ARCHIVED - Bill C-33: First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Learn More

Key Documents

News Room

Introduction of Bill C-33 – The First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act

On April 10, 2014, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Bernard Valcourt introduced Bill C-33 – the First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act.

The proposed legislation responds to the five "conditions for success" that were identified by the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, and endorsed in a resolution by the Chiefs in Assembly in December 2013.

The proposed legislation is a transformative step in efforts to close the gap in education outcomes for First Nations on reserve. It provides for stable, predictable funding that increases at a 4.5% rate of growth, clarifies roles and responsibilities, and establishes First Nations control of First Nations education as a central principle.

The introduction of Bill C-33 builds on the February 7, 2014 announcement of an historic agreement between the Government of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations to reform the First Nations elementary and secondary education system through the proposed First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act.

Bill C-33 follows years of discussions, dialogue, studies, and unprecedented consultations that began in December 2012 which included: 8 face-to-face sessions, discussions, emails, video and teleconference – all reflecting the efforts of many individuals and organizations to improve First Nations elementary and secondary education.

The proposed legislation would:

Following Second Reading of the Education Act, the First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act, Bill C-33, has been put on hold.

Going forward, the Government of Canada is committed to a collaborative process in development of regulations with First Nations. The partnership does not end with the introduction of Bill C-33. The overriding goal of legislation is better outcomes for First Nation students.

The Government remains a committed partner in First Nations education reform and will look for opportunities to work with First Nations and First Nation organizations that are interested and able to pursue education reform, including through negotiated self-government agreements, to improve education outcomes for youth.


Announcement Materials

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Projet de loi C-33 : La loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leurs système d'éducation

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour en savoir plus

Principaux documents

Salle de presse

Dépôt du projet de loi C-33 – La la loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leurs système d'éducation

Le 10 avril 2014, Bernard Valcourt, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, a déposé le projet de loi C-33 – la loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leurs système d'éducation.

La proposition législative tient compte des cinq conditions nécessaires au succès énoncées par le chef national de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et adoptées dans une résolution lors de l'assemblée générale des chefs en décembre 2013.

La proposition législative est une étape transformatrice dans les efforts visant à combler les lacunes en éducation pour les élèves des Premières Nations dans les réserves. Elle prévoit un financement stable et prévisible assorti d'un facteur de progression de 4,5 %, clarifie les rôles et les responsabilités et établit le contrôle de l'éducation des Premières Nations par les Premières Nations comme un principe central.

Le dépôt du projet de loi C-33 fait suite à l'annonce du 7 février 2014 sur la conclusion par le gouvernement du Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations d'une entente historique visant à réformer l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations dans le cadre de la la loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leurs système d'éducation proposée.

Le projet de loi C-33 est le résultat de plusieurs années de discussions, de dialogues et d'études ainsi que de consultations sans précédent qui ont commencé en décembre 2012 et comprenaient huit séances en personne, des discussions, des courriels, des vidéoconférences et des téléconférences. Tous ces efforts témoignent de la volonté d'un grand nombre de personnes et d'organisations d'améliorer l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations.

La loi proposée :

À la suite de sa deuxième lecture, la loi sur le contrôle par les Premières Nations de leurs systèmes d'éducation, projet de loi C-33, a été mise en suspens.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à participer à un processus de collaboration pour élaborer des règlements avec les Premières Nations. Le partenariat ne prend pas fin avec le dépôt du projet de loi C-33. Le but premier de cette loi consiste à améliorer les résultats des élèves des Premières Nations.

Le gouvernement demeure un partenaire engagé dans la réforme de l'éducation des Premières Nations et il cherchera des occasions de travailler avec les Premières Nations et les organisations des Premières Nations qui souhaitent poursuivre la réforme de l'éducation et qui sont en mesure de le faire, notamment dans le cadre d’ententes négociées sur l’autonomie gouvernementale, afin d'améliorer les résultats scolaires des jeunes.

 

Matériaux d'annonce

 
Date de modification :