Evaluation of the Family Violence Prevention Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2012

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (20 Kb, 4 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2012

Education, Social Development and Partnerships Program

Evaluation of the Family Violence Prevention Program
Approval Date: 02/24/2012
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. FVPP should ensure that its priorities for shelter services and prevention activities are aligned with program objectives. Following the example of Alberta and Manitoba which have regional boards, FVPP should develop strategy approaches to funding prevention activities including projects that serve multiple communities. AANDC HQ will continue to work with regions on approaches to distribute prevention funds more strategically and to achieve value for money.

AANDC HQ will continue to work with the National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence to support capacity for shelters.
Start: April 1st, 2012

End: March 31st, 2013
 
2. The FVPP should enhance capacity of shelters where feasible. AANDC HQ will work with regions as well as with NACAFV to support capacity for shelters; however, the extent of capacity building will depend on the outcome of policy and program renewals. Start: April 1st, 2012

End: Ongoing
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012

The FVPP is working to renew the program for April 2013.

AANDC continues to work on developing tools, guidelines and effective processes to clarify program requirements, enhance compliance and reduce reporting burden in the regions and shelters.

Tools being developed are nearing completion such as the Management Control Framework, Integrated Risk Management Framework, Compliance Handbook, Compliance Directive and the Data Collection Instrument (DCI) Management Framework.

AES: In progress – The program will need to explain how this work will enhance the capacity of shelters.
3. The FVPP should establish clear performance measures and targets for prevention activities and the continuum of services. Performance measure such as proxies that can be used to measure incidents and rates of family violence on-reserve. Rates of family violence are difficult to capture on and off reserve, at both an aggregate and community level.

As a result, AANDC HQ will develop performance measures and targets aligned with our current Umbrella Performance Measurement Strategy and will explore measures such as proxies that can be used to measure incidents and rates of family violence on-reserve.
Start: April 1, 2012

End: March 31st, 2013
 
4. The FVPP should strengthen linkages with other departments, levels of government and communities to ensure that shelter services and prevention projects are delivered in a coordinated manner to improve access. AANDC will continue to participate in the federal Family Violence Initiative, and through joint Health Canada/AANDC committee on collaboration, strengthen linkages between on-reserve programs.

AANDC will support where possible, regional gatherings to share information and best practices to encourage coordination at the community level.

AANDC will encourage through its Social Programs National Manual coordination at the community level.
Start: April 1st, 2012

End: Ongoing
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012

HQ continues to participate in the federal family violence initiative.

FVPP program information has been updated to AANDC's public website. A branch-wide email inquiry system is now in place providing regional staff with an efficient way to obtain clarification on respective program policies or management practices from HQ. Responses and clarifications are stored in a repository that is available to all regional and HQ users. These forums continue to improve the flow of information between HQ and regions.

The FVPP has renewed terms and conditions that have been consolidated with those of the First Nation Child and Family Services program. The National Social Program manual will be updated as required to align with these new terms and conditions.

AES: In progress – The program will need to explain how the work underway will improve access to services.
5. The FVPP should explore opportunities to build family violence prevention objectives into community planning and processes and integrate service delivery with other prevention programs. AANDC will explore, through its current efforts on the Community Development Framework, options for communities to build family violence prevention into their community-based plans to support integration of service delivery at the community level.

AANDC will encourage through its Social Program National Manual coordination at the community level.
Start: April 1st, 2012

End: Ongoing
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012

The FVPP data collection instrument has been updated to include data on community planning, and is planned to be implemented in 2013-14. The underlying notion is that communities target prevention activities based on identified community priorities. Based on this notion and the understanding that communities are already engaged in extensive planning activities, information on how communities are targeting prevention activities will be sought in 2013-2014.

AES: In progress.
Date modified:

Évaluation du Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2012

Format PDF   (27 Ko, 4 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2012

Programme de sensibilisation, de développement social et de partenariats

Évaluation du Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale
Date d'approbation : 2012-02-24
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le PPVF devrait veiller à ce que ses priorités concernant les services de refuge et les activités de prévention cadrent avec ses objectifs. À l'instar de l'Alberta et du Manitoba, qui ont des conseils régionaux, le PPVF devrait élaborer des mesures stratégiques pour le financement des activités de prévention, dont des projets qui servent plusieurs collectivités. L'AC d'AADNC continuera de travailler avec les régions à des approches visant à financer de manière stratégique les activités de prévention et à optimiser les ressources.

L'AC d'AADNC continuera de collaborer avec le Cercle national autochtone contre la violence familiale (CNACVF) afin de renforcer la capacité des services de refuge.
Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

Fin :
Le 31 mars 2013
 
2. Dans la mesure du possible, le PPVF devrait améliorer la capacité des refuges. L'AC d'AADNC travaillera avec les régions et le CNACVF afin d'améliorer la capacité des refuges. Toutefois, l'amélioration dépendra de ce qui découlera du renouvellement des politiques et des programmes. Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

En cours
État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2012

Le personnel du PPVF travaille au renouvellement du programme pour avril 2013.

AADNC continue de travailler à l'élaboration d'outils, de lignes directrices et de processus efficaces pour éclaircir les exigences du programme, améliorer la conformité et réduire le fardeau lié à l'établissement de rapports dans les régions et les refuges.

Les outils en cours de création sont presque terminés, comme le Cadre de contrôle de gestion, le Cadre de gestion intégrée du risque, le Manuel de conformité, la directive sur la conformité et le cadre de gestion des instruments de collecte de données (ICD).

SVE : En cours – Le personnel du programme devra expliquer de quelle façon ces efforts permettront d'améliorer la capacité des refuges.
3. Le PPVF devrait établir des mesures et des cibles de rendement précises pour les activités de prévention et le continuum des services. Par exemple, il devrait définir des indicateurs servant à évaluer les incidents et les taux de violence familiale dans les réserves. Il est difficile de déterminer les taux de violence familiale à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des réserves, tant dans l'ensemble que dans la collectivité.

Par conséquent, l'AC d'AADNC élaborera des mesures et des cibles de rendement conformes à la stratégie globale de mesure du rendement actuelle et explorera des façons d'évaluer les incidents et les taux de violence familiale dans les réserves, notamment au moyen d'indicateurs.
Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

Fin :
Le 31 mars 2013
 
4. Le PPVF devrait accroître ses liens avec d'autres ministères, ordres de gouvernements et collectivités pour que les services de refuge et les projets de prévention soient coordonnés de manière à en améliorer l'accès. AADNC continuera de participer à l'Initiative de lutte contre la violence familiale du gouvernement fédéral et, par l'intermédiaire du comité mixte de Santé Canada et d'AADNC sur la collaboration, de consolider les liens entre les programmes dans les réserves.

Dans la mesure du possible, AADNC appuiera la mise en commun de renseignements et de pratiques exemplaires dans les régions afin de favoriser la coordination dans les collectivités.

AADNC favorisera la coordination dans les collectivités au moyen du manuel du Programme social national.
Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

En cours
État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2012

L'AC poursuit sa participation à l'Initiative de lutte contre la violence familiale du gouvernement fédéral.

L'information relative au PPVF a été mise à jour sur le site Web public d'AADNC. Un système de demande par courriel disponible pour l'ensemble de la direction est maintenant en place; il constitue un moyen efficace permettant au personnel régional d'obtenir des précisions sur les politiques propres aux programmes ou sur les pratiques de gestion de l'AC. Les réponses et les précisions sont consignées dans un système d'archives mis à la disposition de tous les utilisateurs des régions et de l'AC. Ces forums continuent d'améliorer la circulation de l'information entre l'AC et les régions.

Le PPVF dispose de nouvelles modalités qui ont été fusionnées à celles du programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations. Le manuel du Programme social national sera mis à jour, au besoin, afin d'être harmonisé à ces modalités.

SVE : En cours – Le personnel du programme devra expliquer de quelle façon les efforts déployés actuellement permettront d'améliorer l'accès aux services.
5. Le PPVF devrait étudier les possibilités d'incorporer des objectifs en matière de violence familiale dans la planification communautaire et d'intégrer la prestation de services dans d'autres programmes de prévention. Dans ses efforts à l'égard du Cadre de développement communautaire, AADNC explorera des possibilités pour les collectivités d'incorporer la prévention de la violence familiale dans leurs plans communautaires afin d'appuyer l'intégration de la prestation de services dans les collectivités.

AADNC favorisera la coordination dans les collectivités au moyen du manuel du Programme social national.
Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

En cours
État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2012

L'instrument de collecte de données du PPVF a été mis à jour afin de comprendre des données sur la planification communautaire; on prévoit qu'il sera mis en œuvre en 2013-2014. La notion sous-jacente est que les collectivités ciblent les activités de prévention axées sur les priorités communautaires établies. En tenant compte de cette notion et en sachant que les collectivités participent déjà à de nombreuses activités de planification, on tentera d'obtenir de l'information sur la façon dont les collectivités ciblent les activités de prévention en 2013-2014.

SVE : En cours
Date de modification :