Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports

The Estimates of the Government of Canada are structured in several parts. Beginning with an overview of total government spending in Part I, the documents become increasingly more specific. Part II outlines spending according to departments, agencies and programs and contains the proposed wording of the conditions governing spending which Parliament will be asked to approve. The Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and the Departmental Performance Report (DPR) make up Part III of the Estimates publications. All Estimates documents are prepared to support appropriation acts. The appropriation act is the vehicle through which funds are authorized in order to pay for government programs and services.

The Part I, Part II and RPP documents, along with the Minister of Finance's Budget, reflect the government's annual budget planning and resource allocation priorities. In combination with subsequent reporting of financial results in the Public Accounts and of accomplishments achieved in DPRs, this material helps Parliament hold the government to account for the allocation and management of public funds.

Reports on Plans and Priorities

These reports provide details on departmental priorities by strategic outcomes, programs, expected results and related resource requirements for the upcoming fiscal year and two subsequent years. They form the basis against which year-end performance is assessed and reported on via DPRs and they are usually tabled on or before March 31.

Departmental Performance Reports

These Performance Reports, which cover the most recently completed fiscal year, are tabled in Parliament in the fall. They provide details on actual results achieved against departments and agencies plans, priorities and expected results set out in their respective RPP.

Date modified:

Rapports sur les plans et les priorités et les rapports ministériels sur le rendement

Le Budget des dépenses du gouvernement du Canada est divisé en plusieurs parties. Commençant par un aperçu des dépenses totales du gouvernement dans la Partie I, les documents deviennent de plus en plus détaillés. Dans la Partie II, les dépenses sont décrites selon les ministères, les organismes et les programmes. Cette partie renferme aussi le libellé proposé des conditions qui s'appliquent aux pouvoirs de dépenser qu'on demande au Parlement d'accorder. Le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR) forment la Partie III du budget des dépenses. Tous les documents portant sur le Budget des dépenses sont préparés afin de supporter la loi de crédits. Cette dernière permet au gouvernement de retirer des fonds du Trésor afin de financer ses programmes et services.

La Partie I, la Partie II et les RPP, de même que le budget du ministre des Finances, sont le reflet de la planification budgétaire annuelle de l'État et de ses priorités aux fins de l'affectation des ressources. Ces documents, auxquels viennent s'ajouter par la suite les Comptes publics et les RMR, aident le Parlement à s'assurer que le gouvernement est dûment comptable de l'affectation et de la gestion des fonds publics.

Rapports sur les plans et les priorités

Ces rapports définissent les priorités ministérielles par résultats stratégiques, par programmes, par résultats attendus et par exigences en matière de ressources pour l'exercice à venir et les deux années suivantes. On les utilise pour mesurer le rendement à la fin de l'exercice dans le cadre du RMR et sont déposés au Parlement au plus tard le 31 mars.

Rapports ministériels sur le rendement

Ces rapports sur le rendement couvrent le dernier exercice terminé et ils sont habituellement déposés à l'automne. Ils sont les comptes rendus des accomplissements réels des ministères et organismes en fonction des plans, des priorités et des résultats attendus qui ont été établis dans leur RPP respectif.

Date de modification :