Modernizing Grants and Contributions

Management for Better Results

January 11, 2013

Modernizing grants and contributions management has advantages for Aboriginal Peoples by focusing on service to communities, and their members, achieving economies of scale, reducing the administrative burden on recipients, saving taxpayers’ dollars and ultimately ensuring more value for money.

AANDC applies an array of tools to ensure sound management of the funds appropriated to it by Parliament.

Last year, the department spent $7.9 billion, of which $6.4 billion (or 81.4%) was in the form of grants and contributions to 1,930 recipients. Of the 1,930 recipients, 594 were First Nation governments (including those governed by the Indian Act as well as self-governing First Nations). Other kinds of recipients include provincial and national Aboriginal Representative Organizations, Tribal Councils and agencies that provide social services such as child and family services.

The main tools include an internal control framework anchored in stringent internal audit; risk based audits of selected recipients; a default prevention and management policy; new tools to assess the risk associated with funding recipients; and ongoing efforts to streamline reporting by recipients to be consistent across the country, harmonized across federal departments and to focus on essential services.

While AANDC is committed to rigorous accountability to Parliament and Canadians it is also working to shift the underlying accountability of First Nations funding recipients away from reporting to the department and toward reporting transparently to their own members.

The path to improvement follows three inter-related tracks:

  1. Improving the way that grant and contribution programs work by pruning reporting, consolidating programs, creating a challenge function to curb the instinct to ask for more data and harmonizing processes across federal departments so the same data can serve many purposes;
  2. Differentiating among funding recipients so that those with stronger track records of financial and program management are rewarded with longer funding agreements and less reporting; and
  3. Shifting the accountability bargain away from reporting to government for the use of funds toward accounting to communities and program clientele for results.

1. Reducing the Administrative Burden

Success Stories

Since 2011-12, four federal departments have partnered to provide funding to the hamlet of Pangnirtung in Nunavut under a common multi-year Government of Canada agreement. This has resulted in an 82% reduction in the number of reports requested of Pangnirtung and the use of common administrative products (e.g. application forms) to satisfy the reporting requirements of the departments involved.

Since October 2011, another four federal departments have partnered to a common, multi-year Government of Canada funding agreement to the Montagnais du Lac St. Jean (Masteuiatsch), Quebec. This has resulted in a 56% reduction in the number of reports requested of the community to satisfy the reporting requirements of the departments.

Successes

Within AANDC, the process of rethinking and improving how the department uses the data provided by funding recipients has resulted in a sharp reduction in the number of ad-hoc reports the department requests of recipients. In fact, the department has seen a reduction from 4800 ad-hoc reports requested in 2011-12 to 800 in 2012-13.

Moving Forward

Consolidating Programs

The department will review all possible opportunities to streamline and improve the number of programs it manages which will in turn allow the department to clarify its resourcing needs and program results to Parliamentarians and create opportunities for less reporting requirements.

Streamlined Reporting

For 2013-14, AANDC is making a concerted effort to significantly reduce its requests of recipients for monthly, quarterly, semi-annual and annual reports as well as the breadth of data it requests. As a result, the next fiscal year will see a major reduction in the number of requested reports with ongoing efforts to have First Nations create their own annual reports to the community; consistent with the requirements of the proposed First Nations Financial Transparency Act (C-27).

Harmonizing the way federal departments do business

AANDC is actively working with other federal departments to ensure that joint recipient audits are coordinated starting at the planning stage. In 2011-2012, AANDC and Health Canada conducted four joint recipient audits. In the current year, six are underway.

AANDC and Health Canada are working to increase efficiencies and align common operations.  Across both departments, the Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec regions are conducting joint General Assessments of their common recipients.

In addition, in 2013-14, Health Canada will be adopting AANDC’s Default Prevention and Management Policy (DPMP) and a common funding agreement model will be made available to interested funding recipients.

By April 2014, AANDC and Health Canada will be adopting each other’s financial system management solutions. AANDC will be adopting Health Canada’s financial management system and Health Canada will be adopting AANDC’s Grants and Contribution information management system.

2. Matching Solutions to the Needs of Funding Recipients

Successes

The General Assessment (GA) workbook tool measures the risk associated with each recipient funding agreement, based on the track record of the organization. The GA tool is now in its third cycle and is being adopted progressively by Health Canada.

Moving Forward

Refining the Risk Assessment Tool

The GA has been in use for three years. As the GA is refined, AANDC is reviewing its approach to conducting the assessment, the frequency of assessments and additional uses of the results to conduct its business.

Risk-Based Funding Agreements

The end goal of a risk-based approach to funding agreements is fewer reporting requirements associated with the transfer of funds to First Nations with strong and proven track records of financial management and low risk. AANDC will in turn be able to focus more resources to assist those recipients in need of assistance of financial management capacity. Simpler language in the funding agreements, less reporting in relation to risk levels and longer-term funding agreements hold a lot of potential for willing partners.

Compliance, Monitoring and Audits

Risk-based compliance work, program reviews, internal monitoring and audits of program and policy implementation will continue to be the standard operating procedure for AANDC.

A risk-based departmental recipient audit plan is developed yearly by AANDC. The risk profile of recipients guides selection, using information from the General Assessment, Consolidated Audited Financial Statements, Default Prevention and Management data, recipient reporting track record and other assessment tools.

3. Shifting the Accountability Bargain

Successes

In June 2012, the Government announced the implementation of new financial reporting requirements for First Nations with funding agreements with AANDC.

As of June 2012, funding recipients are required to submit their annual consolidated financial statements in a consistent format.  Model consolidated audited financial statements, which conform to generally-accepted accounting principles (GAAP), were made available to community members across Canada.

Use of the new, consistent format is contributing to increased accountability and will support First Nation governments' efforts to attract investments and stimulate economic development, while ensuring transparency to community members.

Consistent use of the new model will prepare First Nation funding recipients for the implementation of the proposed First Nations Financial Transparency Act (C-27) presently before Parliament, which will require that financial statements be publicly disclosed by First Nations.

This new approach is an important step toward Canada's commitment to greater accountability, reducing red tape and reducing the administrative (including reporting) burden for funding recipients and setting the stage for increased transparency

Moving Forward

Service Standards

AANDC has developed service standards for its grants and contributions programs, which publicly state the level of performance that clients can reasonably expect to receive from AANDC under normal circumstances.

These service standards will be posted and performance against these standards will be monitored and reported on the AANDC website.

Financial Transparency

Bill C-27, the proposed First Nations Financial Transparency Act, will expand the scope of information publicly-disclosed to include the salaries and expenses of chiefs and councillors, as well as First Nations’ consolidated audited financial statements. Once passed, C-27 will require that this information be posted to the AANDC website as well as respective First Nations’ websites.

Disclosing General Assessment Results

AANDC is working through confidentiality and disclosure considerations with First Nation partners with the end goal of publicly disclosing information related to the results of the General Assessments.

Modernisation de la gestion des subventions et contributions

En vue d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats

11 janvier 2013

La modernisation de la gestion des subventions et contributions comporte des avantages pour les Autochtones : accent mis sur le service aux collectivités et à leurs membres, économies d’échelle, allégement du fardeau administratif pour les bénéficiaires, économies de l’argent des contribuables et, en fin de compte, meilleure rentabilité.

AADNC fait appel à une série d’outils pour veiller à la bonne gestion des fonds que le Parlement lui a affectés.

L’année dernière, le ministère a dépensé 7,9 milliards de dollars, dont 6,4 milliards (soit 81,4 %) sous forme de subventions et contributions remises à 1 930 bénéficiaires. De ces 1 930 bénéficiaires, 594 étaient des gouvernements des Premières Nations (y compris celles régies par la Loi sur les Indiens et les Premières Nations autonomes). Parmi les autres types de bénéficiaires figurent des organisations autochtones représentatives provinciales et nationales, des conseils tribaux et des organismes qui offrent des services sociaux, comme les services à l’enfance et à la famille.

Les outils principaux comprennent un cadre de contrôle interne fondé sur une vérification interne très stricte; des vérifications en fonction du risque d’un échantillon de bénéficiaires; une Politique de la prévention et gestion des manquements; de nouveaux outils d’évaluation du risque associé au financement des bénéficiaires; des efforts constants pour simplifier les rapports des bénéficiaires de façon qu’ils soient cohérents dans tout le pays, harmonisés parmi les ministères fédéraux et axés sur les services essentiels.

AADNC est déterminé à rendre des comptes rigoureux au Parlement et aux Canadiens, mais il cherche aussi à transformer la responsabilité sous-jacente des Premières Nations bénéficiaires du financement depuis des rapports au Ministère jusqu’à une reddition de comptes transparente à leurs propres membres.

La voie de l’amélioration emprunte trois voies reliées entre elles :

  1. Améliorer le fonctionnement des programmes de subventions et de contributions en élaguant le nombre de rapports, regroupant les programmes, créant une fonction de remise en question pour réduire la tendance à demander plus de données et harmonisant les processus dans l’ensemble des ministères fédéraux afin que les mêmes données puissent servir à de nombreuses fins;
  2. Différencier les bénéficiaires de financement, c’est-à-dire récompenser ceux ayant fait preuve d’une meilleure gestion des finances et des programmes par l’octroi d’ententes de financement plus longues et par une réduction dans le nombre de rapports exigés;
  3. Faire passer le fardeau de la reddition de comptes depuis des rapports au gouvernement sur l’utilisation des fonds jusqu’à la justification des résultats aux collectivités et à la clientèle des programmes.

1. Réduire le fardeau administratif

Exemples de réussite

Depuis 2011-2012, quatre ministères fédéraux se sont associés en vue de fournir des fonds au hameau de Pangnirtung, au Nunavut, en vertu d’une entente pluriannuelle commune du gouvernement du Canada. Cela s’est traduit par une baisse de 82 % dans le nombre de rapports exigés de Pangnirtung et par l’emploi de produits administratifs communs (p. ex. formulaires de demande) pour répondre aux exigences en matière de rapports des ministères en cause.

Depuis octobre 2011, quatre autres ministères fédéraux se sont associés dans une entente de financement pluriannuelle commune du gouvernement du Canada en faveur des Montagnais du Lac St. Jean (Masteuiatsch) au Québec. Cela a donné lieu à une baisse de 56 % dans le nombre de rapports exigés de la collectivité pour répondre aux exigences en matière de rapports des ministères.

Réussites

Au sein même d’AADNC, le remaniement et l’amélioration de l’utilisation faite par le Ministère des données fournies par les bénéficiaires du financement a entraîné une forte réduction dans le nombre de rapports spéciaux que le Ministère exige des bénéficiaires, au point où le Ministère a observé une baisse dans le nombre de ces rapports exigés, soit de 4 800 en 2011-2012 à 800 en 2012-2013.

Progresser

Regroupement des programmes

Le Ministère examinera toutes les possibilités de simplification et d’amélioration du nombre de programmes qu’il gère, ce qui lui permettra d’expliquer plus clairement aux parlementaires les ressources dont il a besoin et les résultats des programmes, et créera en outre des possibilités de réduire le nombre de rapports exigés.

Simplification de l’établissement de rapports

AADNC lance un effort concerté en 2013-1014 pour réduire sensiblement le nombre de rapports mensuels, trimestriels, semestriels et annuels qu’il exige des bénéficiaires, de même que l’ampleur des données demandées. En conséquence, l’exercice à venir verra une réduction considérable dans le nombre de rapports exigés, et des efforts constants pour que les Premières Nations préparent leurs propres rapports annuels à l’intention de la collectivité, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations (C-27) proposée.

Harmonisation des modes de fonctionnement des ministères fédéraux

AADNC collabore activement avec d’autres ministères fédéraux pour veiller à ce qu’on coordonne les vérifications conjointes des bénéficiaires dès le stade de planification. En 2011-2012, AADNC et Santé Canada ont mené quatre vérifications conjointes des bénéficiaires; six sont en cours durant le présent exercice.

AADNC et Santé Canada collaborent en vue d’améliorer les économies et de faire concorder les opérations communes. Dans ces deux ministères, les régions du Manitoba, de l’Ontario et du Québec mènent ensemble des évaluations générales de leurs bénéficiaires communs.

En 2013-2014, de plus, Santé Canada adoptera la Politique de la prévention et gestion des manquements d’AADNC, et on mettra à la disposition des bénéficiaires du financement intéressés un modèle commun d’entente de financement.

D’ici avril 2014, AADNC et Santé Canada adopteront chacun des solutions de gestion des systèmes financiers de l’autre. Ainsi, AADNC adoptera le système de gestion financière de Santé Canada, tandis que Santé Canada adoptera le système de gestion de l’information sur les subventions et contributions d’AADNC.

2. Faire concorder les solutions et les besoins des bénéficiaires du financement

Réussites

L’outil d’évaluation générale (EG) mesure les risques associés à l’entente de financement de chaque bénéficiaire, en fonction du rendement antérieur de l’organisation. Cet outil en est à son troisième cycle, et Santé Canada l’adopte progressivement.

Aller de l’avant

Mise au point de l’outil d’évaluation du risque

L’EG est utilisé depuis trois ans. À mesure qu’on le met au point, AADNC réévalue son approche de la tenue de l’évaluation, la fréquence des évaluations et les autres utilisations possibles des résultats pour mener ses opérations.

Ententes de financement fondées sur le risque

Le but recherché par une approche des ententes de financement fondée sur le risque est une réduction dans le nombre d’exigences en matière de rapports associées au transfert de fonds aux Premières Nations ayant un dossier solide et éprouvé en matière de gestion financière et présentant un faible risque. AADNC pourra à son tour consacrer davantage de ressources à aider les bénéficiaires ayant besoin d’aide pour améliorer leur capacité de gestion financière. Pour des partenaires intéressés, des ententes de financement rédigées en langage simple, moins de rapports sur les niveaux de risque et des ententes de financement à plus long terme offrent énormément de potentiel.

Conformité, surveillance et vérifications

Le travail de conformité, les examens de programme, la surveillance interne et les vérifications de la mise en application des programmes et des politiques fondés sur le risque demeureront la procédure opérationnelle normalisée à AADNC.

Tous les ans, AADNC prépare un plan de vérification des bénéficiaires ministériels fondé sur le risque. Le profil de risque des bénéficiaires guide le choix, à partir de renseignements tirés de l’évaluation générale, des états financiers vérifiés consolidés, des données de prévention et gestion des manquements, des antécédents du bénéficiaire en matière de rapports et des autres outils d’évaluation.

3. Changer l'orientation de la reddition de comptes

Réussites

En juin 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé la mise en application de nouvelles exigences en matière de rapports financiers pour les Premières Nations ayant conclu des ententes de financement avec AADNC.

À compter de juin 2012, les bénéficiaires du financement sont tenus de présenter leurs états financiers consolidés annuels dans un format harmonisé. On a mis à la disposition de membres de collectivités dans tout le Canada des modèles d’états financiers vérifiés consolidés conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR).

L’emploi du nouveau format harmonisé contribue à l’augmentation de la reddition de comptes; de plus, il appuiera les efforts des gouvernements des Premières Nations visant à attirer les investissements et à stimuler le développement économique, tout en assurant la transparence pour les membres de la collectivité.

L’utilisation régulière du nouveau modèle préparera les Premières Nations bénéficiaires du financement à la mise en application de la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations (C-27) proposée, qui est actuellement étudiée par le Parlement et qui exigera des Premières Nations la divulgation publique des états financiers.

Cette nouvelle approche est un pas important vers la réalisation de l’engagement du Canada touchant une reddition de comptes accrue, la réduction de la paperasserie et du fardeau administratif (y compris des rapports) pour les bénéficiaires du financement, et les préparatifs en vue d’une transparence accrue.

Aller de l’avant

Normes de service

AADNC a élaboré des normes de service, pour ses programmes de subventions et de contributions, qui indiquent publiquement les niveaux de rendement auxquels les clients peuvent raisonnablement s’attendre de la part d’AADNC en temps normal.

Ces normes de service seront affichées, et le rendement par rapport à ces normes sera surveillé et affiché sur le site Web d’AADNC.

Transparence financière

Le projet de loi C-27, la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations proposée, élargira la portée de l’information divulguée publiquement aux salaires et dépenses des chefs et des conseillers, aussi bien qu’aux états financiers vérifiés consolidés des Premières Nations. Le projet de loi C-27, une fois adopté, exigera que ces renseignements soient affichés sur le site Web d’AADNC aussi bien que sur les sites Web des Premières Nations respectives.

Divulgation des résultats de l’évaluation générale

AADNC discute des questions de confidentialité et de divulgation avec les Premières Nations partenaires, dans le but d’en arriver à une divulgation publique de l’information relative aux résultats des évaluations générales.