ARCHIVED - Summative Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2012

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (30 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2012

Lands and Economic Development

Summative Evaluation of the Implementation of the First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act (2009087)
Approval Date: 05/14/2010

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Based on the evaluation findings, AANDC (specifically IOGC) should determine the feasibility of continuing with the implementation of the oil and gas management portion of FNOGMMA. Lands and Economic Development (LED)/IOGC will prepare materials to engage in a Senior Policy discussion on the options and feasibility of continuing with the implementation of the oil and gas management portion of FNOGMMA. Presentation to the Senior Policy Committee June 22, 2010 Status: Delayed

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:


Presented material and engaged in discussions with Senior Policy Committee on June 22, 2010. Their recommendation was to summarize material and continue the discussion with the Minister.

A briefing to the Minister will be scheduled once the Indian Oil and Gas regulations (under the Indian Oil and Gas Act) are completed and First Nations have had the opportunity to weigh the benefits of the new regulations versus the feasibility of FNOGMMA. Should a First Nation come forward as a proponent of the Act in the interim, a briefing to the Minister will be considered at that time.

AES: Overtaken by events-CLOSED
2. Before further implementation of the oil and gas management portion of FNOGMMA and to inform future implementation of the moneys portion of FNOGMMA, AANDC should build on the evaluation findings and address the following targeted issues:

a) The needs of provinces for their participation in the implementation of FNOGMMA (specifically IOGC).

b) Improve its understanding of First Nation priorities and interests with respect to oil and gas management on reserves, the risk and benefits to First Nations opting into the FNOGMMA, and the relationship between FNOGMMA and the modernization of the Indian Oil and Gas Act as well as potential litigation as an alternative to FNOGMMA (specifically IOGC).

c) Take into consideration the lessons learned and best practices (particularly related to readiness, capacity development, and governance) of other optional legislation, including the First Nation Land Management Act, the First Nation Commercial and Industrial Development Act, and the First Nation Fiscal and Statistical Management Act (Individual Affairs Branch (IAB) and IOGC).
a. IOGC will engage the oil and gas producing provinces to confirm procedural or legislative changes required to facilitate the continued implementation of the oil and gas component of FNOGMMA.

b. IOGC will conduct outreach to interested First Nations as well as actively promote the availability of the oil and gas management component to other First Nations that may be interested to gauge interest and potential uptake as well as to identify both benefits and potential issues that First Nations may foresee. Key to this outreach:
Confirm with oil and gas provinces by June 15, 2010 Active outreach and promoting to oil and gas First Nations that may be interested over summer of 2010. Status: Delayed

Update/Rationale
As of 30/09/2012:

LED:

2a-
Engagement with provinces on procedural or legislative changes required to facilitate the implementation of FNOGMMA will be undertaken once the Indian Oil and Gas regulations (under the Indian Oil and Gas Act) are finalized and only when proponent First Nation(s) commit to opting into FNOGMMA.

2b-
Outreach and promotion of the benefits of the oil and gas component of FNOGMMA are on hold until the Indian Oil and Gas regulations (under the Indian Oil and Gas Act) are finalized.

2c-
No further analysis has been undertaken due to the First nations coming forward to opt into the oil and gas components of FNOGMMA

RIA: Request to close

2c-
IMETA has completed a review of other optional legislative programs to learn and understand if there are related ‘lessons learned' or ‘best practices' that could inform the delivery of the moneys management regime component of FNOGMMA (in accordance with its Treasury Board terms and conditions).

AES: Overtaken by events –closed.
  • is the explanation of the new Indian Oil and Gas Act regime under development – that it is more prescriptive than the current regime with much less room to exercise discretion; and

  • are enhancements / legislative changes, which are contemplated.

c. IOGC and Indian Moneys, Estates and Treaty Annuities (IMETA) will conduct an analysis of the other optional legislative programs to learn and understand if there are related ‘lessons learned' or ‘best practices', which can be used and transferred to the delivery of the moneys management and or the oil and gas management portions of FNOGMMA.
March 31, 2011
3. AANDC (IAB and IOGC, if applicable) should develop a process for assessing the specific capacity needs of individual First Nations as well as risk factors that could affect their completion of the FNOGMMA process. This process should also include a method to develop mitigation strategies related to the identified capacity needs and potential success factors of individual First Nations. IOGC has developed a document entitled ‘Governance and Operational Guideline for Developing a Business Plan' as part of the Oil and Gas Implementation Policy. Additionally, IMETA (IAB) developed a document entitled "FNOGMMA Moneys Management Implementation Policy" which contains a process and criteria for assessing financial management capacity of a First Nation.

IOGC and IMETA will review and update their respective Implementation Policies as needed to include the specific capacity needs of First Nations and address the risk and success factors that could affect individual First Nation completion of the FNOGMMA process; and a method to develop viable mitigation strategies.
Preliminary Review for input into a Memorandum to Cabinet completed by June 30, 2010

Detailed Review completed by October 2010
Status: No Action

Update/Rationale
As of 30/09/2012:

LED: No further work on the implementation policy pertaining to the oil and gas components of FNOGMMA until the Indian Oil and Gas regulations (under the Indian Oil and Gas Act) are completed or when proponent First Nation(s) commit to opting into FNOGMMA.

RIA: Request to close

IMETA has reviewed and updated the FNOGMMA Moneys Management Implementation Policy in line with its Treasury Board authority, which has resulted in an updated Payment Agreement template and updated Intake Committee roles and responsibilities. In relation to risk and success factors affecting individual First Nations completion of the FNOGMMA moneys management process barriers have been identified in the legislation that can only be addressed through legislative change.

AES: Sufficient progress made where possible. CLOSED.
4. AANDC (Individual Affairs Branch and IOGC if applicable) should incorporate FNOGMMA's long-term outcomes (particularly related to the broader economic, governance and capacity outcomes) and more details on program activities and outputs into a performance measurement strategy, which should then be implemented to track the performance of the program. Only if the objectives of the moneys and the oil and gas portions of FNOGMMA are dramatically different, should AANDC consider separate authorities for the two components IOGC and IMETA will develop a Performance Measurement Framework for FNOGMMA. This will include a logic model and performance measurement indicators for the desired outcomes and outputs, taking into account any program changes resulting from the previous recommendations. Completed and integrated into TBS document January 31, 2011 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2012:


LED- Work will begin on the Performance Measurement Strategy for FNOGMMA in 2014.

RIA- Performance Measurement elements (e.g. outputs, outcomes and associated performance indicators) for the Moneys Management component of FNOGMMA are in development. These elements will form part of a larger Performance Measurement Strategy for Indian Moneys, Estates and Treaty Annuities (IMETA) programming of which FNOGMMA Moneys Management is a part. Development of a Performance Measurement Strategy for IMETA is expected to begin after the current evaluation is complete (anticipated for June 2012).

AES: CLOSED - Performance Measurement Strategy for FNOGMMA is in progress.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation sommative de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2012

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (36 Ko, 6 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen en date du 30 septembre 2012

Terres et développement économique

Évaluation sommative de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations (2009087)
Date d'approbation : 05-14-2010

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. À partir des conclusions de l'évaluation, AADNC (plus précisément Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC)) doit déterminer la faisabilité de poursuivre la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations (LGPGFPN). Terres et développement économique (TDE) et PGIC prépareront des documents qui serviront à entreprendre une discussion stratégique au niveau supérieur en ce qui concerne les possibilités et la faisabilité de poursuivre la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN. Présentation au Comité supérieur des politiques, le 22 juin 2010 État : Reporté

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

Présentation de documents et discussions entamées avec le Comité supérieur des politiques le 22 juin 2010. Ce dernier a recommandé de résumer la documentation et de poursuivre la discussion avec le ministre.

On présentera un exposé d'information au ministre lorsque les règlements sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes auront été élaborés (en application de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes) et que les Premières Nations auront eu la possibilité d'évaluer les avantages des nouveaux règlements par rapport à la faisabilité de la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN. En attendant, si une Première Nation instigatrice du projet de loi se manifeste, on envisagera d'informer le ministre à ce moment‑là.

SVE : Changement de circonstances – Fermeture recommandée
2. Avant de poursuivre la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN et de guider la mise en œuvre future du volet de gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN, AADNC doit s'appuyer sur les conclusions de l'évaluation pour régler les questions ciblées suivantes :

a) Déterminer les besoins des provinces aux fins de leur participation à la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN (plus précisément PGIC).

b) Améliorer la compréhension des priorités et des intérêts des Premières nations en ce qui concerne la gestion du pétrole et du gaz dans les réserves, les risques et les avantages pour les Premières nations d'adhérer à la LGPGFPN et le lien entre la LGPGFPN et la modernisation de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, ainsi que les litiges éventuels comme solution de rechange à la LGPGFPN (plus précisément PGIC).

c) Tenir compte des leçons retenues et des pratiques exemplaires (en particulier, celles qui sont liées à l'état de préparation, au développement des capacités et à la gouvernance) relatives à d'autres lois optionnelles, notamment, la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations, la Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des premières nations et la Loi sur la gestion financière et statistique des premières nations  (Direction générale des affaires individuelles et PGIC).
a. PGIC s'assurera que les provinces productrices de pétrole et de gaz confirment les changements apportés à la procédure et à la législation qui sont nécessaires afin de faciliter la poursuite de la mise en œuvre du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN.

b. PGIC communiquera avec les Premières nations intéressées et fera la promotion active du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz auprès des autres Premières nations qui pourraient être intéressées afin d'évaluer l'intérêt et l'adhésion possible, et de déterminer les avantages et les problèmes éventuels que les Premières nations pourraient anticiper. Les clés de cette diffusion sont :

  • l'explication du nouveau régime de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes en cours de conception, qui est plus normatif que le présent régime et ne permet pas une aussi grande discrétion.

  • les améliorations ou les changements législatifs envisagés.
À confirmer auprès des provinces concernées par le volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz d'ici le 15 juin 2010

Diffusion et promotion actives auprès des Premières nations concernées par le volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz qui peuvent être intéressées au cours de l'été 2010
État : Reporté

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :

STDE :

2a-
On consultera les provinces sur les modifications procédurales ou législatives requises pour faciliter la mise en œuvre de la LGPGFPN quand les règlements sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes (en application de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes) auront été achevés et à condition qu'une ou plusieurs Premières Nations instigatrices du projet de loi s'engagent à adhérer à la LGPGFPN

2b-
La sensibilisation aux avantages du volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN et leur promotion sont en suspens, dans l'attente du parachèvement des règlements sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes (en application de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes).

2c-
Aucune autre analyse n'a été entreprise en raison des Premières Nations qui désirent adhérer aux volets de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN

RAI : Fermeture demandée

2c-
Le FISAT continuera à passer en revue les autres programmes législatifs optionnels afin de connaître et de comprendre les « leçons retenues » ou les « pratiques exemplaires » connexes qui pourraient orienter l'exécution du volet de gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN (conformément aux conditions stipulées par le Conseil du Trésor).

SVE : Changement de circonstances – fermé.
c. PGIC et Fonds des Indiens, successions et annuités découlant des traités (FISAT) réaliseront une analyse relative aux autres programmes législatifs optionnels afin de connaître et de comprendre les « leçons retenues » ou les « pratiques exemplaires » connexes qui pourraient être transférées à l'exécution des volets de gestion des fonds ou de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN. 31 mars 2011
3. AADNC (DGAI et PGIC, s'il y a lieu) doit établir un processus d'évaluation des besoins en capacité de chaque Première nation ainsi que des facteurs de risque susceptibles de nuire à la réalisation du processus de la LGPGFPN. Ce processus doit aussi comprendre une méthode d'élaboration de stratégies d'atténuation liées aux besoins en capacités relevés et aux facteurs de réussite potentiels de chaque Première nation. PGIC a conçu un document intitulé « Governance and Operational Guideline for Developing a Business Plan » [gouvernance et directives opérationnelles pour la création d'un plan d'activités] dans le cadre de la politique de mise en œuvre du pétrole et du gaz. De plus, FISAT (DGAI) a rédigé un document intitulé « LGPGFPN Moneys Management Implementation Policy » [politique de gestion de la mise en œuvre des fonds de la LGPGFPN], qui comprend un processus ainsi que les critères permettant d'évaluer la capacité de gestion financière d'une Première nation.

PGIC et FISAT examineront leurs politiques de mise en œuvre respectives et les mettront à jour, au besoin, pour ajouter les besoins précis en capacité de chaque Première nation et aborder les facteurs de risque et de réussite qui pourraient influencer la réalisation du processus de la LGPGFPN, ainsi qu'une méthode visant à définir des stratégies d'atténuation durables.
Examen préliminaire en vue de la contribution au mémoire au Cabinet terminé d'ici le 30 juin 2010

Examen approfondi terminé d'ici October 2010
État : Aucune mesure n'a été prise

Mise à jour/ Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012 :

TDE – Aucune autre activité de mise en œuvre de la politique relative au volet de gestion du pétrole et du gaz de la LGPGFPN n'aura lieu tant que les règlements sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes (en application de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes) ne seront pas finalisés ou qu'une ou plusieurs Premières Nations instigatrices du projet de loi ne s'engageront pas à adhérer à la LGPGFPN.

RAI : Fermeture demandée

La FISAT a passé en revue et mis à jour la politique de mise en œuvre de la gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN, conformément au pouvoir que lui a délégué le Conseil du Trésor, ce qui a permis de mettre à jour un modèle d'accord de paiement, ainsi que la définition des rôles et des responsabilités du comité chargé de l'admission. Au chapitre des facteurs de risque et de réussite relatifs à l'achèvement du processus de gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN par les Premières Nations, les obstacles cernés dans la législation ne peuvent être résolus que par une modification législative.

SVE : On a accompli suffisamment de progrès, dans la mesure du possible. FERMÉ.
4. AADNC (DGAI et PGIC s'il y a lieu) doit intégrer les résultats à long terme de la LGPGFPN (en particulier, ceux qui sont liés aux résultats élargis de l'économie, de la gouvernance et de la capacité) et davantage de détails sur les activités de programme et les résultats dans une stratégie de mesure du rendement, qui doit ensuite être mise en application en vue de suivre le rendement du programme. AADNC ne doit envisager de séparer les pouvoirs pour les deux volets de la LGPGFPN, qui sont d'une part, les fonds et d'autre part, le pétrole et le gaz, que si les objectifs liés à ces volets sont considérablement différents. PGIC et FISAT créeront un cadre de mesure du rendement de la LGPGFPN. Le cadre comprendra un modèle logique ainsi que des indicateurs de mesure du rendement pour les extrants et les résultats escomptés, en tenant compte de tout changement de programme découlant des recommandations antérieures. Terminé et intégré à la présentation au Conseil du Trésor d'ici le 31 janvier 2011 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2012 :

TDE Le travail sur la stratégie de mesure du rendement pour la LGPGFPN débutera en 2014.

RCAI – Les éléments de mesure du rendement (p. ex. extrants, résultats et indicateurs de rendement associés) sont en cours d'élaboration pour le volet de gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN. Ces éléments feront partie d'une stratégie de mesure du rendement de plus grande portée pour le programme Fonds des Indiens, des successions et des annuités (FISAT), dont la gestion des fonds de la LGPGFPN fait partie. On prévoit commencer la stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le FISAT quand l'évaluation en cours sera terminée (date prévue : juin 2012).

SVE : L'élaboration de la stratégie de mesure du rendement pour la LGPGFPN progresse. Fermeture recommandée
 
 
Date de modification :