ARCHIVED - Status Report on Transformational and Major Crown Projects

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This table applies to all Major Crown Projects and Transformational Projects in accordance with Treasury Board policies. Please see the policy on Management of Major Crown Projects and the Policy on the Management of Projects.

Description

In the 2007 Speech from the Throne, the Government of Canada outlined that there are both new opportunities and new challenges in the North, and indicated it would bring forward an integrated Northern Strategy focused on strengthening Canada's sovereignty, protecting environmental heritage, promoting economic and social development, and improving and devolving governance. As a signature deliverable of this new commitment, the Government also promised to "build a world-class Arctic research station that will be on the cutting edge of Arctic issues, including environmental science and resource development. This station will be built by Canadians, in Canada's Arctic, and it will be there to serve the world." The Prime Minister announced Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, as the location for the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS) in August 2010.

The Prime Minister announced a new investment in the next phases of the Canadian High Arctic Research Station on August 23, 2012: $142.4 million for the construction, equipment, and fit-up of the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS) and $46.2 million over six years for the phase in of the Science and Technology Program. An additional $26.5 million per year has been set aside, as of 2018-19, for the on-going program and operations of the Station. The Prime Minister also announced the winning bidder for the design of the station. Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architects and NFOE et associés architectes, operating as a joint venture, have been awarded the Design Consultant contract through a competitive and transparent bidding process.

CHARS is scheduled to open on July 1, 2017, Canada's 150th anniversary.

Project Phase

Design: Budget 2010 provided $18 million over four years for the design of CHARS. The selection of a design consultant is complete and work on the design concept is currently underway.

Leading and Participating Departments and Agencies
Lead department Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)
Contracting authority Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC)
Participating departments AANDC and PWGSC

Prime and Major Subcontractor(s)
Prime contractor A Construction Manager will be identified in 2013
Major subcontractor(s) Construction is scheduled to begin in 2014

Major Milestones
Major milestone Date
Creation of a Canadian High Arctic Research Station announced Speech from the Throne 2007
CHARS Feasibility: $2M over 2 years Budget 2009
CHARS Design: $18M over 4 years Budget 2010
Cambridge Bay location announced by Prime Minister August 2010
CHARS mandate announced by Minister December 2010
Feasibility Study Released on Science.gc.ca September 2011
RFP for Design Consultant Tendered September 2011
RFP for Design Consultant Closed November 2011
Design Consultant Proposals Evaluated – Phase 1 December 2011
Seek Decisions on Construction Funding Winter 2012
Design Consultant Proposals Evaluated – Phase 2 February 2012
Announced Design Consultant Contract August 2012
RFP for Construction Management Services November 2012
Recommend Site in Cambridge Bay December 2012
Award Construction Management Services Contract March 2013
Attain Effective Project Approval for Construction March 2013
Announce Design Concept Spring 2013
Provide Class 'B' Estimate for Construction November 2013
Secure Land in Cambridge Bay December 2013
Construction Begins September 2014
Finalize Design 2014-2015
Open on 150th Anniversary of Confederation July 1, 2017

Project Outcomes

Progress Report and Explanations of Variances

Industrial Benefits

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport d'étape sur les projets de transformation et les grands projets de l'État

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Ce tableau s'applique à tous les grands projets de l'État et projets de transformation, conformément aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor. Veuillez consulter la politique sur la gestion des grands projets de l'État   et la Politique sur la gestion des projets  .

Description

Dans le discours du Trône de 2007, le gouvernement a souligné qu'il y avait à la fois de nouvelles occasions et de nouveaux défis dans le Nord et il a indiqué qu'il présenterait une stratégie intégrée pour le Nord, centrée sur le renforcement de la souveraineté du Canada, la protection du patrimoine environnemental, la promotion du développement économique et social ainsi que sur l'amélioration et le transfert de la gouvernance. En tant que livrable caractéristique de ce nouvel engagement, le gouvernement a aussi promis de « construire une station de recherche de calibre mondial qui se maintiendra à la fine pointe des questions arctiques, comme les sciences de l'environnement et le développement des ressources naturelles. Cette station, bâtie par des Canadiens dans l'Arctique canadien, servira le monde entier. » Le Premier ministre a annoncé que la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA) serait construite à Cambridge Bay au Nunavut en août 2010.

Le 23 août 2012, le Premier ministre annonçait de nouveaux investissements dans les prochaines étapes de la création de la SRCEA : 142,4 millions de dollars pour la construction, l’équipement et l’aménagement de la Station et 46,2 millions de dollars, échelonnés sur six ans, pour la mise en place progressive du Programme de sciences et de technologie. Une somme supplémentaire de 26,5 millions de dollars par année sera mise de côté, à compter de 2018-2019, pour le bon déroulement du programme et les activités courantes de la Station. Le Premier ministre a également annoncé le nom du soumissionnaire retenu pour la conception de la Station. L’atelier Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architectes ainsi que la firme NFOE et associés architectes, qui ont formé une coentreprise pour ce projet, se sont vu accorder le contrat d’expert-conseil en conception au terme d’un processus d’appel d’offres concurrentiel et transparent.

La SRCEA devrait ouvrir ses portes le 1er juillet 2017, date du 150e anniversaire du Canada.

Étape du projet

Conception : Le budget de 2010 prévoit 18 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour la conception de la SRCEA. Le choix d'un consultant en conception est fait, et les travaux de conception sont en cours.

Ministères et organismes responsables ou participants
Ministère responsable Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)
Autorité contractante Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC)
Ministères participants AADNC et TPSGC

Entrepreneur principal et sous-traitants principaux
Entrepreneur principal On nommera un gestionnaire de la construction en 2013
Sous-traitants principaux On prévoit que la construction débutera en 2014

Principaux jalons
Jalon important Date
Annonce de la création de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA) Discours du Trône, 2007
Faisabilité de la SRCEA : 2 millions de dollars sur 2 ans Budget de 2009
Conception de la SRCEA : 18 millions de dollars sur 4 ans Budget de 2010
Annonce de l'emplacement à Cambridge Bay par le Premier ministre Août 2010
Annonce du mandat de la SRCEA par le Ministre Décembre 2010
Publication de l'étude de faisabilité sur Science.gc.ca Septembre 2011
Lancement de la demande de proposition (DP) pour l'obtention des services d'un consultant en conception Septembre 2011
Clôture de la DP pour l'obtention des services d'un consultant en conception Novembre 2011
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception – Phase 1 Décembre 2011
Prise de décisions concernant le financement de la construction Hiver 2012
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception – Phase 2 Février 2012
Attribution du marché pour les services d'un consultant en conception Août 2012
DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Novembre 2012
Recommandation de l'emplacement de Cambridge Bay Décembre 2012
Attribution du marché pour les services d'un gestionnaire de la construction Mars 2013
Obtenir l'approbation définitive au projet pour la construction Mars 2013
Annonce du concept Printemps 2013
Présentation de l'estimation du type B pour la construction Novembre 2013
Conclusion de l'acquisition du terrain de Cambridge Bay Décembre 2013
Début de la construction Septembre 2014
Achèvement de la conception 2014-2015
Ouverture des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la confédération 1er juillet 2017

Résultats du projet

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

Retombées industrielles

Date de modification :