indiennes et inuites, la région du Yukon cherchera à tirer parti des travaux réalisés à ce jour dans le cadre de l'initiative sur les normes nationales.

Dans le cadre de ces efforts, la région du Yukon tentera de trouver des façons d'utiliser les fonctionnalités existantes du système Paiements de transfert aux Premières nations et aux Inuits (PTPNI) afin d'appuyer la surveillance continue de ces nouvelles normes et la production de rapports à cet égard.

Mesures

Examiner les activités de programme relevant du Développement du Nord et des Affaires indiennes et inuites afin de déterminer quels programmes sont déjà dotés de normes de service et lesquels n'en ont pas.

Officialiser les normes de service, les cibles et les exigences en matière de surveillance et de rapports des programmes ayant déjà des normes de service.

Définir des normes de service, des cibles et des exigences en matière de surveillance et de rapports des programmes n'ayant pas de normes de service en place.

Communiquer les normes de service, les cibles et les exigences en matière de surveillance et de rapports à tout le personnel régional, et tenir des séances de sensibilisation pour bien informer les personnes touchées par ces nouvelles normes.

Mettre en œuvre des activités de surveillance et d'établissement de rapports à temps pour l'exercice 2013-2014.
Mars 2013  
2. Le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon devrait veiller à l'intégration du plan des ressources humaines et du plan d'activités régional, et fournir des précisions sur les besoins prévus en ressources humaines et leurs répercussions sur les ressources financières. Pour ce faire, le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon devrait collaborer avec l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (AC) et les autres bureaux régionaux au nord du 60e parallèle afin de garantir l'établissement d'une approche uniforme. Le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon devra chercher à tirer parti, s'il y a lieu, de l'approche et de la méthode conçues par les bureaux régionaux au sud du 60e parallèle afin d'améliorer l'intégration des documents sur la planification des ressources humaines et des activités. Réponse de la direction

Sous la direction de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (AC), la région du Yukon collaborera avec les autres bureaux régionaux au nord du 60e parallèle pour améliorer les liens entre les plans des ressources humaines et les plans d'activités régionaux. Plus précisément, la région s'assurera que les exigences en matière de ressources humaines et les conséquences financières connexes des activités de programme sont indiquées dans le plan d'activités régional. Durant l'élaboration de l'approche et de la méthode d'intégration du plan des ressources humaines et du plan d'activités, il se peut que la région demande des conseils et de l'orientation aux bureaux régionaux au sud du 60e parallèle, au Secteur des politiques et de l'orientation stratégique et à d'autres intervenants pour s'assurer que le nouveau plan est compatible avec les exigences relatives à la production des rapports trimestriels du Ministère.

Mesures

Participer à des discussions avec les autres bureaux régionaux au nord du 60e parallèle et l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (AC) afin de déterminer une voie à suivre commune.

Présenter l'approche révisée de planification régionale au sous-ministre adjoint de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord aux fins d'approbation.

Concevoir un modèle révisé de planification régionale et des outils de soutien pour rédiger des rapports en fonction du plan.
Septembre 2012 État :

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :











  • La Région a élaboré un plan stratégique de douze trimestres et elle est en train de mettre au point un profil de risque régional.
  • Le DGR a présenté le plan àNNC en octobre 2012.
  • L'élaboration d'un nouveau plan stratégique de ressources humaines (retardée en raison de problèmes liés aux problèmes de capacités et aux pressions urgentes découlant du PARD) commencera en avril 2013.
Commentaire du SVE : En cours de mise en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée une fois que l'élaboration d'un nouveau plan stratégique de ressources humaines sera achevée.
3. Le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon doit veiller à ce que les dossiers de dotation soient complets et que les formulaires essentiels (c.-à-d. les formulaires de demande au bureau du personnel) soient dûment remplis, y compris la partie qui lie les mesures de dotation au plan de ressources humaines. Réponse de la direction

Conformément au plan de ressources humaines, les mesures de dotation doivent s'aligner sur les priorités et le contexte des régions, du secteur et du Ministère. Le DGR collaborera avec Ressources humaines de la région du Yukon pour s'assurer que l'allocation des ressources correspond aux priorités et aux plans établis.

Mesures

La Direction des ressources humaines de la région du Yukon étudiera les listes de vérification actuelles des ressources humaines pour s'assurer qu'elles contiennent toute la documentation nécessaire concernant les divers processus de dotation dirigés par le bureau régional, y compris les liens avec le plan de dotation régional des Ressources humaines. On communiquera les listes de vérification mises à jour au personnel de la Direction des ressources humaines.

La Direction des ressources humaines de la région du Yukon donnera des séances d'information aux gestionnaires sur la façon de remplir les formulaires de demande au bureau du personnel.
Avril 2012 État : Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :
  • Question reportée en raison des exigences du PARD.
  • Le DGR et les RH collaborent régulièrement afin d'assurer l'harmonisation avec l'allocation des ressources et les pratiques en cours.
  • Les questions relatives aux RH et aux finances constituent maintenant des points permanents à l'ordre du jour des réunions du Comité régional de gestion.
  • La Région utilise maintenant les listes nationales de vérification des RH. Une séance de formation portant sur le formulaire de demande de dotation en personnel, de classification et de suppléance a été organisée et une autre séance à l'intention du groupe de soutien administratif est prévue en décembre.
SVE : La mise en œuvre est achevée en grande partie. Classée.
4. Le directeur général régional de la région du Yukon devrait établir officiellement des mécanismes visant à s'assurer que la région participe activement à l'élaboration des politiques ministérielles qui influencent les opérations de la région. Étant donné le contexte opérationnel propre au Yukon – la région fournit des services à des bénéficiaires du Nord (programmes relevant du Développement du Nord) et des Premières Nations (programmes relevant des Affaires indiennes et inuites) – les mécanismes établis devront favoriser la participation de la région à l'élaboration des politiques qui entraînent des répercussions sur les bénéficiaires du Nord et des Premières Nations. Réponse de la direction

La région du Yukon continuera de déployer des efforts pour participer activement au processus d'élaboration des politiques ministérielles pour les secteurs de programme d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, notamment en ce qui concerne les décisions politiques qui ont des répercussions directes sur la région du Yukon. Dans le cadre de sa participation au Conseil de gestion du Nord de l'Organisation des Affaires du Nord, au Forum des directeurs généraux régionaux associés pour les Opérations régionales et autres forums menés par l'administration centrale, comme le Comité des directeurs généraux chargé de la mise en œuvre et des opérations, la région du Yukon veillera à fournir des commentaires et de la rétroaction en temps opportun sur les points politiques touchant la région du Yukon.

Mesures

Cerner tous les forums clés sur les politiques menés par l'administration centrale et nommer un responsable régional pour chacun d'entre eux. Lorsque la région du Yukon ne participera pas à un forum, elle travaillera de concert avec l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (AC) pour veiller à ce qu'on informe le représentant régional approprié des discussions sur les politiques ayant des répercussions sur la région.

Mettre sur pied un groupe de travail régional formé des responsables régionaux mentionnés ci-dessus afin de surveiller les activités d'élaboration de politiques à l'échelle du Ministère, d'en discuter et de formuler des commentaires en temps opportun à propos des points pertinents pour la région du Yukon.

Faire de l'élaboration des politiques un point permanent dans l'ordre du jour du Comité de la haute direction de la région du Yukon.
Septembre 2012 État :

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre :

  • La région du Yukon participe activement et régulièrement à chaque forum.
  • Le DGR assiste aux réunions du Comité des politiques, du Comité des opérations et du Conseil de gestion du Nord (CGN).
  • Le directeur, Investissements stratégiques, et le directeur, Gouvernance, partagent la responsabilité de la participation aux réunions du Forum des directeurs généraux régionaux associés pour les Opérations régionales et du Comité des directeurs généraux chargé de la mise en œuvre et des opérations.














  • Le Comité de gestion régional sert de table régionale de coordination hebdomadaire.
  • Des points précis sont inscrits à l'ordre du jour du sous-comité des RH et du Comité régional des finances et y sont discutés.
SVE : Mise en œuvre terminée. Classée.
Date de modification :