ARCHIVED - Departmental Sustainable Development Strategy - 2013-2014 update

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (130 Kb, 30 Pages)

Table of contents

Section I: Sustainable Development

Federal Sustainable Development Strategy

The 2010–2013 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) continues to guide the Government of Canada’s sustainable development activities. During 2013–2014, the government will be consulting the public regarding the second three-year cycle of the FSDS (2013–2016). This FSDS will then be finalized to provide the basis for the 2013–2014 year-end performance reporting.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) Vision

Canada’s economic and social well-being benefits from strong, self-sufficient Aboriginal and northern people and communities.

Our vision is a future in which First Nations, Inuit, Métis and northern communities are healthy, safe, self-sufficient and prosperous — a Canada where people make their own decisions, manage their own affairs and make strong contributions to the country as a whole.

Decision making under the Federal Sustainable Development Act

The Federal Sustainable Development Strategy situates the Government of Canada’s environmental priorities within the broader context of social and economic priorities by recognizing the linkages to environmental concerns when economic and social decisions are being made. Its strength lies in making the outcomes of decision making more transparent. The FSDS also establishes a framework for sustainable development planning and reporting with three key elements:

The development and implementation of the FSDS is a collaborative process across the Government of Canada. The Minister of Environment Canada has overall responsibility for the development of the FSDS.

The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and other ministers presiding over departments and agencies identified in the Act are responsible for preparing and tabling in Parliament Departmental Sustainable Development Strategies that comply with and contribute to the FSDS. The government has chosen to utilize the Report on Plans and Priorities as a means of fulfilling this requirement.

In addition, Environment Canada, Treasury Board Secretariat and Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) also play key management roles through the preparation of common guidelines, assessment tools and data collection and dissemination across government.

Departmental Sustainable Development Practices

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada commits to:

AANDC is also actively engaged in several interdepartmental working groups to advance sustainable development. AANDC is a member of the following interdepartmental working groups:

Strategic Environmental Assessments at AANDC

Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) is a key analytical tool used by the federal government to support environmentally sustainable decision making. It evaluates the environmental effects of a proposed policy, plan, or program and its alternatives, and informs strategic decision making through a careful analysis of environmental risks and opportunities. AANDC continues to consider the environmental effects of initiatives subject to the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. For more information on SEAs visit the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency website.

Return to Table of Contents





Section II: Information on Departmental Implementation Strategies in FSDS Themes I and II

This section contains Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada’s implementation strategies from the 2010–2013 FSDS. For more detailed information about the Departmental contributions to FSDS 2010–2013 see the Departmental Sustainable Development Strategy 2012–2013.

FSDS Theme I: Climate Change and Air Quality

Goal 1: Climate Change

Reduce greenhouse gas emission levels to mitigate the severity and unavoidable impacts of climate change.

Target 1.1: Climate Change Mitigation — Relative to 2005 emission levels, reduce Canada’s total greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) 17 percent by 2020 (Lead Environment Canada).

Implementation Strategy 1.1.31 — Work with Aboriginal and northern communities, organizations and governments on climate change issues, through the development of sustainable energy initiatives and support them in managing vulnerabilities and opportunities created by a changing climate. (AANDC, Natural Resources Canada (NRCan))

Goal 2: Air Pollution

Minimize the threats to air quality so that the air Canadians breathe is clean and supports healthy ecosystems.

Target 2.1: Air Pollutants — Reduce air pollutants in order to maintain or improve air quality across the country and achieve the emission targets which are currently under development in consultation with provinces and stakeholders. (Lead Environment Canada and Health Canada)

Implementation Strategy 2.1.16 — ecoACTION programs reduce greenhouse gas emissions and can directly or indirectly contribute to air pollutant emission reduction. (NRCan, Transport Canada, AANDC)

Target 2.3: Chemicals Management — Reduce risks to Canadians and impacts on the environment posed by harmful substances as a result of decreased environmental concentrations and human exposure to such substances. (Lead Environment Canada and Health Canada)

Implementation Strategy 2.3.7 and 3.12.6 — The Northern Contaminants Program will continue monitoring contaminant levels in wildlife and people in the Canadian North.

FSDS Theme II: Maintaining Water Quality and Availability

Goal 3: Water Quality

Protect and enhance water so that it is clean, safe and secure for all Canadians and supports healthy ecosystems

Target 3.10: Drinking Water Quality — Increase the percentage of First Nation communities with acceptable water and wastewater facility risk ratings by 2013. (This target is co-lead Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and Health Canada.)

Implementation Strategy 3.10.1 — Undertake a National Assessment of First Nation communities to assess the current status and associated risk for all existing communal water and wastewater systems and analyze various options for community serviceability.

Implementation Strategy 3.10.4 — Ensure that training is available for all operators and that a regime is in place so that all water systems have oversight of a certified operator.

Implementation Strategy 3.10.5.1 — Enhance the Circuit Rider Training Program.

Implementation Strategy 3.10.5.2 — Increase the number of Circuit Rider trainers and operators.

Implementation Strategy 3.10.9 — Develop and continuously update technical guidance protocols, such as the Protocol for Safe Drinking Water in First Nations Communities and the Protocol for Wastewater Treatment and Disposal in First Nations Communities. (AANDC and Environment Canada are jointly responsible for this implementation strategy.)

Implementation Strategy 3.10.11 — Develop appropriate regulatory framework and legislation for safe drinking water and wastewater treatment in First Nation communities.

Target 3.12: Chemicals Management — Reduce risks to Canadians and impacts on the environment posed by harmful substances as a result of decreased environmental concentrations and human exposure to such substances. (Lead Environment Canada and Health Canada)

Implementation Strategy 2.3.7 and 3.12.6 — The Northern Contaminants Program will continue monitoring contaminant levels in wildlife and people in the Canadian North.

Return to Table of Contents





Section III: Clean Air Agenda Programming

CAA Theme: Adaptation

CAA Program Name: Climate Adaptation and Resilience Program for Aboriginals and Northerners

Department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

4 The North
4.1 Northern Governance and People
4.1.3 Climate Change Adaptation

Total CAA Approved Funding (excluding PWGSC accommodations): $19,717,100

2013–2014 Planned Spending: $4,729,420

CAA Program Expected Achievements for 2013–2014

AANDC’s Climate Change Adaptation Program addresses the Adaptation Theme’s goal of reducing vulnerability to climate change by supporting the assessment of, and adaptation to, climate change impacts in Aboriginal and northern communities.

AANDC’s overall expected results are as follows:

Expected Result: Aboriginal and northern communities implement adaptation measures and decisions to protect community health and safety
Indicator: Number of communities implementing adaptation plans and measures to protect community health and safety
Target: 10 communities/5 years
Data Source: Administrative data: program records, files and reports
Frequency of Data Collection: Annually

Output: Funded projects under 4 categories: vulnerability assessments; tools; adaptation plans; knowledge dissemination
Indicator: Number of funded projects under each category.
Target: 2012–2013: 20 projects; 90 projects/5-years
Data Source: Administrative data: program records, files and reports
Frequency of Data Collection: Annually

AANDC will work collaboratively with other government departments, Aboriginal organizations and communities to promote the program and build capacity within communities to carry out vulnerability assessments and adaptation planning exercises.

In 2013–2014, it is anticipated that the program will provide funding for 20 projects to be completed in approximately 10 communities. Projects will be funded in four categories: vulnerability assessments, tools, adaptation plans, and knowledge dissemination. Emphasis will be placed on communities that are considered particularly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change, due to geographic location or a reduced ability to adapt. Further details on the Climate Change Adaptation and Resilience Program for Aboriginals and Northerners can be found on the AANDC Climate Change website.

CAA Theme: Adaptation

CAA Program Name: Integrating Adaptation into Codes and Standards for Northern Infrastructure

Department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (Partner: Standards Council of Canada)

4 The North
4.1 Northern Governance and People
4.1.3 Climate Change Adaptation

Total CAA Approved Funding (excluding PWGSC accommodations): $935,000

2013–2014 Planned Spending: $187,000

CAA Program Expected Achievements for 2013–2014

AANDC’s contribution to the Codes and Standards for Northern Infrastructure program addresses the Adaptation Theme’s goal of reducing vulnerability to climate change by developing codes, standards and guidelines that support more resilient infrastructure and reduce impacts from climate change at the community level.

AANDC’s overall expected results are as follows:

Expected Result: Aboriginal and northern communities implement adaptation measures and decisions to protect community health and safety.
Indicator: Number of new and revised codes and standards for infrastructure being adopted in the North; Number of new and revised guidelines for infrastructure being adopted in the North.
Target: 3 to 5 new and/or revised codes, standards, guidelines/5–10 years
Data Source: Administrative data: program records, files and reports
Frequency of Data Collection: Annually

The Northern Infrastructure Standardization Initiative is a joint collaboration between Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and the Standards Council of Canada to support Aboriginal and northern communities in building and designing safer and more resilient infrastructure. The Initiative is working towards the development of codes, standards and guidelines for northern infrastructure that consider climate change impacts. In 2013–2014, AANDC will continue to support the facilitation of the Initiative’s Northern Advisory Committee by engaging and supporting the members of the committee.

CAA Theme: Clean Energy

CAA Program Name: ecoENERGY for Aboriginal and Northern Communities

Department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

3 The Land and Economy
3.3 Community Infrastructure
3.3.5 Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency

Total CAA Approved Funding (excluding PWGSC accommodations): $19,632,100

2013–2014 Planned Spending: $3,926,420

CAA Program Expected Achievement for 2013–2014

AANDC’s ecoENERGY for Aboriginal and Northern Communities Program directly addresses the Clean Energy Theme’s goal of reduced emissions of greenhouse gases from the energy sector by reducing emissions in Aboriginal and northern communities.

AANDC’s overall expected results are as follows:

Expected Result: Reduced greenhouse gas emissions in Aboriginal and northern communities.
Indicator: Projected reductions in GHG emissions over a 20-year project lifecycle resulting from all projects funded by the ecoENERGY for Aboriginal and Northern Communities Program (2011–2016).
Target: Projected 1.5 Mt/5-years
Data Source: Administrative data: program records, files and reports
Frequency of Data Collection: Annually

Output: Funded energy projects
Indicator: Number of projects funded by the ecoENERGY for Aboriginal and Northern Communities Program
Target: 10–20/year
Data Source: Administrative data: program records, files and reports
Frequency of Data Collection: Annually

This proposal-based program focuses exclusively on Aboriginal and northern communities, with an emphasis on off-grid communities. The introduction of proven renewable energy and energy efficiency measures will lead to GHG reductions.

In 2013–2014, the program will support pre-feasibility and feasibility studies of 5–10 renewable energy projects (e.g. wind, small hydro, solar, biomass), and design and construction of 5–10 energy projects integrated with community buildings (e.g. solar heating, ground source heat pumps, high efficiency heating systems). Further details on the ecoENERGY for Aboriginal and Northern Communities program can be found on the AANDC Climate Change website.

Return to Table of Contents





Section IV: Greening Government Operations

FSDS Theme IV: Shrinking the Environmental Footprint — Beginning with Government

Greening of Government Operations was a major objective of AANDC’s previous Sustainable Development Strategy. The Office of Greening Government Operations was created in April 2005 and recommended that federal departments include activities concerning three areas — buildings, vehicles and green procurement — in their fourth strategy. Building on these recommendations, the FSDS sets out new mandatory targets in the areas of green buildings, greenhouse gas emissions, electronic waste, printing units, paper consumption, green meetings and green procurement. AANDC is committed to greening its internal operations as required by the new targets for greening government operations.

AANDC contributes to the Greening of Government Operations targets through the internal services program activity. The Department contributes to the following target areas of Theme IV, Shrinking the Environmental Footprint — Beginning with Government, of the FSDS:

Details regarding AANDC’s specific responsibilities are available in the Greening Government Operations supplementary table in AANDC’s 2013–2014 Report on Plans and Priorities.

Return to Table of Contents


Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Mise à jour de la stratégie ministérielle de développement durable de 2013-2014

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (102 ko, 8 Pages)

Table des matières

Section I : Développement durable

Stratégie fédérale de développement durable

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) 2010–2013 continue de guider les activités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement durable. Au cours de 2013–2014, le gouvernement consultera le public concernant le deuxième cycle triennal de la SFDD (2013–2016). Cette SFDD sera ensuite finalisée et servira de base à l’établissement du rapport de fin d’année sur le rendement de 2013–2014.

La vision d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Le dynamisme et l’autosuffisance des Autochtones, des résidants du Nord et de leurs collectivités profitent au bien-être socioéconomique du Canada. À AADNC, nous tendons vers un idéal où les collectivités inuites, métisses, nordiques et des Premières Nations sont saines, sécuritaires, auto­suffisantes et prospères. Nous rêvons d’un Canada où les gens prennent leurs propres décisions, gèrent leurs propres affaires et contribuent largement au bien-être du pays dans son ensemble.

Processus décisionnel en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable   intègre complètement les priorités environnementales du gouvernement au contexte plus large des priorités sociales et économiques, en reconnaissant leurs liens avec les préoccupations environnementales lors de la prise de décisions sociales et économiques. Sa force repose sur le fait de rendre les résultats du processus décisionnel plus transparents. La Stratégie établit également un cadre pour la planification et la production de rapports en matière de développement durable, à l’aide de trois éléments principaux :

L’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable est un processus collaboratif dans l’ensemble du gouvernement du Canada. Le ministre d’Environnement Canada a la responsabilité globale de l’élaboration de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et les autres ministres dirigeant les ministères ou organismes identifiés dans la Loi sont responsables de préparer et de déposer au Parlement des stratégies ministérielles de développement durable qui respectent la SFDD et y contribuent. Le gouvernement a choisi d’utiliser le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités comme moyen de satisfaire à cette exigence.

De plus, Environnement Canada, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) jouent également des rôles essentiels de gestion par le biais de la préparation de lignes directrices communes, d’outils d’évaluation, de la collecte et de la diffusion de données dans l’ensemble du gouvernement.

Pratiques de développement durable

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada s’engage à :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada participe activement à plusieurs groupes de travail interministériels afin de faire progresser le développement durable. AADNC est membre des groupes de travail interministériels suivants :

L’évaluation environnementale stratégique à AADNC

L’évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est un outil d’analyse clé utilisé par le gouvernement fédéral pour appuyer le processus décisionnel en matière de durabilité environnementale. Elle évalue les effets sur l’environnement d’une politique, d’un plan ou d’un programme proposé et ses solutions de rechange et informe le processus décisionnel stratégique par une analyse minutieuse des risques et possibilités pour l’environnement. AADNC continuera de prendre en considération les effets sur l’environnement des initiatives assujetties à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de planification et de programmes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les évaluations environnementales stratégiques, visitez le site de l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale  .

Retournez à la table des matières





Section II : Information sur les stratégies ministérielles de mise en œuvre des thèmes I et II de la SFDD

Cette section contient les stratégies de mise en œuvre des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada tirées de la SFDD 2010–2013. Pour plus d’informations sur la contribution du ministère à la SFDD 2010–2013, voir la Stratégie ministérielle de développement durable 2012–2013.

Thème I de la SFDD : Les changements climatiques et la qualité de l’air

Objectif 1 : Les changements climatiques

Réduire les émissions des gaz à effet de serre (GES) afin d’atténuer la gravité et les effets inévitables des changements climatiques.

Cible 1.1 : Atténuer les effets des changements climatiques — Par rapport aux niveaux des émissions des gaz à effet de serre de 2005, réduire le total des émissions des gaz à effet de serre du Canada de 17 pour cent d’ici 2020. (Environnement Canada)

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 1.1.31 — Travailler avec les collectivités, les organismes et les gouvernements autochtones et du Nord aux problèmes liés aux changements climatiques par l’élaboration d’initiatives d’énergie durable et en leur apportant un soutien par la gestion des vulnérabilités et des possibilités créées par les changements climatiques. (AADNC, Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan))

Objectif 2 : Pollution atmosphérique

Limiter les menaces à la qualité de l’air afin que les Canadiens puissent respirer de l’air pur qui appuiera également des écosystèmes sains.

Cible 2.1 : Polluants atmosphériques — Réduire le nombre de polluants atmosphériques afin de maintenir ou d’améliorer la qualité de l’air au pays et atteindre les cibles fixées pour les émissions, qui sont en voie d’élaboration, de concert avec les provinces et les intervenants. (Environnement Canada, Santé Canada)

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 2.1.16 — Les programmes financés par écoACTION sont destinés à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et peuvent également contribuer, directement ou indirectement, à la réduction des émissions de polluants atmosphériques. (RNCan, Transports Canada, AADNC)

Cible 2.3 : Gestion des produits chimiques — Réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et les répercussions sur l’environnement attribuables aux substances toxiques à la suite d’une réduction des concentrations dans l’environnement et de l’exposition humaine à de telles substances. (Environnement Canada, Santé Canada)

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 2.3.7 et 3.12.6 — Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord continuera de surveiller les concentrations de contaminants dans la faune et chez les personnes dans le Nord canadien.

Thème II de la SFDD : Maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l’eau

Objectif 3 : Qualité de l’eau

Protéger et améliorer la qualité de l’eau pour qu’elle soit propre, saine et sécuritaire pour tous les Canadiens et qu’elle soutienne des écosystèmes sains.

Cible 3.10 : Qualité de l’eau potable — Augmenter le pourcentage des collectivités des Premières Nations présentant des notations acceptables quant aux risques des réseaux d’assainissement et des réseaux d’eau d’ici 2013. (Cette cible est co-dirigée par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et Santé Canada).

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 3.10.1 — Effectuer une évaluation nationale auprès des collectivités des Premières Nations afin de déterminer l’état actuel et les risques associés pour tous les réseaux d’assainissement et tous les réseaux d’eau communaux existants et analyser plusieurs possibilités de viabilisation des collectivités.

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 3.10.4 — S’assurer qu’une formation est disponible pour tous les opérateurs et qu’un régime est en place, afin que tous les réseaux d’eau soient supervisés par un opérateur agréé.

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 3.10.5.1 — Améliorer le Programme de formation itinérante.

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 3.10.5.2 — Augmenter le nombre de formateurs et d’opérateurs itinérants.

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 3.10.9 — Établir et mettre à jour constamment les protocoles d’orientation technique, tels que le Protocole pour une eau potable salubre dans les collectivités des Premières Nations et le Protocole ayant trait au traitement et à l’élimination des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. (Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et Environnement Canada sont conjointement responsables de cette stratégie de mise en œuvre).

Stratégie de mise en œuvre 3.10.11 — Établir un cadre de travail réglementaire approprié et une loi ayant trait à un traitement sécuritaire des eaux usées et de l’eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Cible 3.12 : Gestion des produits chimiques — Réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et les incidences sur l’environnement que peuvent avoir les substances toxiques sur l’environnement à la suite d’une réduction des concentrations dans l’environnement et de l’exposition humaine à de telles substances. (Environnement Canada, Santé Canada)

Stratégies de mise en œuvre 2.3.7 et 3.12.6 — Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord continuera de surveiller les concentrations de contaminants dans la faune et chez les personnes dans le Nord canadien.

Retournez à la table des matières





Section III : Programme de la qualité de l’air

Thème du Programme de la qualité de l’air (PQA) : Adaptation

Nom du programme PQA : Programme d’adaptation et de résilience aux changements climatiques pour les collectivités autochtones et nordiques

Ministère : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

4 Le Nord
4.1 Gouvernance et gens du Nord
4.1.3 Adaptation au changement climatique

Financement total approuvé (excluant les locaux de TPSGC) : 19 717 100 $

Dépenses prévues pour 2013–2014 : 4 729 420 $

Résultats escomptés du PQA en 2013–2014

Le Programme d’adaptation aux changements climatiques d’AADNC aborde l’objectif de la réduction de la vulnérabilité aux changements climatiques du Thème de l’adaptation en appuyant l’évaluation des répercussions des changements climatiques dans les collectivités autochtones et nordiques, ainsi que l’adaptation à ces changements.

Voici les résultats globaux escomptés du programme à AADNC :

Résultat escompté : Les collectivités autochtones et nordiques mettent en œuvre des mesures d’adaptation et des décisions pour protéger la santé et la sécurité de la collectivité
Indicateur : Nombre de collectivités qui mettent en œuvre des plans d’adaptation et des mesures pour protéger la santé et la sécurité de la collectivité
Cible : 10 communautés/5 ans
Source des données : Données administratives : dossiers, fichiers et rapports sur le programme
Fréquence de la collecte des données : Annuelle

Résultat : Projets financés dans quatre catégories : évaluations de la vulnérabilité; outils; plans d’adaptation; diffusion du savoir
Indicateur : Nombre de projets financés dans chaque catégorie
Cible : 2012–2013 : 20 projets; 90 projets/5 ans
Source des données : Données administratives : dossiers, fichiers et rapports sur le programme
Fréquence de la collecte des données : Annuelle

AADNC collaborera avec d’autres ministères, de même qu’avec des organisations et des collectivités autochtones, afin de faire la promotion du Programme et de renforcer la capacité de mener des évaluations de la vulnérabilité et réaliser des exercices de préparation de plans d’adaptation au sein des collectivités.

En 2013–2014, il est prévu que le Programme finance 20 projets qui seront réalisés dans environ 10 collectivités. Les projets financés appartiendront à l’une des quatre catégories suivantes : évaluations de la vulnérabilité, outils, plans d’adaptation et diffusion du savoir. L’accent sera mis sur les collectivités jugées particulièrement vulnérables aux effets des changements climatiques, en raison de leur emplacement géographique ou de leur capacité réduite à s’adapter. De plus amples renseignements sur le Programme d’adaptation et de résilience aux changements climatiques chez les collectivités autochtones et du Nord figurent à la section sur les changements climatiques du site Web d’AADNC.

Thème du Programme de la qualité de l’air : Adaptation

Nom du programme PQA : Intégration de l’adaptation dans les codes et les normes sur les infrastructures nordiques

Ministère : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (Partenaire : Conseil Canadien des normes)

4 Le Nord
4.1 Gouvernance et gens du Nord
4.1.3 Adaptation au changement climatique

Financement total approuvé (excluant les locaux de TPSGC) : 935 000 $

Dépenses prévues pour 2013–2014 : 187 000 $

Résultats escomptés du PQA en 2013–2014

La contribution d’AADNC au Programme des codes et des normes visant les infrastructures dans le Nord aborde l’objectif de la réduction de la vulnérabilité aux changements climatiques du Thème de l’adaptation grâce à l’élaboration de codes, de normes et de lignes directrices à l’appui d’infrastructures plus résilientes et de la diminution des effets des changements climatiques dans les collectivités.

Voici les résultats globaux escomptés du programme à AADNC :

Résultat escompté : Les collectivités autochtones et nordiques mettent en œuvre des mesures d’adaptation et prennent des décisions pour protéger la santé et la sécurité de la collectivité.
Indicateur : Nombre de codes et de normes, nouveaux ou révisés, visant les infrastructures qui sont adoptés dans le Nord; nombre de lignes directrices, nouvelles ou révisées, visant les infrastructures qui sont adoptées dans le Nord.
Cible : 3 à 5 codes, normes ou lignes directrices, nouveaux ou révisés/5 à 10 ans
Source des données : Données administratives : dossiers, fichiers et rapports sur le programme
Fréquence de la collecte des données : Annuelle

L’Initiative de normalisation des infrastructures du Nord est une collaboration entre AADNC et le Conseil canadien des normes dans le but d’aider les collectivités autochtones et nordiques à concevoir et à ériger une infrastructure plus sécuritaire et plus résiliente. Cette initiative a pour objet l’élaboration de codes, de normes et de lignes directrices visant les infrastructures nordiques qui prennent en compte les répercussions des changements climatiques. En 2013–2014, AADNC continuera de contribuer au fonctionnement du Comité consultatif du Nord sur l’Initiative en mobilisant et en appuyant ses membres.

Thème du Programme de la qualité de l’air : Énergie propre

Nom du programme du PQA : écoÉNERGIE pour les collectivités autochtones et nordiques

Ministère : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

3 Les terres et l’économie
3.3 Infrastructure communautaire
3.3.5 Énergies renouvelables et efficacité énergétique

Financement total approuvé (excluant les locaux de TPSGC) : 19 632 100 $

Dépenses prévues pour 2013–2014 : 3 926 420 $

Résultats escomptés du PQA en 2013–2014

Le Programme écoÉNERGIE pour les collectivités autochtones et nordiques d’AADNC répond directement à l’objectif de la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, du Thème énergie propre, attribuables au secteur de l’énergie en diminuant les émissions dans les collectivités autochtones et nordiques.

Voici les résultats globaux escomptés du programme à AADNC :

Résultat escompté : Réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans les collectivités autochtones et du Nord
Indicateur : Diminution prévue des émissions de gaz à effet de serre attribuable à des projets dont le cycle de vie s’étend sur 20 ans et qui ont été financés dans le cadre du programme écoÉNERGIE pour les collectivités autochtones et nordiques (2011–2016)
Cible : 1,5 tonne métrique prévue/5 ans
Source des données : Données administratives : dossiers, fichiers et rapports sur le programme
Fréquence de la collecte des données : Annuelle

Résultat : Projets énergétiques financés
Indicateur : Nombre de projets financés par le programme écoÉNERGIE pour les collectivités autochtones et nordiques
Cible : 10 à 20 projets/année
Source des données : Données administratives : dossiers, fichiers et rapports sur le programme
Fréquence de la collecte des données : Annuelle

Ce programme fondé sur les propositions est axé exclusivement sur les collectivités autochtones et nordiques, et plus particulièrement sur les collectivités hors réseau. L’instauration de mesures éprouvées en matière d’énergie renouvelable et d’efficacité énergétique entraînera la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

En 2013–2014, le Programme appuiera les études de préfaisabilité et de faisabilité de 5 à 10 projets d’énergie renouvelable (p. ex. projets axés sur l’énergie éolienne, solaire ou tirée de la biomasse, petits projets hydroélectriques), ainsi que la conception et la réalisation de 5 à 10 projets d’énergie intégrés à des bâtiments communautaires (p. ex. chauffage à l’énergie solaire, pompes géothermiques, systèmes de chauffage à haut rendement énergétique). De plus amples renseignements sur le programme écoÉNERGIE pour les collectivités autochtones et nordiques se trouvent à la section sur les changements climatiques du site Web d’AADNC.

Retournez à la table des matières





Section IV : Écologisation des opérations gouvernementales

Thème IV de la Stratégie fédérale : Réduire l’empreinte environnementale — En commençant par le gouvernement

L’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales était l’un des principaux objectifs de la précédente Stratégie de développement durable d’AADNC. Le Bureau de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales a été créé en avril 2005 et il a recommandé que les ministères fédéraux intègrent des activités concernant trois secteurs — les bâtiments, les véhicules et les achats écologiques — dans leur quatrième stratégie. Sur la base de ces recommandations, la SFDD fixe de nouvelles cibles obligatoires à atteindre dans les domaines de l’écologisation des immeubles, des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, des déchets électroniques, des unités d’impression, de la consommation de papier, des réunions et des achats écologiques. AADNC s’engage à « écologiser » ses opérations internes, comme le demandent les nouvelles cibles pour l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales.

AADNC contribue aux cibles d’écologisation des opérations du gouvernement par le biais du Programme Services internes. Le ministère contribue aux secteurs cibles suivants du thème IV : Réduire l’empreinte environnementale — En commençant par le gouvernement, de la SFDD :

Des détails relatifs aux responsabilités spécifiques d’AADNC sont disponibles dans le tableau supplémentaire de l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2013–2014 d’AADNC.

Retournez à la table des matières


Date de modification :